Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Vegan baked banana & coconut cheesecake

on 09/02/2012

Tasty vegan baked banana & coconut cheesecake tartlets

A delightful & tasty dig in baked banana & coconut cheesecake!

Today, I made these tasty & appetizing vegan baked banana & coconut cheese cakes. They turned out great. The base is crispy & chewy & the filling is silk, smooth & truly appetizing!!!

Recently, I am experimenting with tasty invented vegan recipes. I don’t like using eggs anymore in my baking. I also wanted a vegan cheesecake I didn’t want to use a vegan cream cheese like tofutti. This cream cheese is so heavy & unhealthy too.

I had silken tofu in my fridge & wanted to use it in this tasty cheesecake. I have experimented with using tofu in my kitchen, lately.

So, make these easy yet tasty appetizing cheesecake tartlets & go on, indulge yourself: it is so healthy & apart too! ;)

Recipe: For 2 x 12 cm diameter tartlets + 1 x 10 cm diameter tartlet

Ingredients:

** For the base crusts:

4 large Medjool dates, chopped up

90 ml water

4 x 100% brown rice no-salt rice cakes

45 gr unsweetened coconut flakes

2 teaspoons canola oil

** For the cheesecake filling:

125 gr creamed coconut

300 gr silken tofu = 1 packet / I used Unicurd

1 large very ripe banana, peeled & cut into chunks

3 tablespoons vegan banana soy milk/ I used Alpro

2 tablespoons organic agave syrup

1 teaspoon vanilla extract/ I use home-made

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 170°C ( 325 F ) for about 10 minutes. I use a fan oven. Adjust your oven to this temperature.

2. First, make the base. Take a medium cooking pot & add  chopped up dates & water. Stew the dates into the water until they are soft & swollen up.  Take a food-processor & break the 4 rice cakes into smaller pieces. Blitz & blitz until they resemble fine breadcrumbs. If you don’t have a food-processor place the rice cakes into a Ziploc bag, close well, place this closed bag onto a chopping bord & bash with a rolling-pin often until the rice cakes look like fine breadcrumbs.  Place the fine rice cake crumbs into a large pot & add unsweetened coconut flakes, canola oil & date & water mix. Mix well with a wooden spoon until joined beautifully.

Firstly, I use tartlets with removable bottoms. I smear them all in with vegan soy baking margarine, to prevent sticking to the tart tins. Secondly, divide this mixture equally between the 3 tartlets. Push with your hands the dough into the base & sides of the 3 tartlets. See that you have a good thicker base, equal on all sides. Push the dough carefully up high into the sides of the tartlet case. Now, with your thumb, push the dough round into the tartlet to fit neatly, all the sides up too. Roll with your rolling-pin over each bottom filled tartlet to remove excess dough.

3. Make the filling. Take a blender or food processor & add the silken tofu, cut up banana, creamed coconut, agave, banana soy milk & vanilla. Mix or blitz until completely smooth. Taste! It tastes yum! Add a bit more agave if you need to. Place the tartlets onto an oven-rack for stability & fill them royal with the banana & coconut cheesecake filling. I had a bit of the filling leftover so I am going to make a breakfast smoothy with that for later use. Place the oven-rack into the hot oven & bake for about 15 to 20 minutes or until just set. I tested my tartlets after 20 minutes of baking with a little pin inserted into the thicker part of the filling. A little pin came out clean. The inside will still be a bit wobbly but it will firm up when it will be cooled in the fridge. When browned in colour & just set , take the oven-rack out of the oven & let it cool off until completely cold. Place into the fridge to cool off further. When you want them to eat, 15 minutes before eating, take them out of the fridge, to come to room temperature. When cooled, removed the tartlets moulds & the bottom too. It is this easy. Place the tartlet onto a big can & the outside will come, fall off easily. Help it with your hands, if you need to. Then, with help of a knife, slide the bottom away from the tartlet, be careful though! Slide the tartlet onto a lovely dessert-plate & enjoy this deliciousness!

MMM,…Lovely enjoyed with your loved one & a great coconut tea! :)    If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You might like:

1. Vegan saffron & fennel soy cream tartlets, served with a warm spinach, mushroom & chickpeas sauce

2. Using leftover from this filling, making a tasty smoothy out of it: Vegan speculaas spiced banana & coconut smoothy

74 responses to “Vegan baked banana & coconut cheesecake

  1. Juliana says:

    Interesting crust Sophie, brown rice cake, coconut and dates…like the idea of tofu as cheese.
    Hope you are having a great week :)

    • Sophie33 says:

      Yeah, I think so to. I have been experimenting with the crust a lot & this one is the best version of it! :) Enjoy them! :-)

  2. strangej says:

    This looks amazing! I can’t wait to try making it. For people on a soy free diet do you think it would work to soak cashews and grind them up to replace the tofu?

    • Sophie33 says:

      I haven’t made a soaked cashews cheesecake yet so I utterly can’t say it but I have seen recipes on blogs that work. Maybe you must adjust the ingredinets of my filling!

  3. Katarina says:

    Looks really delicious! And you have used great ingredients!

  4. Hotly Spiced says:

    That’s great Sophie. I didn’t think it would be possible to make a vegan cheesecake. And it looks lovely too.

  5. Kristen says:

    That looks so freaking delicious, I wish I could just grab a bite through the www. I’ve had one made from cashews before and it was to die for. I’m loving that crust! THANKS!!!

  6. Blond Duck says:

    It sounds so good!

  7. Ina Gawne says:

    Sophie – this looks absolutely delicious! I love the crust. I have used Silken Tofu as well – it works great!

  8. boeddhamum says:

    Interesting crust, Sophie, well done!

  9. Koko says:

    Sophie this looks amazing!! I love that you used tofu instead of Tofutti….I am just not sure that those ‘fake’ cream cheeses, etc. are healthy. Good for you experimenting- you created a masterpiece!!

    • Sophie33 says:

      I love using Tofutti from time to time but it is so unhealthy & so heavy too! :)

      I am so happy that you love it, my friend, especially that you are doing raw food, lately but I baked mine!

  10. Tammy says:

    Sophie, I love the photos that you shared. Thanks for showing the product. I love that you invented this.

  11. kankana says:

    Very interesting and original choice of crust! The cake sounds delicious and who doesn’t like cheese cake :)

  12. Jeannie says:

    I love the look of this healthy cheesecake, the crust sounds interesting and delicious!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Hey, Jeannie! :) It is more healthy but the 100% creamed coconut contains a lot of fat too?!?!
      We can be neaughty from time to time !!!

  13. Valerie says:

    It’s great that you’re experimenting and coming up with this kind of recipe! Banana and coconut are a great combo!

  14. Claudia says:

    Loving this Sophie – I am also on the lookout for vegan recipes for friends. Grand adaptation!

  15. Carolyn Jung says:

    Wow, hard to believe that’s vegan because it looks so decadently creamy. Love the tropical flavor combo.

  16. Divya Yadava says:

    That’s a fantastic idea for a healthy cheesecake – bookmarked!

  17. Wow, what a great recipe! Never thought of using banana as a cheesecake, this is brilliant!! And it looks delicious!

  18. rebecca says:

    wow this looks great :-) you make vegan look fab

  19. I should give this a go-it looks great Sophie! I once tried a raw cheesecake and thought that it was scrumptious, I think I would like this too! :)

  20. Emmy says:

    Ooo Yum – Banana and Coconut and Cheescake – some of my favourite things all wrapped up in one package!!

  21. This would be great for V-day!

  22. Barbara says:

    Love the ingredient list for the crust, Sophie! Your pie looks divine.

  23. ruth says:

    Very creative. Looks great and love the combination of coconut and banana.

  24. Bananas and coconuts are such a classic combination. Funny, they grew in our yard in the islands. May it’s true what they say – what grows together goes together.
    Sam

  25. Olive says:

    Hello Sophie! :)

    mmm..love that coconut and banana tart, it doesn’t hurt that it’s healthy too. Happy Valentine’s Day to you and your hubby! ü

  26. Tine says:

    Love this recipe! Gonna try it!

  27. This healthy cheesecake sounds amazing! I love the dates in the crust, and the filling is excellent.

  28. What an amazing recipe! I love the idea of the rice cakes in the base too :)

  29. grace says:

    you know, i can’t really recall a time when i saw bananas involved with cheesecake–great idea! the coconut is the addition that reels me in. :)

  30. LOVE this recipe!! So creative!! I love using dates as natural sweetener :) And coconut, wow, just don’t get me started :D

  31. FOODESSA says:

    Now this recipe looks promising especially since I love using dates.
    The bananas are certainly the bonus…how clever ;o)

    Ciao for now,
    Claudia

  32. Blond Duck says:

    Have a great weekend!

  33. Lisa says:

    OMG. coconut – banana cheesecake – this looks to die for, Sophie! You never fail to amaze me with your glorious gluten-free creations!

  34. Pam says:

    It looks and sounds SO GOOD!

  35. Wow, this looks incredible! I’ll definitely have to try it out! :)

  36. Chantal says:

    So good & so healthy! Thanks for sharing!

  37. Norma Chang says:

    Love your crust idea, so creative. Would greasing the bottoms with coconut oil instead of vegan soy baking margarine work? After all coconut oil is solid.

  38. You are so creative and talented…. how can you think of such amazing ideas?? :)

  39. Very interesting crust! I made a banana cashew cheesecake with a raw cacao almond date crust, but I’d love to lower the fat content in my recipe so I’ll try the rice cakes next time!

  40. biggsis says:

    GF vegan cheesecake? Thank goodness you shared the recipe or my husband might be knocking on your door ;-)

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,091 other followers

