Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Sophie’s gluten free buckwheat porridge with apple juice & cinnamon apples with caramelised coconut blossom sugar

on 07/01/2011

Yummy & healthy too :)

Today, I made this tasty gluten-free breakfast. I took gluten-free buckwheat flakes and cooked them in a mix of water and unsweetened organic apple juice. Then I stewed peeled and cored apple chunks in some soy baking margarine with cinnamon. Later, I added coconut blossom sugar which caramelises the apple chunks.

This isn’t a sweet breakfast at all!

Recipe: For 1 hungry person or for 2 normal portions
Ingredients:
50 gr buckwheat flakes/ buckwheat is gluten-free!
250 ml organic unsweetened apple juice, I use Pajottenlander
250 ml of water
1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon
1 big juicy apple, peeled, cored and cut into bite size chunks
2 teaspoons of unrefined coconut blossom sugar
some soy baking margarine

Method:
1. Take a medium cooking pot and add 50 gr buckwheat flakes. Add the 250 ml of apple juice & the 250 ml of water to the pot. Stir well.
2. Heat up on medium high heat. When hot and bubbling, set the timer on 10 minutes. Stir often to prevent burning. Adjust the heat if necessary. After 10 minutes, turn the heat off and set aside. With the lid on, let it sit for 5 minutes. The grains can absorb a bit more liquid this way.
3. In the meantime, take a little pan with non stick coating and heat up on higher heat. Melt some baking margarine. When hot and sizzling, add the apple chunks and scatter the cinnamon all over the apple chunks. Place a lid on. Let it stew for about 4 minutes. Then, turn the apple pieces over in the pot and add 2 teaspoons of the coconut blossom sugar. Stir it all round the apple chunks. Fry for another few minutes. The blossom sugar makes it a bit like a soft caramel.
4. When the buckwheat porridge has sat for 5 minutes, plate up. My porridge wasn’t too thick but it will thicken when it cooled off. Take a soup bowl or breakfast bowl and ladle the porridge in it. With the help of a spoon, spoon the caramelized apple chunks on the middle of your porridge and enjoy immediately!

If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts

You might like:

1. Apple & cranberry infused oatmeal with cranberries, pecans & cinnamon

59 responses to “Sophie’s gluten free buckwheat porridge with apple juice & cinnamon apples with caramelised coconut blossom sugar

  1. Ina Gawne says:

    Sophie – I love it! Your site looks fantastic! I don’t have a lot of computer experience, my husband set my blog up, but I have found wordpress really easy to use. I am sure you will too!

  2. This sounds amazing! I love the flavor combinations you have going on!

  3. I love the way you make your porridge ! Must try it soon … ;o)
    Bises
    Hélène

  4. I love buckwheat! Sounds delicious!

  5. Rosa says:

    Scrumptious and very healthy! I really love porridge.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  6. Jacqueline says:

    What a gorgeous breakfast Sophie. Mmmmmmm :P

  7. This looks delicious! perfect for a cold morning, thanks!

  8. Stephanie says:

    yum, I have not had a god bowl of buckwheat porriage in a while. Thanks for sharing! Looks YUMMY!

  9. Rachel says:

    Hi Sophie- thanks for stopping by my blog and adding it to your list of quality blogs :)

    Lovely to discover yours too and this recipe is right up my alley!

    I just brought a bottle of apple syrup and I think it would go so well with this delicious looking porridge- yum!

  10. There is noticeably a bundle to know about this. I assume you made sure good points in features also.

  11. I have to express my thanks to you for bailing me out of this particular problem. Because of searching throughout the online world and meeting things that were not pleasant, I figured my entire life was done. Living devoid of the solutions to the difficulties you have resolved as a result of this site is a critical case, and the ones that could have badly damaged my career if I hadn’t discovered your site. Your personal talents and kindness in touching every item was vital. I am not sure what I would’ve done if I hadn’t come upon such a stuff like this. It’s possible to at this point relish my future. Thanks a lot very much for the expert and result oriented guide. I won’t hesitate to suggest your web sites to any individual who will need recommendations about this problem.

  12. I truly appreciate this post. I’ve been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thanks again!

  13. bet365 bonus says:

    Some truly superb articles on this web site, thank you for contribution. “For today and its blessings, I owe the world an attitude of gratitude.” by Clarence E. Hodges.

  14. Just wanna admit that this is extremely helpful, Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  15. Vergleich Blumenversand says:

    Just about all of the things you articulate happens to be supprisingly accurate and it makes me wonder the reason why I had not looked at this in this light before. This particular article really did turn the light on for me personally as far as this specific topic goes. Nonetheless there is actually one particular point I am not too comfy with and whilst I attempt to reconcile that with the actual central idea of your point, let me observe what the rest of your subscribers have to say.Very well done.

  16. Great write-up, I’m regular visitor of one’s site, maintain up the nice operate, and It is going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time.

  17. Someone essentially lend a hand to make seriously articles I might state. This is the very first time I frequented your website page and thus far? I amazed with the research you made to make this particular put up incredible. Magnificent task!

  18. kranh says:

    Hello very cool blog!! Guy .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds additionally…I am satisfied to search out a lot of helpful info right here in the put up, we want develop more strategies in this regard, thank you for sharing.

  19. I truly enjoy examining on this web site , it has superb posts . “A man of genius has been seldom ruined but by himself.” by Samuel Johnson.

  20. I like this post, enjoyed this one appreciate it for putting up.

  21. Thanks for all your efforts that you have put in this. Very interesting info. “A good man can be stupid and still be good. But a bad man must have brains.” by Maxim Gorky.

  22. Some really good blog posts on this internet site , thankyou for contribution.

  23. Thank you for sharing superb informations. Your site is very cool. I’m impressed by the details that you have on this blog. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for extra articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found simply the information I already searched all over the place and just could not come across. What an ideal web-site.

  24. I was looking at some of your articles on this website and I believe this internet site is real instructive! Keep on posting.

  25. I truly enjoy reading through on this website , it has got great blog posts. “Dream no small dreams. They have no power to stir the souls of men.” by Victor Hugo.

  26. You completed certain nice points there. I did a search on the subject matter and found most persons will have the same opinion with your blog.

  27. I have been surfing online more than 3 hours today, but I never discovered any attention-grabbing article like yours. It’s beautiful value sufficient for me. In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be a lot more helpful than ever before. “Wherever they burn books, they will also, in the end, burn people.” by Heinrich Heine.

  28. t shirt shop says:

    Wow, that’s so interesting!I cannot wait for the next articles. Take care!

  29. Roy Deaver says:

    I really enjoy looking through on this website, it has superb articles. “Never fight an inanimate object.” by P. J. O’Rourke.

  30. Very nice and informative portal! Plenty of interesting info. We were hoping for this.Thanks for sharing! villas greece

  31. Thank you! It is very good information

  32. What i do not understood is in truth how you are now not actually much more well-preferred than you might be now. You’re so intelligent. You understand therefore considerably in relation to this matter, produced me individually imagine it from so many various angles. Its like women and men are not fascinated except it’s one thing to do with Girl gaga! Your individual stuffs great. All the time handle it up!

  33. UGG Delaine says:

    My seventh year also is coming throughout next summer! HMU has always been recently newborn highlight of my summer with I’m fearing a baby get older that I won’t become able approximately return through camp HMU as a glamour camper. Spending time regarding different people all over the malay community is an elementary amazing experience amid I hope all around meet new people next year! :

  34. I have recently started a blog, the information you provide on this web site has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work. “The achievements of an organization are the results of the combined effort of each individual.” by Vince Lombardi.

  35. you are actually a good webmaster. The web site loading velocity is amazing. It seems that you are doing any unique trick. In addition, The contents are masterwork. you’ve performed a magnificent process on this subject!

  36. It’s in reality a nice and helpful piece of info. I am happy that you just shared this useful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  37. I like this website very much so much superb info . “She refused to be bored chiefly because she wasnt boring.” by Zelda Fitzgerald.

  38. I like what you guys are up too. Such clever work and reporting! Keep up the excellent works guys I have incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my site :). “As is a tale, so is life not how long it is, but how good it is, is what matters.” by Lucius Annaeus Seneca.

  39. You are my intake , I have few blogs and often run out from to brand.

  40. Simply wanna comment that you have a very nice website , I like the design it really stands out.

  41. Thank you! It is very good information

  42. Normally I do not read article on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very pressured me to check out and do so! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thanks, very great article.

  43. pompa ciepla says:

    Hello everyone! This website is fantastic and I’m sure that I will be back here.

  44. [...] this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Gluten-free buckwheat porridge with apple juice & cinnamon apples & caramelized coconut b… Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); [...]

  45. Psycholog says:

    Thank you! It is very good information

  46. I like this web site it’s a master piece! Glad I discovered this on google.

  47. Some really good info , Glad I detected this. “If you find it in your heart to care for somebody else, you will have succeeded.” by Maya Angelou.

  48. Nilda Stray says:

    You can definitely see your expertise in the work you write. The world hopes for more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  49. [...] 1. Sophie’s Gf buckwheat porridge with apple juice & cinnamon apples with caramelized coco… [...]

  50. […] 3. Sophie’s buckwheat porridge with apple juice, cinnamon apples with caramelized coconut suga… […]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,096 other followers

