Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Sophie’s gluten free and egg free speculaas spiced apple muffins

on 20/09/2010

tasty gluten-free & egg-free speculaas spiced apple muffins

Today, I made these egg free and gluten-free speculaas spiced triple apple muffins. It is my own recipe.  I used apple in 3 ways in here: grated apple, apple in little pieces & apple sauce.

These are healthy breakfast muffins that aren’t too sweet…a breakfast that you can take along with you in the car, to the office or just savour with a good cup of tea at home.
These are so goooodddd,… just test for yourself!
These aren’t speculaas at all, I just used the speculaas spice in these tasty apple muffins.
We can buy these speculaas spices in a few kitchen stores like Dille and Kamille. You can find those shops in various cities in Belgium & in The Netherlands.
Spices used in speculaas spices are cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, pigment, ginger, cardamom, mace and coriander. We buy them in 20 gr sachet, ready to use.
If you can’t buy these in your neighbourhood, you can make them easy like this:

bought speculaas spices

I have 1 recipe with not every spice in it, but you can make your own speculaas mix with:
4 tablespoons ground cinnamon,
1 tablespoon ground cloves,
1 tablespoon ground ginger,
1 tablespoon ground nutmeg &
1 tablespoon ground cardamom.
Mix all the spices well together & place in a fitting bowl & screw the lid well on. Shake well until all combined or use a spoon & mix well. Use 2 teaspoons.
Enjoy!! It works really well!!!
Recipe: For 16 larger flower pattern muffins
Ingredients:
100 gr of brown teff flour
80 gr Noproten gf flour mix
60 gr of light brown buckwheat flour
60 gr of tapioca flour
2 teaspoons gf baking powder
1 teaspoon guar gom
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons speculaas spice
180 ml lactose free unsweetened yoghurt or normal unsweetened yoghurt
100 ml sweetened apple sauce
120 ml agave syrup
80 ml of a good and tasty canola oil
75 gr shivered unsweetened almond flakes
130 gr peeled, cored and finely grated apple, I used Pink lady
1 apple, peeled, cored and finely cut up into little pieces, I used Pink Lady
Method:
1. Preheat your oven on 180°C ( 350 F ) for about 10 minutes.
2. In your Kenwood bowl, add teff flour, Noproten gf flour mix, light buckwheat flour, tapioca flour, gf baking powder, guar gom, baking soda and speculaas spice. Mix it all together with the K paddle on medium speed.
3. In another bowl, add the lactose free yoghurt, applesauce, agave syrup and canola oil. Mix well with a whisk.
4. Add the wet ingredients mix to the dry ingredients in the Kenwood bowl. Mix well on medium speed. Scrape the sides of the bowl with a plastic scraper. Finally, add the shivered almonds, the grated apple and the cut up apple pieces to the bowl. Mix well with the K paddle. Scrape the sides of the bowl with a plastic scraper.
5. Now, take your silicon flower pattern mats & place them on a silpat, for stability on an oven rack. I can place 2 x 6 larger holes flower mats besides each other. I also used another 5 silicon normal muffin mat. Because this is silicon, you don’t have to grease your muffin holes. Fill with 3/4 of the thicker batter. Place in the center of the oven & bake for about 20 to 25 minutes. I baked mine 25 minutes but checked after 20 minutes with a small sewing pin.
6. After they are golden on top & ready, carefully take them out of the oven & let them cool down a bit, for about 5 to 10 minutes. After that, you can carefully turn the muffins down side up & leave them to cool down on a wire rack. So you will be seeing the beautiful flower pattern on top! When completely cool, store in an airtight cookie box.
Enjoy like that, sliced open with a good cup of ginger tea or with some butter and apple jam or with apple butter.
MMM,..

Delightful aroma's & flavours in here! Special too!

You might like:
1. Sophie’s festive speculaas, contains gluten. 

2. Wholemeal spelt chocolate ricotta muffins with dark chocolate chips, contains gluten 

57 responses to “Sophie’s gluten free and egg free speculaas spiced apple muffins

  1. Sophie33 says:

    Sophie from Sophies Foodiefiles said…
    @ Dawn, Choclette, Claudia, Celia & agrigirl: Thanks for stopping by & leaving me such lovely comments. I allready read them. I had a big problem at blogger.com just after posting this post. I can’t get back to those lovely comments, but I read them & they were much appreciated!
    September 26, 2010

    Kerstin said…
    What cute little healthy muffins and a yummy spice mix! I love cardamom.
    September 26, 2010

    Nadji said…
    Merci pour la recette des spéculoos, ça manquait vraiment.
    Tes muffins doivent être délicieux avec ces épices.
    Bonne semaine et à bientôt.
    September 27, 2010

    Erica said…
    Healthy and delicious!!!Perfect :)
    September 27, 2010

    Debbie said…
    I love the spices and they look so delicious. Wish I could just pop one in my mouth right now!
    September 27, 2010

    Koko said…
    I bet these taste divine! I just loved the flavour of speculaas when you sent them to me. Yum!! A great snack to grab and go!
    September 27, 2010

    A SPICY PERSPECTIVE said…
    What pretty little cookies! They looks wonderful!
    September 27, 2010

    Lynda said…
    Hi Sophie! What yummy looking muffins with the apples and all those wonderful spices! The ones that look like flowers are so cute…I’d love these for breakfast.
    September 27, 2010

    Gabriella said…
    Ohh, ze zijn zo mooi!! Je hebt een paar mooie bloemen gemaakt. Gr.
    September 27, 2010

    Heavenly Housewife said…
    I love the flavour of speculaas, how clever of you to incorporate it into a muffin. I bet the house smelled amazing while baking these!
    *kisses* HH
    September 27, 2010

    Barbara said…
    Nice spice mix, Sophie. I can envision using it in several other dishes!
    The muffins look delicious with their apples three ways…very clever….and the flower patterned ones are really beautiful.
    September 27, 2010

    Foodessa said…
    Sophie…there’s a complexity of flavours in your muffins that appeal to me very much ;o)
    I also adore using the apple ‘Pink lady’…one of my favourites for applesauce too.

    Thanks for a great breakfast delight.

    Ciao for now,
    Claudia
    September 28, 2010

    Junglefrog said…
    I love Dille & Kamille; I never seem to be able to leave those shops without buying at least something..:)) Speculaaskruiden I always seem to have around in the house, but I hardly ever use them but these muffins look delicious!
    September 28, 2010

    Slices of Beauty… said…
    So yummy, send me some please!
    September 28, 2010

    tigerfish said…
    Perfect Autumn muffins :)
    September 28, 2010

    Anna said…
    Yummm, apples and all those spices what a delicious combination. And its good for you. Awesooooome.
    September 28, 2010

    Cheryl said…
    Sophie, those look yummy! I have the same molds!
    September 28, 2010

    tasteofbeirut said…
    These apple muffins look just delicious and so enticing with the speculaas spices incorporated. Too bad finding these specialty flours is not so easy around here, although I have seen lately a lot of gluten-free bakery items.
    September 28, 2010

    Paz said…
    Your muffins sound very healthy indeed. And they look delicious. I love the flower design on the top. ;-)

    Paz
    September 28, 2010

    Maria@Scandi Foodie said…
    Sounds healthy and delicious! This is a great recipe!
    September 28, 2010

    Chow and Chatter said…
    oh wow great muffins love the spices in here
    September 28, 2010

    Angie’s Recipes said…
    Sophie, these muffins look so pretty with different flower patterns.
    September 28, 2010

    Lu’ said…
    It looks so delicious !!! Congrat’s !
    September 29, 2010

    Miriam Leigh said…
    I just love a healthy and convenient breakfast, especially a pretty one!
    September 29, 2010

    Nirmala said…
    Lovely. I’m usually skeptical of gluten and egg free treats but these look great. I’m convinced.
    September 29, 2010

    D. @ Outside Oslo said…
    Those spices must be perfect for the upcoming holiday season!
    September 29, 2010

    grace said…
    it’s most definitely the time of year for some spiced-up apple treats!
    September 29, 2010
    l
    isaiscooking said…
    The spices in these sound great! Perfect for breakfast on the go.
    September 29, 2010

    Ellen @ I Am Gluten Free said…
    Great job on these GF and egg-free (yay, vegan!) muffins. I will definitely give this a try!
    September 29, 2010

    MaryMoh said…
    These are beautiful muffins…look moist and delicious. I love the patterns.
    September 29, 2010

    Lisa said…
    Sophie, once again you astound with your creativity. Those juffins look absolutely divine! The speculaas spice reminds me of pumpkin pie spice, or aplle pie spice…yum!
    September 30, 2010

    sweet artichoke said…
    Trop mignons, ces muffins-fleurs! le mélange pomme-épices à spéculaas doit être délicieux! Et j’adore tous les trucs gluten-free, car ils sont souvent bien plus légers que leurs cousins au gluten! hihi, et j’en ai profité pour imprimer la recette des “festive Speculaas”que je vais tester sous peu :-)
    September 30, 2010

    nora@ffr said…
    vat a perfectly made muffin!!! rilli temptinngggg!! yummmm!!
    September 30, 2010

    Anna Johnston said…
    Hey Sophie, what a cool recipe for a great breakfast ‘on the go'; this is such a versatile little muffin, love the use of apples like this too. Nice One!!
    October 01, 2010

    Indie.Tea said…
    Yum! I love those flowery bottoms too.
    October 01, 2010

    Theresa said…
    Speculaas! Yummy! I always make HEAPS of speculaas at Christmas, it’s a family tradition. :)
    Those flower patterns are so lovely!
    October 01, 2010

    sanjeeta kk said…
    The Muffins look gorgeous, love the mold you have used. Nice to be here. Best wishes, Sophie.
    October 01, 2010

    April@The 21st Century Housewife said…
    Your muffins sound delicious! I love speculaas so it is wonderful to know how the spice mix is made. We can sometimes get speculaas here in England but I have never seen the spice mix for them.
    October 01, 2010

    zerrin said…
    These muffins look so cute and yummy! I love the idea to take them to office. A great breakfast!
    October 01, 2010

    El said…
    They turned put so pretty. I love the molds. I’m bookmarking the spice mix too. I had no idea it was a special blend!
    October 02, 2010

    Claudia said…
    Sophie, what delightful little muffins! I want to try them, perhaps with guava (our version of apple?) since there are so many ripening now). I think the spice mix will go well with that.
    October 02, 2010

    OysterCulture said…
    Now you have me thinking fall with spiced apple muffins. Perfect with tea on a blistery day.
    October 03, 2010

    WendyGK said…
    Apples three ways. These must be packed with apple flavor. That last photo is beautiful.
    October 03, 2010

    elra said…
    Wonderfully spiced, I am sure they are scrumptious !
    October 03, 2010

    clém’ said…
    They look délicicous!
    I should have to buy the same thing! ;)
    XoXo Clém’
    October 03, 2010

    SLColman said…
    That spice mix sounds so good!! I especially love your flower muffin pans! So jealous of those! These apple muffins sound great! I made an apple cake last week.
    October 03, 2010

    Gloria said…
    Hello Sophie, these look really yummy and nice!
    Lovely muffins! gloria
    October 04, 2010

    The Breakfast Lover said…
    I didnt know its posible make free eggs muffins! im going to try it a later i tell you.
    October 04, 2010

    petite nyonya said…
    these muffins are full of spices…so perfect with tea!!
    October 04, 2010

    5 Star Foodie said…
    These look so pretty and sound terrific with speculaas spice mix!
    October 04, 2010

    Jo said…
    Oh wow Sophie, you have created your very own recipe. Definitely a seller since it is both gluten free and egg free. I love the muffin flower molds – absolutely pretty.
    October 04, 2010

    Nicisme said…
    What a great recipe, I can almost smell the spices from here!
    October 04, 2010

    gastroanthropologist said…
    I didn’t know you could buy speculaas spice packets! I love that flavor, it really reminds of fall and winter. Those flavors in a breakfast muffin sound divine..can’t wait to try!
    October 04, 2010

    Margaret said…
    These look lovely. I really like the moulds you used for these muffins, so pretty.
    October 04, 2010

    Gulmohar said…
    Loved your muffin pan/moulds :-) They look so pretty
    October 04, 2010

    Xiaolu @ 6 Bittersweets said…
    These sound delicious. I’m in love with speculaas flavor after trying the spread on a waffle.
    October 04, 2010

    Reeni said…
    What a glorious muffins Sophie! I am really loving all those lovely spices! Delicious.
    October 05, 2010

    theUngourmet said…
    I just love the flower pattern on top of these yummy muffins. It’s great to find a good gluten free recipe. I have a neighbor that needs all gluten free. I’ll have to show her your wonderful muffins. :)
    October 05, 2010

    Camilla Baker said…
    Sophie these looks moist and delicious!
    These are no my list of treats to try- thanks x
    October 05, 2010

    valerie from familyblog said…
    beautiful receipe
    have a nice day
    val
    October 05, 2010

    Hannah said…
    These sound amazing! I love everything spiced and gingerbread-like, plus I have teff flour sitting around with no intended destination. How perfect!
    October 05, 2010

    Ina said…
    Hi Sophie – those muffins look wonderful! And what a beautiful city you live in – wow. I could live in that culinary shop – pure heaven! Ina
    October 06, 2010

    Rico said…
    Well done Sophie as always, those muffins are delicious, and with those famous flower shapes you have makes them even more appetizing if that is possible….yum Thanks for the share!!

    Rico-Tried and Tested Recipes
    October 06, 2010

    Quay Po Cooks said…
    This sure are healthy muffins. Looks really pretty and yummy. A must try recipe.
    October 08, 2010

    pierre said…
    hi sophie
    I love the taste of speculoos so this is for me Congrats !!Pierre
    October 09, 2010

    Valérie said…
    Hi, Sophie! These muffins must be amazing! I love speculoos, so I’m sure I would adore these!
    October 09, 2010

    Joanne said…
    I just love the sound of such a spiced up muffin. They look adorable. Great recipe!
    October 11, 2010

    Patty said…
    Lovely to meet you (online!) Sophie. Love your spice mix – and the fantastic muffins! I’m inspired. :)
    October 11, 2010

    The Blonde Duck said…
    Have a magical Monday!
    October 11, 2010

    The Duo Dishes said…
    We received a sample of a product modeled after speculoos, and it was really great in food. Not so great on its own. Love that you guys have the real deal spice in your stores!
    October 13, 2010

    Joanne said…
    Those flower tins are just so adorable! These muffins sound like the perfect thing to wake up to.
    October 13, 2010
    Sophie said…
    @ all of you:thanks for stopping by & enjoy these tasty, healthy & fab apple muffins!
    October 13, 2010

    noosh. said…
    these look great! thanks for stopping by my blog as well!
    October 19, 2010

    Danielle said…
    Yum! These look delicious. They look like they have a lot of ingredients but that’s probably what makes them good(:
    October 23, 2010

    SharonP said…
    Wow a ton of ingredients that my pockets cant afford, but would love to try the cake, it looks and sounds yummy
    October 30, 2010

    Flora said…
    They look lovely. I will have to try these as my daughter was just diagnosed with an egg allergy. And thanks for posting the speculaas spice mix, never heard of it here in the USA.

  2. Amelia says:

    Hey friend can i publish some paragraph of your article on my little blog of university.I have to publish a good articles out there and i really think your post Fits best into it.I will be grateful to give you an source link as well.I have two blogs one my own and the other which is my college blog.I will publish some part in the university blog.Hope you do not mind.

  3. We are a bunch of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your website provided us with useful information to paintings on. You’ve performed a formidable activity and our whole community will be thankful to you.

  4. Appreciate it for all your efforts that you have put in this. Very interesting information.

  5. Only a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw outstanding design and style.

  6. But a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw great style and design. “Make the most of your regrets… . To regret deeply is to live afresh.” by Henry David Thoreau.

  7. I saw a lot of website but I believe this one has got something special in it. “

  8. Merely a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw great design and style.

  9. […] 1. Gluten free & egg free apple speculoos spiced muffins, great as breakfast too!  […]

  10. Anya Fariss says:

    Awesome writing style!

  11. I really appreciate this post. I have been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thank you again!

  12. Someone essentially lend a hand to make critically posts I’d state. This is the first time I frequented your web page and so far? I amazed with the research you made to make this particular publish extraordinary. Wonderful job!

  13. I love reading this blog. Keep up the good work!

  14. I think you have noted some very interesting points , thanks for the post.

  15. seo says:

    Very insightful post. I will keep an eye on your blog in the future.

  16. Check it out says:

    Simply wanna say that this is extremely helpful, Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  17. Alfred Klimo says:

    I truly enjoy studying on this website, it has great content. “One should die proudly when it is no longer possible to live proudly.” by Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche.

  18. Noble Yotter says:

    I do believe all the ideas you have offered on your post. They’re really convincing and will certainly work. Still, the posts are very short for novices. Could you please prolong them a little from subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

  19. Couldn’t have said it better myself.

  20. Thank you for this blog- it’s great! I like this type of people who share knowledge with others.

  21. health says:

    Love your blog!

  22. Ian Mckennie says:

    Hi there very cool blog!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds also・ am satisfied to find numerous useful information here within the post, we need work out extra strategies on this regard, thanks for sharing.

  23. Thanks for helping out, superb information.

  24. Appreciate it for helping out, excellent info .

  25. Its excellent as your other posts : D, thanks for putting up. “Too much sensibility creates unhappiness too much insensibility leads to crime.” by Charles Maurice de Talleyrand.

  26. […] 4. Gluten-Free & Egg-Free speculaas spiced apple muffins […]

  27. […] 1. Sophie’s Gluten-Free & egg-Free speculaas spiced apple muffins 2. Sophie’s gluten-free triple coconut almond butter soft cookies with dark chocolate chips 3. Gluten-Free & sugar-free mini muffins with almond butter, banana & dark chocolate chips 4. Gluten-Free & Sugar-free muffins with almond butter, banana & dark chocolate chips 5. Gluten-Free & Egg-free scones with chocolate & pecans I am sending these over at Go ahead, honey & it’s gluten-free , June 2010 round-up. This time it will have to be something gluten & dairy free. I also am sending this to the Bake Your Own Bread round-up July 2010 @ Bread making Blog experience: July round-up!!!  Sophie’s Moist Gluten Free Zucchini Muffins! Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "f4f8f8"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "d6e6e8"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "333333"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "a4461c"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "a4461c"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "cooking"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "recipes"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "food"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "breakfast"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "dairy-free"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "dessert"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "food-gifts"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "gluten-free"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "muffins"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "vegetarian"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Share this tasty post:Print me & PdfEmailLike this:LikeOne blogger likes this post. […]

  28. What’s up, all is going nicely here and ofcourse every one is sharing data, that’s truly good, keep up writing.

  29. What’s up, I read your blogs daily. Your writing style is awesome, keep it up!

  30. […] 3. Sugar-Free & Gluten-Free banana & almond butter mini muffins with dark chocolate chips 4. Gluten-Free & Egg-Free speculaas spiced apple muffins 5. Egg-Free wholemal spelt, banana & coconut muffins 6. Sophie’s speedy mixed berry cake […]

  31. […] 3. Gluten-Free & Sugar-Free almond butter & banana mini muffins with dark chocolate chips 4. Gluten-Free & Egg-Free speculaas spiced apple muffins 5. Wholemeal spelt banana & coconut muffins 6. Wholemeal spelt blueberry muffins 7. Cranberry […]

  32. Hello friends, its impressive article regarding tutoringand entirely defined, keep it up all the time.

  33. I don’t commonly comment but I gotta state appreciate it for the post on this great one :D.

  34. […] cup of tea! These treats make excellent food gifts! A wonderful food gift You might like: 1. Gluten-Free & Egg-Free speculaas spiced muffins 2. Gluten-Free triple coconut & almond butter soft cookies with dark chocolate chips 3. Lovely […]

  35. […] 2. Gluten-Free & Egg-Free apple speculaas spiced muffins […]

  36. Wow, awesome blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is magnificent, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about Sophie’s gluten free and egg free speculaas spiced apple muffins Sophies Foodie Files .

  37. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of Sophie’s gluten free and egg free speculaas spiced apple muffins Sophies Foodie Files . Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

  38. This site is really attention-grabbing i am yearning for is there the other examples? however anyway thank you very much as a result of I found that i used to be searching for.

  39. Sophie’s gluten free and egg free speculaas spiced apple muffins Sophies Foodie Files Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  40. I dugg some of you post as I thought they were invaluable very useful

  41. bookmarking says:

    4tYBts Enjoyed every bit of your article.Really looking forward to read more. Cool.

  42. Kopi Luwak says:

    Appreciate you sharing, great article post. Much obliged.

  43. My brother recommended I might like this website. He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  44. I’m just commenting to let you understand what a nice experience our princess had reading through your webblog. She even learned such a lot of issues, which included what it’s like to possess an excellent coaching mood to let men and women with ease understand a number of problematic matters. You undoubtedly exceeded readers’ desires. Many thanks for rendering those practical, trustworthy, edifying and as well as cool tips on the topic to Emily.

  45. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  46. Awesome writing style!

  47. […] 1. Gluten-Free & Egg-Free speculaas spiced apple muffins […]

  48. These are gorgeous! I love that they’re gluten free and the flavors sound amazing. I love that you used apples in so many ways!!! Delish Sophie!!

  49. Heike Batiz says:

    Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is magnificent, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Sophie& .

  50. Heike Batiz says:

    Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is excellent, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Sophie& .

  51. Dotty Toyama says:

    Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is fantastic, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about Sophie& .

  52. Hanh Kassa says:

    Wow, awesome blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is magnificent, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Sophie& .

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,145 other followers

