Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Oven baked salmon with asparagus & oven baked potato wedges

on 22/04/2012

A divine & tasty dinner

Lovely cooked & buttered white asparagus! Yummy!

This is one of the main asparagus dinners I make when white asparagus are in season. White peeled asparagus are cooked, drained, browned & heated through in vegan butter. Then, scattered chives are thrown all over the dish. This is a delectable & festive meal, mostly made in the oven. I buy my potato wedges, precooked, in my supermarket. Easy does it here! Enjoy this tasty dinner with a lovely white Sauvignon wine.

Recipe: For 2 persons, with a bit of seconds

Ingredients:

** For the white asparagus:

2 bunches of 500 gr white Belgian asparagus, not too thick, the outside tougher peel removed, the toughest & wooden thick end part, cut off, cut into 2/ You can’t eat the white outer peel of the white asparagus!

Maldon sea salt

black pepper

a gluten-free  vegan butter ( I use Planta )

** For the oven baked salmon:

2 x pieces of each 220 gr salmon fillets, no skin

Maldon sea salt flakes

Black pepper, finely grinned

** For the oven baked potato wedges:

400 gr of cooked & cooled off, peeled potato wedges

a fruity extra virgin olive oil

black pepper

an organic dried Mediterranean herb mix sea salt, I used the brand Lebensbaum/ Bought it in the Bio-planet!

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 180°C ( 350 F ) for 10 minutes. Prepare your salmon. Take a fitting oven dish & smear it in with planta. This is a vegan baking butter. Prepare your salmon fillets. Clean them, pad dry on kitchen paper & season with finely grinned black pepper  & some sea salt flakes. Season well. Place the 2 fish fillets besides each other in the dish. Then, prepare your oven baked potato wedges. Place them in 1 layer in a non-stick oven dish & pour 2 to 4 tablespoons of a fruity evoo all over them. Add some grins of finely black pepper  & some fine grins of the mixed dried herbs sea salt. With clean hands, mingle everything together. Place the 2 oven dishes in the oven & bake until the fish is cooked through & the potato wedges are golden brown & cooked through. I bake my fish about 20 to 35 minutes. You don’t want to overcook the fish!!! Check with a thin pin to see if the fish is ready. The potatoes take about 25 to 35 minutes to cook too. I turn my wedges around, after half of the cooking time is gone, to brown evenly.

2. In the meantime, when the oven dishes are nearly ready & only take about 15 minutes to cook, cook your asparagus. Cook your peeled & cut asparagus in salted boiling water until al dente. This will take a few to 6 minutes depending on the size of your asparagus. Drain well but avoid breaking the cooked asparagus! When ready, take the same hot pot but empty all the water. Heat up on medium high. When hot, add some planta & heat up. When hot & sizzling, add the cooked asparagus & fry until golden & surrounded by the vegan butter. Add some seasoning. I used black pepper but if you prefer you can use white pepper. It is your choice but I don’t like the taste of white pepper. When heated through & hot, scatter some chive pieces all over the asparagus. Place a fitting lid on & serve instantly with the salmon & the baked potato wedges.  Happy eating & don’t forget the lovely wine! :)

If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts

You might like:

1. Grilled green asparagus with oven baked potatoes & oven baked salmon

2. Orechiette with asparagus ( green & white ), peas, prosciutto & cream

Herbalife verandert uw leven!
Afvallen of bijkomen: U kan het ook!

36 responses to “Oven baked salmon with asparagus & oven baked potato wedges

  1. Look at that asparagus!!

  2. junglefrog says:

    That looks so good Sophie. I love asparagus, although I have to confess that I’m a bigger fan of the green ones then of the white ones but I still think they’re pretty marvelous!

  3. twbarritt says:

    How lovely! I only rarely see white asparagus in the store. What a special treat to serve with salmon!

  4. boeddhamum says:

    What a lovely dish, Sohie, glad that you feel better!

  5. Mmm… absolutely love white asparagus! This is a lovely meal!

  6. Veggiewitch says:

    That asparagus looks wonderful! ♥

  7. hotlyspiced says:

    What a lovely meal Charlie. I love how you cooked the white asparagus. I see white asparagus from time to time but mostly buy the green. The white is unavailable for most of the year. I’m sure you could make this using green when white is hard to source. Asparagus and salmon and a glass of white wine go so well together xx

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thanks, Charlie! :) Enjoy this meal, is indeed also great with green aspargaus but with white ones this is more of a festive & more flavourfull meal! :)

  8. kokob says:

    What a coincidence! I was literally at the grocery store today when I saw white asparagus for the first time this year. I didn’t pick any up because I thought to myself “hmmmm what would I make!?” but I should have bought some. I’ll have to next time and try your lovely recipe, Sophie!

  9. Tandy says:

    we don’t often get white asparagus here sadly :)

  10. Norma Chang says:

    We are beginning to see white asparagus in the grocer store but not very often. Fabulously balanced meal with a glass of wine, cannot get any better.

  11. Valerie says:

    Ah, yes, my parents told me it was white asparagus season in Belgium and France. I used to only eat the green kind, but I’ve learned to appreciate the white ones as well. This is a great, balanced meal!

  12. Gail says:

    Yum, what a tasty looking meal! White asparagus is hard to find in Australia, but I ate a lot of it when I lived in Holland and really came to appreciate it.

  13. Ina Gawne says:

    Sophie – this is a lovely meal. I must try white asparagus! :)

  14. I’ve haven’t had white asparagus in such a long time, must look for some!

  15. Blond Duck says:

    I didn’t know you could bake salmon! How curious!

  16. Tammy says:

    Now there is your white asparagus! Would love this meal.

  17. Carolyn Jung says:

    My ideal meal, as I love asparagus and salmon. The epitome of spring. ;)

  18. Stephanie says:

    The asparagus looks delightful! White asparagus is uncommon here in the US, but I really enjoyed it in Germany a couple years ago.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 931 other followers

