Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Vegan Asian sweet potato & bean burgers! Yeah!

on 15/07/2012

A tasty Asian inspired vegan sweet potato & ginger burger!

Yummy! An Asian vegan burger!

Hello, my friends!! I am back from my Holiday & am full with energy! Ready to go back to my lovely blog & the world behind it! :) I hope you all also had a great vacation! ;) Now, back to some good food, I reckon!

Today, I made these invented Asian inspired sweet potato & adzuki bean burgers! Ooh yeah, mama! These are such beauties!

I filled them with lots of good stuff like ginger, spring onions, lime zest, red chili pepper, adzuki beans & cooked sweet potatoes. Ooh yes! Check them out!

Yummy & tasty home-made vegan burgers, ready to fry!

Asian spiced up vegan burger!

Recipe: For 4 large burgers + 2 smaller burgers 

Ingredients:

** For the Asian vegan burgers:

3 large sweet potatoes, ( 600 gr netto ), peeled & cut into 4

1 long red-hot chili pepper, deseeded & cut into smaller rings

4 fat spring onions, cleaned & cut into thicker rings ( green & white part used )

4 tablespoons of salted cashew nuts, cut finely

1/2 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt + 1/4 teaspoon extra

2 tablespoons of flour

150 gr of Panko breadcrumbs

zest of 1 lime, finely grated

One 3 cm x 2 cm piece of fresh ginger, peeled & finely cut up

1 handful of fresh coriander ( cilantro ) leaves, washed, pad dry on  kitchen paper & torn roughly

5 to 10 grins of black pepper, finely milled

1 can of adzuki beans, well rinsed & well-drained

** To serve:

2 fat white onions, peeled & cut into finer rings

a vegannaise

salad leaves

fresh pistolets or fresh buns, sliced open

Method:

1. I cooked my sweet potatoes an hour before I made my burgers. I added a roasted garlic & pepper spice mix to my boiling water for added flavour. I used the brand: Santa Maria. I buy mine in the Delhaize. I added 8 grins. I didn’t add any salt because there is salt in this spice mix. I drained them well. Set aside to cool down a bit.

2. Take a large bowl & add the cut up salted cashews, the cut up chili pepper, the beans, the cooled down sweet potatoes, 1/2 teaspoon of sea salt, the ginger, the cut up spring onions, the lime zest. Mix well with a wooden spoon & taste. It has to taste fabulous! :) I added 10 grins of black pepper & the added 1/4 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt. Mix again. Taste! Now, I added 2 tablespoons of flour, to bind it a bit & then, I added the 150 gr of breadcrumbs. Mix well with a wooden spoon. My mix was still a bit wet but it will firm up in the fridge. Make 4 larger burgers out of them & 2 smaller one’s. Place them, spaced apart, on clean plates & place cling-film over them. Place into the fridge for at least 1 hour. I placed mine for 2 hours into the fridge.

3. 30 minutes before dinner, take the burger plates out of the fridge & remove the cling film. Take a large non-stick pan & heat up on high. Pour that fruity evoo in your pan & heat up. Fry your onion rings in some fruity olive oil & season with sea salt & black pepper. Fry until browned & cooked through. In the same pan, add some olive oil & heat up. Fry your burgers on both sides for about 4 to 5 minutes until cooked through & browned. Now, plate up! Take your bun or pistolet & smear it with vegannaise. Top with salad leaves, your vegan yummy burger & some fried sliced onion rings  & top with some vegannaise & close your bun! This is heaven on a plate: all veganized! Ooh yeah, baby! Enjoy! Happy Eating! :)

Note : Maybe, next time, I will add a lot more of the Panko breadcrumbs because the burger can still fall apart a bit!!! :(

Stay Tuned! If you liked this post & want more of them, join 945 email followers! Subscribe by email! It is free!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Facebook too! :)

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like other vegetarian or vegan burgers on my blog:

1. Vegan & Gluten-free sweet potato, new peas & smoked tofu burgers

2. Vegetarian Haloumi burger with all of its trimmings

3. Vegetarian mushroom & mixed nut burgers

4. Sophie’s vegetarian spiced bean burgers

47 responses to “Vegan Asian sweet potato & bean burgers! Yeah!

  1. Norma Chang says:

    That sound really, really delicious. Wondered if the burgers will hold together better if you use glutinous rice flour instead of flour and panko breadcrumbs?

  2. Norma Chang says:

    Wanted to say welcome back, but posted and then remembered!

  3. katrina says:

    Welcome home Sophie, excited to hear all about your adventures!

  4. Welcome back my friend! Hope you had a fabulous trip :D
    This burger is such a delicious dinner :)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. hotlyspiced says:

    Welcome back! I’m glad you had a great holiday. Will you be sharing any of your travels on your blog? I love your veggie burgers. I think the Asian flavours would make these extra delicious xx

    • Sophie33 says:

      thanks, sweetie! :) I am not going to show my travel pictures but some things must stay private, I think! ;) I hope you so try them!

  6. twbarritt says:

    Hi Sophie – hope you had a wonderful holiday! I love all varieties of bean burgers, and I love the fact that you combined nuts and sweet potatoes here as well – it sounds delicious!

  7. Katarina says:

    These sounds delicious!

  8. Simone says:

    Welcome back Sophie! Those burgers sound delicious! I love adzuki beans and am always looking for new ways to use them. Haven’t tried them in a burger yet!

  9. boeddhamum says:

    Hi Sophie, hope you had a great holiday!
    I love the look of these burgers, beans, cashewnuts and sweet potato, Yummie

  10. Louise says:

    Hi Sophie! Well it sure sounds like you’re all charged up. That Burger looks delicious! I love all the ingredients. Fall apart burgers are my favorite! I’d leave it just as it is in all its goodness!

    Thank you so much for sharing…

  11. Sophie33 says:

    Ooh,..yeah: winning burgers then! ;)

  12. Welcome back! And way to return with an awesome-sounding recipe :D (And so glad you liked my quick bread recipe!!)

  13. kokob says:

    Welcome back my friend, I’m glad you had a great, energizing holiday! These burgers look amazing, I love the Asian twist on them! I have not had Asian flavoured veggie burgers before, but would love to try them!

  14. Saskia says:

    Hey Sophie. These look amazing. I just bought a mountain of sweet potatoes at the market too. Perfect timing!

  15. Lisa says:

    I’m so glad your vacay revitalized you! These sweet potato – bean burgers would definitely revitalize me! I LOVE sweet potato anything..so I LOVE these burgers! Another ‘Sophie’ masterpiece!

  16. Angela says:

    What an amazing combo! I can’t wait to try this recipe.

  17. This looks delicious! I would love to eat it right now :)

  18. Tandy says:

    I am sure you don’t even miss the meat in these as they sound delicious :)

  19. clems28 says:

    des burgers très parfumés !

  20. Oooh Sophie, they look and sound delicious!

  21. laurenlisang says:

    AWESOME idea and recipe Sophie! Nice work!

  22. BrandiD says:

    Love this idea! I love veggie burgers! :)

  23. It’s going to be finish of mine day, but before finish I am reading this wonderful paragraph to increase my experience.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,096 other followers

