Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Orange marmalade marinated pork chops & garden update!

on 04/05/2012

Truly tasty & juicy marinated & fried organic pork chops

The delightful pork chops after marinating!

A divine & tasty dinner with a few veggies straight from the garden!

The lovely dressing!

I made this tasty dinner a few evenings ago. I wanted a quick & easy yet tasty marinade for some good organic boneless pork chops. I made this quick marinade & marinated the meat for about 3 hours. Before marinating, I slashed the meat a few times so that the marinade could penetrate well into the meat for added flavour!! I didn’t cut the meat the whole way through though!! I also made a home-made dressing that goes so well with the flavours used in my marinade!

I served this with oven baked potato wedges & some side salad. My home-grown mixed baby leaves were ready to devour & I also had some red sorrel ( rode zuring ). I love that special sour flavour a lot. I also served 4 of my home-grown radishes. I served it with sliced cucumbers & cut up tomatoes ( both bought ). My cucumber plant is still too small to produce anything & neither are my red baby tomatoes plants. I have viking spinach growing but it is still to small.Here is a quick look in my garden.

Small but beautiful radishes! I must grow them bigger!

The Tree Peony is in flower: such beauty!

Every tree in the garden is in blossom!

1 of my four home-grown courgettes plant: this is a green one: ready to be planted out in the biggest pot! Sown on March, the 15th 2012!

Mixed baby salad leaves!

Recipe: For 2 persons

Ingredients:

** For the pork chops marinade:

4 tablespoons of a good organic orange marmalade

1 tablespoon of fair trade honey

2 tablespoons of Dijon mustard

2 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & finely chopped up

8 turn of grinned black pepper

1/2 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt flakes, crushed

** For the oven baked potato wedges:

600 gr of cooked & cooled potato wedges/ I buy mine in the supermarket ( Spar )

a fruity EVOO

grins of black pepper

Maldon sea salt flakes

** For the mixed salad:

some baby home-grown mixed lettuce leaves + some larger lettuce  leaves for later ( not pictured )

some red sorrel leaves, washed, cleaned & spun dry

3 juicy tomatoes, cleaned & cut into wedges

1 or 2 shalots, peeled & cut into finer pieces

1/2 cucumber, washed, cleaned & cut into smaller rings & cut into 2

** For the honey & mustard dressing:

1 large empty jam pot with fitting lid

2 heaped tablespoons of gluten-free good Dijon mustard
2 heaped teaspoons of a good honey
4 tablespoons of cider vinegar
8 tablespoons of a fruity EVOO
black pepper
Maldon sea salt
Method:
1.  3 hours before dinner make the marinade. Take a Ziplock bag & place all the ingredients for the marinade in it. Mix well with a spoon or mini whisk. Take your organic pork chops out of the fridge. Trimm the excess fat. Slash the meat a couple of times with a large & sharp knife. Place the pork chops into the marinade & with clean hands rub the marinade into the slashed cuts. Tuck the chops neatly into the marinade. Take away the excess air & close the plastic bag. Place the bag into a fitting bowl for when there is leakage. Place into the fridge to marinate at least 2 hours. I marinated for 3 hours which is just perfect!!!
2.  3/4 hours before dinner , preheat your oven to 200° C (400 F ) for 10 minutes. I always use a fan oven. Adjust your oven to the right temperature.Place the potato wedges in 1 layer in a non-stick oven pan. Pour  a few tablespoons of a fruity oil over it. Season with grins of finely black pepper & some sea salt flakes. With clean hands, mingle evrything together. Wash your hands! Place in the oven & bake for about 35 to 45 minutes. I turn my wedges over after half of the cooking time to prevent burning. Bake them until well browned.
3. Now, make your lovely dressing. Take your jam pot with fitting lid. Place all the ingredients for your dressing in it & screw the lid on. Shake & shake your pot up & down until all is beautifully emulsified! Taste! Adjust the seasoning if you need to. You must taste the lot!
4. Ten to 15 minutes, before dinner, pour the marinade from your pork chops but keep it. Fry your chops in some good baking margarine. Brush continuously with the marinade over the meat, on both sides. It is good that the leftover marinade goes into the pan, then it creates more of a juicy & sticky sauce. Yum! I didn’t have to season the meat extra because there was already black pepper & sea salt in the marinade! Fry for about 3 to 6  minutes on each side until the meat is beautifully browned & caramalized! The interior still has to be pink but cooked through!
4.  Plate up! See picture above & spoon the warm sauce over the fried pork chops & enjoy this tasty dinner! Drizzle your dressing over the veggies! This would be equally good with some chicken pieces & or tofu. Happy Eating! ;)
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like:
1. Maple & cognac marianted pork chops served with a parsnip & potato mash
2. Marinated pork loin on a bed of leeks & olives
3. Marinated chicken in lemon thyme,  lemon, lemon zest, garlic & honey

Herbalife zorgt voor energie & vitaliteit!
Iets voor jou!

34 responses to “Orange marmalade marinated pork chops & garden update!

  1. Kira Jacobs says:

    YUMMMM! Dont u love being able to serve something uve grown at home :) makes u feel so so good!! :) i love wedges but lately ive been mixing it up and making swedes/Rutabaga wedges as well :) i like to toss them in a lil EVOO ground salt n pepper and some smokey paprika powder or chipotle powder and baked them :) LOVE the crisp white of the Tree Peony flower so lovely! Hope ur well hugs sent ur way from Australia :)

    • Sophie33 says:

      yes, I do! :) Your swedes wedges recipe sounds really good & tasty! :) I will try your recipe! MMMM,…! Hugs back at you from Belgium! xxx

  2. Ina Gawne says:

    Sophie – your pork chops and marinade sound delicious – perfect comfort food! Lovely fresh garden produce too….can’t wait for summer! :)

  3. zestybeandog says:

    Looks delicious! What a nice photograph as well, it’s so springy!

  4. I’m so envious that you have fresh greens in your garden and you can gather ingredients for your salads. It doesn’t get much fresher than that! Your pork chop marinade sounds delicious, Sophie.

    • Sophie33 says:

      OOoh but it is still the beginning of the produce season. I can’t wait for my yelow & green courgettes, beets & spinach!

  5. Karen says:

    Love your marinated pork chops. Orange marmalade and mustard must give them a lovely flavor. I’ll be happy when my potted tomatoes go into the ground at the end of the month.

  6. kokob says:

    Your radishes are sooooo cute!! Sophie I have marinated salmon in orange marmalade before, and it was delicious! I bet your pork chops were too!!!! Have a great weekend!!!

  7. Carolyn Jung says:

    I love using jams and marmalades for things like this. In fact, I made glazed carrots the other night with some jarred ginger in syrup. Yum!

  8. grace says:

    although apples and pork go together well, oranges are right up there too. what a tasty dish, sophie!

  9. Valerie says:

    Those pork chops sound great! Keep us updated on your garden harvest! Have a great weekend!

  10. I like the idea of orange marmalade marinade, wonderful flavors for the pork chops!

  11. Claudia says:

    I’ve bookmarked this – love, LOVE the marinade. Perfect for pork. None of our vegetables will be ready for awhile but meanwhile – I am also loving the blossoms. Grand spring photos!

  12. Yum – looks like a fabulous dinner!

  13. Stephanie says:

    Sophie, I’ve thrilled to see the red sorrel! I think it’s what I have, labeled “blood sorrel,” and I’ve never seen it eaten anywhere else. I have found it seems to tolerate heat less well than green sorrel (“french”) sorrel.

    • Sophie33 says:

      I agree, it can’t stand the heat that much! :) I love the normal green sorrel a lot too!, great as a sauce for grilled fish!

  14. It must taste so lovely and so much better coming from your garden! :D

  15. Tandy says:

    I love the marinade. :)

  16. Nadji says:

    Un mélange de saveurs comme je les aime.
    Bravo!
    A bientôt

  17. Sara says:

    This looks great! I went a little crazy making marmalade so I’m always looking for ways to use it.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,083 other followers

