Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Strawberry & quinoa smoothie with linseeds & vanilla

on 25/04/2010

A divine strawberry quinoa drink!

Today, I made this lovely drinkable breakfast!
I had some strawberries left in the fridge & wanted to use quinoa flakes too.
Print me!
Recipe: For 2 larger breakfast glasses
Ingredients:
500 ml of mild, unsweetened yoghurt
10 to 12 juicy & ripe strawberries, cleaned, hulled & cut into 2
2 teaspoons of gluten-free vanilla extract
1 level tablespoon of broken linseeds
3 tablespoons of medium-sized quinoa flakes
** To serve, if you like: a drizzle of agave syrup
Method:
1. Place all the ingredients into a blender & blend until completely smooth.
If you do not have a blender, place it all in 1 larger bowl & mix until completely smooth. Taste.
I like my breakfast to be not too sweet!
2. If you like it a bit more sweeter, add a drizzle of agave syrup to your smoothies.
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like:
1. Sophie’s quinoa, banana & pecan smoothie
2. Quinoa flakes with banana, roasted pecans, milk & agave syrup
3. A strawberry smoothie & 2 awards
4. Sophie’s breakfast smoothie
5. Wake up smoothie
6. Energizing & good-for-you smoothies & juices
Strawberry & Quinoa Smoothie With Linseeds & Vanilla on FoodistaStrawberry & Quinoa Smoothie With Linseeds & Vanilla
96 responses to “Strawberry & quinoa smoothie with linseeds & vanilla

  1. How beautiful, what a delicious looking smoothie. I wonder how the quinona flakes and linseeds affect the texture. I want to try it :D

  2. Humm what a beautiful dessert!I realy like strawberries, thank you! =)Kiss and have a good!!

  3. Wow, what a terrific smoothie – very creative! I love that you added quinoa flakes!

  4. I loooooooove that you use yoghurt in this smoothie. What a brilliant idea!!!

  5. Gloria says:

    This smoothie look fantastic Sophie! love your creations, gloria

  6. Claudia says:

    I always use flaxseed – need to try the quinoa flakes. My absolute favorite way to wake up in the morning. I send my daughter off to school with a thermos full! Yours is springtime-pretty.

  7. Koko says:

    Mmm, so HEALTHY, Sophie! It looks wonderful- pink and perfect for Spring!

  8. Nadji says:

    Un smoothie qui semble délicieux.J'adore la couleur.A bientôt.

  9. What a beautiful, and no doubt delicious, smoothie! How interesting to use the lindseeds … what do they taste like? I really like the idea of the quinoa flakes as well, to give the shake some body.

  10. Juliana says:

    Sophie, what a nice smoothie…love the quinoa and the strawberries…nice color of smoothie.

  11. acpcgouter says:

    Yum! This sounds so delicious and very healthy too!

  12. grace says:

    it's a stunning color, and i'm sure the quinoa gives it an amazing texture and beaucoup health benefits!

  13. Kristen says:

    quinoa flakes are amazing and so versatile. I've never thought of adding to a smoothie, sounds nutritious :)

  14. lisa says:

    The second recipe using quinoa flakes today! This looks healthy and delicious! What a great idea, Sophie! I can't wait to try it.

  15. Carolyn Jung says:

    OK, I give. What are linseeds? And what else can you do with them?

  16. Paz says:

    Very nice! Very attractive. Very healthy. I want some now. ;-)Paz

  17. elra says:

    sounds healthy and refreshing Sophie!

  18. foodcreate says:

    I love Smoothies they such great healthy treat .. can't wait to try .. look delicious :)

  19. Esme says:

    I have never heard of quinoa flakes-I cook with quinoa-sounds great.

  20. nora@ffr says:

    love the addition of quinoa flakes sophyy!! love the pretty pink color of ye smoothie :)cheers!!

  21. I really want to like Quinoa as it's so good or you but I just can't get on with it. Haven't come across flakes before so could be a new way of sneaking it into things. Will have to hunt it down and try this out – who doesn't love Strawberry smoothies?

  22. Penny says:

    This looks so pretty and healthy. I need to find some quinoa flakes. Great way to start the day.

  23. Hi Sophie! Thanks for stopping by.Your blog looks great, I'll be back!

  24. Valérie says:

    Sophie, this has such a lovely colour, and it's so healthy!

  25. Mary says:

    Sophie, the color of your smoothie is just beautiful. I'll have to order the flakes from my healthfood store, but I really want to give this a try. I hope you are having a great day. Blessings…Mary

  26. Hungry Dog says:

    Wow, this is a great idea! Thanks for posting!

  27. Erica says:

    This sounds very interesting, Sophie! delicious.

  28. frockandfork says:

    healthy beautiful looking yummy – just perfect for a good start of a bright new day :)

  29. Michelle says:

    What a gorgeous shade of pink and I'm sure would get anyone in a good mood first thing in the morning!

  30. Very pretty! By accident, I'm having a strawberry smoothie for lunch!

  31. What a pretty and delicious smoothie Sophie! A great way to start your day!

  32. Jeannie says:

    Looks like such a great thirst quencher! Lovely colour!

  33. Anna says:

    That sounds like an amazing way to start the day, very health and yummy.

  34. Trissa says:

    Yum Sophie – I recently discovered quinoa – it's so delicious. I didn't realize that you could use it in a smoothie too!

  35. Joanne says:

    What a healthy way to start your day! Not to mention, delicious.

  36. ~~louise~~ says:

    What a GREAT combination of drinkable breakfast ingredients Sophie. I LOVE Smoothies!!!Thanks for sharing…

  37. Ruth says:

    I have to say I have never used quinoa flakes but this definetly looks like a good excuse to start doing so!!

  38. SophieThis is a very original recipe. I have never seen quinoa used in a smoothie.

  39. Velva says:

    Now, that is one healthy breakfast smoothie! Delicious.

  40. I had never quinoa smoothie….mixed with berries sounds really awesome!

  41. Voilà une boisson à la fois healthy et délicieuse !BisesHélène

  42. Lynda says:

    What a delicious smoothie…I'd love one of these right now!So healthy with the yogurt and stawberries-Yum!

  43. Barbara says:

    I have GOT to get on the quinoa bandwagon, Sophie! But I have never heard of quinoa flakes. Hope I can find some at Whole Foods because this smoothie looks delicious!

  44. Gulmohar says:

    That's quite innovative..Such a healthy drink breakfast

  45. I love it when something that looks so delicious can be so healthy. Especially since my raspberries and strawberries will be ready in a month or so, and I still have blackberries in the freezer. Now where's my blender…

  46. Margaret says:

    I know this would make a bright and fresh start to the day. I feel extra healthy just looking at it.

  47. El says:

    I love smoothies. This concoction looks especially delicious.

  48. Very healthy Sophie. I'll look for the quinoa flakes. What a great way to start the day.Sam

  49. oh wow what a healthy breakfast drink

  50. Sophie says:

    @ HH: Quinoa flakes & linseeds make the smoothie a bit thicker & it is a breakfast in a glas anyway.@ Une cuillère pour les délices, 5star Foodie,Nirvana's kitchen, Gloria, Claudia, Koko, Nadji: I am glad that you all like it! Enjoy!@ The diva on a diet: Linseeds are flaxseeds & they taste a bit nutty & they are so good for your health & for your intestins. They help me a lot in that area! You have to grind these flaxseeds or buy them broken because otherwise your intestins won't absorp the good qualities!!@ Juliana, apcgouter, Grace, Kirsten, Lisa: thank you!@ Carolyn Jung: Linseeds are flaxseeds & they taste a bit nutty & they are so good for your health & for your intestins. They help me a lot in that area! You have to grind these flaxseeds or buy them broken because otherwise your intestins won't absorp the good qualities!!

  51. Sophie says:

    @ Paz, Elra, Foodcreate, Nora: Enjoy & thanks!@ Esme: I made a link to quinoa flakes in my recipe. Just click on the quinoa flakes words. I am glad you want to try it. I buy my quinoa flakes in my bio food health shop. I am sure you will find it at larger organic shops.@ Nic: You can also substitute oats for quinoa flakes. they are equally healthy!

  52. Sophie says:

    @ Penny, Valérie, Mary, Hungry Dog, Erica, Frockandfork, Michelle, Alanna Kellogg, Reeni, Jeannie, Trissa, Anna, Joanne, Louise, Ruth, Joumana, Velva, Angie, Hélène, Lynda, Barbara, Gulmohar, Tom, Margaret, El, Sam & Rebecca: Thanks, girls & boys! Enjoy!!!!@ Camilla Baker: Thanks! You have a COOL foodblog too!

  53. Debbie says:

    A very pretty drink and sounds nutritious also! Delicious!!!

  54. Queen B. says:

    Sophie !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I really would love this when I get back from the gym ! Yum ! !Hugs from the beach………..

  55. I love the rich color of this healthy & refreshing drink. So fruity & flavorful!

  56. Using quinoa in a smoothie is something I never would have thought of, but it's a great idea. It adds fiber and protein, and the flavor is delicious.

  57. Tastiness aside – as that's a given with your cooking, this just sounds so healthy and filling. A perfect breakfast on the go.

  58. Jay says:

    Hy Sophie,First time here. Amazed by the fantastic collection of recipes you have…Will be visiting here often…This smoothie is so cool and refreshing..Needless to mention that's alovely click…Do drop in at my blog sometime…

  59. pierre says:

    hi sophie yeah strawberries are my friends at the moment !!chers de Paris Pierre

  60. zerrin says:

    When we still have strawberries here, I must try this. It sounds so fresh. YUM!

  61. Kerstin says:

    Mmm, what a yummy smoothie, wish I had one right now!

  62. Hannah says:

    How lovely! I definitely need to track down some quinoa flakes… I love the idea of a quinoa smoothie!

  63. It's such a great idea to add grains and oils to this delicious smoothie.

  64. Daily Spud says:

    How fabulous Sophie! I love quinoa, though I've never used quinoa flakes – I must look out for them…

  65. Cynthia says:

    Oh, I did not know that one can put quinoa in a smoothie. Thanks for this Sophie.

  66. Jo says:

    What a delicious, quick pick-me up breakfast smoothie.

  67. hey sophie! thanks for stopping by, love your pics!

  68. gaga says:

    I've never thought putting quinoa in a smoothie. What a great idea!

  69. A wonderful idea Sophie! You're so clever incorporating quinoa into it! :D

  70. lesley says:

    Hi Sophie, what a beautiful coloured breakfast to wake up to!

  71. Junglefrog says:

    That looks delicious Sophie. But where do you find quinoa flakes? I have never seen those anywhere and it's even hard to find quinoa itself…

  72. I would never have thought of using quinoa for smoothie! Thanks for sharing this idea.

  73. Robyn says:

    Mmmm, looks super-healthy…

  74. Adding Quinoa is a great idea! I never know how to use it. Thanks!

  75. Quinoa flakes? That's something new, have to look out for that! Sounds so healthy and refreshing!

  76. What a beautiful way to start the day! The color is gorgeous and invigorating!

  77. I often have a blueberry/banana smoothie with flax for breakfast. Will definitely try your addition of quinoa next time!

  78. Sophie says:

    @ Debbie: Glad you liked it! Enjoy!@ Queen B: Thanks for the hugs from the beach! Enjoy!@ Petite Nyonya & Oyster culture: Easy does it indeed!@ Jay: Thanks for stopping by & for the kind words! Enjoy the breakfast!@ Pierre, Zerrin, Kerstin, Hannah, Cynthia, Christine & Jo: enjoy this easy to go breakfast!@ Kirsten: Thanks, girl!@ Gaga, Lorraine & Lesley: Thanks, girls!@ Simone: I buy my quinoa flakes in my food health shop, because you can't find them in the normal supermarkets!@ Ellie, Robyn, Lilly, Pigpigscorner, T. W., gastroanthropologist: thanks & enjoy!

  79. Jan says:

    I'm not a breakfast eater, but I could go one of these. Sounds great, Sophie.

  80. Jacqueline says:

    What a great idea Sophie, very healthy and yummy :)

  81. Hi! Thanks for your thoughts on A SPICY PERSPECTIVE. It would have never occurred to me to put quinoa in a smoothie–very creative!

  82. Nancy says:

    wow – sounds delicious and so healthy! great idea to use quinoa flakes in the smoothie!

  83. Sophie says:

    @ Jan: try & you will see,…!@ Jaqueline: Thanks, my dear!@ A spicy perspective: You have one cool foodblog!!@ nancy: Thanks, my friend!

  84. […] You might like: 1. Strawberry & quinoa smoothie with  flax seeds & vanilla: contains dairy! 2. Quinoa, banana & pecan smoothie, contains dairy! 3. A Strawberry smoothy, […]

  85. ava devine says:

    Hey there, I usually don’t comment but figured I would do it now. Plain and simple I like your website.

  86. […] RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Quinoa, red beans & butternut squash chili ( Vegetarian ) 2. Strawberry & quinoa flax-seed smoothy with vanilla ( Gluten-Free, Vegetarian ) 3. Quinoa, banana & pecan smoothy ( Gluten-free, Vegetarian ) 4. […]

  87. […] might like: 1. A healthy & tasty banana shake ( Gluten-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian, Dairy-Free ) 2. Strawberry & quinoa smoothy with flax seeds & vanilla ( Gluten-Free, Vegetarian ) 3. Quinoa, banana & pecan smoothy ( Gluten-Free, Vegetarian ) 4. A strawberry smoothy ( […]

  88. […] smoothie 2. Sophie’s wake up smoothie 3. Sophie’s quinoa, banana & pecan smoothie 4. Strawberry & quinoa smoothie with linseed & vanilla 5. A tasty banana shake! 6. Some good for you & energizing smoothies & juices Now, for […]

  89. […] like: 1. Energizing & good-for-you smoothies & juices 2. A healthy & tasty banana shake 3. Strawberry & quinoa smoothy with flax-seed & vanilla 4. A strawberry smoothy 5. Sophie’s breakfast smoothy 6. Wake-up smoothy Sophie’s […]

  90. […] 2. Strawberry & quinoa smoothy with flax-seed & vanilla […]

  91. […] 2. A strawberry smoothy & 2 awards 3. Sophie’s hand-made Kefir white organic bread 4. Strawberry & quinoa smoothie with linseed & vanilla 5. Sophie’s quinoa, banana & pecan smoothie 6. A tasty & healthy banana shake 7. […]

  92. […] Foodie Files: It is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Quinoa, banana & pecan smoothy 2. Strawberry & quinoa smoothy with flax-seed & vanilla 3. Sophie’s cold quinoa salad with veggies 4. Vegetarian quinoa, red beans & butternut […]

  93. […] 4. Strawberry & quinoa smoothy with vanilla & flax seeds! […]

  94. Quinoa in a smoothie…. Genius!

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,129 other followers

