Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Ginger, lemon & honey marinated salmon on a bed of lemon leeks with a new potato & chives mash

on 18/03/2010
Ginger, lemon A tasty ginger, honey marinated salmon on a bed of lemon leeks with a new potato & chives mash
Yesterday, I made this lovely dinner. It is best enjoyed with your other half.

It is also lovely with a red Pinot Noir wine.


Recipe: For 2 persons
Ingredients:
** For the fish & the leeks:
About 6 to 7 smaller leeks, cleaned, thoroughly washed & pad dry with kitchen paper, each cut into smaller strips about 5 to 6 cm each ( with about 10 cm of the green attached ), in total 585 gr, weighted when cut into smaller strips!!
2 salmon fillets, no skin, cleaned & pad dry on kitchen paper, each about 200 to 220 gr
4 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice
1 heaped tablespoon of honey
4 tablespoons of a fruity EVOO
1.5 tablespoons of peeled & finely chopped ginger
Maldon sea salt flakes
grinds of fresh black pepper
** For the new potato & chives mash:
new potatoes for 2 persons, peeled & cut into 2 or 4, well washed
fresh chives, 10 gr, washed, pad dry on kitchen paper & cut into smaller pieces
Maldon sea salt flakes
grinds of fresh black pepper
freshly grated nutmeg
Alpro baking margarine ( is soy margarine )
Method:
1. A few hours before dinner, heat a large cooking pot with hot water. Bring to the boil. When boiling, add the strips of the leeks. Blanch the strips in salted boiling water for about 2 to 3 minutes. Drain well. When cold, squeeze most of the liquid out. Place into the fridge.
2. Now, make the marinade for the fish. In a smaller bowl, add 2 tablespoons of the lemon juice, 1 tablespoon of the fruity EVOO, 1.5 tablespoon of the fresh cut up ginger, 1 heaped tablespoon of the honey, some Maldon sea salt flakes & a few grinds of fresh black pepper. Whisk well. Take a wider oven dish & lay your 2 pieces of salmon in it. Now, pour the marinade all over the salmon. Scatter some of the ginger pieces over the top. Divide the marinade evenly. Put clingfilm over the top & place into the fridge for 15 minutes. After 15 minutes, turn the salmon fillets. Place back into the fridge. Do not marinate the salmon for longer then 30 minutes!! 10 minutes before making dinner, preheat the oven to 210°C. ( 410 F )
3. Now, boil your potatoes until cooked through. Drain well. Place the cooking pot again on the hot stove & let the steam go away. Then, off the fire, mash the potatoes. I always add a bit of baking margarine, the chopped chives, grated fresh nutmeg but noo much, some Maldon sea salt flakes & a few grinds of black pepper. It has to taste fab!
4. When the potatoes are 5 minutes cooked, prepare the leeks. In a bigger bowl add the drained leeks, add the 2 remaining tablespoons of the lemon juice & add 2 tablespoons of the fruity EVOO. Add some grinded black pepper too. Mix it well together. Place in the bottom of a large oven dish & divide evenly, all over the base of the dish. Now, place the marinated salmon fillets, on top of the leeks. Pour the marinade all over the top of the fish & the leeks.
Place in the bottom of the preheated oven & bake for about 13 to 15 minutes until the salmon fillets are just cooked through & it all looks succulent!!!
5. When you are going to plate up, lay a bed of leeks in the middle of your plate & carefully place a fish fillet on top, add a few tablespoons of the mash besides the fish! Spoon the juices of the oven dish all over the fish of the 2 plates.
Enjoy with a lovely red Pinot noir on the side!

After coming out of the oven!

 If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like:
84 responses to “Ginger, lemon & honey marinated salmon on a bed of lemon leeks with a new potato & chives mash

  1. Debbie says:

    Looks delicious Sophie. I love salmon and the orange and ginger just sound wonderful with it!

  2. Sophie! I found your blog through Sam at My Carolina Kitchen. As I look at your blogroll, I don't know how we've missed meeting before–you have many of my favorite blogs on there. I live in Belgium too! I'm in Verviers, near Liege. I'm so glad I found you!

  3. Hmm… I'm making salmon for dinner tonight… this gives me some ideas :D*kisses* HH

  4. Love your recipe for salmon. We have native salmon here so this is perfect.Laura

  5. looks scrummy (i'm a big mash and salmon fan).thanks for popping over to comment on my raspberry pavlova post – compliments from other foodies always gladly received ;o)

  6. Tout ce mélange de saveurs doit être excellent.Une recette qui me plait beaucoup.A bientôt.

  7. Hungry Dog says:

    This is my kind of dinner! Salmon, leeks, potatoes, and chives–four of my favorite ingredients in one perfect plate! Beautiful!

  8. The salmon sounds wonderful with ginger lemon and honey flavors! Excellent sides too!

  9. Yum Yum Yuuummmmm…. Perfect flavor combination :)

  10. Cynthia says:

    I like every thing you make!

  11. Sophie, what a gorgeous salmon dish. The lemon leeks are fantastic and so is that potato & chive mash.sam

  12. Sophie, this all sounds so deliciously incredible. I love salmon and am always looking for new ways to prepare it. Can't wait to give your's a try.Many thanks…

  13. Barbara says:

    I love the way you did the leeks Sophie! They look fabulous. And that's a great marinade for your salmon too!

  14. Clemence says:

    une marinade que j'adore !

  15. Kat says:

    Oh wow Sophie, salmon and honey, I've never thought of that, sounds like a hell of a plan. And i've got pinot-munchies now :D

  16. I love lemon and ginger together! I love that you suggested a wine to pair with your dish!

  17. Carolyn Jung says:

    The salmon and mashed potatoes get all the glory in this dish. But you know what sells it for me? That bed of melty, creamy leeks. It's amazing how soft, caramelized leeks can add so much to a dish.

  18. Olive says:

    Hi Sophie :)yum.. that's a really delicious-looking dinner..I love the marinade that you used :)

  19. Yum, great flavours! I love salmon.

  20. Koko says:

    Sophie, this looks like probably one of my favourite recipes you have ever posted!! WOW, is all I can say. AMAZING.

  21. Sophie, that looks wonderful! All the things I love in one dish…yum!

  22. Gattina says:

    chives, lemon leeks and ginger, the combo can't be any better!

  23. Trissa says:

    This is fantastic Sophie! Why share it with your partner? I would rather eat the whole thing! :)

  24. Isn't salmon the best to cook with and eat? I loved reading that it was good for you (any exfcuse to make it). Yours looks delicious! :)

  25. The baked salmons look scrumptious!

  26. Nicisme says:

    Salmon is my favourite fish and this looks wonderful! Lovely flavour combinations Sophie!

  27. Gloria says:

    aahh, Sophie, look delicious,hugss gloria

  28. A lovely spring-like recipe! Those flavors go particularly well with salmon!Cheers,Rosa

  29. Wow, that looks good. I will raise my glass to that!

  30. Wow, it looks spectacular and thanks for reminding me its been a while since I've had salmon and what a way to get back into it! Happy Friday!

  31. Love the whole combination. The marinade and the mash sounds very yummy.

  32. Pam says:

    What a fantastic looking meal!

  33. wow looks great love salmon, could I feature it on an Alaskan Seafood blog I write for and link to you?rebeccasubbiah at yahoo dot comRebecca

  34. Erica says:

    I love salmon! It is my favorite fish! This sounds delicious, Sophie! Buen trabajo :)

  35. Danielle says:

    Oh Sophie, that Salmon looks wonderful! Now I have to decide if I'd rather have it with my better half or with the Pinot Noir!

  36. Claudia says:

    This marinade is spectacular. I will be making this next week – I have a salmon-loving family and this is a salmon-loving meal!

  37. Kristen says:

    Oh Ma'am, that looks GOOD, really good!

  38. SophieLove that salmon with leeks and potatoes; instead of being heavy it is light and delicious; I would never have thought that Pinot noir would go with it! I will have to try it next time, this is my favorite wine

  39. A perfect meal like this seems only right to be shared with a loved one, just like you said. I love the combination of ginger and lemon. The honey truly top it off too!

  40. Sophie, Sophie, this is brilliant! It's healthy, tasty and made with wholesome ingredients. I applaud you for making a hearty meal all from scratch! Beautiful!

  41. gaga says:

    I love leeks but never know what to do with them. This is a great idea. The salmon looks wonderful too.

  42. Salmon marinated with lemon, honey and ginger…delicious!! Alovely recipe Sophie, one I'm sure delights young and old!Ronelle

  43. Leeks and lemon with salmon sounds fantastic! I'll happily take your advice and enjoy with my other half and some pinot noir.

  44. So happy you posted this recipe – have been looking for a good salmon recipe and this is it! :) so healthy too!!!

  45. Kerstin says:

    What a gourmet meal – all the components sound like they compliment each other perfectly!

  46. grace says:

    i love your accompaniments more than anything else–those leeks must be so flavorful, and i LOVE mashed potatoes in any form. great meal!

  47. Joanne says:

    What a well-balanced and gorgeous dinner! Salmon is my favorite fish and chives and potatoes are the ultimate combination.

  48. A very nice recipe! =)I realy like chives mash with salmon!! So delicious!Kiss, Have a good day!

  49. Paz says:

    perfect dinner for me! i love salmon. ;-)paz

  50. Alexa says:

    Salmon is a favorite here. I love the flavors in this dish–And on a bed of leeks it sounds fantastic! Have a great week Sophie!

  51. Jo says:

    Oh wow, this dish looks awfully delicious. Love this and would make a great dinner dish.

  52. ~~louise~~ says:

    That's it. I'm moving to Belgium! The Salmon sounds enticing, the bed of lemon leeks; soothing, and that potato chive mash, sinful!!! I'll take them all on one huge platter; to go please! YOUR recipes make me sing:) Thank you so much for sharing, Sophie. I'll be buying Salmon, ASAP!!!

  53. What a delicious plate .. Flavourful, colourful … And I'll put chive in my next potato mash … Have a nice day !BIsesHélène

  54. Rico says:

    I just love chives mash …made this myself many of times, and the salmon is just so delicious in this recipe, (personal taste can't have leeks) but I surely would/will make this dish maybe on a spinach bed or even watercress which is so delicate..loved this recipe really did..kisses xxx

  55. Daily Spud says:

    Lovely – that is my kind of dinner and no mistake!

  56. This looks lovely! And, my husband loves salmon. It's a must-try ;P

  57. Anncoo says:

    Looks great and healthy!

  58. sweetlife says:

    what a great plate..all the flavors–yummy!!sweetlife

  59. Gulmohar says:

    A perfect week end dinner…platter looks irresistible, Sophie

  60. I'm making salmon tonight! Yum!

  61. Juliana says:

    Sophie, nice salmon dish…perfect with your potato mash and chives…nice meal! Great pictures!

  62. Patty says:

    This looks fantastic I love ginger dishes, thanks for posting!

  63. Salmon and potatoes are a great combo!

  64. This looks absolutely delicious!

  65. theUngourmet says:

    Your salmon looks so terrific! I have some in the fridge right now. Maybe I will make this tomorrow!

  66. Hannah says:

    That is definitely one of my favorite ways to eat potatoes- Absolutely loaded with chives! For years, I would only eat baked potatoes with chives and salt- If I couldn't get both, there would be no potatoes on my plate!

  67. Valérie says:

    Mmmm, great flavours! There isn't a single ingredient in here that I don't love!

  68. I'm going to make this dish this week for Girls Night! Thank you for posting the recipe!

  69. Melissa says:

    This looks great. I love salmon and never had it with these flavors!

  70. My new blog went up today and I am so excited. Stop by and check out my brand new and improved site daaaahling. I want to know what you think. I'm also doing a fab give away.*kisses* HH

  71. Diana H says:

    Hey Sophie, I wouldn't change a thing, this is a perfect dish. I love, love, love ginger, honey and lemon with salmon.

  72. Jan says:

    Leeks are one of my favourite veggies, so I know I would love this dish. I wouldn't mind a glass of that wine either, just make mine a large one. :-)

  73. Sophie, I want this for dinner tonight!

  74. When I saw on TV, a bear eating salmon, I was so hungry and want to eat salmon. as well as photos of in this post

  75. I am really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays..

  76. Maya says:

    Howdy blogger, thank you for providing this article.. I found it first-class.

  77. Wesele says:

    What a great website. I am happy I found it.It’s nice to read something interesting I cannot find subscription list

  78. […] 2. Ginger, lemon & honey marinated salmon on a bed of lemon  leeks with a new potato & chiv… […]

  79. […] 1. Ginger, honey & lemon marinated salmon on a bed of lemon leeks served with a new potato &… […]

  80. […] baked potatoes 2. Marinated salmon with grilled normal & red witlof with oven baked potatoes 3. Ginger, lemon & honey marinated salmon on a bed of lemon leeks & a new potato & chive… Share this tasty post:Print me & PdfEmailLike this:LikeOne blogger likes this […]

  81. Kim Forni says:

    Tomorrows lunch :))))))

  82. bookmarking says:

    KYoqhs This is one awesome blog article.Really thank you! Cool.

  83. I value the blog.Much thanks again. Want more.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,145 other followers

