Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Vegetarian romanesco pasta all spiced up!

on 02/12/2010
 

It looks like an alien, doesn't it?

Yummie!

A few days ago, I made a great vegetarian GF pasta dinner with romanesco cauliflower.

Click on the link. Wikipedia explains it well.

Do you know what it is? It is a type of vibrant green cauliflower or broccoli with pointed and rounded florets.
You can eat it like a normal cauliflower. The texture is the same like a cauliflower but it tastes like a broccoli. Strange hey? This veggie looks like it comes from another planet!
Am I wrong or not? What do you think?
Even that it is strange , it made a lovely GF dinner.
Try it and you will see,…

Print me!

Recipe: For 2 persons
Ingredients:
250 gr GF pasta, like GF fusilli
1 cleaned head of romaneso, outer hard leaves & hard bottom cut out, the larger white stems removed, cut into florets & larger ones cut into 2, well washed, drained & pad dry on kitchen paper. I had 400 gr of cleaned florets. I used 350 gr. The other 50 gr I used in a soup.
1 red chili, tops & ends removed, cut open, seeds removed & cut into little pieces ( with plastic gloves on)
2 fat cloves of fresh garlic, peeled & finely cut up
a fruity EVOO
a handful of grated Gruyère cheese
Maldon sea salt flakes ( S)
finely grinds of black pepper ( P )
a little bowl with grated to serve at the table, over the top of your pasta dish

Method:
1. Cook the GF pasta according your packet instructions.
2. Take a large & deep non stick pan with fitting lid & heat up on medium heat. When hot, add 2 t0 3 tablespoons of the fruity EVOO & swirl around the surface of the pan. Add the chili and garlic pieces & fry until soft. This will take a few minutes.
3. Now, add the romanesco florets, fry for about 2 minutes & stir the veggies round in the pan. Add some sea salt  & a few grinds of black pepper. Add a dash of hot water, from your pasta that is cooking, to the pan. Place the lid on. Now, the romanesco will steam.
Adjust the heat if necessary, put it lower. After the liquid is gone, add another splash of cooking water. Stir the mix regularly to prevent sticking & burning. Place the lid on. When the steam is gone, taste the romanesco. Check the seasoning, add a bit of S & P if necessary. Check if the romanesco is cooked through otherwise repeat the process.
4. When the pasta is al dente, drain it well but keep a lot of the hot cooking water in a separate bowl.
5. In the pasta cooking pot, add the cooked through romanesco mix from the pan & add a bit of the cooking water to create more of a sauce. Now, add the handful of grated Gruyère cheese. Mix well. Taste. It has to taste fab.
6. Serve in 2 pasta dishes & pour a bit of the fruity EVOO over the top of each pasta dish.
Enjoy with a loved one and top some extra grated Gruyère cheese over the top of each pasta dish.

If you liked this post, Subscribe to Sophie’s Foodie Files: it is free: RSS Feed RSS – Posts

Cleaned romanesco

You might like:

1. Gluten free corn spaghetti with garlic, red & yellow tomatoes, spinach, feta & mint

Vegetarian Romanesco Pasta All Spiced Up on FoodistaVegetarian Romanesco Pasta All Spiced Up


37 responses to “Vegetarian romanesco pasta all spiced up!

  1. Wow! Thank you! I constantly wanted to write on my blog something like that. Can I include a fragment of your post to my site?

  2. I like this site very much, Its a very nice place to read and find info.

  3. Real excellent visual appeal on this website , I’d rate it 10 10.

  4. Some really superb content on this web site , regards for contribution.

  5. I think other website owners should take this web site as an model, very clean and fantastic user friendly style and design .

  6. I together with my friends came following the excellent techniques located on your website and all of the sudden I had a terrible suspicion I had not expressed respect to the website owner for them. My ladies became absolutely passionate to read them and already have extremely been enjoying them. Appreciation for getting very thoughtful and for settling on this form of incredibly good things millions of individuals are really needing to learn about. Our own honest apologies for not expressing appreciation to sooner.

  7. 車 保険 says:

    A person essentially help to make seriously articles I would state. That is the first time I frequented your website page and so far? I surprised with the analysis you made to create this actual submit amazing. Fantastic task!

  8. Great post, I conceive website owners should learn a lot from this site its very user genial. So much wonderful info on here :D.

  9. But a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw great style and design .

  10. Some truly superb posts on this web site , thanks for contribution.

  11. I believe you have observed some very interesting details , appreciate it for the post.

  12. I like what you guys are up too. Such intelligent work and reporting! Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my web site :).

  13. I think you have remarked some very interesting points , regards for the post.

  14. Keep up the fantastic piece of work, I read few content on this site and I believe that your site is rattling interesting and has lots of superb info .

  15. A person essentially assist to make significantly articles I would state. That is the first time I frequented your web page and thus far? I surprised with the research you made to create this particular put up amazing. Fantastic task!

  16. he says says:

    Great post, I think people should larn a lot from this site its very user pleasant. So much fantastic info on here :D.

  17. Simply wanna comment that you have a very nice website , I love the design and style it really stands out.

  18. Daryl Lawall says:

    Very interesting info !Perfect just what I was looking for! “The medium is the message.” by Marshall McLuhan.

  19. What a great website. I am happy I found it.It’s nice to read something interesting I cannot find subscription list

  20. serwis canon says:

    An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topic!.

  21. I consider something truly special in this website.

  22. It’s incredible. I was searched for the website like this one for a long time and I finally found!

  23. Edgardo says:

    I discovered your weblog internet website on bing and appearance several of your early posts. Preserve up the extremely great operate. I just now additional the RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking toward reading far much more on your part down the road!…

  24. Great – I should certainly pronounce, impressed with your website. I had no trouble navigating through all tabs as well as related information ended up being truly simple to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it at all. Quite unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or something, site theme . a tones way for your client to communicate. Nice task.

  25. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  26. As soon as I detected this web site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

  27. Appreciating the commitment you put into your blog and in depth information you present. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material. Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  28. I am just writing to make you know of the wonderful encounter our child enjoyed viewing your web page. She realized many details, which included what it’s like to have a great helping nature to have a number of people smoothly fully grasp chosen specialized matters. You truly did more than my expectations. Many thanks for churning out the valuable, healthy, edifying and even easy tips about your topic to Ethel.

  29. I discovered your blog site on google and check a few of your early posts. Continue to keep up the very good operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking forward to reading more from you later on!…

  30. Janie Lipsie says:

    I believe this internet site contains some very fantastic info for everyone :D. “Believe those who are seeking the truth doubt those who find it.” by Andre Gide.

  31. i recommend th is certainly blog site too awful you’ve thus numerous not related observations

  32. Howdy, i am Rebecka Harnish and I must tell you that ” Vegetarian romanesco pasta all spiced up! Sophies Foodie Files ” is in fact an awesome info.

  33. Ron Letender says:

    Hi folks, i am Ron Letender and I have to say that ” Vegetarian romanesco pasta all spiced up! Sophies Foodie Files ” is a powerful info.

  34. Hi, how’s it going? Just shared this post with a colleague, we had a good laugh.

  35. Many thanks for an unbelievable put up, would study your particular others topics. thank you your notions with this, I experienced a lttle bit made an impact to by this post. Merit again! You wanna make a great time. Got some excellent data here. I do think that if more individuals thought about it like this, they’d have got a better time have the hold ofing the matter.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,088 other followers

