Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Re (visiting ) a favourite shop in Brussels!

on 12/06/2012

This is my favourite artisanal Bakery in the center of Brussels!
He makes his own breads, sandwiches, cakes,tarts & tartlets! :) Yum!

The view from where I am sitting & eating!

Since, my husband & I don’t live in Brussels anymore we don’t go that often to Brussels :( We live in Mechelen, 30km north of Brussels, In Flanders.

But Today, I had some time to spend in my beloved Brussels. I took my camera with me to take some lovely pics. The sun was shining this morning at my home but when I arrived by train near Brussels, the sky was super dark & I heard thunder! Thunder, all true the night, promise to see Jesus in the morning light, take my hand, it will be alright, come on save your soul tonight!  That Prince’s song goes through my mind! :)

This is one of the finest “real bakers ” in Brussels. Here, you can buy all different kinds of breads, pastries, fine tarts & filled sandwiches, all made fresh in this bakery & baked here too. The quality is excellent!

You can savour the delicious filled pastries, tarts &  tartlets over here in the shop & enjoy with a good brewed coffee or tea or take the sandwich home with you. Large tarts prices vary from 10 euro till 24 Euros.
There aren’t that many sitting places but they are nearly all the time occupied. On their website, you will find a lot more information about the sources of their bread, cakes, etc.
Here is their website: Bakery Charli!
They have 6 different filled home-made sandwiches. Most of the fillings  are organic or home-made. The baker’s don’t use any preservatives, artificial colourings or other bad stuff! They only have 1 vegetarian sandwich that consists of a traditional 5 grains baguette, fresh pesto, roasted eggplant, 18 month old A. O. C. Comté & fresh & marinated tomatoes. But I savoured this tasty one below.
It was noon & I was very hungry so I ate this delicious snack: a home-made sourdough hazelnut ciabatta sandwich, a bit chewy but crunchy, layered with fresh rocket leaves ( arugula ), goat’s cheese mixed with fresh figs, Serrano ham & pieces of grilled aubergine’s. ( eggplant) It was ooh so tasty & very filling. I drank a bottle of sparkling water with this. For 50 cl Spa red: 1.60 Euros & for the sandwich: 4.50 euros.

All the breads for the sandwiches, the breads & pastries, tarts & tartlets are freshly baked, every day in the bakery!

Don’t you want a big bite??? Delightful!!!

Later on, I savoured a lovely fruit tartlet. It was a strawberry & pistachio combo on a Breton shortbread. It was quite fabulous. Firstly,the dough underneath crumbled into your mouth, just like it should be! Secondly, on top of that, you had a layer of  pistachio confectioner’s cream. Thirdly, on top of that were lovely red  ripe strawberries & finally, on top, was a jam glaze, topped with extra crunchy fresh pistachio’s! The tartlet costed me: 4.50 Euros. That’s a lot of money! They have risen their prices up to nearly 1 till 4 Euros more than last year. But it is so worth it! :)

Don’t you want to dig in???

Divine, superb & perfect for me! :)

Bakkerij Charli, Sint-Katelijne straat 34, 1000 Brussel, 02/513.63.32.

Bakery Charli, Rue Saint-Cathérine 34, 1000 Brussels, 02/513.63.32.

Open?

In English: Monday till Saturday from 7.30 AM till 7 PM

Sunday from 8 Am till 1.30 PM

In Dutch: you can read the text on the door: see picture below!!

Opening hours in Dutch: just read it!

I hoped you enjoyed this tasty post! :)

 If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts

You might like:

1. A few of my favourite shops in Brussels & beyond: part 1

2. A few of my favourite shops in Brussels & beyond: part 2

3. A few of my favourite shops, places & streets in Brussels & beyond : part 3

4. A few of my favourite shops, places & streets in Brussels & beyond: part 4

5. A favourite UK shop, just outside Brussels: Stonemanor

 
24 responses to “Re (visiting ) a favourite shop in Brussels!

  1. Koko says:

    I love this type of post! What a stunning little bakery/cafe. The food looks exquisite!

  2. Louise says:

    A tasty post indeed, Sophie! Everything looks scrumptious even the non-food pictures, lol…

    Thank you so much for sharing…

  3. I’m jealous, Sophie!!

    • Sophie says:

      You musn’t be because I am sure there are plenty of good & real bakers out there where you live in the States!

      • Well…in my humble opinion, the US is woefully lacking in wonderful bakeries but it is changing for the better (slowly). Definitely none near where I live, however.

  4. Claudia says:

    Yes, I want to dig in! The sandwich would be as welcome as the dessert!

  5. Lisa says:

    OMG..those sandwiches and pastries look incredible! The fruit tartelette is calling my name, but it would be a very expensive fruit tartelette since I need to get to Brussels to enjoy it! lol

  6. Ina Gawne says:

    Delicious looking food Sophie! I miss the convenience of going to a lovely bakery or restaurant – but where we live there are more gluten free places to choose from. (my work has kept me super busy)

  7. What a charming place to go for lunch. The sandwiches and the dessert, especially the dessert, look delicious. Our question is, do they provide anything gluten free? Thanks for sharing. We love reading about other places. Great post.

    • Sophie says:

      Thank you! :) No, In belgium , you can’t get specific Gluten-free in restaurants or in cafés! But you do can find Gluten-free products in specialized organic shops. They are also difficult to find! :(

      • It’s not that different here, while gluten free products are readily available in stores, restaurants are still not providing enough options, if any at all.

        Again, thanks for sharing your part of the world with us.

  8. ruthmartins says:

    They look incredibly delicious and the flavour so fresh. It’s one the things I really love about your blog. I know so little about Belgian food. Really makes me want to learn so much more and visit!

    • Sophie says:

      Yes, they are! :) This is not typical Belgian food but there is really good bread & pastry, one of the things what Belgium is famous for!

  9. Carolyn Jung says:

    I’ve yet to make it to Brussels. How I long to do so, too, not just for the chocolate. But for all the good eats you’re showing here.

  10. Britta says:

    I lived in Brussels for a short time in 2010, your post made me miss it so much!! Love it! Food looks absolutely divine (just like I remember!).

  11. I love beautiful bakeries– thanks for posting. And I would be so happy to sit down with one of those eggplant and serano ham sandwiches and a pretty pastry. We lived int Spain for 12 years (now back in California), and went through Belgium a few times. Lovely, charming cities. I’d love to visit your bakery in Brussels one day!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 869 other followers

