Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Vegan Rhubarb spelt speculaas crumble served in hot Devon custard! Yeah!

on 24/05/2012

A divine & tasty rich vegan crumble but served in hot Devon custard!!! But you can make your own vegan custard here, if you want to!

A tasty spelt & speculaas crumble topping, nutty & crunchy!
I used rhubarb from my father’s garden!

MMMMMM,…!

Recipe: For 4 persons

Ingredients: The crumble is vegan but the custard is NOT!! Make your own vegan custard or enjoy with a vegan nut milk ice-cream!

** For the crumble topping:

100 gr cold vegan baking margarine, I use Planta

100 gr light spelt flour / I used Sharpham Park Organic British light spelt flour

75 gr unrefined coconut sugar

75 gr speculaas cookies ( They are vegan), crumbled 75% into thicker pieces & 25 % into a fine powder/ I use Lotus speculaas/ In America, you call it: Biscoff cookies! It is a Belgian product!!!

** For the fruit filling:

600 gr fresh cleaned rhubarb, cut into pieces, each 2 to 3 cm long

1 teaspoon of ginger powder

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon powder

85 gr coconut sugar

3 tablespoons water

** To serve: Hot Devon custard ( Devon custard heated up )

Method:

1. Take a larger cooking pot & place all of your rhubarb pieces, coconut sugar, ginger powder, cinnamon powder & 3 tablespoons of water in it. Heat up on medium high. Stir often. Let the rhubarb cook for about 8 to 10 minutes until nearly soft. You want to have rhubarb pieces that just aren’t cooked yet. They will be nearly ready. You can prick a fork in them, nearly all the way through. The rhubarb will cook further into the hot oven for 20 minutes. Place a fitting lid on & set aside.

2. Preheat your oven to 200° C ( 400 F ) for 10 minutes. I always use a fan oven. Adjust your oven to the right temperature.

3. Make your crumble topping. Take a large bowl & place all of the ingredients for the crumble  topping in it. With clean hands, mix everything together until it is crumbled. DO NOT OVERMIX!  See this picture:

A tasty spelt & speculaas vegan crumble topping!

4. Assemble the crumble. Take a deeper & fitting oven dish & place the hot rhubarb mix in it! Scent the aroma’s!! Crumble your crumble topping all over the surface of your rhubarb, like this:

The tasty rhubarb crumble before going into the hot oven!

& place into the oven & bake for about 20 minutes or until the topping is golden brown & the rhubarb mix has been cooked through & bubbling! I baked my crumble for 13 minutes on 200 ° C ( 400 F ) & then turned it down at 175° C ( 166  F ) for another 7 minutes. When nearly ready, heat up your Devon custard until to your liking! We like to eat it hot! Let you crumble stand for about 5 minutes otherwise you will burn yourself! We don’t want that!!

Now, plate up. Take a large piece & place it into a dessert bowl & pour the hot custard over  or besides it! Enjoy instantly with a loved one! Success guaranteed! :) Happy eating! :)  If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts

You might like other rhubarb recipes:

1. Vegan spelt rhubarb cake with dark chocolate chips

2. Spiced pear & rhubarb coconut crumble

3. Rhubarb & strawberry crumble, is gluten-free & dairy-free!

4. Rhubarb & ginger orange crumble, served with hot custard

5. Rhubarb & almond muffins with cinnamon & nutmeg

6. Roasted almond panna cotta with stewed rhubarb & vanilla seeds syrup

49 responses to “Vegan Rhubarb spelt speculaas crumble served in hot Devon custard! Yeah!

  1. Katarina says:

    I love this dessert! Rhubarb and warm custard, yummy!

  2. hotlyspiced says:

    I love crumble and this is a delicious recipe. I love the ingredients in your topping. I’ll have to try your vegan custard xx

  3. Ina Gawne says:

    Sophie – this sounds divine! I love rhubarb with cinnamon and ginger – so delicious!

  4. boeddhamum says:

    This combi sounds amazing, Sophie, MMM

  5. kokob says:

    Oh Sophie, the flavour of Speculoos would be PERFECT with rhubarb!! I love how we made rhubarb crumbles at the same time!! Almost like we are baking together from across the world!!

  6. Whoa there, woman!! This looks awesome!

  7. Blond Duck says:

    I might actually be able to make that!

  8. Isn’t it funny how Biscoff has taken off in the US this past year?! I remember i used to have to bring them back from France when I would visit.

  9. Valerie says:

    That sounds great! But then, I love anything with speculoos… :-)

  10. Tandy says:

    We had speculaas last week for the first time :)

  11. An awesome dessert. Love spelt and speculaas crumble topping!

  12. twbarritt says:

    Oh, my! This looks lovely! I’ve never cooked with spelt – and I love the idea of a crumble that uses all those delicious speculaas spices!

    • Sophie33 says:

      You must try it, my friend! Light spelt flour gives a nutty flavour & is more healthy than white flour! It goes so well with the speculaas!

  13. I love anything with rhubarb.

  14. Barbara says:

    Yea, Sophie! Rhubarb! Love it!

  15. Yuum!! I love speculaas, and adding them to the crumble mix is genius! Thanks Sophie! :)

  16. Barb says:

    I’ve read a lot about speculaas and want to try it, but haven’t yet- it sounds wonderful though!

  17. wow Sophie that is really creative. i love the idea of making this healthy with the speculoos. you eat really well my dear.

  18. Carolyn Jung says:

    All you have to say is “hot custard” and I am sold. ;)

  19. So heavenly with rhubarb and crumble topping and custard, yum!

  20. theintolerantchef says:

    I just love rhubarb, I have 8 plants growing in my garden. Yummo!

  21. applec says:

    My sister gave me a huge bag of rhubarb and I wasn’t quite so appreciative. It’s not one of my favorite vegetables (although used as a fruit). However, I have to admit, my experiments today resulted in some fantastic flavors. Make sure to watch for the Rhubarb Cottage Pie and the Stewed Rhubarb with honey coming up on my site. :)

  22. Claudia says:

    I’ve seen a few different rhubarb recipes with spelt – and have taken note since a second crop of rhubarb is brewing in my yard. Love Biscoff cookies, Sophie!

  23. Sara says:

    This looks so good. I made myself nearly sick off speculaas cookies once–so delicious! (That and nutella….) I’ve never seen coconut sugar (flakes, flour, and milk, yes) but then I’ve never looked for it. I’ll have to keep an eye out.

    • Sophie33 says:

      I buy my coconut sugar in the Bio planet on the Battelsesteenweg 68
      2800 Mechelen / You can also find coconut suagr like a powdered coconut sugar, which I use a lot! :)

  24. Jaunita says:

    Excellent blog you have here.. It’s hard to find quality writing like yours these days. I honestly appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

  25. super! i’m so glad that if found your web site I will be bookmarking this for later!
    – real estate jackson mi is a passion of mine and and your “Vegan Rhubarb spelt speculaas crumble served in hot Devon custard! Yeah! | Sophies Foodie Files” article is surely good
    work.
    keep it comming, I’ll check back again soon!

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 945 other followers

