Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Sophie’s healthy & tasty gluten free & egg free scones with chocolate & pecans

on 27/01/2011

A few days ago, I made these tasty & healthy gluten-free & egg free scones with dark chocolate chips & pecans. They were oh so tasty although they didn’t rise much. I served them , sliced open & smeared with minarine & peach jam. MMMMMMM,…!!!

These scones were all devoured after 3 days by me & my husband. When we ate 1 + 1/2 , we weren’t hungry for 4 to 5 hours. That’s how filling they are. I used 4 gf flours: tapioca flour, coconut flour, brown rice flour & millet flour. I brushed the scones with milk & sprinkled some unrefined coconut blossom sugar over the top of each scone before they went into the oven.

Check them out! They are large but so gooooddddd!!!! Great to give as a food gift too!

delightful & tasty scones! Don’t you want a big bite?

fantastic special food gift!

Print me!

Recipe: For about 10 to 11 larger scones, 9 cm diameter, 1.5 cm thick

Ingredients:

1 cup millet flour

3/4 cup brown rice flour

3/4 cup tapioca flour

1/2 cup coconut flour

1 teaspoon guar gom

3 teaspoons gluten-free baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 cup soy baking margarine

1 cup dark chocolate chips

1/2 cup finely chopped pecans

1 cup unsweetened kefir

2/3 cup organic agave nectar

Extra needed: some milk, to brush each scone with + some unrefined coconut blossom sugar (or turbinado sugar), to sprinkle all over the surface of each scone, before they go into the oven

Method:

1.Preheat your oven to 200°C ( 400 F ) for 10 minutes. I use a fan oven. Adjust the temperature to your oven, if necessary.

2. Take your large Kenwood bowl or Kitchen aid bowl & place the K paddle. Add all the 4 flours to the bowl. Mix on low-speed.

3. Now, add the guar gum, baking powder & baking soda, all evenly divided over the bowl. Mix on medium speed.

4. Add the soy baking margarine. Mix until it comes together.

5. Add the chocolate chips & the finely chopped pecans. Mix well.

6. Finally, add the agave & the kefir. Mix again until it all comes together. The dough will still be a bit wet.

7. Take a silpat & flour it with coconut or millet flour. Flour your hands & rolling-pin too. With your floured hands, take the dough out of the bowl & on the floured silpat. Roll it out evenly & form a round dough, 1.5 cm thick. With your 9 cm diameter round cutter, cut out scones & place them on a clean silpat onto a baking tray for stability or onto an oven rack for stability. Re – roll your dough & use the round cutter again, until the dough is all used up. Place the scones a few cm apart from each other on the silpat. I placed 6 scones on my silpat.

8. With the help of a silicon pastry brush, brush the tops & sides of each scone with milk & sprinkle some unrefined coconut blossom sugar over the tops of each scone.

9. Bake into the center or bottom of your oven for 10 minutes on 200°C ( 400 F ) & then 5 minutes on 180°C ( 356 F ). After those 15 minutes, check with a test pin to see if they are well-baked into the middle. If the pin comes out clean, when inserted into the middle of the scone, the scones are ready. Mines were ready after 15 minutes. Carefully remove the oven tray from the oven. Leave the scones for 10 minutes on the silpat & then remove them. Place them on a wire rack to cool down completely.

When completely cool, slice them open & smear with minarine or butter & some good peach jam on both sides.

Delightful home-made scones with minarine & a good peach jam!

  1. ** Note 1: Maybe the next time, I will make them smaller
  2. ** Note 2: Maybe next time, I will add 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  3. If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts

You might like:

1. Sophie’s maple scones with cranberries & pecans: has gluten!

2. Sophie’s savoury scones: ricotta, olives & chorizo scones + Parmesan & rosemary scones: has gluten!

 

This recipe has been chosen on Foodista in August, 39th 2012 on their blog. Here is the link: http://www.foodista.com/blog/2012/08/29/wheatless-wednesday-gluten-free-chocolate-chip-scones-with-pecans
Yeah, baby! :) That made my day! :) Yoehoe!

71 responses to “Sophie’s healthy & tasty gluten free & egg free scones with chocolate & pecans

  1. Jacqueline says:

    I am looking at that last photo sophie and thinking how much I want to dive in :)

  2. boeddhamum says:

    These scones look great; I don’t think I could wait till they’re cooled!! Yummie

  3. Koko says:

    Sophie, you have become so talented at gluten free baking! It’s great to have your site as a gluten free resource for myself! These look wonderful! Mmmmm!

  4. Thank you Sophie, they look like a very nice recipe to make for our friend who has coeliacs..

  5. Valerie says:

    This sounds amazing for breakfast or tea!

  6. elra says:

    You can say I am starting to enjoy GF food, although I don’t have any problem with gluten. Your scones is worth trying Sophie.

    p.s
    love your new blog!

  7. Yummy, they sound wonderful. It’d be hard to stop at one they sound so delicious.

  8. lisa says:

    I love these scones! They sound absolutely delicious. Since they are egg free as well, they are a perfect treat for my sister. Thank you Sophie!

  9. Velva says:

    Sophie, these would be excellent to enjoy for breakfast with a cup of coffee or as a mid-afternoon snack. These look delightful.

    Velva

  10. Tammy McLeod says:

    Sophie, I am so happy that you’ve moved to wordpress! Welcome. Of course, your scones look fabulous too.

  11. Louise says:

    Oh goodness, Sophie…They sound awesome and looks even awesomer (is that a word) Thankfully, I don’t have a gluten problem either but hey, I may just give these a try. I’ve had scones on the brain lately and the chocolate chips and nuts just bring me over the edge.

    Thanks for sharing…

    P.S You look quite @ home @ wordpress, Kudos to YOU!

  12. rebecca says:

    love scones :-) reminds me of home

  13. virginie says:

    hi sophie, I also like to use kéfir in my dishs.
    I like the texture as with buttermilk, lait ribot, or Elben.

    I have Kefir Grains and so I make my own kefir.

    bonne journée gourmande

    virginie

  14. This is an interesting recipe! I’ll have to give it a go :-) Thanks for sharing!

  15. Ina Gawne says:

    Sophie – these sound so good! I wish I could find coconut blossom sugar. Do you think yogurt would work in place of the Keifer? I love coconut flour too – so yummy!

  16. I never would have imagined you could make such beautiful scones that are gluten free!
    Hope you have a wonderful weekend.
    *kisses* HH

  17. Megan says:

    Looks delicious Sophie!

  18. I would love to start my day off right with one (or two) or these scrumptious scones.

  19. Dark chocolate and pecans are such a great combination :) I haven’t made scones in too long…and now I know the combination I want in them when I finally get around to it!

  20. Cheryl says:

    Those look so yummy, my tummy is grumbling just looking at them!

  21. Blond Duck says:

    My SIL would love these!

  22. Belinda says:

    Sophie, ze zien er heerlijk uit. Ik ben benieuwd, misschien ga ik deze wel maken :)
    Ik ben blij dat het cranberrie brood zo lekker was. Misschien maak ik wel cranberrie scones :D

  23. Kristen says:

    You’ve really embraced the gluten-free baking, absolutely lovely! I love the addition of the kefir. These are a must try!!!

  24. Patty says:

    ¡Que rico! Casi como las galletas gigantes, pero sana y no demasiado dulce.

    ¡Felicidades por su examen de español! Creo que yo necesito un clase de español – jajaja. :)

  25. Stephanie says:

    These scones look yummy!
    I updated your info on my foodie favorites page :)

  26. Claudia says:

    Now that’s a scone. The coffee shops and Starbucks should take a cue from you and make proper ones. Delicious and healthy.

  27. elra says:

    Healthy and delicious ! That’s is hard combo, but you made it perfect.

  28. Barbara says:

    I’ve made pecan and maple scones but never thought to add chips. Looks lovely, Sophie!

  29. Juliana says:

    Wow Sophie, they sure look good for gluten and egg free…love the idea of kefir in it…so yummie :-)

  30. They may be large but that just means there’s more to eat. These scones look just yummy! What a wonderful idea and so versatile as folks with food sensitivities can eat them.

  31. Sounds like a terrific combination of chocolate and pecans in these delicious looking scones!

  32. Joanne says:

    Terrific recipe. The scones look great and EGG LESS?! Good job.

  33. I love all of the gluten free flours you have used in this recipe and that blossom sugar. They look delicious.

  34. Pam says:

    I wish I had these for breakfast right now.

  35. Nadji says:

    Des scones très gourmands. j’aime beaucoup.
    A très bientôt.

  36. Carolyn Jung says:

    You can never go wrong with chocolate chips and pecans. These look so wonderful to wake up to.

  37. lisamichele says:

    Sophie, I love the new look of your blog!! Very clean and lovely! Having said that, these scones look terrific. I’m not usually a fan of scones since I often find them quite dry, but I’ve also never tried them with chocolate and pecans! Definitely going to give it a shot :)

  38. Debbie says:

    Love your new site Sophie and the scones too!!!! They look delicious. I am seeing more and more gluten free recipes these days too!

  39. Very impressive! They looks just as good as the unhealthy version!

  40. There’s no scone too large! Great idea.

  41. Choclette says:

    Lovely scones Sophie. We make our own kefir, but I never think to use it in baking. I expect the coconut flour gave them a lovely flavour.

  42. WOW!!!

    Gluten and egg free scones with pecans AND chocolate?!
    I’m sooooo excited!

    Woohoo!

  43. spiceandmore says:

    They look really nice – and gf too?! Yum!

  44. lindsay says:

    I love that there is kefir in this. So nutritious!

  45. Sophie33 says:

    @ Jacqueline, Boeddhamum, Koko, Celia, Valerie, Elra, Anna, Velva, Tammy, Louise, Rebecca, Virginie, Maria, HH & Ina: I hope you & your friends enjoy them!! I promise you , they are so addictive too!

    @ Lisa: I hope your sister loved them, being egg-free!

    @ Megan, Cathy, Cheryl: enjoy those tasty & filling scones, my dears!

    @ Baking Serendipity: Welcome to my blog! Enjoy them!

    @ Blonde Duck: thanks!

    @ Belinda, Kristen, Stephanie, Claudia, Elra, Barbara, Juliana, Oyster Culture, Natasha, Joanne, Pam, Nadji & Carolyn: Thanks, girls & enjoy them with your loved ones! Success garanteed!

    @ Ordinary Cook: I also love coconut blossom sugar aka palm sugar from coconut blossoms. It is low GI too. :)

  46. Sophie33 says:

    @ Patty: Muchas gracias, mi amiga!!! Disfrutas bien de mis scones!!! :)

    @ LisaMichele: thanks for the compliments, my dear! I love it too!

    @ Debbie, Sommer, the Duo Dishes, Lisa & Spice & More:
    Enjoy those tasty scones! You really could only eat 2 of them because they are so filling, indeed! :) !!!!

    @ Choclette: I don’t make my own kefir & these scones don’t taste a lot after coconut flour because all of the flours have been mixed well but I love them so much!

    @ Lindsay: Welcome to my blog & I hope you like my recipes & these lovely scones too!

    Kisses to you all from Brussels!

  47. Hi Sophie! I had to come over and see who was leaving me all those nice comments on my blog :D

    These scones look delicious! I had never had a scone up until last week. How I’d gone through life without trying one I’ll never know.

    I love that my son and I with all our food allergies can eat these without having to make a bunch of substitutions.

    I’m bookmarking this recipe.

  48. Choclette says:

    Very yummy looking scones Sophie – glad you got some chocolate in there ;-)

  49. Sophie says:

    @ Lisa: thanks for stopping by & welcome to my my blog!!! yeah!! :) Scones originate from England! I hope you & your son will love these!! :)

    @ Choclette: We all love our chocolate, don’t we? I used Callebaut 65%!

  50. Anna says:

    Eggs free, chocolate pecans, that sounds divine.

  51. Esme says:

    Oooh these look good. I just made sweet potato biscuits. Baking powder does puff them up.

  52. Sophie says:

    Thanks, Esme! :)

  53. Sophie33 says:

    @Esme: thanks, girl!! :)

  54. Gianna says:

    Just thought i would comment and say neat design, did you code it yourself? Looks great.

  55. Deon Walloch says:

    Rattling nice style and design and wonderful content material, very little else we want :D.

  56. I like this website very much, Its a very nice spot to read and receive info . “I’d better get off the phone now, I’ve already told you more than I heard myself.” by Loretta Lockhorn.

  57. Appreciate it for helping out, fantastic info. “Riches cover a multitude of woes.” by Menander.

  58. Wow! This can be one particular of the most useful blogs We’ve ever arrive across on this subject. Actually Excellent. I’m also an expert in this topic therefore I can understand your effort.

  59. It is very good web site

  60. shopin says:

    Great post. Thank you.

  61. Your post is extremely interesting. Can you post again soon?

  62. I want to thank you for these notes. They are very useful. Keep it going!

  63. I consider something genuinely special in this website.

  64. I like this post, enjoyed this one appreciate it for posting .

  65. I really like your writing style, wonderful information, thankyou for putting up : D.

  66. Some genuinely prime blog posts on this web site , saved to my bookmarks .

  67. Back Links says:

    Awesome post! I will keep an on eye on your blog.

  68. Akilah says:

    Hey there! I simply wish to offer you a huge thumbs up for your great info
    you have here on this post. I’ll be coming back to your site for more soon.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 869 other followers

