Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Parmesan scented celeriac & potato mash, served with gluten free chicken chipolata’s

on 24/03/2011

A tasty parmesan scented celeriac & potato mash!

I love to eat celeriac. It is a typical winter vegetable here in Belgium. It is also an under estimated veggie. I love this vegetable a lot because you can use it in so many ways in your kitchen. What is it? Wikipedia explains it very well.

How to prepare & use? You must always take away the thicker outer peel with a vegetable peeler or with a sharp knife. You can cook it, roast it, eat it in an alternative cole slaw or  in a salad too. It is great in soups with potatoes etc. You can also grate it. You can bake or fry it too.

Prepare celeriac

Step 1: Place the celeriac on a clean work surface. Use a sharp knife to remove the base and top from the celeriac so it sits flat.

Step 2: To peel the celeriac, cut down the side, close to the skin, being careful not to remove too much flesh. If you have a fresh celeriac, you can peel the skin with a vegetable peeler.

Step 3: Chop or slice as desired or grate it. Place the pieces in a bowl of cold water and add some lemon juice or some apple cider vinegar to prevent discoloring.

Print me!

 

 Recipe: For 2 persons, with a bit of seconds

 Ingredients:

500 gr peeled celeriac, cut roughly into little chunks, each about 1 cm x 1 cm, weighted when peeled.

500 gr of peeled potatoes, cut into 2, weighted when peeled

50 gr Parmesan cheese, finely grated

Herbamare salt ( is gluten free )

soy baking margarine/ I use Alpro

Maldon sea salt

freshly grinded white pepper

fresh nutmeg

2 organic gluten – free chicken chipolata’s

Method:

1. Boil the celeriac pieces & potatoes apart in hot boiling water until done.

In the cooking water of the potatoes, add some herbamare salt to add some flavour to the potatoes. In the cooking pot with the celeriac, don’t add anything, no salt either. Cook until done & drain well. Keep warm.

2. Now, make the duo mash. First, add some Maldon sea salt flakes, but not too much to the potatoes. Add some grinds of fresly grinded white pepper & add some fresly grated nutmeg, about 1/2 teaspoon. Mash with a masher. Add 2 or 3 knobs of soy baking margarine. Mix well.

3. Now, add the cooked celeriac pieces. Mash this too. Taste! Add some nutmeg &  pepper if you need too. Mash again if it all isn’t quite mashed well.

4. Put the pot with the duo mash on a hot fire & add 1/2 of the Parmesan. Let it melt. Take away from the fire & mix well. Taste!

Than, add the rest of the Parmesan cheese to the puree & let it melt again on the fire. Set aside & taste again. It has to taste fab! You must taste the flavour of the potatoes, the apart flavour of the celeriac & the flavour of the Parmesan cheese. You can use less Parmesan cheese if necessary because you have different types of Parmesan cheese & some can be milder or stronger. So, always taste after added 25 grams. Maybe 25 grams is enough because you will have to taste the 3 different elements of flavours!

Then, if needed add some S or P or nutmeg to the mash. Reheat themash, if necessary a bit on a low fire.

5. In the meantime, you have fried the organic chicken chipolata’s in a frying pan in soy baking margarine until ready & cooked through.

Serve immediately & enjoy!    If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts

You might like other celeriac recipes on my blog:

1. Rosemary scented celeriac & 2 beans soup

2. Sage breaded pork chops with sage oven baked potatoes & a celeriac & pear salad


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
119 responses to “Parmesan scented celeriac & potato mash, served with gluten free chicken chipolata’s

  1. Ina Gawne says:

    Sophie – this sounds delicious! I must try celeriac! Love the new look too – looks great!

  2. Sophie says:

    @ Ina: thanks & enjoy!

  3. Sophie33 says:

    @ Ina: thanks, girl & do enjoy this well flavoured dish!
    Celeriac is at it end of season over here in Belgium!

  4. I love when I learn from reading blogs.. This sounds wonderful and something I would like to try.

  5. Koko says:

    I actually just had celeriac for the first time- great information and great recipe!!

  6. Jeannie says:

    I have never tried celeriac though I heard from my son that it is very delicious mashed with potatoes like you did…love the look of the chipolata too! Yum!

  7. El says:

    I’m so glad you did this post because I never know how to prepare celeriac. It looks delicious!

  8. I would love to try this, I love celeriac!

  9. Sophie33 says:

    @ Koko: Thanks, girl!

    @ JEANNIE: Your son is so right! It tastes fantastic & to add Parmesan to it, it itastes heavenly!!

    @ El: I am glad that you learned something today,…:)

    @ Maria: Do enjoy the dish! :)

  10. jef says:

    Hello Sophie,

    indeed, what a well-ordered new website. i like the pictres, too.

  11. celeriac is new to me & interesting to note. mmm… love the mash potato….;)

  12. A fabulous meal! Loving the delicious looking celeriac & potato mash, so nice with the addition of Parmesan!

  13. Choclette says:

    Celeriac is a wonderful vegetable and you are so right, it does make a very nice mash with potato.

  14. Simone says:

    I love celeriac too! It’s indeed an underrrated vegetable and well it does look incredibly ugly but tastes so good!!

  15. I have never even heard of celeriac, lol!
    So I call myself a food writer, oh well….

    Learn something new everyday ;)

    Have a great weekend Sophie!

  16. Barbara says:

    Beautiful dish, Sophie.
    I saw Ina Garten make a celeriac root slaw yesterday and copied the recipe. (Such an ugly veggie!)

  17. Beautiful photos Sophie, and thank you for the lesson – I’ve never cooked celeriac before!

  18. Margot says:

    What a good idea. I love celeriac but my boys hate it, especially when I make it raw in salad. I must try to smuggle it in your mash next time ;)

  19. Oh yeah, I am crazy about celeriac, it smells amazing when you roast it, and yummmmm, when you puree, so sweet and lovely. Great piccys! :)

  20. I love celeriac too … Mashed with potatoes, it’s a real treat …
    Have a nice day
    Hélène

  21. lisamichele says:

    My mouth is watering..I would love to try the parmesan scented celeriac-potato mash. Looks amazing!!

  22. jo says:

    Sophie, just the name of this recipe makes it sound so elegant. Honestly I have never tried celeriac but does remind me of a similar root vegetable found here locally.

  23. Cheryl says:

    Wow Sophie i can say I have never eaten Celeriac, I will look for it at the Farmers Market!

  24. Nic says:

    I admit I’m not massively keen on celeriac, but the mash has the other ingredients in it that I like, so it’s probably very good!

  25. Carolyn Jung says:

    Thanks for the reminder about the wonders of celeriac. I often just pass by it in the produce stand, even though I love it in restaurant preparations, both raw and cooked. The next time I’m at the store, I am loading up on it, thanks to you.

  26. elra says:

    I love celeriac, and been making salad a lot from this fragrant roots lately. Yours recipe sounds really tempting Sophie!

  27. Velva says:

    Hi Sophie, the last two years, I have been enjoying growing celeriac. It does beautifully in a mild north Florida winter. You
    are right, the celeriac is an under appreciated veggie/herb.

    Awesome meal.

    Velva

  28. What an awesome combination! That changes from boring ol’ mashed potatoes =)

  29. FOODESSA says:

    Celeriac is part of my favourite root veggie selections. I’ve prepared it in so many ways. The roasted way with some caramelized onion works deliciously just as your mashed version with parmesan…yum ;o)

    Have a great week Sophie…and flavourful wishes,
    Claudia

  30. lizeckel says:

    this looks awesome! i’ve never cooked with celeriac before, maybe i should pick one up this weekend and try it out.
    peace,
    liz

  31. Bean says:

    I’ve seen celeriac at the store and seen it called for in some recipes, but I’ve never known what to do with it. Thanks for sharing your knowledge! What does it taste like?

  32. grace says:

    the only thing i know about celeriac is that it’s hideous in its natural form but transforms into something magically delicious. nice dish!

  33. Gail says:

    Celeriac – an ugly but wonderful vegetable. Your dish sounds delicious.

  34. unusual says:

    Nice color choice on the blog. It is really easy on my eyes and I have bad eyes too so that’s a really big compliment lol

  35. Jim Prunty says:

    You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  36. Katofb says:

    Out of the ordinary post. You have an out of the ordinary analysis on this difficulty furthermore I will be signing in to your feed furthermore hope you will publish yet again before long on akin subjects. But I am interested on what your editorial ressources for the post are? All my gratitude

    Before I go, let me thank you for your understanding with my English as (I’m persuaded you have figured this at this time ,), English is not my initial tongue accordingly I am using Google Translate to figure out how to enter what I truly wish to voice.

  37. Abigail says:

    This was novel. I wish I could read every post, but i have to go back to work now… But I’ll return.

  38. seo says:

    Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice at the same time as you amend your web site, how could i subscribe for a weblog site? The account helped me a applicable deal. I were a little bit familiar of this your broadcast offered shiny transparent idea.

  39. Merely wanna comment that you have a very nice website , I love the design and style it actually stands out.

  40. Just a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw great design .

  41. I really like your writing style, wonderful info , regards for putting up : D.

  42. Only wanna tell that this is very useful , Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  43. I like this site very much so much excellent info.

  44. Very interesting topic, thank you for posting.

  45. Thank you a lot for providing individuals with such a special chance to check tips from this website. It really is very lovely and as well , jam-packed with amusement for me personally and my office colleagues to visit the blog particularly 3 times weekly to see the newest guidance you will have. And lastly, I am always fulfilled concerning the perfect hints served by you. Some 1 tips in this article are unequivocally the most efficient I’ve ever had.

  46. Only wanna input that you have a very decent website , I like the design it really stands out.

  47. I believe this website contains some really wonderful info for everyone. “He is able who thinks he is able.” by Buddha.

  48. I enjoy your writing style really loving this internet site. “Finance is the art of passing currency from hand to hand until it finally disappears.” by Robert W. Sarnoff.

  49. Wohh just what I was searching for, regards for putting up.

  50. Perfectly pent subject material , thanks for entropy.

  51. you’re actually a just right webmaster. The website loading speed is amazing. It sort of feels that you’re doing any unique trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterwork. you have performed a excellent job on this subject!

  52. Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was searching for!

  53. you’re in reality a just right webmaster. The web site loading speed is incredible. It kind of feels that you are doing any unique trick. Also, The contents are masterpiece. you have done a great job in this subject!

  54. You have brought up a very great points , thanks for the post.

  55. Simply wanna comment that you have a very decent internet site , I the style and design it really stands out.

  56. You have remarked very interesting details ! ps decent website . “I didn’t attend the funeral, but I sent a nice letter saying that I approved of it.” by Mark Twain.

  57. Rex Crome says:

    Very interesting subject , thanks for posting . “Integrate what you believe into every single area of your life.” by Meryl Streep.

  58. Info says:

    Very interesting subject, appreciate it for posting.

  59. Good write-up, I’m normal visitor of one’s web site, maintain up the excellent operate, and It is going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time.

  60. Thanks for revealing your ideas on this blog. Furthermore, a myth regarding the banking companies intentions when talking about foreclosures is that the lender will not getreceive my repayments. There is a certain amount of time that this bank can take payments here and there. If you are far too deep within the hole, they are going to commonly demand that you pay that payment fully. However, that doesn’t mean that they will have any sort of payments at all. If you and the financial institution can manage to work a little something out, the particular foreclosure practice may stop. However, in case you continue to neglect payments under the new approach, the home foreclosure process can just pick up exactly where it was left off.

  61. You are very cool! I dont suppose I have read similar to this before. So nice to look for somebody with authentic applying for grants this subject. I really appreciate starting this up. Your website is 1 area that is needed online. Totally a helpful venture for bringing new things for that web!

  62. Generally I do not learn article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to check out and do it! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thank you, very nice post.

  63. I dugg some of you post as I thought they were extremely helpful very beneficial

  64. Thanks for this post. I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon.

  65. erotyka says:

    I appreciate, cause I found exactly what I was looking for. You have ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  66. Superior Goodness, what an significant scenario. Generally If I hada web site We’d truly select very much the same points. Prefer a payday cash loan please see

  67. Hi, my associate preferred this web site as the really good strategy to obtain tips as well as being so good. I recommend the idea, really released the idea on my small Facebook or myspace. Be sure to visit my very own websites

  68. It is very good web site

  69. Gayla Muscat says:

    you could have an awesome blog right here! would you prefer to make some invite posts on my blog?

  70. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn anything like this before. So good to find anyone with some unique ideas on this subject. realy thank you for beginning this up. this website is one thing that’s needed on the net, someone with a little bit originality. useful job for bringing something new to the internet!

  71. I enjoy the efforts you have put in this, thank you for all the great articles.

  72. Real superb information can be found on web blog.

  73. Chloe Cane says:

    I really enjoy examining on this website , it contains fantastic blog posts. “When a man’s willing and eager, the gods join in.” by Aeschylus.

  74. Wesele says:

    Your post is extremely interesting. Can you post again soon?

  75. There are definitely lots of details like that to take into consideration. That may be a great point to convey up. I offer the ideas above as basic inspiration but clearly there are questions like the one you convey up where crucial factor shall be working in sincere good faith. I don?t know if greatest practices have emerged around issues like that, however I’m positive that your job is clearly identified as a fair game. Both girls and boys feel the impact of just a moment’s pleasure, for the remainder of their lives.

  76. This really answered my downside, thanks!

  77. Travel Bags says:

    Nice post. I learn one thing more challenging on different blogs everyday. It is going to at all times be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice somewhat one thing from their store. I’d desire to use some with the content material on my weblog whether or not you don’t mind. Natually I’ll offer you a hyperlink in your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  78. gps tracking says:

    This is the proper weblog for anyone who desires to search out out about this topic. You understand so much its nearly hard to argue with you (not that I actually would need…HaHa). You definitely put a brand new spin on a subject thats been written about for years. Great stuff, just great!

  79. Would you be fascinated about exchanging hyperlinks?

  80. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of Parmesan scented celeriac & potato mash, served with gluten free chicken chipolata’s Sophies Foodie Files . Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

  81. With quality information like this, I guess your website can become a masterpiece among your fellow competitors’ websites. I truly believe that bookmarking your website won’t be a waste of time. Please, do keep on updating interesting posts!

  82. Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is wonderful, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about Parmesan scented celeriac & potato mash, served with gluten free chicken chipolata’s Sophies Foodie Files .

  83. I all the time emailed this webpage post page to all my associates, as if like to read it then my friends will too.

  84. I appeared to be happy to find this web-site.I want to appreciate it for your precious time with this wonderful study!! I ACTUALLY absolutely having fun with every little bit of it and I had you saved as a favorite to look at fresh items you writing.

  85. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of Parmesan scented celeriac & potato mash, served with gluten free chicken chipolata’s Sophies Foodie Files . Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

  86. Tibia guide says:

    Wow, marvelous weblog structure! How lengthy have you ever been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The whole glance of your website is fantastic, let alone the content!

  87. Nice post at Parmesan scented celeriac & potato mash, served with gluten free chicken chipolata’s Sophies Foodie Files. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed! Extremely helpful info specifically the last part :) I care for such info much. I was seeking this particular info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  88. Just wish to say your article is as astounding. The clarity in your post is simply excellent and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the enjoyable work.

  89. Omar Ambuehl says:

    I have to show some appreciation to this writer for rescuing me from this instance. Just after looking throughout the world wide web and meeting opinions which were not powerful, I figured my life was over. Being alive minus the approaches to the issues you’ve resolved all through this guide is a crucial case, and ones that would have negatively damaged my career if I had not come across the blog. Your own capability and kindness in controlling all the stuff was very useful. I’m not sure what I would have done if I had not come upon such a thing like this. It’s possible to now look ahead to my future. Thanks for your time very much for the specialized and amazing guide. I won’t be reluctant to recommend your web blog to any individual who should have direction on this topic.

  90. Very energetic blog, I liked that a lot. Will there be a part 2?

  91. lv belt says:

    hi!,I love your writing very much! percentage we communicate extra approximately your article on AOL? I need an expert in this house to resolve my problem. May be that is you! Looking ahead to see you.

  92. What’s up, how’s it going? Just shared this post with a colleague, we had a good laugh.

  93. I’d like to find out more? I’d love to find out some additional information.

  94. Greate post. Keep writing such kind of info on your page.
    Im really impressed by it.
    Hey there, You have performed a fantastic job. I will certainly
    digg it and for my part recommend to my friends. I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this site.

  95. Hi there, I believe your blog might be having web browser compatibility issues.

    When I take a look at your site in Safari, it
    looks fine however, when opening in IE, it’s got some overlapping issues. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Besides that, fantastic blog!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 868 other followers

