Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Vegan pear and cashew nut pulp spelt muffins

on 03/02/2012

Delightful vegan pear & cashew nut pulp spelt muffins! Lovely as a food gift!

A tasty & fluffy interior! Yum!

Yesterday, I made these tasty vegan pear & cashew nut pulp spelt muffins. This recipe is my own creation! These aren’t that sweet. They are ideal as a good breakfast on the go!

Recently, in my last post, I made 2 raw home-made cashew milks. I made 1 recipe using raw, soaked & drained date sweetened cashews. When I strained the milk, the date sweetened cashew nut pulp was left. I wanted to use it in something like in a dessert. So, I created these vegan pear muffins. I don’t like using eggs in my baking anymore so I used 1/2 mashed banana instead of 1 egg in my muffins.

It worked really well. These are delightful breakfast or dessert muffins, darker on the outside because of the light spelt flour. They are more healthy this way. They are light & lovely at the interior. I used my silicon flower patterned baking mats. You don’t have to grease silicon baking ware. Check it out for yourself!!! :) Easy does it.

Recipe: For 16 larger flower shaped muffins

Ingredients:

** The dry ingredients:

3 cups organic light spelt flour / I used Sharpham Park organic Britsh light spelt flour

3/4 cup coconut blossom sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

3 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 cup date sweetened cashew nut pulp

1 tablespoon date sweetened cashew nut pulp

1/2 banana, mashed completely with a fork ( instead of 1 egg, as a binder )

** The wet ingredients:

1 cup soy milk/ I used Pro Soya

1/2 cup canola oil/ I used an organic one

3 teaspoons vanilla extract / I use home-made

2 medium very ripe Doyenne pears, peeled, cored & cut into little chunks

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 200° C ( 400 F ) for about 10 minutes. I use a fan oven. Adjust your oven to the right temperature.

2. Take a large bowl or the fitting bowl of your Kenwood. Add all of the dry ingredients in here. Place the K-paddle in your Kenwood. Mix well on lower speed until it all comes together. If you are using a large bowl, mix well with a wooden spoon until just combined.

3. In another bowl,  add all of the liquid ingredients. Whisk everything together.

4. Now, pour the liquid mix to the dry ingredients mix. Mix well on medium speed until just combined. DO NOT OVERMIX! In a large bowl, add the liquid mix. Mix until just combined.

5. Now, add the chopped up pear chunks. Mix on medium speed until just mixed together. Scrape the sides of your bowl & mix again. Now, place your flower patterned silicon baking mats on a silpat & on an oven rack for stability. You never have to grease silicon baking materials!! That’s so easy to use. Fill them 3/4 with the muffin mix. I could fill 16 larger flower patterend muffins. Shake a bit with the muffin tray to shake off any air bubbles. Place them in the preheated oven & bake them for about 15 to 20 minutes. I tested mine after 20 minutes with a little pin inserted in the middle of the muffin. It was clean & dry when taken out & the muffins were brown & well risen too. Take them out of the oven & place them in their silicon baking mats on a rack to cool. I leave them in their silicon baking mats for about 10 minutes. That gives the muffins their shine &  they are easy to take out of the muffin trays. Now, carefully flip them over so you can see the flower pattern on top & place them all on wire racks to cool down completely.

6. When cool, slice them open &  eat them just like that. I bet that home-made vegan pear butter would be great with them.

I enjoy them with some home-made cinnamon bark tea. Enjoy! :) If there are any left overs, store them in a cookie box! There are great as a special food gift too! :)

I always use this brand of sicilon baking mats & material: Silikomart. An Italian brand! Here is their website in English.

Stay Tuned! If you liked this post & want more of them, join 1,129 email followers! Subscribe by email! It is free!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Facebook too! :)

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like :

a/   2 home-made cashew milks

b/ Wholegrain eggless spelt, banana & coconut breakfast muffins

c/ Wholegrain spelt, chocolate & ricotta muffins with dark chocolate chips

d/ Wholegrain spelt & blueberry breakfast muffins

24 responses to “Vegan pear and cashew nut pulp spelt muffins

  1. Hotly Spiced says:

    What wonderful looking muffins. I can see they are dense but very moist. What a great way to start the day.

  2. Delicious and beautiful muffins — I want that decorative tins :)

    • Sophie says:

      Thanks, Kiran! :) Enjoy! I gave the link to my silikomart sislicon flower patterend muffin trays below my post. Just click onto the link. They ship all over the world! :)

  3. boeddhamum says:

    What a great way to use all your ingredients, what to do with the pulp, just make a delicious muffin! Super, Sophie!

  4. Ina Gawne says:

    Those muffins look so moist and tasty! I am going to town today….gotta find Coconut Blossom Sugar!

  5. Koko says:

    Great way to put those pulp leftovers to use!!

  6. Barb says:

    Those are beautiful! And they look very hearty too, like a breakfast that would keep you going all morning!

  7. Blond Duck says:

    They sound delish!

  8. What a great way to use up that leftover nutmilk pulp!

  9. Johanna GGG says:

    just left a comment but I think my net connection is too slow tonight – argh – love the muffins and the inspiring use of the pulp and the coconut blossom sugar which should be the name of a cartoon character

  10. FOODESSA says:

    I’m loving 3 things about this recipe…it’s slightly sweet…it uses pulp from the cashew milk recipe and more importantly…you developed this recipe yourself. Brava!

    Although, somewhat absent from my visits lately, it was a pleasure to fall upon this treat today.

    Thanks Sophie ;o)

    Ciao for now,
    Claudia

  11. Stacey says:

    They’re beautiful and look so tasty! Thanks for the recipe, I’ll have to try.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,145 other followers

