Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Marinated salmon with grilled marinated red & normal witlof served with oven baked potato wedges

on 09/03/2012

A divine, truly tasty & festive meal!

Yesterday, I made this tasty & festive meal! I invented this meal from scratch! It was a huge success with me & my husband! We celebrated 16 years of being together.

This meal is a bit of work though every step is so easy to make. The fish melts in the mouth & every flavour is so well joined in this festive dinner! This dinner is tasty enjoyed with a white Australian, Lindemans wine, Bin series 95, 2011 Sauvignon wine. A perfect match!

Recipe: For 2 persons, with a bit of seconds

Ingredients:

** For the honey, chives & orange juice marinated salmon:

2 x 200 gr of salmon pieces, cleaned & pad dry on kitchen paper

juice of 2 oranges

1/8 cup of soy sauce

1 fat clove of garlic, peeled & finely chopped up

1/8 cup of fresh chives, cleaned & cut up in fine pieces

finely cracks of black pepper

2 teaspoons of sea salt

1/2 cup of a good honey / I used organic Belgian honey

** For the grilled red & normal witlof:

3 red witlof, ( Belgian endive)cleaned, bottom cut of & sliced lengthways into 2

2 normal witlof, ( Belgian endive ) cleaned, bottom cut of & sliced lengthways into 2

For the marinade added after grilling:

6 tablespoons of a fruity extra virgin olive oil

4 tablespoons of sherry balsam vinegar

cracks of black pepper

sea salt flakes/ I use Maldon sea salt

1 teaspoon of the same honey as above

** For the oven baked potato wedges:

600 gr of cooked & cooled potato wedges / I bought mine in the supermarket ( Delhaize )

sea salt flakes

cracks of black pepper

4 tablespoons of a fruity extra virgin olive oil

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 225 °C (437 F ) for 10 minutes. I always use a fan oven. Adjust your oven to the right temperature.

2. First make the marinade for the fish. Take all of your ingredients for the marinade & add them to a large bowl where the 2 fish pieces fit in, besides each other. Whisk well with a whisk to combine everything together. Taste! Your marinade has to taste fab!. If not, add some more cracked black pepper or salt. Place your 2 salmon pieces in it.  Pour the marinade also over the top of the fish. Place some cling film over the top & place into the fridge to marinate for 30 minutes.

3. In the meantime, prepare your oven baked potatoes. Take a large oven dish & if it isn’t non-stick, smear it in with olive oil. Arrange your potato wedges, in 1 layer in it. Add the fruity olive oil & add cracks of black pepper & sea salt flakes to taste. Mix everything together with clean hands. Place into the preheated oven on the medium shelf & bake for about 40 to 50 minutes. Look sometimes, to see if the tops don’t burn, to prevent this, turn the potato wedges over after half of the cooking time has past.

4. After 30 minutes of marinating the fish, take it out of the fridge & out of the marinade. Keep the marinade!!!! 

Take an oven just large enough to fit the 2 salmon pieces. Smear it in with that fruity evoo. Place your 2 marinated salmons besides each other. Bake in the preheated oven on 225°C ( 437 F ) for about 10 to 18 minutes or until just cooked through & succulent. After 10 minutes, with help of a spoon, I poured a bit of the salmon marinade over the 2 fish pieces, to add extra flavour. When ready, turn the oven off but keep warm. In the meantime, finally, heat a large non-stick griddle pan on high heat. When hot & smokey, place the cut up witlof, with the cut side down on the grill. Grill just when you see the black lines on one side & that side is cooked through. Turn on the other side & grill until cooked through on both sides. This will only take about 10 to 12 minutes. When hot & ready, place them on a chopping board. Cut them up, lengthways in different pieces, place them on a serving plate. Take your witlof marinade for after the grilling. Whisk again. Pour a lot or all of it, if you like over the grilled witlof. Place on the table to serve & plate everything up. I boiled the salmon marinade & used it to serve as an extra, to eat with the salmon dish. It is much better to cook the marinade a bit more in, because I didn’t do that & then you are left with a more liquid sauce :) Enjoy with a loved one & don’t forget the excellent wine! ;)

Divine & tasty grilled red & normal witlof & marinated after grilling!

Tha lovely salmon marinade!

If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts

You might like:

1. Ginger, honey & lemon marinated salmon on a bed of lemon leeks served with a new potato & chives mash

2. Oven baked  salmon with orange & ginger, served with spinach & brown rice

3. Grilled green asparagus with oven baked salmon & oven baked potatoes

Vermageren met Herbalife:
Gemakkelijk & héérlijk ook!

58 responses to “Marinated salmon with grilled marinated red & normal witlof served with oven baked potato wedges

  1. Betty says:

    Waw, Sophie! What a great & festive dinner!
    I love witlof a lot in this different way, so apart too! :) I love this wine too! :)

  2. Veggiewitch says:

    This looks soooo good, I almost wish I ate meat. =0)

  3. Jef Boven says:

    A dish that shows your Brussels origine, Sophie! Brilliant as usual, mouth-watering as witlof and salmon can be. Splendid!

  4. Kim Forni says:

    Perfect salmon! it’s on sale this week and my hubs happens to work in the seafood dept. I consider this an awesome score! Thanks!

  5. I love the flavors in the salmon marinade. Have to try it soon :)

  6. Koko says:

    Ah, I had no idea what witlof was! ha ha!
    This dish looks amaaaazing. I’m truly drooling! Congratulations on 16 years with Peter!!!!

  7. Congratulations on being together for 16 years! What a lovely dinner to celebrate with and I’m chuffed that you had an Australian wine! ;)

  8. MaryMoh says:

    Sophie, congrats on your 16th wedding anniversary!!

    Mmmm….lovely meal for the occasion. I love salmon. Love how you marinade the salmon.

  9. Ina Gawne says:

    Sophie – my mouth is watering! This dish looks fabulous, tasty, and I want to dive in! Happy Anniversary to you and your husband! :)

  10. Hotly Spiced says:

    Wow Sophie! I’m impressed. That looks so delicious. And congratulations on creating your own recipes AND on 16 years together. Great milestone!

  11. Beautiful Sophie! And happy anniversary!! x

  12. Lovely meal indeed! Happy Anniversary, if the way to a mans heart is through his stomach then you’ll be married for at least another 100 years :)

  13. Gail says:

    This looks like a delicious meal, and good to see that you have matched it with an Australian wine! Happy anniversary – my husband & I celebrated 13 years last week.

  14. Joanne says:

    Happy belated anniversary!
    The meal looks amazing.

  15. Norma Chang says:

    Happy anniversary!!!!! Lovely combination of ingredients and flavors.

  16. Carolyn Jung says:

    You had me scratching my head about what witlof could be. Ahhh, endive! Who knew it went by another name like that, too? I tell ya, I learn something new every day. ;)

  17. Barbara says:

    First of all, Happy Anniversary, Sophie!
    And then….never heard endive called witlof before! I do bok choy that way, but never endive. Great dish!

  18. SALMON!! I LOVE THEM! This looks so flavourful and tasty! I had some endive stir-fry for dinner…pleasantly bitter and delicious.

    Happy Anniversary, Sophie!

  19. sophie!
    i love salmon.
    next time you want to be creative with salmon, try using some hoisin sauce with orange juice as a glaze. so good!!

  20. What a meal! Look at those glorious, shimmering potato wedges!

  21. zestybeandog says:

    This is a winner! I love everything about it, especially the endive!

  22. Tammy says:

    I am sure glad you told me what witlof is because I don’t think I could’ve guessed from the photos. Great idea Sophie!

  23. An excellent meal! I like the witlof side dish, very nice!

  24. Valerie says:

    16 years, wow! My husband and I just celebrated 5 years of being together (and soon 6 months of being married).

    Witlof is one of those foods I really, really hated as a child. Even when they were wrapped in ham and baked with cheese. As an adult, I’ve learned to appreciate them in certain forms, but it really depends. But the salmon sounds amazing, great marinade!

  25. Happy anniversary Sophie. That’s fantastic. Love your salmon, always a favorite in our house.
    Sam

  26. Blond Duck says:

    Happy anniversary!

  27. Blond Duck says:

    Have a great weekend! I wish WordPress would let me comment!

    http://www.aduckinherpond.com

  28. Velva says:

    Happy 16th wedding anniversary!! Your meal looks wonderful, perfect for a celebration.

    Velva

  29. Congratulations on such an important anniversary and what a way to celebrate – your hubby is one lucky guy!

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 947 other followers

