Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Gluten-free chicken burgers

on 22/07/2010

a delightful gluten-free chicken burger!

A delightful meal!

I love-making this easy yet lovely chicken burgers!
I prepare them in my food processor & let them stiffen up in the fridge for a few hours.
You can add whatever you want in the burger.
The burgers have a lot of garlic in them but my hubbie & I like it that way!

Print me!

Recipe: For 6 patties, each about 0.5 cm thick and 7 to 8 cm long
Ingredients:
3 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & roughly chopped
1 large red onion, peeled & cut into chunks
1/2 teaspoon of dried oregano or more to your linking
1 large egg, beaten loose
herbamare salt:1/2 teaspoon
50 gr of gluten-free breadcrumbs/ I used Schär.
380 gr of seasoned chicken mince, gluten-free & dairy free
Maldon sea salt flakes
a fruity EVOO to fry the burgers in
** To serve: Gluten free hamburger buns
slices of tomatoes, salad leaves, tomato ketchup, mayonnaise, thinly sliced cucumber slices,…

Method:
1. Take your food processor & add the garlic, the cut up red onion, the beaten egg, the oregano, the herbamare, the chicken mince, the gluten-free breadcrumbs & a bit of sea salt flakes according to your liking, all evenly divided over your food processor. Pulse & mix until it all comes together. Taste! It has to taste fab & pungent with the raw onion & the raw garlic. Otherwise add some more oregano, herbamare or sea salt.
2. Shape patties with wet hands, it is easier to do so. Shape patties, each about 0.5 cm thick & 7 to 8 cm long. Place them well apart on a large plate or onto 2 plates. They will be a bit sticky. Place clingfilm over the top of the plates & place in the fridge to stiffen up for 1 to 3 hours.
3. 30 minutes before dinner, take the plate with patties out of the fridge. Remove the clingfilm. When you take the patties from the plate, they still can stick a bit. Fry the patties well spaced apart, until golden & cooked through on both sides, in a hot pan with a few tablespoons of the fruity EVOO in it. Drain them on kitchen paper & enjoy them with your GF sliced hamburger buns, some lettuce, some ketchup, some sliced cucumber slices, etc.

I do have a question. These GF hamburger buns look like the real thing but once you bite in it, the hamburger buns fall so easily apart. It is so crumbly!!!I couldn’t enjoy my burger with all of its trimmings like I used to. Does anyone have this same problem?? And what do you do about it?? Do you all have a great recipe for GF hamburger buns???

If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts

You might like:

1. Sophie’s spiced up gluten-free chicken burgers

Sophie's gluten free chicken burgers on FoodistaSophie’s gluten free chicken burgers



119 responses to “Gluten-free chicken burgers

  1. Joanne says:

    The burgers look so tasty! I love all of your mix-ins. I wish I had a suggestion for you on the GF buns…

  2. Happy Cook says:

    Wowo the chicken burger looks so so good, i must make burgers at home.

  3. I don't think I've ever used chicken in a burger! What's my problem!? These look delicious!

  4. Foodessa says:

    Welcome back Sophie…even though we have you for such a short time.I appreciate this burger recipe very much…although, I do agree with you…most GF buns on the market do fall apart. I'm not impressed. I guess we'll have to come up with something soon.The only recipe, I can think of that would probably hold up would be 'Brazilian' type breads made with tapioca flour, soy and cheese. They are called 'Pao de queijo'. There are tons of versions out there in cyber space. I will have to try making some again and fixing a few things before I'd share it with my foodie friends. Let me know if you try making them and we'll compare results ;O)Have a fabulous day and flavourful wishes,Claudia

  5. Simple and delicious! I'm addicted to burgers nowadays. yum!

  6. Joanne says:

    I haven't bought GF buns yet. But I do like the GF wraps. So if I serve burgers or wraps, I'll use a GF flat bread or tortilla. I've had success with those. As for the bun, maybe you can do a search or try Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Flour to make your own. Love BRM products!

  7. Koko says:

    Mmmm, garlic! You and your hubbie have it right! That's too bad about the buns falling apart though, unfortunately I don't usually eat gluten free bread, so I'm not sure why that would be. Looks like a delicious summer burger though!!

  8. I love making chicken burgers too. In fact, I prefer them to beef! This one looks so tasty, Sophie and I like all of that garlic in there too. Yum! I'm sorry I can't help on the burger buns, I have no experience with GF eating.

  9. Margaret says:

    I too can't help on the burger buns. The chicken burgers look very delicious Sophie.

  10. Emmalene says:

    I don't know how I can help with the GF burger or the buns, but it looks very very good! Thanks for stopping by my blog Sophie!

  11. Hopefully someone can help you figure out the GF issue. There must be another brand of breadcrumbs to keep them together? Good luck!

  12. Cheryl says:

    Beautiful as always Sophie!

  13. nandini says:

    The burger looks lovely!!.Never tried making them at home…ur recipe sounds simple and interesting. Will try it for my kids.

  14. lisa says:

    Looks great Sophie! I love your mix in's. As for the burger bun, I buy them at a GF bakery here in LA. They stay intact ok, but it's not the same as a "flourfull" bun.

  15. virginie says:

    pour un vrai bon hamburger maison, je ne dis jamais non !!!!bises et bon vendredi gourmand virginie

  16. Barbara says:

    Your chickenburger look delish, Sophie!I am not much of a GF cook, so really can't help you with the buns.

  17. jose manuel says:

    Hola, acabo de descubrir tu blog. Tienes recetas muy interesantes.Estas hamburguesas se ven geniales, si no te importa te añado a mi lista de blogs favoritos. Saludos

  18. stephchows says:

    mmm loving all the garlic in it! i love garlic :)

  19. foodcreate says:

    Delicious looks devine love garlic very tasty …

  20. I love chicken burgers too :)Don't have much experience with GF foods, so I couldn't give you any advice on the crumbling roll, except maybe line it with lettuce on both sides to prevent any moisture getting into the bread.Have a wonderful weekend.*kisses* HH

  21. You say hamburgers, I say yum! this sounds fantastic as usual. Every time I stop by, I get hungry.

  22. Paz says:

    I love your chicken burgers. They look and sound delicious.Bisous,Paz

  23. Rosabela says:

    Oh my, Sophie! Your chicken burger looks and sounds soooo delightful! My mouth is watering. heheheUnfortunately, I'm not able to answer your question, though. It's not something I purchase or make. Good luck with it. :-)rosa

  24. Nicisme says:

    Great burgers for a bbq, delicious Sophie!

  25. Claudia says:

    Oh my – that does look tempting. I, too have never done chicken in a burger. And all that garlic does not scare me away! Delicious, Sophie.

  26. Celia says:

    Sophie, your burger looks delicious! Gluten-free bread is always a problem – we have a friend with coeliac disease and I went on a quest to find him gluten-free baked goods. In the end, the best gf bread we found was a recipe of Dan Lepard's – I wrote it up on my blog here: http://figjamandlimecordial.com/2009/05/22/best-gluten-free-bread-ever/It's not light and fluffy though – probably won't work as a burger bun – but is quite elastic like a good woodfired Italian loaf.

  27. Val says:

    these look great! They're so easy to make! Love it.

  28. Mary says:

    That is one fabulous looking burger. I can't be of much help when it comes to the buns, but if I see something I'll direct it your way. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  29. zerrin says:

    Sophie, this looks fantastic! We love it with a lot of garlic too. YUM!

  30. Sook says:

    Love the look of your chicken burger! Delicious!

  31. Simply Life says:

    yum! those burgers look delicious!

  32. Hungry Dog says:

    Yum. I love burgers and chicken is a good way to keep it a little more healthy. Nice job!

  33. Juliana says:

    Sophie, the chicken burgers look so juicy and yummie, great for Summer meal…

  34. Claudia says:

    Hey Sophie, good to hear from you! Those chicken burgers look excellent, and I will try them, perhaps in a bun made with tapioca flour. I bought some recently and have been meaning to make those 'Pao de queijo'buns,suggested by one of your commenters. This is the perfect reason to try an experiment.

  35. Fanny says:

    Good the chicken burgers!Delicious…

  36. TKW says:

    These sound delicious and easy! Thanks for stopping by–greetings from Colorado!

  37. Sophie, your site looks great, did you do a little update? or am I just not pay attention ;-)Either way, lookin' good!

  38. Good to hear from you, Sophie! My RSS feeds have been broken, so I'm catching up on some blog reading (and missed everyone). These burgers look amazing … I've got some friends with celiac disease and I'm passing this one!

  39. Anna says:

    Hi Sophie, welcome back, I guess you could try " The Gluten free girl" site, she probably have a yummy solution for that. Your burger looks yummy thou.

  40. Queen B. says:

    Did you save one for me ? :)I am having a cup of tea and a stroopwafel as I type !! Do you eat stroopwafels ????????I can find them at World Market here in the USA.Have a great day……..

  41. I don't eat beef so this chicken burger is just what I need. I hope mine will turn out juicy and not dry!

  42. Simply Life says:

    oh that looks great!

  43. This looks scrumptious even with chicken mince! (I once made chicken burger, and it turned out a bit dry)

  44. Hi! Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. You know how all bloggers love comments :) YOu seem to have quite a following!I once went to Brussels on my way to Nairobi … wish I could have stayed longer and gotten out of the airport on that trip. I wanted to introduce you to my favorite GF cooking blog, she'll have great advice re: GF substitutions, esp. for breadwww.jenncuisine.com

  45. Sophie, that is one satisfying looking burger! I bet it's wonderful laced up with all that garlic YUM!

  46. oh wow these look wonderful and so healthy you make the best healthy meals lol

  47. WendyGK says:

    Hi SophieThanks for commenting on my blog. We use Schar rolls for burgers and they hold together well. The other thing we do for gf bread is first toast lightly, then put the burger on the bun and microwave for 20 seconds. It helps moisten and soften the bun so it doesn't crumble. A lot of gf bread is better with that two step process. Good Luck.Wendy

  48. Olive says:

    Hi Sophie! :)the chicken burger looks so delicious..i like mine with lots of garlic too :)

  49. yum! your burger looks fantastic. (: as for your problem, you might want to throw them hard into a bowl consecutively while mixing the ingredients. it helps in the binding as well as the crumbly issue. :D

  50. Your burger look delicious! I could eat that right about now

  51. Trissa says:

    There is really a lack of gluten free recipes out there – thanks for sharing your burger recipe – and even healthier I think because you've used chicken. When I try it though I won't use the gluten free buns after what you said.

  52. Lisa says:

    Sophie, these burgers looks divine, and I don't usually stray from your typical beef burger. You take gluten-free and all kinds of alternative cooking and turn them into such a yummy indulgences! Can I have a side of fries? :)

  53. I'll trade you a chicken burger for whimsical tale!

  54. Carolyn Jung says:

    Could I get an order of sweet potato fries with mine? Mmmm!

  55. Love the crispy crust on the outside of your burger. Sorry the bun was disappointing. Good luck with the adventure of finding a great GF bun.

  56. Lovely gluten-free recipe! Nice looking burgers :)

  57. Valérie says:

    Mmmm, it looks delicious! I have never baked without gluten, so I'm afraid I can't help you with your problem… Although, sometimes eating a burger with a soft bun that falls apart can be a messy-but-joyful experience!

  58. I like a lot of garlic too Sophie! What tempting and delicious burgers!

  59. Those burgers look so good! A wonderful gluten-free recipe.Cheers,Rosa

  60. ~~louise~~ says:

    oooooooo……Chicken Burgers. Yum! Thanks for sharing, Sophie…They look indescribably delicious!!!

  61. Cynthia says:

    Your chicken patties look wonderfully moist.

  62. These look wonderful Sophie, I have to try this delicious recipe!! I haven't been here for too long, I took a break from my blog for a few months but I'm back. So good to see you here!

  63. grace says:

    i'm a burger fiend, and i enjoy chicken just as much as beef. very healthy option, and beautifully done!

  64. Cathy says:

    Burgers are at the top of the list of my favorite foods. I need to use chicken more often. My granddaughter is gluten intolerant so I'll be eager to see if someone comes up with a good bun recipe. Thanks, Sophie.

  65. elra says:

    Chicken burger sounds delicious and light. well done Sophie :)

  66. Y says:

    Gluten free bread crumbs.. hmm.. gotta go see if I can find some of those, because I definitely want to try these burgers.

  67. Your chicken burgers sound really delicious – I love the flavours you have used! Well done!

  68. Jo says:

    Wow, that looks like a huge burger and a very juicy one at that.

  69. These burgers look so juicy and delicious!

  70. MaryMoh says:

    Beautiful burger! I would love that for lunch :D

  71. Hi Sophie from Sunny Hot Florida! Those burgers look good but I've never had GF burgers before so don't have an answer for you but I might have to try these!!! HUGS!

  72. Kerstin says:

    What yummy burgers! It's nice you can make them in advance too.

  73. Kat says:

    these sound yummy and I love your new (or perhaps not so new, it's been a while since I've browsed my fav foodie blogs) wallpaper :)

  74. the burger looks yummy! i haven't tried GF cooking before so unfortunately can't help you with your question.

  75. Sophie, that chicken burger looks delicious. I make a similar one and letting them sit in the refrigerator is a good idea.I'm not a GF cook, so I can't help with the bun problem. However sometimes we eat a hamburger without the bun. We load the plate with lots of trimmings and we don't seem to miss the bun as much.Sam

  76. miam miammm il me faut le même! Je note ta recette! =)Merci beaucoup pour tes adorables messages! :')Bise & Bonne soirée

  77. Tatieva says:

    Oh, c'est rigolo !

  78. Lovely blog! This chicken burger looks wonderful! We use pancakes instead of buns and my kids are happy. :)

  79. Jamie says:

    I never think to make chicken burgers even though I love eating them when I am back home in the States. This is a great, flavorful recipe and they look delicious! Thanks for the idea!

  80. Sophie says:

    @ all of you: thanks for your compliments & thanks for those suggestions on the GF hamburger buns!! Much appreciated!I even tested a few suggestions!! A HUGE & BIG thank you all!!Kisses from me!

  81. These are going on my menu plan for this week! Can’t wait to try them!

  82. Comfortabl y, the article is really the most excellent on that deserving topic. I suit in with your conclusions and also will thirstily look forward to your next updates. Just saying thanks will not simply just be sufficient, for the massive clarity in your writing. I can at once grab your rss feed to stay abreast of any updates. Fabulous work and much success in your business enterprize!

  83. Albert Taula says:

    Fantastic goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely great. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it smart. I can not wait to read far more from you. This is really a wonderful site.

  84. Ella says:

    I have really enjoyied reading your well written article. It looks like you spend a lot of effort and time on your blog. I have bookmarked it and I am looking forward to reading new articles. Keep up the good work!

  85. I envy your piece of work, thankyou for all the great articles .

  86. Thankyou for helping out, fantastic info .

  87. I dugg some of you post as I thought they were very useful invaluable

  88. I discovered your blog site on google and check a few of your early posts. Continue to keep up the very good operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking forward to reading more from you later on!…

  89. You have brought up a very great details , regards for the post.

  90. Its great as your other articles : D, appreciate it for putting up.

  91. Glady Wary says:

    Rattling nice design and great content material, very little else we require :D.

  92. Awesome post! I will keep an on eye on your blog.

  93. Thank you for helping out, fantastic information. “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.” by J. K. Rowling.

  94. I truly appreciate this post. I’ve been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thx again!

  95. It is fantastic! I’m wondering if I wanted to write some things, I would know how to.

  96. I like the helpful information you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again right here frequently. I’m somewhat certain I’ll be told plenty of new stuff proper right here! Good luck for the following!

  97. Nubia Tolman says:

    I really like your writing style, fantastic information, regards for putting up :D. “God save me from my friends. I can protect myself from my enemies.” by Claude Louis Hector de Villars.

  98. Earl says:

    Some truly amazing articles on this web site , appreciate it for contribution.

  99. Hi! Someone mentioned your site on facebook and I had to check it out. I’m stoked I did! Fabulous post. Very eye-opening. Keep up the good work!

  100. Very good and informative portal! Plenty of helpful info. We were looking for this.Thanks for sharing! villa greece

  101. topsoil says:

    Howdy very nice site!! Man .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds also…I am happy to search out numerous useful information here in the publish, we need develop extra strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing.

  102. you are really a good webmaster. The web site loading speed is incredible. It sort of feels that you’re doing any distinctive trick. In addition, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve performed a excellent job on this subject!

  103. Good – I should definitely pronounce, impressed with your website. I had no trouble navigating through all the tabs as well as related information ended up being truly simple to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it at all. Reasonably unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or anything, web site theme . a tones way for your client to communicate. Nice task.

  104. Simply wanna state that this is very beneficial , Thanks for taking your time to write this. “I’ve had a perfectly wonderful evening. But this wasn’t it.” by Groucho Marx.

  105. [...] Sophie’s burger with sweet potato fries 5. Sophie’s spiced gluten-free chicken burgers 6. Sophie’s gluten-free chicken burgers Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); [...]

  106. Stan Clark says:

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

  107. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  108. [...] up gluten-free chicken burgers 3. Sophie’s spiced bean burgers 4. Vegetarian haloumi burger 5. Gluten-free chicken burgers 6. Eggless pork & veal sage burgers with a balsamic, red onions & capers relish Share [...]

  109. [...] You might like: 1. Asian inspired burger, served with an Asian coleslaw & sweet chili sauce 2. Sophie’s gluten-free chicken burger ( Gluten-Free) 3. My spiced up gluten-free chicken burger ( Gluten-Free ) 4. Spiced bean burgers ( Vegetarian ) 5. [...]

  110. Slub says:

    It is very good news

  111. Glenna says:

    Undeniably consider that that you stated. Your favourite reason appeared to be at the net the easiest thing to have in mind of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed whilst people think about issues that they plainly do not understand about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest as well as outlined out the entire thing without having side effect , other folks could take a signal. Will probably be again to get more. Thank you!

  112. Thank you for this post. I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon.

  113. Impressive writing style, thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  114. Hey! A person in my Myspace group shared this web site with us so I came to take a look. I’m most certainly making the most of the data. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Great weblog and wonderful structure and style

  115. bets by dre studio says:

    Thanks, I just stumbled your weblog and wanted to say that I?¯ve truly enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. I’ve subscribed for your feed and I hope you write

  116. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn anything like this before. So nice to find anyone with some unique ideas on this subject. realy thank you for beginning this up. this website is one thing that is wanted on the web, somebody with a little originality. useful job for bringing one thing new to the internet!

  117. There are some attention-grabbing closing dates on this article however I don’t know if I see all of them heart to heart. There is some validity but I’ll take hold opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we would like more! Added to FeedBurner as well

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 928 other followers

