Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Vegan macaroni with mixed veggies & smoked tofu! Gluten-Free too!

on 04/08/2012

A delightful & tasty vegan & gluten-free dinner!

Tasty fried smoked tofu chunks

Tasty spiced fried aubergine ( eggplant ) pieces

Spicy marinated orange bell peppers & courgette pieces! Yum!

Yesterday, I have made this tasty invented dinner. I wanted to use GF pasta so I used brown rice macaroni. It was so tasty. I marinated orange bell pepper & courgettes pieces in a combo of chicken & steak spices, Pink Himalayan salt, black pepper & a fruity EVOO. I marinated them for 2 hours in the fridge &  added aubergine pieces. I salted the round aubergine pieces for about 1 hour with sea salt to extract the bitter flavours ,then later on you can easily fry them, they won’t taste bitter & they won’t take up so much oil or vegan butter. You must rinse them well under the tap & pad them dry thoroughly on kitchen paper, on both sides. I also added fried smoked tofu chunks. Easy does it here! Check it out! :) MMMMMMMM,…!

Recipe: For about 5 persons, each 1 big part

Ingredients:

450 gr gluten-free brown rice pasta or another pasta shape

2 fat garlic cloves, peeled & finely chopped

1 large aubergine ( eggplant ), cleaned

200 gr of smoked tofu, well-drained & pad dry on kitchen paper, cut into thicker slices & cut into bite sized chunks

** For the orange bell pepper & courgette marinade:

2 medium orange bell peppers ( paprika ), cleaned & cut up into smaller strips, white bits & pits removed

2 young courgettes, cleaned & cut up into bite sized chunks

Himalayan pink salt, with an integrated mill on the pot.

black pepper

vegan butter: I use planta: 100% vegan

Chicken & steak seasoning: this seasoning has a mix of roasted onion, red chilli bits, mustard seeds, black & white pepper, coriander, garlic, paprika & a bit of salt/ I used Santa Maria: chicken & steak seasoning. I buy mine in Delhaize.I buy my seeds with an integrated spice mill on the pot.

Method:

1.  Two & a half-hour before dinner, prepare the marinade for the courgette & orange paprika pieces. Take a large Ziplock bag & pour 2 tablespoons in it. Add  chunks of courgettes & orange paprika. Add 8 grins of pink Himalayan salt & 15 grins of that chicken & steak seasoning. Mix well with a clean hand. Add a few grins of finely milled black pepper & taste! It has to taste fab & just right. Add some more salt or chicken & steak seasoning, if you need to. Remove the air & close the bag well. Place in a fitting bowl for when there is leakage. Place in the fridge for at least 2 hours!

2. At the same time,  cut the aubergine into rounds, a bit thicker, but not too thick /  I salted the round aubergine pieces for about 1 hour with sea salt & placed them in a colander to extract the bitter flavours then later on, you can easily fry them, they won’t taste bitter & they won’t take up so much oil or vegan butter. You must rinse them well under the tap & pad them dry thoroughly on kitchen paper, on both sides. Now, cut them into smaller chunks & place them in a pot with fitting lid & place into the fridge for later on.

3. After the 2 hours, take the ziplock bag out of the fridge, the aubergine pieces too.

4. Cook your vegan & gluten-free brown rice macaroni according to your packet instructions. Drain well. Keep moist.

5. Take a larger Creuset pot with fitting lid or another cast iron pot. I use this a lot in my kitchen because they will keep foods a long time hot, when cooked. Heat up on higher heat. When hot, pour 1 tablespoon of that fruity Evoo in the pot, add some vegan butter & fry your aubergine pieces, all at once or in 2 times in the pot. Stir often. Add some Himalayan pink salt, some black pepper, not too much & add a few grins of that chicken & steak seasoning, until browned on both sides. Place the fitting lid on to speed up the process. When ready, remove them with a spoon. Place into a larger pot with fitting lid. Now, let the heat on high & pour 1 tablespoon of that fruity EVOO in it. Heat up. When hot, pour the marinade & the ingredients into the pot. Fry until cooked through & browned on all sides. This will take about 10 minutes. Place the fitting heavy lid on to speed up the process. Stir often. When done, check the seasoning. add some more chicken & steak seasoning or some more salt. It has to taste fab! Remove this mix from your Creuset pot & place into that larger pot with fitting lid. When hot, add some olive oil & some vegan butter. when hot, add the smoked tofu chunks & fry until browned on both sides & warmed through. I added some salt & some black pepper to add some punch! When don, turn the heat off & add all the rest of the veggie mix. Mix everything carefully. Add the drained & cooked brown rice pasta. Taste! Enjoy, my lovely ones! ;)

Stay Tuned! If you liked this post & want more of them, join 928 email followers: Subscribe by email! It is free!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Facebook too! :)

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. A tasty vegan pasta salad

2. Lemon thyme & garlic perfumed oven roasted vegetables

3. Spiced & fragrant oven roasted beetroot wedges

4. Vegan spiced oven roasted veggies, served with GF brown rice pasta

63 responses to “Vegan macaroni with mixed veggies & smoked tofu! Gluten-Free too!

  1. Katarina says:

    This looks so delicious! And fresh too!

  2. Tandy says:

    I love recipes with aubergine :)

  3. Ina Gawne says:

    Great Pasta dish Sophie! I love fresh zucchini in pastas – works so well!

  4. This is so healthy and flavoursome! Yum :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. Eggplant and smoky tofu…wow, Sophie – I love the way that combination sounds.

  6. Tammy says:

    I have been so pleasantly surprised by the rice pasta! I really like it. Love dish that works well for a busy family.

  7. Looks very tasty Sophie. I think I’ll call it adult macaroni. I bet the tofu topping brought a lot of flavor.
    Sam

  8. ruth says:

    This sounds really delicious. Would love to try smoked tofu!

  9. hotlyspiced says:

    What a lovely dish that’s clearly so full of flavour. I haven’t tried brown rice pasta before so I must try it xx

  10. elle says:

    yumm, this dish just has everything! sounds perfect :D
    You know what, I haven’t even tried smoked tofu yet, but I bet it’s really really good. I’ve got to get me some!

  11. Lisa says:

    Macaroni and Tofu or Mac ‘n Tofu! I love it..especially with the smoked tofu and perfect combo of veggies! It actually looks like Mac ‘n Cheese! Delish, Sophie!

  12. Louise says:

    I’ve never noticed smoked tofu at the grocery in my area, Sophie. I will have to seek some out as I just love tofu and the thought of it being smoked is most intriguing. I’m so glad to hear you salted the eggplant too. I’ve been reading lately that people are saying it isn’t necessary and I don’t agree. Salting and rinsing is the best way to really enjoy eggplant.

    This dish sounds mighty delicious. Thank you so much for sharing…

  13. Both aubergine and tofu are all my favourites!

  14. Norma Chang says:

    Is Chinese eggplants available in your area? If yes, use it instead and you can skip the salting.

  15. Christine says:

    Hi Sophie Your veggie stir fry alone is worth making the recipe. Over GF pasta, heaven!
    I have been unable to leave comments on your posts until I realized that I had to create a wordpress account. So now I can leave comments, but it was a bummer that I had to sign up for it. Nice to follow you again!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Normally, you don’t have to do that. All my friends from blogspot etc log in with their name, then add email adresse & then their website. Even my mother can do that! You don’t need a wordpress account! :)

      • christinecooks says:

        Every time I’ve tried to do just that, I get a box instructing me that I have to log in to WordPress. Don’t know why, but there it is. I never had the option of just leaving my name, email and website. It’s ok now. I’m signed up and now I can leave comments to you. That’s worth it! :)

  16. Saskia says:

    Hey Sophie. This looks delicious. I’ll bet the leftovers would be great to take to work as a salad too!

  17. grace says:

    what a neat and tasty way to slip some tofu into your diet! this looks scrumptious, sophie!

  18. Yummmm! I love eggplant, especially when it’s cooked like this and gets all creamy and delicious. Nice work! :-)

  19. It looks so tasty Sophie and I bet omnivores would love this too! :)

  20. Simple ingredients and it sounds so good! I love well-seasoned piles of veggies + tofu over pasta or whatever the carb of choice may be.

  21. This looks great! I’ve never had tofu with mac and cheese (although I love both). I like how you have so many veggies in one dish!

  22. Richa says:

    awesome! love the crisp tofu and so many veggies! I would eat this by loads any day

  23. Juliana says:

    Nice gluten free pasta dish Sophie…love the veggies and the smoked tofu in it…very flavorful!
    Thanks for the recipe and hope you are having a great week :)

  24. Barbara says:

    Never a better combo than eggplant and zucchini, Sophie. This looks delicious!

  25. kokob says:

    This looks so healthy and tasty. I love eggplant! And smoked tofu! I want to taste this dish!

  26. Yummy! I love tofu… this looks amazing. I will have to make it :)

  27. lovely meal and love that your getting all the veggies from your garden perfect

  28. What a beautiful vegetable dish, Sophie. I like replacing meat with tofu and using brown rice pasta. Delicious!

  29. ttholler says:

    It looks great. Very appealing. A fabulous family dish!

  30. LOVING all the vegan posts! Nice work Sophie!!

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,098 other followers

