Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Tagliatelli with mixed mushrooms in a mustard & soy cream sauce, served with smoked bacon

on 05/11/2011

I love to savour at the moment lovely fresh mixed mushrooms. In this tasty seasonal pasta dish, I used brown field mushrooms  & oyster mushrooms. I served them in a creamy mustard & soy cream sauce with fried smoked bacon pieces.

This is an easy yet well-flavoured Autumnal dish.

Recipe: For 2 persons, with a bit of seconds

Ingredients:

350 gr tagliatelle/ I used gluten – free

3 large shalots, peeled & finely chopped

3 fat cloves of fresh garlic, peeled & finely chopped

3 to 4 fresh sprigs of thyme, rinsed under water, pad dry on kitchen paper & stalks removed

400 gr brown field mushrooms, cleaned with a mushroom brush, cut into 4

250 gr oyster mushrooms, cleaned & cut into 2 or 3

200 to 250 ml of soy cream/ I use Alpro soy cream

2 tablespoons of a good mustard/ I use Dijon

Maldon sea salt

Black pepper, freshly grinned

A fruity EVOO ( Extra Virgin Olive Oil )

Soy baking margarine/ I use Alpro

200 gr gluten-free smoked bacon pieces

To serve: 2 heated warm pasta plates


Method:

1. Cook your tagliatelle according to your packet instructions. Drain well. Keep warm.

2. In a large pan, heat 2 to 3 tablespoons of the fruity EVOO in a hot pan.

Add the chopped shalots , chopped up garlic & the thyme leaves from 2 thyme sprigs. Season with sea salt & black pepper. Stir frequently & fry until nearly golden & softened.

3. In the same pan, add 2 knobs of baking margarine & let it melt. Now, add the mushrooms in 1 layer & add the remaining thyme leaves too. Fry until cooked through & juicy but no more than 3 minutes on a higher heat. Turn the mushrooms over. Lower the heat if you have to. Season with sea salt & grinned  black pepper. Transfer the cooked mushrooms to a larger pot & place a fitting lid on. Do the same with the remaining mushrooms. Taste the mushrooms for seasoning after frying because they have to taste fab!  Return the other mushrooms back to the pan & add the soy cream. Heat up on a higher heat & let the sauce bubble a bit. After 2 minutes or so, add the 2 tablespoons of mustard & stir it well into the sauce. Taste!

It has to taste fabulously! Lower the heat if you need to & let the sauce thicken a bit more. After that, check the seasoning one last time.

4. In the meantime, heat another pan on a high heat. Add 2 to 3 tablespoons of the fruity EVOO to the pan & fry the smoked bacon pieces until crispy & brown on all sides. Take a large plate & place 2 kitchen papers on it. Pour the bacon pieces on it. With other 2 kitchen papers, dip the fat from the top of the bacon.

5.  Serve directly on the preheated plates & place the tagliatelle in the middle, the mushroom mustard sauce over the top & scatter the bacon pieces all around the sauce, all around your plate.

Enjoy, my friends!;)   If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts

You might like other related dishes on my blog:

1. Cantherelles, oyster mushrooms & dried porcini risotto

2. Pork filets in an onion, wine, mustard & cream sauce, served with oven baked potatoes & green beans

3. Sophie’s spiced bean burgers

66 responses to “Tagliatelli with mixed mushrooms in a mustard & soy cream sauce, served with smoked bacon

  1. hotlyspiced says:

    Mushrooms and pasta – great combo!

  2. Stephanie says:

    This sounds really good! I love mushrooms in a creamy sauce. Plus who doesn’t love bacon!! I think that the addition of mustard will really liven up the flavors too :)

  3. Clemence says:

    un plat de pâtes que j’adore !

  4. Lisa says:

    Wow, Sophie…the tagliatelli looks so creamy and delicious! This one is a keeper!! Love the soy as the cream sauce, and you cannot ever go wrong with smoked bacon!

  5. Barbara says:

    Sophie, I am drooling over this dish. It combines three of my favorites….mushrooms, bacon and pasta! What’s even better is it’s fast to make and perfect on a cold night.

  6. Wonderful! Earthy mushrooms and pasta! So perfect for an autumn feast!

  7. Kim says:

    Hi Sophie!!!!! So sorry I haven’t been here in awhile, I’ve been working a lot cause money here in the States is not good! But I’m hanging in! Love this dish and like you I love mushrooms with pasta too, I also love to make homemade gravy with mushrooms, gives it such a lovely flavor! :D HUGS from Sunny Florida!!

  8. Ina Gawne says:

    This looks delicious Sophie! I love fresh wild mushrooms – so much flavor! I make a very similar dish to this one too! Wish we could get soy cream here – it sounds delicious!

  9. Simone says:

    That looks just fantastic Sophie! I love mushrooms and it’s the perfect time for them!

  10. boeddhamum says:

    A very nice earthy autumn dish, delish!

  11. I haven’t even had my morning coffee yet and I would love to have a plate of this mouthwatering dish. Love the mushrooms in that creamy sauce and the smoky addition of bacon. Lovely dish, Sophie.

  12. jef says:

    Without breakfast I felt already hungry this morning, when I read your post. Perhaps the bacon has a lot of calories but the mushrooms don’t. Irresitistable dish!

    Cycling Jef

  13. Dang this is right up there with my all time fav dishes. Action packed with flavor. Mmmm.. I adore mushrooms, the sweet smells as they sauté to perfection. Arhhhh I’m totally drooling. Thanks for the reminder. I’m going to go nuts at the markets today and find me some. :)

  14. Choclette says:

    That looks so delicious Sophie. I’m a big fan of simple, tasty and seasonal and a really big fan of mushrooms.

  15. We love mushrooms! Gorgeous pasta, Sophie!

  16. rebecca says:

    so creative as always :_)

  17. Reeni says:

    Your tagliatelle looks wonderful Sophie! So creamy and those bacon pieces must make it extra delicious!

  18. So rich and delicious looking, yumm…

  19. Mmm, mushroom sauce is the best… Such an indulgent treat! I’m dying to make this now, although I just used up my oyster mushrooms, so I may switch in some cremini instead.

    • Sophie33 says:

      Hello Hannah! :) I just googeled cremini & they are in this pasta dish. I call them brown field mushrooms. It is the same!

  20. Koko says:

    I love mushrooms, and this creamy sauce looks so tasty, warming, and filling. Another amazing dish Sophie!

  21. Claudia says:

    This dish is just fabulous! I love the combination of those mushrooms in cream sauce with the bacon. Can’t wait to try it.

  22. Heated pasta plates reminds me of how my sister would heat her pasta plate – on the floor heaters she has in Amsterdam. Very creative :D

    I love how you’ve centered this dish around mushrooms – so comforting :)

  23. Kristen says:

    perfect autumn meal! I love mushrooms in a creamy sauce, I bet the mustard and bacon really make fantastic. I think I just found my meal for tonight, thanks!

  24. Juliana says:

    This pasta dish looks great, mushrooms and bacon all in a cream sauce. I never heard of soy cream, must look for it.
    Hope you are having a nice week Sophie, and thanks for this delicious dish :-)

  25. Rachel says:

    I wish more people would write blogs like this that are really fun to read. With all the fluff floating around on the net, it is rare to read a blog like this instead.

  26. I love the that creamy mustard sauce!! So good!

  27. Blond Duck says:

    That sounds really good!

  28. Louise says:

    Oh my goodness gracious, Sophie. Your meal sounds so delicious I’d be willing to fly over right now just to take a nibble.

    Thank you so much for sharing…

  29. Jacqueline says:

    Oh yum! That looks slurpingly good Sophie (without the bacon for me of course!).

  30. Sophie in my neck of the woods we call this comfort food, make that upscale comfort food. My definition of comfort: food that makes you smile, love the moment and ask for more!

  31. lindsay says:

    yea, good ol’ sage plant. it looks like a brain! but a smart one, haha. Grreat recipe. Happy weekend friend.

  32. Tammy says:

    this pasta dish looks wonderful. We don’t get local mushrooms but I love them. I am glad to see you are back blogging. I hadn’t seen you for a while.

  33. Carolyn Jung says:

    It doesn’t get better than mushrooms in a creamy sauce. Add in some pasta and it’s pure heaven. ;)

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,088 other followers

