Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Spinach & ricotta filled large mushrooms topped with Parmesan cheese

on 20/04/2010

I so love these lovely spinach, garlic, onion & ricotta filled larger white mushrooms.

These are lovely with pasta, with a big green salad & some crusty bread but I served them with boiled potatoes & baked turkey pieces. These are also great as special appetizers!

Recipe: For 12 larger filled mushrooms so for 4 persons ( 3 per person is enough! )
Ingredients:
12 larger white mushrooms, stalks removed ( but kept to put aside for later use & use for an omelette or so,…)
250 gr of fresh sheep’s ricotta
180 gr of fresh spinach, well cleaned, rough stalks removed, washed & depted dry, cut finely
1 big clove of fresh garlic, peeled & finely cut up
1 medium white onion, peeled & finely diced
1 or 2 teaspoons of green pesto
a little piece of fresh Parmesan
a fruity EVOO
black pepper
some Maldon sea salt flakes
Method:
1. Heat a pan on a medium heat. Add 1 or 2 tablespoons of the fruity EVOO & let it heat up. When hot, add the chopped onion & garlic & fry for about 5 minutes or until golden.
2. Now, make the ricotta & spinach mix. Take a larger bowl & ad ricotta, spinach, the fried onion & garlic mix. Add also a few grinds of black pepper. Mix well. Taste! It has to taste fab! I also added a bit of the Maldon sea salt flakes, but not too much because the ricotta is a bit salted too.
3. Then, take your mushrooms, without the stalks right in front of you. With the help of a little spoon , spoon a bit of the inside out so that you have larger insides to fill later.
4. Preheat the oven to 200° C/ 392 F for 10 minutes.
5. Now, spoon a bit of the green pesto all over the base of the cavities. Not too much though,…see picture!
6. Place a large heaped tablespoon of the green ricotta mix in the cavity of the mushrooms & fill it all up, in the hight too. Take 2 non stick baking trays & drizzle a bit of the fruity EVOO all over the base. Snug the filled mushrooms alongside each other in baking trays.
7. Now, add some grated fresh Parmesan cheese over the top of the mushrooms. Not too much, just a bit to cover the top because when they will bake, the grated cheese on top wilt melt & taste awesome!
8. When they are ready to go into the oven, pour a bit of the fruity EVOO all over the top of the mushrooms.
9. Place in the center of your oven & bake for about 20 to 25 minutes. After 20 minutes, check them if they are ready with a skewer pin. If not, add another 5 minutes or until done.
10. Take them out of the oven & serve with a big green mixed salad & fresh baguettes or whatever you want to eat it with!
You might like:
105 responses to “Spinach & ricotta filled large mushrooms topped with Parmesan cheese

  1. Nadjibella says:

    Tu proposes toujours des recette originales.j'aime beaucoup.A bientôt.

  2. Happy Cook says:

    Hubby and I love filled mushrooms, but daughter don't even touvh it. This just looks so so delcious.

  3. This dish looks spectacular – I don't know what it is but there is something about stuffed mushrooms that I just love – I suspect when I was little I got to sample some adult party food and it was stuffed mushrooms. Ever since then I've just thought they were so special. Your version looks amazing, cannot wait to give it a try!

  4. Jo says:

    This looks super scrumptious! I love mushrooms and I would never have thought of adding spinach and cheeses as filling. Yummy.

  5. Mary says:

    Sophie, these look very tempting. I like each of the ingredients you used and together I know they will be wonderful. I tried your spelt cookies and am happy to report we really liked them. I hope you are having a wonderful day. Blessings…Mary

  6. Gloria says:

    I love this recipe! tahks by sharing! gloria

  7. This is fabulous! I love eating things like this. Easy and most definitely delicious.*kisses* HH

  8. Koko says:

    BEAUTIFUL recipe! I love that there is pesto in the bottom! I would like to make this as an appetizer. Stay warm in chilly Brussels!! It is warming up here in Vancouver.

  9. Barbara says:

    My family loves stuffed mushrooms Sophie! I usually use meat, so am so pleased to see this vegetarian version. They look marvelous!

  10. dawn says:

    i could eat about 10 of these right now!

  11. Paz says:

    Delicious-looking! I agree with the comments above, I can eat the ALL right now. ;-)Bisous,Paz

  12. Oh Sophie, we love stuffed mushrooms. These would make a lovely light lunch with a salad for us.Sam

  13. Claudia says:

    I do love the combo of ricotta and spinach. And I really love the addition of pesto – just a tad in them.This is how we taught our daughter to love mushrooms – we stuffed them!

  14. What a delicious vegetarian dish you have there Sophie! :D

  15. Sophie, so yum! I adore mushrooms, and combining them with pesto and ricotta is a great idea! Hmmm… :)

  16. These look so delicious and elegant. Perfect to serve to someone you want to impress (or you could be like me and be greedy and eat them all by yourself) :) Looooving the recipe Sophie :)

  17. Carolyn Jung says:

    Those mushrooms are huge enough to be a meal! I love good finger-food like this. Cheesy, warm, and oh-so-satisfying.

  18. gaga says:

    What ooey gooey goodness!

  19. We both love stuffing things, especially mushrooms! The ricotta is a great idea.

  20. A scrumptious dish! I love stuffed mushrooms, but rarely find such big specimens in the stores…Cheers,Rosa

  21. MaryMoh says:

    These stuffed mushrooms look gorgeous and delicious. I would love to try. Thanks for sharing.

  22. Hungry Dog says:

    I'll eat spinach and ricotta stuffed into anything, it's a favorite combination of mine. These look delightful.

  23. Junglefrog says:

    Well I have to say that spinach and ricotta are among my favorite fillings in general and this just looks delicious Sophie!

  24. Such scrumptious mushrooms, I love the filling!

  25. Gattina says:

    once again you did it… these are WONDERFUL!!! and I never get tired of ricotta!

  26. Love spinach to bits!Looks so yummy.

  27. Juliana says:

    Oh Sophie, what a great filling for the mushrooms…love the combination…it will make a great meal just by itselves :-)

  28. Daily Spud says:

    Those sound fabulous Sophie – I love everything in that filling! And I'd definitely be having mine with some potatoes too :)

  29. Robin Sue says:

    You have me drooling! I order mushrooms when I got out since hubby does not care for them, sad huh? Your look so flavorful!

  30. Pam says:

    I could eat just these mushrooms for dinner and be perfectly happy. They look great.

  31. grace says:

    sophie, you may have just stumbled upon the one way to get me to eat and enjoy mushrooms–this looks amazing!

  32. Rico says:

    They look amazing and is definitely something I will make…I have made stuffed mushrooms before but not yet with these ingredients. I will definitely make these as I said …yummmmmmmy!! kisses xxx

  33. lesley says:

    All of my favourite food here!! I wanted to make these on Monday when our son came to dinner but I had run out of ricotta damn! He would have loved them, I opted for crab stuffed mushrooms, they were good but I'm still swayed by your recipe!

  34. Joanne says:

    Spinach and ricotta are a match made in food heaven! These look delicious.

  35. Stuffed mushrooms are my favorite! The sheep's ricotta sounds great.

  36. Erica says:

    These look wonderful!!! I am huge mushroom fan….and I love ricotta-spinach combo!

  37. elra says:

    Oh Sophie, this baked potato is so much better then the regular (American) version. So earthy and pack with delicious flavor.Have a wonderful one,elra

  38. Ruth says:

    This looks like the perfect excuse for me to finally try some sheep ricotta out

  39. lisa says:

    This looks amazing, what a gorgeous recipe. What a wonderful appetizer. I could have more than 3 though, I think!

  40. Stuffed mushrooms have to be one of my all time favourite recipes. I have never tried it with sheeps ricotta though… Thanks for sharing!- Brittany

  41. Christine says:

    These look quite delicious, Sophie. I just happen to have ricotta in my fridge and spinach in my greenhouse! Guess what I'll be making? :))

  42. Debbie says:

    Those are gorgeous mushrooms. Just perfect for stuffing. They look delicious Sophie!!!!

  43. agrigirl says:

    Wow, you have a terrific blog here! These mushrooms look fabulous. I'm not a huge ricotta fan so am thinking that I can substitute cottage cheese (I've done that in other recipes). Thanks for sharing.

  44. Nancy says:

    Hi Sophie, Oooh, I love stuffed mushrooms — and this looks like an absolutely delicious rendition! Such a versatile dish.

  45. theUngourmet says:

    These sound heavenly! I love stuffed mushrooms. Spinach and ricotta are so perfect in this recipe! I bet it smells fabulous while it's cooking too! :)

  46. Olive says:

    looks mouth-watering Sophie! yum! :)

  47. Dimah says:

    This looks scrumptious! Thanks for sharing :)

  48. All my favorite ingredients in one recipe…Yummy! I love it :D

  49. These are mouth-watering Sophie! Love that filling! So delicious!

  50. I love every single ingredients here…mushrooms, spinach, cheese etc. This is so perfect for a dinner party too!

  51. Love this veggie dish, esp for those days I do not feel like meat.

  52. pierre says:

    hello sophie that's a very good idea to stuff mushrooms I love that !! have a good day in Brussels! Pierre de Paris

  53. Jacqueline says:

    Oh, yes please, I love these Sophie.

  54. Cathy says:

    Wow, Sophie, these stuffed mushrooms look fantastic! I would love to serve these with a nice, big salad. Delish!

  55. Kat says:

    these are mouthwatering. I'd love these. So good. I'll definitely be making them. Thanks for the bolt of inspiration, Sophie :)

  56. I love the idea of having pesto with mushrooms. Superb

  57. Great idea Sophie! I hope I can find sheep ricotta!

  58. I've had bad luck w/stuffed mushrooms, but your look great!

  59. Emily says:

    Oh my goodness! Look at those shooms! They look SO good.

  60. Bo says:

    Sophie…These look fantastic! So delicious…you are making me crave mushrooms!

  61. wow these are incredibly unique and wonderful I cant wait to try these…thanks so much for sharing! Fabulous

  62. MeetaK says:

    I am so doing this for dinner tonight i have all the ingredients! perfect!

  63. Simply Life says:

    wow, those look amazing! great idea!

  64. Valérie says:

    I love stuffed mushrooms! These look delicious!

  65. Sophie says:

    @ Nadji, Happy Cook, Oysterculture, Jo, Mary, Gloria, Koko, HH, Dawn, Barbara, Paz, Sam, Claudia, Lorraine, Celia, Nirvana's Kitchen, Carolyn, gaga, the Duo dishes, Rosa, Mary Moh, Hungry Dog, Simone, 5star foodie, Gattina, Slices of Beauty, Juliana, Daily Spud, Robin Sue, Pam, Grace, Rico, Lesley, Joanne, Lisa, Erica: thanks my friends! Enjoy them!

  66. Sophie says:

    @ Elra: this is no baked potato , it is a large white mushroom all filled up!

  67. Sophie says:

    @ Ruth, Mushrooms Canada, Lisa, Christine, Debbie: Enjoy them!

  68. Sophie says:

    @ agrigirl: You could easily substitute the cottage cheese or other cheeses for the ricotta. i use ricotta because the sheep's ricotta is low in fat & light in texture!

  69. Sophie says:

    @ Nancy, The ungourmet, Olive, Dimah, French cooking for Dummies, Petite Nyonya, Reeni, Janet, Pierre, Jaqueline, Cathy: Enjoy them, my friends!@ Kat: I am glad that I sometimes inspire you!@ Ozoz, Joumana, Olga, Emily, Meeta, Pegasuslegend, Bo, Simplylife & Valérie: I hope you like them, my friends! enjoy!! Thanks!

  70. Kerstin says:

    I LOVE stuffed mushrooms and your version looks fabulous!

  71. Beautiful! Mushrooms are wonderful and can be topped with so many good things!

  72. Jan says:

    These sound heavenly, Sophie, I'll definitely be giving them a try.

  73. Jacqueline says:

    These sound gorgeous Sophie. I have been missing stuffed mushrooms. I usually stuff mine with carrot, garlic, soy sauce and peanut butter and top with cheese. but I am not eating peanuts while I am breastfeeding, so I haven't bothered with stuffed mushrooms. Now you have put me in the mood and these would be perfect :)

  74. As a Newbie, I am permanently browsing online for articles that can benefit me. Thank you

  75. Generally I don’t read post on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to check out and do so! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thank you, quite nice article.

  76. I conceive this internet site contains very wonderful pent content material content.

  77. I enjoy the efforts you have put in this, thanks for all the great blog posts.

  78. Took me time to learn all of the feedback, but I actually loved the article. It proved to be Very useful to me and I’m positive to all of the commenters here! It’s always good when you can not solely be informed, but additionally entertained! I’m positive you had enjoyable penning this article.

  79. ecigs vapor says:

    Absolutely pent subject matter, Really enjoyed reading.

  80. Luisa Camara says:

    I am not really superb with English but I line up this rattling easy to translate.

  81. Biuro Podróży Gdynia says:

    Great web site. A lot of useful info here. I am sending it to a few friends ans also sharing in delicious. And certainly, thanks for your effort!

  82. I used to be very happy to search out this internet-site.I wished to thanks to your time for this glorious read!! I definitely enjoying each little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you blog post.

  83. Magnificent site. A lot of helpful information here. I am sending it to some buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious. And obviously, thank you for your sweat!

  84. forex says:

    But wanna comment on few general things, The website pattern is perfect, the subject material is rattling wonderful : D.

  85. I love the efforts you have put in this, regards for all the great articles.

  86. Only wanna input on few general things, The website style is perfect, the subject material is real excellent.

  87. article says:

    I regard something truly interesting about your web site so I saved to bookmarks .

  88. Very interesting info !Perfect just what I was looking for! “Peace, commerce and honest friendship with all nations entangling alliances with none.” by Thomas Jefferson.

  89. Hey very cool web site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally…I’m satisfied to search out a lot of helpful info right here in the submit, we want develop more techniques in this regard, thank you for sharing.

  90. they said says:

    Some truly prime content on this internet site , saved to fav.

  91. I like this site very much, Its a real nice place to read and incur information. “We are all born originals–why is it so many of us die copies” by Edward Young.

  92. An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics.

  93. serwis canon says:

    An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topic!.

  94. serwis canon says:

    An interesting discussion is worth comment. Good.

  95. I’ve learn a few good stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how much attempt you put to make this kind of great informative site.

  96. landscaping says:

    Rattling nice pattern and wonderful written content , very little else we want : D.

  97. Thanks a lot for giving everyone such a terrific opportunity to read in detail from this web site. It’s always very pleasant plus stuffed with a lot of fun for me personally and my office co-workers to visit your blog a minimum of thrice in a week to learn the new guidance you will have. And indeed, I’m also certainly astounded considering the splendid things you serve. Some two points in this post are undoubtedly the very best we have all ever had.

  98. Some really superb information, Sword lily I found this. “If you don’t make mistakes, you aren’t really trying.” by Coleman Hawking.

  99. Some genuinely wonderful information, Gladiolus I detected this. “Anonymity is the truest expression of altruism.” by Eric Gibson.

  100. I appreciate, cause I found just what I was looking for. You have ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  101. Dusti says:

    I like this site very much, Its a really nice berth to read and incur information.

  102. […] 1. Large mushrooms filled with spinach & ricotta, topped with Parmesan cheese! […]

  103. […] 1. Spinach & ricotta filled large mushrooms topped with Parmesan cheese ( VEG, GF ) […]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 952 other followers

