Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Sophie’s festive stuffed pumpkin!

on 27/11/2011

Festive stuffed pumpkin ,yummy!

I made this festive stuffed pumpkin yesterday. My in – laws came to visit us. What should I make for dinner? I needed to improvise but I had enough things in my fridge, freezer & in my pantry. So, I came up with this:

Don’t you want to take a large bite?

Recipe: For 4 persons

Ingredients:

1 medium pumpkin, cut horizontally into 2 halves ,seeds & stringy bits removed with a spoon

2 x 125 gr brown whole grain long rice, in sachets, that only need 12 minutes of cooking

1 handful of dark brown raisins

2 handfuls of frozen chopped up leeks

300 gr of organic pork mince

1 white onion, peeled & finely cut up

a fruity EVOO

unrefined coconut oil

black pepper, finely grinned

Maldon sea salt

Smoked paprika, the picanté version

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 175°C , ( 347 F ) ( I use a fan oven ) , for about 10 to 15 minutes. Adjust the temperature to your oven. If you  a normal oven, preheat to 200°C ( 400 F ).

2. Take your pumpkin halves & place them, cut side up, in a non stick oven dish & season with grinned black pepper & sea salt. Drizzle that fruity EVOO a bit over the pumpkin parts. Place in the center of the oven for about 20 to 30 minutes & bake until tender & cooked trough. Test with a knife. Leave it in the oven but turn the heat off.

3. In the meantime, cook the rice until tender. Drain well  & cut the sachets open with a knife. Leave in the cooking pot with fitting lid to keep warm. On an other heat, at the same time, take a large non stick pan, heat up on medium. Add 1 to 2 tablespoons  coconut oil & heat up. When sizzling & hot, add onion &  fry until browned. Stir often. Add the minced pork  & add some sea salt , black pepper &  a few dashes of smoked paprika. Add more if you need to. When nearly cooked, check the seasoning & add the raisins. The raisins will absorb the flavours in the pan & will be heated through too!

I needed to add a bit more smoked paprika & a bit more sea salt. It has to taste fab! You must taste the meat, the raisins & the smoked paprika at the back of your tongue.

4. In another cooking pot,pour a bit of that fruity EVOO. Now, add the frozen leeks. Add a bit of hot water, if necessary. Prevent burning. Add some sea salt & grinds of black pepper to make it taste lovely. It musn’t taste bad. When cooked  & hot, place a fitting lid & keep warm. Drain the excess liquid if you have to.

5. Take a large bowl & add the cooked rice, the cooked leeks, the meat & raisins & mix it all through. For the last time, check the seasoning. It must taste: Waw!

6. Take your oven pumpkin dish out of the oven & fill it with the rice meat mix. Push the mix with the back of a spoon into the pumpkin half. Just fill it up really well & replace in the oven for about 10 minutes to heat up & to let the outsider crisp up a bit too! It will become a bit crunchy that way!

7. When ready, take out of the oven & place on the table. Transfer each pumpkin half to a plate & cut each half into 2 equal pieces so that every person has 1 half. The pumpkin flesh is so tasty & yummie!!

Enjoy, my friends!

Note: You can substitute the raisins with dried cranberries if you want. Or just add them, 1 handful extra

You can add fresh herbs, like rosemary or thyme would work well this way.

Stay Tuned! If you liked this post & want more of them, join 1,131 email followers! Subscribe by email! It is free!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Sophies Foodie Files

You might like:

1. Sophie’s vegetarian butternut squash, quinoa & red beans chili

2. Fusili with butternut squash, bacon & a cheesy sauce

3. Aromatic sweet peppers filled with brown rice

4. Roasted pumpkin, thyme & chorizo soup served with a home – made pumpkin & feta bread

 

66 responses to “Sophie’s festive stuffed pumpkin!

  1. What a healthy recipe Sophie. Brown rice is my favorite. I’ve been using it for years and hardly ever use the white stuff anymore.
    Sam

  2. jef says:

    Dear Sophie,

    I really would like to be one of your in-laws! Spicy rice on a field of pumpkin … makes me think of dreams come true.

    Cycling Jef

  3. jef says:

    Dear Sophie,

    in this respect I completely agree with my husband.

    Spinning Lou

  4. boeddhamum says:

    Very nice improvisation Sophie, it’s always good to cook with what you have (most of the times I have much more in stock than I thought ;-)

    enjoy your day!
    Linda

  5. Ina Gawne says:

    Sophie – this looks delicious! I love to stuff squashes and other vegetables – full of flavor and healthy too!

  6. Looks great, I definitely need to try this one! Sounds very healthy too, another great way to eat pumpkin!

  7. Barbara says:

    Wow, Sophie, that is a fabulous improvised dish! Love the raisins and leeks in it….looks hearty and comforting!

  8. Hotly Spiced says:

    You are so innovative and that dish looks beautiful.

  9. Winnie says:

    Festive indeed! Looks really delicious :)

  10. Reeni says:

    Your stuffed pumpkin looks absolutely delicious Sophie! Love your filling!

  11. So delicious, I love the raisins here, awesome!

  12. Curt says:

    I love brown rice. In fact, I love good rice dishes. The addition of raisins in there adds a great sweet taste to the savory rice.

  13. Nic says:

    Not had stuffed pumpkin like this before, looks terrific!

  14. Jeannie says:

    THis looks like a very delicious healthy meal to me! yum!

  15. Nadji says:

    J’en mangerai avec plaisir.
    A très bientôt

  16. How lovely! The sweet pork meat is such a great match for the pumpkin too, yumm!

  17. Louise says:

    I’ve stuffed many a quash in my day, Sophie. However, it just never dawned on me to stuff an actual pumpkin! (which of course is squash:) Silly me…

    Yours looks delicious and I’d happily have a taste if there’s any left!

    Thanks for sharing…

  18. Very flavourful! I love this stuffed pumpkin.

  19. Pam says:

    It looks really festive and delicious.

  20. I love stuffed squash. This looks amazing. I’m weird, don’t like raisins, but I bet pecans would work too!

  21. Jess in Norway says:

    Oh that looks absolutely divine! I’m going to have to give this a try! Beautiful, as always, Sophie!

  22. Carolyn Jung says:

    A brilliant job at improvising! Who needs a recipe when you can come up with something that looks this spectacular. Way to go! ;)

  23. I made stuffed squash before for a holiday dinner but it seemed I was the only one who enjoyed it. Maybe the size of the half squash scared everyone and they were too lazy to cut it in half?

  24. Sophie, I love stuffed pumpkin! Thank you for sharing your version with us! (You have very lucky in-laws!). :)

    • Sophie33 says:

      They were happy, I asure you! My mother – in – law has made this recipe already a few times with huge success!

  25. After a meal like that (even though you had to improvise), I am sure your in-laws are so glad that you married into their family!

  26. Johanna GGG says:

    this looks lovely – I would love to try it with lentils instead of pork – I tried a stuffed pumpkin for the first time recently and it was great but I think I’d love to try a few more such as this one

  27. How interesting! I’ve never seen pumpkin stuffed before but I love other types of squash in rice dishes such as risotto, so it makes perfect sense. Brillant and inspiring! Also, thanks for checking out my buttermilk biscuit recipe – I hope you enjoy…

  28. love improvising with what I have in my pantry/refrigerator. your dish looks very successful!

  29. rebecca says:

    this looks amazing bet they loved it

  30. What a delicious improvisation Sophie! :D

  31. FOODESSA says:

    Great execution of some apparently very healthy recipes. I can never have enough inspiration when it comes to adding to my squash repertoire. Well done ;o)

    …Dear Sophie,
    Just briefly passing by to wish you and your loved ones the finest of Holiday seasons.
    I’m very much looking forward to hopefully soon joining my Foodies again ;o) Until then, all the very best towards a desirable New Year.

    Flavourful wishes,
    Claudia

    • Sophie33 says:

      Thanks, my dear friend Claudia!

      I also wish you tons of love & happy Christmas & a very healthy, festive & joyful 2012!!! Kisses too! :)

  32. albertocook says:

    This recipe is delicious…
    I love try new flavors in additional italian.
    I think this is great.
    Thank you for the idea.
    Bye from Italy

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,146 other followers

