Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Sophie’s vegan cheddary cheese spread! Ooh yeah!

on 26/04/2012

A tasty vegan cheddar style like spread! Yummy!

Tasty cheeselike flavour: nutritional yeast! Great for vegans!

A while ago, I tested several recipes to make my own vegan cheese spread. I mixed & tried & now I made my own vegan chedarry style spread. I made it in a food processor & it is so easy to make. Just pour the spread in a container with fitting lid & place it into the fridge to stiff up a bit, for a few hours. I prefer to eat the spread the day after, it has more flavour that way. You can keep the spread for about 1 week in your fridge. After standing a while in your container, you must mix well with a spoon before eating for a better consistency, otherwise it can be a bit watery. This is divine, tasty & so versatile to use too.

How to use?

1. Use it as a tasty spread on crackers or on bread.

2. Make tasty sandwiches with it & smear some vegan cheddar cheese on the insides of  the sandwiches & top with some mixed lettuce leaves, cucumber slices & some cherry tomatoes. Yummy!

3. I haven’t used this as a basic hot cheese sauce yet but I am going to try this out later. Recipe follows later on.

4. This is also great  as a  tasty dip.

This spread has nutritional yeast in it. What is it?

Nutrional yeast, is called in Dutch: edelgist is a deactivated yeast that is sold commercially as a food product. It is sold in the form of flakes or as a fine yellow powder & vegans use it to add extra flavour to their foods. They also use it to make cheeselike food products. When you taste it from the bag, it tastes like cheese. I think so anyway. The flavour of it has been described as nutty, cheesy or creamy.

I use a very fine nutritional yeast powder. It is very good for you too because it is a good source of protein, has a lot of vitamins B in it. Some nutritional yeasts contain vitamin B 12. It is low in fat & low in sodium. It is also dairy-free, sugar-free & gluten-free.

You can’t buy this expensive product in a supermarket or in an organic shop here in Belgium but I can buy it online from a rawliving shop in Belgium. Sunfoodliving

Just click onto the previous link. It costs 14.50 Euro for 210 gr. That’s expensive, no?

Recipe: For about 8 persons or less , depending on how you use the spread

Ingredients:

400 gr of silken tofu, well-drained & pad dry on kitchen paper

2 heaped tablespoons & 2 heaped teaspoons of nutritional yeast powder

2 tablespoons of tahin ( grey sesame paste )

2 tablespoons of lemon juice

1 + 1/2 tablespoon of sweet yellow miso paste

1 teaspoon of shalot powder

3/4 teaspoon of Maldon sea salt flakes

1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder

1 teaspoon of Spanish paprika powder, the dulce version ( Sweet smoked Spanish paprika )

1/4 teaspoon of Curcuma

1/2 teaspoon of Dijon mustard

Method:

1. Take your food processor & add all the ingredients, all equally divided in the processor. Place the fitting lid on & blitz & blitz until it all comes together & forms a thicker smooth spread. Taste! It has to taste fab. It mustn’t taste bland! Adjust the seasoning, if you need to. You taste the Spanish paprika a lot but is will taste a bit less when you have placed it into the fridge for 1 night. I assure you that! :)

2. Pour or spoon your spread into a container with fitting lid & place into the fridge to stiff up a bit. I found that the flavours were better after 1 night in the fridge. Use it wisely & have fun with it creating new dishes & sandwiches! :) happy eating, I say! ;)

If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts

You might like:

1. Vegan baked brown rice & broccoli in a cheesy sauce! Oh yeah!

Gezond afvallen?
Kies Herbalife!

27 responses to “Sophie’s vegan cheddary cheese spread! Ooh yeah!

  1. This is so interesting. I’ve never heard of this product before but will share this with my vegan friends.

  2. Kira Jacobs says:

    interesting way of using the yeast like this! its been awhile! I hope u r well <3

  3. Creative! Really looks like ooey-gooey food cheddar sauce.

  4. twbarritt says:

    Fascinating how you managed to get that savory cheese flavor! Sounds delicious!

  5. zestybeandog says:

    I’m a big cheese fan BIG cheese Fan but I’d try this because I’ll try anything! I’ll share with my non cheese eating friends!

  6. kokob says:

    Oooh, very nice Sophie! I’ve started using more nutritional yeast in my diet, too! Gotta have that B12!

  7. Veggiewitch says:

    I love nutritional yeast! Thank you so much for this inspired recipe. *squishy hugs*
    Veggiewitch ♥

  8. hotlyspiced says:

    This is a new one for me and it sounds very interesting. Love how it has many different uses. xx

  9. shaheen says:

    I have not come across one vegan cheese that i like, but I am tempted to try this one as it has nutritional yeast which I like. By the way what is curcuma?

  10. Ina Gawne says:

    Sophie – What a great way to use Nutritional Yeast! I have had some in a jar in the cupboard for quite a while now. Do you know how long Nutritional Yeast will keep in a jar? I bet a cheese sauce would be fabulous! :)

  11. slcolman says:

    I will have to find some nutritional yeast and try this yummy looking recipe soon :)

  12. Johanna GGG says:

    I love this sort of cheeze sauce but am having problems finding nutritional yeast – it seems to come and go at odd places but the usual places haven’t had it lately – and now you have me hankering after some

  13. Carolyn Jung says:

    You made your own vegan cheese? Now, THAT is pretty impressive. And it sure looks awesome.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,087 other followers

