Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Sophie’s spiced bean burgers

on 11/03/2010

Divine bean burgers with a melted cheese center! Yum!

It has been a while that I wanted to make my own bean burgers. But they had to be perfect. After a while, I created these,…I also spiced them up.
So, I made these real beauties!
Print me!

Recipe: For 10 smaller burgers, each 5 cm x 4 cm, (1.5 cm thick )
Ingredients:
1 can of black beans, well rinsed under cold water & well leaked
120 gr of brown beans, out of a can, well rinsed under cold water & well leaked
1 omega 3 egg, beaten loose
50 gr of old-fashioned smaller oats ( no instant!!!)  or gluten-free oats
some sea salt
a few grinds of black pepper
1 level tablespoon of smoked Picanté paprika, Pimentón de la vera
a good drizzle of EVOO, a fruity one & using the oil to fry the burgers
2 scallions, well washed & pad dry, cleaned & cut into rings
120 gr of grated Gruyère cheese
a bit of flour, for your hands, to form the burgers
To serve:
* bread rolls or hamburger buns or gluten-free buns, sliced
* ketchup
* mayonnaise
* sliced tomatoes
* your favourite lettuce leaves
* Baked red onion wedges
Method:
1. Take a food processor & place all of ingredients, evenly divided in it. All of the beans, oats, scallions, beaten egg, smoked paprika, a bit of sea salt, a few grinds of black pepper & grated cheese in it. Add a drizzle of the EVOO. Blitz it all together for a few seconds. Blitz again if necessary. Then, take a chopping board & a clean plate.
2. Flour your hands & make burgers of the mix. Reflour your hands again & again. Don’t make the burgers too big otherwise they could fall apart. I make smaller balls & flatten them out a bit so that you will have about 10 burgers of 5 cm x 4 cm, each 1 to 1.5 cm thick. You can make these hours in advance. This is also easier to do. Place cling film over the top & place into the fridge for a few hours, 2 at least.
3. Just before eating, take the burgers out of the fridge. Remove the cling film. Take a large non stick pan & pour 1 thin layer of the fruity EVOO. Heat up on high. Be careful for the hot oil.
When hot & sizzling, add the bean burgers. Fry on one side until the burgers are ready & brown on one side & carefully flip them over. Fry on this side for a few minutes. Adjust the heat if necessary.
4. Serve on your favourite hamburger bun & your garnishes!! Keep the burgers warm.
The cheese is a bit goowie & …they are spiced up & kicking!
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts

Tasty bean burgers! Good-for-you too!

You might like:
1. Sophie’s vegetarian Haloumi burger with all of its trimmings!
2. Vegetarian mushrooms & nut burger


Sophie's Spiced Bean Burgers on FoodistaSophie’s Spiced Bean Burgers

122 responses to “Sophie’s spiced bean burgers

  1. Happy Cook says:

    My husband always tell me to make my own burger than buying from themeat shop. I don't like meat burgers, but daughter and hubb loves it. This really looks so so good.Few bloggers are metting up in Brussels are you also going to join them, i have not yet decided.

  2. Danielle says:

    Sophie! I found you again! I changed my blog and URL and lost all of my links to blogs I was following. I do hope you'll forgive me. Nice to see you're still having fun in the kitchen. I'm following you now and promise to keep up with you.

  3. El says:

    This is great Sophie. I'm a vegetarian and am always looking for meat alternatives. Thanks!

  4. Malar Gandhi says:

    Must be very fulfilling dish, looks incredible…All the pictures on ur food blog looks unique and inviting…awesome presentation, just love it:)

  5. Gulmohar says:

    This looks so good Sophie..lovely bean burger..Should try this..thanks !

  6. Muneeba says:

    Oh gosh Sophie! No American can resist a big juicy burger, u know that! And even though I'm a transplanted Pakistani-Canadian, I just want to dive into your burgerlicious creation :)

  7. Hi Sophie! Found your burger recipe on Foodista! Looks like a keeper for sure!

  8. Sophie, was a lovely bean burger. Very healthy too.Sam

  9. What a wonderfully healthy way to get a good dose of protein (and to satisfy a craving for burgers). I'm beyond excited to try this! :)

  10. Holy cow – looks amazing – love black beans like this and your version with the smoked paprika – yowza!

  11. Paz says:

    Oh, yum! I'd really love to try this.Continue to have a great week.Paz

  12. Valérie says:

    Sophie, this is amazing! And it's a real coincidence: I was just thinking of what to make for dinner tomorrow, and I wanted it to be vegetable-based. I just saw a printed recipe for bean burgers, but it used garbanzo beans, and I didn't feel like having those… And just now, I saw your beautiful recipe using black beans – my favourite beans in the world! This is perfect!

  13. Sophie, I love vegetarian burgers and falafels and anything of that ilk! This recipe looks perfect – thank you!

  14. What a healthy, protein rich vegetarian meal Sophie! :D They sound lovely! :D

  15. mangocheeks says:

    Sophie.I love the use of black beans in this veggie burger. And it looks like it held well during the cooking process too, many just fall apart.

  16. Claudia says:

    Mouth open "wow." I eat meat but I love veggie burgers. I never make them – I buy them. I am definitely making this – gooey cheese and all.

  17. Wow Sophie, I'd have to say you have succeeded in making this burger lover want to try to make this healthier patty.

  18. These sound great, Sophie! I've been craving a burger lately and this

  19. Fantastic burger! I will make it this week.

  20. These sound excellent Sophie! I love burgers like this!

  21. Koko says:

    Mmmm this looks tasty! I love smoked paprika- I recently used it in some bean burgers that I made! Great minds think alike! :)

  22. Wonderful burgers! I love the addition of smoked paprika, awesome!

  23. This looks like a great veggie burger! Love the spices!

  24. Sophie, these sound and look delicious! I've never made bean burgers before and can tell I would love them1I love the photo, I want a bite right now!

  25. ARUNA says:

    That's a lovely yummy burger Sophie, nicely done!!!

  26. I love your veggie burgers ! I often use pimentón. It gives such a delicious smoky flavour !HAve a nice dayBisesHélène

  27. Michelle says:

    Hey Sophie!I just tried ground turkey for the first time a few weeks ago and now I think it's time to try bean burgers!

  28. Jef Boven says:

    Hey Sophie!What a delightful,tasty, healthy en well-coloured dish!I'd like to have it on my plate here and now. Unfortunately I'll have to wait for a long time for it to please my palate!Congratulations! What a professional picture, too!Jef

  29. Pam says:

    What a fantastic looking burger!

  30. These are wonderful Sophie! I love this healthy version of a burger. Looks absolutely delicious and so colorful with all those yummy toppings. Fantastic!

  31. Hungry Dog says:

    These look great and super healthy. Yum!

  32. Elra says:

    Now that what I call the ultimate vegetarian burger. Scrumptious!!!

  33. Oh, yummy! Those bean patties must taste wonderful! Now I am craving hamburgers… Thankfully, we are going to have some tomorrow!cheers,Rosa

  34. Sophie,I LOVE this idea! They look delicious and are an inexpensive way to get dinner on the table!

  35. Soma says:

    This is awesome. We do not eat much of meat burgers, but our favorite to eat burgers is the bean ones. Looks scrumptious.

  36. Kristen says:

    I love bean burgers, these look delicious and gruyere is my favorite. I'd like a bite!

  37. Lovely burger. I like to have a big bite!

  38. Cathy says:

    Love your vegetarian version of a hearty, healthy burger. The melted gruyere is the perfect addition.

  39. Joanne says:

    I love homemade bean burgers…they are way better than the frozen ones. These have such a great combo of spices! I bet they tasted SO good.

  40. Génial : un hamburger végétarien.J'adore l'idée.Je note.A bientôt.

  41. Alexa says:

    These smoky burgers look delicious. I always looking for new vegetarian dishes. Thanks Sophie!

  42. grace says:

    i LOVE bean burgers perhaps even more than i love real meat versions. your recipe is great, and i have to know–did you snap the picture with your teeth? :)

  43. Great picture of someone holding the burger. Makes you want to take a bite!

  44. ~~louise~~ says:

    Now your 'Smokin' Sophie. That burger is awesome!!! I thought it was going to pop right in my mouth when I first opened the page. GREAT!!! I am so ready for burgers, so ready I tell you!!! Thank you so much for a taste of what's to come. I'll be stashing this recipe for sure:)

  45. I just want to do ONE thing! -> To Crunch Inside!!! hihiSo beautiful!! :)Kisses and Have a good day!

  46. Trissa says:

    With pimenton de la vera and gruyere cheese? Oh – so delicious I wouldn't even miss the meat!

  47. Sofi says:

    Hello Sophie! A long time ago I was here… and i'm back :) Yeiii… your foods looks so great as always!Would you put one day cupcakes? That should be so great :) Regards

  48. Bless you, Sophie! I bet this is even better than all those meat burgers!! They look so delicious!!

  49. Debbie says:

    Looks delicious Sophie! A different twist on the usual burger!

  50. Barbara says:

    Wonderful Sophie! I love the beans in your hamburger and gruyere too! Yummee! Regular hamburgers look boring now.(love your photo!)

  51. Margaret says:

    The burgers look wonderful and a great alternative.

  52. Esme says:

    This burger looks delicious. thank you for recipe.

  53. Kerstin says:

    Now I'm craving a big juicy burger – your picture is making my mouth water!!

  54. gaga says:

    Mmmm, this looks so good! What a great healthy version, perfect now that the weather is getting nicer!

  55. Jo says:

    I've been meaning to make my own patties for every so long now. I love your version of this and I would so love a bite out of this.

  56. So funny, I was making turkey burgers yesterday and thought about bean burgers. I'm not sure I've ever seen smaller oats before but I haven't looked for them so maybe I just didn't notice.

  57. Jacqueline says:

    My mouth is watering! Reading food blogs when you are hungry is a dangerous, dangerous business!

  58. These look really nice and juicy. Dryness is often a really big problem with bean burgers. I normally don't like them, but this really looks great.*kisses* HH

  59. Those sound delicious! I love bean burgers!

  60. Ruth says:

    So many flavours! looks amazing AND healthy too!

  61. Juliana says:

    Sophie, your burger looks delicious…and sure very healthy :-) I can have it just like that, without the bun!

  62. Thank you, as always, for visiting Sophie!

  63. Junglefrog says:

    It must be a conspiracy as I am seeing hamburgers in all varieties and shapes all over the blogosphere tonight! Makes me want to go out and make one right away! This looks so good Sophie!

  64. This is the first time I've seen a meat free burger that I coveted intensely. It looks amazing!

  65. Erica says:

    I have to make this for my vegetarian husband! It looks delicious!

  66. looks great and so healthy thanks for the kind words on the risotto

  67. Velva says:

    Now, if I did not know that you perpared a bean burger, I would have easily mistaken them for a classic American beef burger, :-) You did a wonderful job of preparing a healthy and flavorful alternative to the beef burger. Delicious!!!

  68. Carolyn Jung says:

    That looks as meaty and satisfying as a big, bodacious beef burger. But much healthier for you. Bravo for coming up with this.

  69. Gattina says:

    Sophie, thanks the award you gave me earlier. I just done it, you can check it out :D

  70. They look great! I tried another chef's black bean burgers not too long ago and found them rather mushy, yours look like they would have some chew factor with the oats.

  71. This burger looks amazing…not missing the meat! Do you mean steel cut oats? Do they cook up ok?

  72. Robin Sue says:

    When I saw the picture I thought for sure that was a big beef burger, you had me fooled! Looks Delish!

  73. Wow bean burger this is really fantastic, great when you do not fansy meat that day. Is the weather in Brussels better? We finally have some sunny & warmer days here. Hope Spring is finally here.

  74. Fimère says:

    un hamburger végétarien je le trouve excellentbonne soirée

  75. theUngourmet says:

    Great recipe! I have been wanting to try making a meatless burger. I'd love to try this one! The Gruyere cheese is an awesome addition!

  76. What a great alternative to meat, Sophie. Can't wait to try this, never made vegetarian burger before.

  77. lesley says:

    I adore homemade burgers Sophie, & these sound right up my street! Happy St Patrick's Day!

  78. Thanks for stopping by my blog, your food looks incredible! Will definitely be browsing through back posts but this bean burger looks amazing!

  79. Pam says:

    Wow, you have a great blog!Boy, if I had some 3D glasses I could see myself eating that right now….scrumptious!xoxo

  80. What a beauty! I heard lots bean burger, have to try it someday!

  81. This looks fabulous! I am so glad I discovered your blog!!

  82. Michelle says:

    Gorgeous dinner! I have tried marinating salmon but love the sound of this recipe! Always look forward to new potatoes too!

  83. Rico says:

    I just love burgers, they all look the same but are always so different and cause a different taste bud trip in our mouths…loved these ones really good. kisses xxx

  84. Oh wow Sophie – delicious looking burgers! Nice to have a recipe for vegetarian burger patties that isn't based on chickpeas! Can't wait to try them they look fantastic!

  85. ps. I'm really impressed at how well they look like they are holding together without all the breadcrumbs that you usually need.

  86. I am going to have to try these. They sound VERY good! I am trying to eat less meat and I know my daughters would like them. Thanks for the recipe!

  87. This post is very usefull thx!

  88. I don’t normally comment on blogs.. But nice post! I just bookmarked your site

  89. Mackenzie says:

    You evidently know a bit about this. You make some very good points.

  90. Mya says:

    I have been a regular follower of your web log and will absolutely stay to do so. The information is worthy for me

  91. Hailey says:

    I am in truth not too informed with this topic but I do like to visit websites for design themes and fascinating subjects. You in reality thrived upon a topic that I commonly don’t deal lots about and made it very intriguing. This is a pleasant website that I will take notice of. I already bookmarked it for future mention. Cheers

  92. Lily says:

    Hey just wanted to let you know that your content is very impressive, also Youre writing is wicked!, thanks again.

  93. A helpful share, I just passed this onto a student who was doing a little analysis on this. And he in fact purchased me lunch because I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thank you for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to talk about this, I feel strongly about it and love learning more on this topic. If possible, as you gain expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more info? It is extremely helpful for me. Big thumb up for this article!

  94. Addison says:

    This was novel. I wish I could read every post, but i have to go back to work now… But I’ll return.

  95. Serenity says:

    i’d love to share this posting with the readers on my site. thanks for sharing!

  96. Your post is extremely interesting. Can you post again soon?

  97. I love reading your blog. I’ve you bookmarked your website in order to check out the latest stuff.

  98. [...] like: 1. Sophie’s burger with sweet potato fries 2. Spiced up gluten-free chicken burgers 3. Sophie’s spiced bean burgers 4. Vegetarian haloumi burger 5. Gluten-free chicken burgers 6. Eggless pork & veal sage burgers [...]

  99. [...] chicken burger ( Gluten-Free) 3. My spiced up gluten-free chicken burger ( Gluten-Free ) 4. Spiced bean burgers ( Vegetarian ) 5. Haloumi burger with all of its trimmings ( Vegetarian ) 6. Eggless Pork & veal sage burgers [...]

  100. [...] – Posts You might like: 1. Sophie’s vegetarian home-made haloumi burger ( Vegetarian ) 2. Sophie’s spiced bean burgers ( Vegetarian ) Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); [...]

  101. [...] 3. Sophie’s spiced bean burgers Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "f4f8f8"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "d6e6e8"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "333333"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "a4461c"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "a4461c"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "recipes"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "food"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "cooking"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "dairy-free"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "egg-free"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "gluten-free"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Share this tasty post:Print me & PdfEmailLike this:Like2 bloggers like this post. [...]

  102. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  103. [...] this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Sophie’s vegetarian spiced bean burgers 2. Sophie’s vegetarian Haloumi burgers with all of its trimmings! 3. Asian inspired burger [...]

  104. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is great blog. A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

  105. [...] tasty & healthy. I served it with baked chicken pieces. It is also great with a good veggie or bean burger, Home-made , of course! Try my spiced bean burger with this tasty meal! [...]

  106. Psycholog says:

    What a great website. I am happy I found it.It’s nice to read something interesting I cannot find subscription list

  107. Jacqueline says:

    Looks great! Now I am off to look at the halloumi burger. This could go on all day :)

  108. [...] Baked haloumi salad with a caper, garlic, lime & mustard dressing with fresh coriander leaves 4. Sophie’s spiced bean burgers Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); [...]

  109. Sophie’s spiced bean burgers Sophies Foodie Files I was recommended this website by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble. You are amazing! Thanks! your article about Sophie’s spiced bean burgers Sophies Foodie Files Best Regards Agata Justin

  110. Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is great, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Sophie’s spiced bean burgers Sophies Foodie Files .

  111. [...] 4. Sophie’s spiced bean burgers ( Vegetarian ) [...]

  112. [...] 5. Sophie’s vegetarian spiced bean burgers Share this tasty post:Print me & PdfEmailLike this:Like2 bloggers like this post. [...]

  113. pakaian anak says:

    Great post at Sophie’s spiced bean burgers Sophies Foodie Files. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful info particularly the last part :) I care for such info much. I was looking for this particular info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  114. pakaian anak says:

    Sophie’s spiced bean burgers Sophies Foodie Files Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  115. Sophie’s spiced bean burgers Sophies Foodie Files Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  116. Sophie’s spiced bean burgers Sophies Foodie Files Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  117. baju bayi says:

    Great post at Sophie’s spiced bean burgers Sophies Foodie Files. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Extremely helpful info specially the last part :) I care for such information a lot. I was looking for this particular information for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  118. Brandi Bolk says:

    Can I just say what a aid to seek out somebody who actually knows what theyre speaking about on the internet. You positively know easy methods to convey a problem to mild and make it important. More individuals need to read this and understand this facet of the story. I cant believe youre not more common because you positively have the gift.

  119. [...] 4. Sophie’s vegetarian spiced bean burgers Share this tasty post:Print me & PdfEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. [...]

  120. [...] 2. Sophie’s spiced bean burgers with cheese inside [...]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 947 other followers

