Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Sophie’s fresh sheep’s ricotta & strawberries sandwich

on 28/03/2010

A divine, tasty soft ricotta & strawberries filled bagna!

tasty juicy strawberries!

I love this easy yet so tasty fresh sheep’s ricotta!
& strawberry sandwich. This morning, I went to the Sunday’s international multi – cultural market near the South station, ( Midi ) in Brussels. It was a long time ago, I went over there,…it was fun!
There were fresh strawberries at my Italian grocery store. I bought a whole crate for only 5 euros. MMM,…
Print me!
Recipe: For 1 bagna
Ingredients:
1 soft bagna, nearly all the way sliced open but not the way so that one end of the top still holds on the bottom
a bit of minarine
a few tablespoons of fresh sheep’s ricotta
2 large ripe strawberries, cleaned, hulled & cut into thicker slices
Method:
1. Take your open bagna & smear the 2 sides in with a bit of minarine.
2. Now, smear the 2 insides of the bagna in with a few tablespoons of fresh sheep’s ricotta. You can choose how much you like. I like to smear them not evenly but rough!
2. Arrange your sliced strawberry slices on top of the ricotta bottom of your bagna.
3. Lay the smeared ricotta top of the bagna on top of the strawberries & enjoy!
** Variations:
1. This is also lovely with the addition of grinds of fresh black pepper
2. This is also lovely with fresh rocket leaves & with a bit of good aged balsamic vinegar
MMM,… If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like:
1. My favourite ricotta sandwich
2. Sophie’s smoked salmon & ricotta wraps
Sophie's Fresh Sheep's Ricotta & Strawberries Sandwich on FoodistaSophie’s Fresh Sheep’s Ricotta & Strawberries Sandwich
102 responses to “Sophie’s fresh sheep’s ricotta & strawberries sandwich

  1. What a wonderful looking dessert, I love homemade ricotta, but have only used cow's milk and not sheep, you have me intrigued. What a recipe that just has all the wonderful tastes of spring. Especially sheeps milk as it is seasonal. PS – had some trouble with my internet browser so you may not have gotten some of my previous comments, but I've certainly been reading and taking notes!

  2. Muneeba says:

    I recently bought a whole bunch of strawberries too! This looks like a fun way to use them :)

  3. Kim McDougal says:

    I love strawberries Sophie and this looks so good!!! Just what a dessert nut like me needs! LOL! Thanx

  4. ARUNA says:

    Pls pass that sandwich to me sophie, i'm a big strawberry fan and this one is really calling me, so pls!!

  5. Happy Cook says:

    A whol creat for 5 €, i am living in the wrong place, here i saw in a shop in the main street, 8 € for a small box and i was remarkingto hubby i will wait till the seasonis there than paying so much money.I would happily eat the lot in the plate.

  6. Esme says:

    I love strawberries-I made some whole grain bread and coated it with cream cheese and strawberries.

  7. Michelle says:

    Our stores are are all displaying gorgeous, red strawberries and I've bought 4 quarts this week alone. Ate the first quart while I drove home from the store!

  8. Koko says:

    What a unique sandwich idea! I recently bought my first carton of strawberries of the year. This is a great dish Spring!!

  9. Barbara says:

    I love this kind of treat, Sophie! Not certain I can find sheep's ricotta though. I'll double check at the market tomorrow. And perhaps Whole Foods will have it.

  10. Paz says:

    Wow! This looks terrific. I love the idea of this recipe. ;-)The international market sounds like a fun place to visit.Paz

  11. What a fruity cheesey healthy sandwich!

  12. Fresh and so spring-like! A lovely sandwich!Cheers,Rosa

  13. I came to thank you for visiting us and leaving a sweet comment. Your blog looks fascinating and I'm off to browse!xoxo Pattie

  14. gaga says:

    Oh my, how beautiful. I can't wait for strawberry season.

  15. MMMMMMMM, indeed! So pretty the way you put everything together. Sophie, it's dessert and lunch rolled in one! :)

  16. Yum! Strawberries are in season here! this is on my list to make soon!

  17. Junglefrog says:

    What a delicious looking sandwich Sophie !! Yum..

  18. Y says:

    Those strawberries look amazing! Would never have thought of putting them in a sandwich :)

  19. zerrin says:

    This looks so appetizing! Never had strawberries in a sandwich before, I must try this as its season is coming here as well.

  20. Bo says:

    Now this is really creative. This is one sandwich I want to eat!

  21. Rowena... says:

    5€ for the whole crate is cheap!!

  22. Such a gorgeous sandwich Sophie! I love the sound of this :D

  23. Joanne says:

    I love your idea of turning this into a sandwich! I bet it would also be great with a bit of basil and balsamic vinegar. Mmm…

  24. Jo says:

    Sophie, this looks like one delish sandwich and the strawberries look so juicy.

  25. Je n'ai jamais encore testé de sandwichs aux fraises.L'idée est très tentante.A bientôt.

  26. What a fun idea! I never would have thought of this :)*kisses* HH

  27. Pam says:

    Look at those beautiful strawberries! The sandwich looks really pretty and tasty too.

  28. Kat says:

    are the starwberries good there already? the ones we get taste like water and winter still, but your sandwich is LOVELY. I'd so like a bite right now :)

  29. Daily Spud says:

    Ooh, fresh strawberries in a sandwich – don't believe I've ever tried that – I will have to now :)

  30. What a creative sandwich Sophie! I bet it's delicious with the ricotta! We have the best strawberries here right now too.

  31. Strawberries are definitely in season! A great time for baking spring treats.

  32. theUngourmet says:

    I'm so glad that strawberry season is here at last! This looks delicious!

  33. Margaret says:

    Lovely strawberry dessert – quite a while yet until we have strawberries here in the UK.

  34. Trissa says:

    Strawberries look divine Sophie! I don't think I have ever had sheep's ricotta – I must look out for that!

  35. Welcome strawberry season! I've only recently discovered how wonderful it is to pair strawberries with different types of fresh cheeses.

  36. SophieYour recipe reminds me of my friend Marcelle whose family was from Belgium (mom's side) and who told me many times that the best way to enjoy strawberries was in a baguette with some butter and sugar!Great idea!

  37. Mary says:

    Sphie, this looks lovely and spring-like. We do not yet have good strawberries in our markets, but as soon as we do I'll give this a try. Have a wonderful day. Blessings…Mary

  38. Sophie, I can't believe you got that whole crate of strawberries for 5 euros. What a great deal. I don't believe I've ever had sheep's ricotta.Sam

  39. Sophie, I can't believe you got that whole crate of strawberries for 5 euros. What a deal. I don't believe I've ever tasted sheep's ricotta.Sam

  40. Gulmohar says:

    That's so fruity n cheesy..I love strawberries too :-) And I have a strawberry post today..lol..

  41. Debbie says:

    I wish I could find strawberries that look like that! Beautiful. I've never had sheep's ricotta but it looks so good with the bread and strawberries. Sometimes simple is the best!!! I could eat that for breakfast, lunch and dinner!

  42. Hungry Dog says:

    Oh, I love strawberries and I would love this!

  43. What a terrific combination and an awesome healthy sandwich! Love it!

  44. yummy, i learnt from Dutch that they eat strawberries on bread. This season the strawberries are pretty sweet already. Should try your way next time.

  45. This is sandwich I would beg for..whether it be for dessert or any meal of the day! Yummy and so pretty to look at :)

  46. That's a delightful "bagna" … very different from ours but I could easily make it with the fresh ricotta from vintimille market … I'll wait a little longer before buying strawberries but I keep the idea inmind ! ;o)Have a nice dayHélène

  47. Hi Sophie, I've left an award for you on my blog :). Wow, strawberries are really so cheap over there. They're not that cheap at all here. :(

  48. Valérie says:

    This is a great way to use strawberries! I also like to put them in a salad, with balsamic vinegar…

  49. I just brought home some first of season local strawberries yesterday, and I was so excited! Fresh sheep's ricotta sounds fantastic with strawberries.

  50. OH, Strawberries, my favourite fruit!And it's a very healthy sandwich!!Kisses

  51. Diana H says:

    I can just imagine those strawberry juices soaking into the bread. Yum.

  52. Jamie says:

    Oh, Sophie, how delicious! I just saw our first gorgeous strawberries on the market but husband does not like when I buy them this early as they must be hot house berries. Sad, because I love your combo of strawberries and ricotto!

  53. My daughter #1 would love this. She is a strawberry addict. It does look good. Have a good Easter!

  54. ~~louise~~ says:

    I have every intention of making my own Ricotta one day. Now, if I could just get that strawberry patch thriving again, I'd be set. I think I'll just keep this post as a reminder:)Thanks for sharing, Sophie. Your photos are way too tempting…

  55. Very pretty, Sophie! A strawberry sandwich is most inventive!

  56. Velva says:

    Oh my! This beautiful cheese and strawberry sandwich looks like heaven on earth. What a great way to enjoy a sandwich.

  57. grace says:

    how delightful, sophie! the creamy cheese and sweet berries must pair beautifully!

  58. YEs…time for strawberries and since we eat SO much of it…there is always room for more exciting recipes. I haven't yet tried my hand at a sandwich and seeing yours here…why not? It looks delish!ronelle xx

  59. Kerstin says:

    What lovely strawberries! Your sandwich looks like the perfect way to enjoy them :)

  60. Oh, YESSS. Strawberries. I found some local ones in Germany yesterday. I'm still waiting for the strawberries from Wepion. June? As soon as I find them, I'm making this sandwich. THANKS for posting it!

  61. Carolyn Jung says:

    Oooh, a sammy that's like desert, too? This has my name all over it. Yum!

  62. Sophie says:

    @ all of you: I am glad thatbyou all like this easy yet so tasty & flavourful quick sandwich!!

  63. Trent Dority says:

    Thanks for all your efforts on this website. Betty take interest in getting into investigations and it is easy to understand why. We hear all concerning the compelling medium you offer both useful and interesting guides through the web site and as well as attract response from website visitors on the area while my daughter is truly studying a whole lot. Take advantage of the rest of the new year. You are always conducting a powerful job.

  64. You have remarked very interesting points! ps nice site.

  65. You are my inspiration, I have few blogs and infrequently run out from brand :).

  66. Just wanna remark on few general things, The website design is perfect, the written content is real good : D.

  67. Simply wanna input that you have a very decent website , I enjoy the style and design it actually stands out.

  68. Warsztat says:

    Thanks for another fantastic article. Where else could anyone get that type of information in such a perfect way of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I am on the look for such info.

  69. Busy Gdansk says:

    A powerful share, I simply given this onto a colleague who was doing slightly evaluation on this. And he the truth is bought me breakfast because I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the deal with! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If doable, as you develop into expertise, would you mind updating your weblog with extra details? It is extremely helpful for me. Big thumb up for this weblog publish!

  70. It’s really a great and helpful piece of information. I am happy that you simply shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  71. Simply wanna input on few general things, The website style and design is perfect, the written content is rattling great : D.

  72. As soon as I detected this site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

  73. hello!,I like your writing very a lot! percentage we keep in touch more about your post on AOL? I require an expert in this house to solve my problem. Maybe that’s you! Looking forward to look you.

  74. I like your writing style genuinely enjoying this web site. “My best friend is the one who brings out the best in me.” by Henry Ford.

  75. serwis sony says:

    An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics.

  76. Jude Zebel says:

    I like your writing style truly loving this website. “You simply *must* stop taking advice from other people.” by Melissa Timberman.

  77. Rex Mary says:

    I was examining some of your content on this internet site and I conceive this web site is very instructive! Keep on putting up.

  78. Candy Hoeper says:

    You are my inhalation, I own few blogs and sometimes run out from post :). “Analyzing humor is like dissecting a frog. Few people are interested and the frog dies of it.” by E. B. White.

  79. Stan Clark says:

    As a Newbie, I am always browsing online for articles that can help me. Thank you

  80. Simply wanna admit that this is very helpful , Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  81. Toney Folz says:

    Outstanding post, I believe website owners should larn a lot from this blog its rattling user genial. So much wonderful information on here :D.

  82. Would you be excited about exchanging links?

  83. That is the proper weblog for anyone who desires to search out out about this topic. You notice a lot its virtually laborious to argue with you (not that I actually would need…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a subject thats been written about for years. Great stuff, just nice!

  84. I appreciate, cause I found just what I was looking for. You’ve ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  85. […] It is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Sophie’s smoked salmon & ricotta wraps 2. Sophie’s fresh sheep’s ricotta & strawberries sandwich Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]

  86. Biznes plan says:

    Hey! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Excellent blog and terrific design and style.

  87. I dugg some of you post as I cerebrated they were invaluable very beneficial

  88. agen bola says:

    Appreciate it for this wondrous post, I am glad I discovered this site on yahoo.

  89. I like this website very much so much great info . “If little else, the brain is an educational toy.” by Tom Robbins.

  90. I like this site its a master peace ! Glad I discovered this on google. “Observe your enemies, for they first find out your faults.” by Antisthenes.

  91. You are my inspiration , I possess few web logs and infrequently run out from to brand.

  92. […] this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Sophie’s fresh sheep’s ricotta sandwich with strawberries 2. My favourite ricotta sandwich Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); […]

  93. Hiya, I’m really glad I have found this information. Nowadays bloggers publish only about gossips and web and this is actually annoying. A good blog with interesting content, this is what I need. Thank you for keeping this web-site, I’ll be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Cant find it.

  94. That is very attention-grabbing, You are an overly professional blogger. I have joined your rss feed and sit up for looking for more of your great post. Additionally, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks!

  95. This really answered my problem, thank you!

  96. Firma says:

    Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thank you

  97. I really appreciate this post. I’ve been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thank you again!

  98. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

  99. Excellent, what a website it is! This web site gives helpful facts to us, keep it up.

  100. Discovered your write-up really interesting without a doubt. I seriously really enjoyed reading it so you make really some fantastic factors. I am going to bookmark this internet site for your long run! Relly good content.

  101. […] 3. Sophie’s fresh sheep’s ricotta & strawberry sandwich ( VEG ) […]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,129 other followers

