Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Spiced pointed cabbage & vegetable soup with chickpeas

on 09/02/2010

A tasty spiced point cabbage, chickpeas, tomato & spices soup!

Recently, I made a curried stir fry with apples & raisins with half of my pointed cabbage.
With the rest I made this comforting & healthy soup. It is more of a filling meal aka soup.
It is also lovely enjoyed with some crusty bread on the side.
Print me!
Recipe: For 8 persons
Ingredients:
1/2 pointed cabbage (520 gr, I used ), cleaned, washed & cut into finger thick long strips & cut once cross wise
1 medium potato, peeled & finely cut up
3 fat cloves of fresh garlic, peeled & finely chopped
2 white onions, peeled & finely cut up
5 organic carrots, peeled & cut into rounds
1/2 teaspoon of dried chili pepper flakes
2 cans of whole cherry tomatoes in their juice, I use the Italian brand Cirio
1 can of chickpeas, well rinsed under cold water & well-drained
1 tablespoon of tomato purée
1.5 liter of gluten-free vegetable stock
a fruity EVOO
Method:
1. I use a steam cooker, a pressure cooker with fitting lid. In the cooking pot of the steam cooker, add 2 to 4 tablespoons of the EVOO & heat up on medium heat. When hot & sizzling, add the cut up onions and garlic & fry for about 4 to 6 minutes. Stir often.
2. Add the carrot rounds & the potato pieces & fry for about 5 minutes. Turn the heat up on high.
3. Add the 2 cans of cherry tomatoes & their juices, the tomato purée & the 1/2 teaspoon of the dried red chili flakes to the pot. Stir well. Now, add the well-drained chickpeas & the 1.5 liter of vegetable stock. Stir everything well round. Add the shredded cabbage leaves. Stir.
4. Now, put the lid on of your steam cooker. Let it sit on the high heat for about 10 to 13 minutes until the nozzle sizzles non stop. Carefully, lift the pot away from the heat & open the nozzle with a wooden spoon to set the steam free. When it stops sizzling then there will be no steam left in the pot & you can open the lid. Now, taste the soup! It has to taste fab & spicy!!
If you don’t have a steam cooker, just boil the soup until the vegetables are all tender & cooked through but you still want a little bite in your cabbage!
5. I only purée the soup 1/3 so that you have vegetables floating in your soup. Sometimes, I like a chunkier soup like this!
Enjoy!!
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like:
1. Curried pointed cabbage stir fry with apples & raisins
2. Curried lentils, Swiss chard & chickpeas soup
3. Spicy lentil & tomato soup
4. Spicy chorizo & bean soup
5. Spiced sweet potato & coconut soup
6. Spiced summer pumpkin, butternut squash & red bell peppers soup
7. Spiced roasted thyme, chorizo & pumpkin soup served with a home-made pumpkin & feta bread


Spiced Pointed Cabbage & Vegetable Soup With Chickpeas on FoodistaSpiced Pointed Cabbage & Vegetable Soup With Chickpeas
120 responses to “Spiced pointed cabbage & vegetable soup with chickpeas

  1. KennyT says:

    I would love to have this soup in this humid weather in Hong Kong.

  2. This is such a unique recipe, I can't wait to try it. Thanks!

  3. Happy Cook says:

    Here hubby don't like cabbage and daughter too, the only time i make them is from the feezer section red cabbage with apples :-)

  4. Gulmohar says:

    It sounds like a wholesome meal, rather than a soup..Love cabbage in soup :-)

  5. Barbara says:

    Super soup recipe, Sophie. Cabbage is delicious in a soup and the potatoes and chick peas make this really hearty and healthy!

  6. Kris says:

    Sounds very healthy!

  7. Joanne says:

    Whoa! This looks insanely hearty and delicious. cabbage is a great vegetables – very inexpensive and SO good for you.

  8. Koko says:

    Sophie, this looks so appetizing! Your soups are always so unique and wonderful!

  9. Delicious cabbage soup! And so healthy too!

  10. The soup sounds so hearty and warming, perfect right now as the snow is falling here yet again :)

  11. I'm so glad to see chickpeas in soup. I love them. Great soup Sophie.Sam

  12. Très bonne recette pour le climat de ces jours-ci.A bientôt.

  13. ~~louise~~ says:

    Oh my goodness! Now doesn't that soup look heavenly. I must save this link for World Cabbage Day, February 17th. Just perfect! Thanks for sharing, Sophie…

  14. Ellie says:

    Lvoely soup. Nice for a winter evening.

  15. Trissa says:

    It just looks so hearty!

  16. Yum! And it's so low in fat too! Thanks for suggesting the variations too Sophie! :D

  17. Isabelle says:

    I love chickpeas in soup. This soup sounds so delicious and flavourful! Bonne journée Sophie!

  18. Cheryl says:

    That soup just spells comfort and I happen to have a head of cabbage in my fridge!

  19. Would love a big bowl for dinner tonight–it's cold by LA standards. Looks so good and comforting and healthful.

  20. Olga says:

    That looks really good! There is a Russian cabbage soup similar to this, but I really like the addition of chickpeas and tomatoes.

  21. Claudia says:

    Cabbage and chick peas… tomatoes… I vote "yes" will definitely do it.

  22. This does look like a hearty, delicious soup! Love that you spiced it up a bit!

  23. Pam says:

    Healthy, hearty, and delcious!

  24. Fantastic soup! I love how hearty and delicious it is–would love to make a big pot of it!

  25. Fimère says:

    cette recette me semble délicieuse une belle combinaison de légumes bonne soirée

  26. Very hearty and delicious looking soup! What a treat for winter.

  27. Valérie says:

    Ah, the pointed cabbage returns! This soup looks very satisfying and tasty!And thank you, Sophie, for your kind words on my blog (about my rabbit). It was comforting to me.

  28. This soup is chock full of goodness Sophie! What a bowl of comfort! I wish I had pointed cabbage in my neck of the woods.

  29. Junglefrog says:

    Ah more lovely soups!! I have been having this soup mania lately and this is just looking perfect!

  30. Michelle says:

    Hey Sophie! Interesting about the pointed cabbage, very cool looking vegetable! I love savoy cabbage and am wondering if it's similar?

  31. SophieThey say a mark of a good cook is that she (or he) never wastes anything in the kitchen. Great use of your leftover cabbage my dear!

  32. Pam says:

    Looks so good on a cold night!Enjoy!

  33. mangocheeks says:

    I think pointed cabbage is perhaps my favourite kind of cabbage. This soup would sure hit the spot on a wintery and cold evening. I love the addition of chickpeas too, one of my favourite ingredients.

  34. Carolyn Jung says:

    Cabbage is one of those vastly under-rated veggies. Not sexy like asparagus or swoon-inducing like potatoes. But so versatile, and it sure adds a wonderful texture and sweetness to anything it's combined with.

  35. Une excellente soupe surtout par le froid de ces jours-ci.A bientôt Sophie.

  36. dawn says:

    sophie why don't your updates show up in my reader? how odd. did you block them or change? I will refresh. We;ve been eating a lot of soups here, our winter is just brutally cold–how I long for spring.

  37. theUngourmet says:

    Mmm. What a great looking soup. I'm so hungry I think I could eat 3 bowls of your yummy soup!

  38. oh great and healthy soup I adore your cooking sophie its so healthy would love a guest post!rebeccasubbiah at yahoo dot comRebecca

  39. Velva says:

    Great healthy soup! I am really enjoying ideas for pointed cabbage. Very nice!

  40. Delicious, comforting and healthy! A wonderful soup!Cheers,Rosa

  41. Jo says:

    Thbis soup looks great. Now I'm beginning to wonder if the cabbage was really pointed or it just happed to grow like that.

  42. Debbie says:

    The soup looks delicious. I just love cabbage and that soup is perfect for this time of year!

  43. lululu says:

    such a healthy, tasty, flavorful soup!

  44. Love cabbage in soups and stews, so comforting!

  45. Sook says:

    This looks so delicious. A healthy bowl of soup is always good. :)

  46. This soup looks amazing. I am ALWAYS looking for new ways to use cabbage…as it is so alkalizing and healthy!

  47. shaz says:

    mmmm..this sounds delicious, I love tomato based soups and chunky soups. Will definitely keep this in mind when winter hits :)

  48. zurin says:

    I wld LOVE this soup!!!!

  49. I hava a prise for you.See soon.

  50. Erica says:

    That soup looks rich and comforting!!! It is cold here, I would love a big bowl!

  51. chorizo, yum! This soup looks delicious!Nisrine

  52. Cynthia says:

    I don't think that anyone has every made cabbage soup that is attractive as yours.

  53. hummm I realy like it !! So delicious!Kisses Happy Valentine's Day

  54. Sounds great! I have a regular white cabbage in the fridge, do you think I would get close to the same result if I use it instead of a pointed cabbage? Happy Valentine's day, Sophie :D

  55. Kevin says:

    I like using cabbage in soups and this one looks really good!

  56. This sounds wonderful! I love cabbage soup, have never made it. This is inspiring me!

  57. Kerstin says:

    What a lovely soup – the chickpeas sound fantastic in it!

  58. zerrin says:

    Sounds so heart warming. I always love the combination of cabbage and chikpeas and I always squeeze lemon on such a cabbage soup. YUM!

  59. Hi there, just stopped by to wish you a wonderful valentines day :)*kisses* HH

  60. Michelle says:

    What a wonderful soup, Sophie! It looks very savory and perfect for the cold weather. :) I am baking as I type this…hope you had a wonderful weekend!xoxoMichelle

  61. Emily says:

    Yum! What a comforting soup. This looks amazing!

  62. Velva says:

    Sphie, you made my day! Thank you for the award!!! You are right, parsnips are such an underrated vegetable. They are wonderful roasted as it brings out the natural sugars and is quite delicious.

  63. Jamie says:

    I grew up with my mom's cabbage soup and nothing in the world could have been worse! I have to say though that yours sounds like it could actually put me back on cabbage soup! It looks really yummy! And I'll bet it's a great winter soup!

  64. Sophie says:

    @ all of you: I am sure you will love this more spicy & tasty meal aka soup!Enjoy!!

  65. Shonta Elbie says:

    I am not sure where you’re getting your info, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for wonderful information I was looking for this info for my mission.

  66. Sofia says:

    Good post! I have a random question for you. How do you get your blog indexed by bing? I have a related web blog.

  67. Loving the information on this site, you have done outstanding job on the content .

  68. I really like your writing style, superb info, thank you for putting up :D. “He wrapped himself in quotations- as a beggar would enfold himself in the purple of Emperors.” by Rudyard Kipling.

  69. seo says:

    Would love to perpetually get updated outstanding website ! .

  70. I am impressed with this site, very I am a big fan .

  71. Thank you for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research about this. We got a grab a book from our area library but I think I learned more clear from this post. I am very glad to see such magnificent information being shared freely out there.

  72. I really like your writing style, good info , thankyou for putting up : D.

  73. Some genuinely quality blog posts on this website , saved to fav.

  74. Transport Osób says:

    Thanks for the post.

  75. I really appreciate this post. I have been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thank you again!

  76. Normally I do not learn article on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and do it! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thank you, quite great post.

  77. I went over this web site and I conceive you have a lot of great information, saved to fav (:.

  78. Very nice design and good articles, nothing at all else we require :D.

  79. What i do not understood is in fact how you are no longer actually a lot more well-preferred than you might be right now. You are so intelligent. You recognize therefore considerably with regards to this topic, made me in my view believe it from a lot of varied angles. Its like men and women are not fascinated unless it is one thing to do with Woman gaga! Your individual stuffs nice. At all times take care of it up!

  80. But wanna admit that this is very helpful , Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  81. I see something truly interesting about your website so I saved to favorites .

  82. My blog says:

    Rattling great info can be found on weblog . “I am not merry but I do beguile The thing I am, by seeming otherwise.” by William Shakespeare.

  83. Tod Schnee says:

    Really nice design and good subject material , absolutely nothing else we require : D.

  84. Its wonderful as your other posts : D, thanks for putting up. “Even Albert Einstein reportedly needed help on his 1040 form.” by Ronald Reagan.

  85. I was reading some of your posts on this site and I conceive this website is very informative ! Continue putting up.

  86. Carma Cronon says:

    thanks for your thoughts on this, I felt a bit struck by this article. Thanks again!

  87. Good work:) Thank You for this article

  88. I really enjoy looking through on this web site , it holds great blog posts. “We find comfort among those who agree with us–growth among those who don’t.” by Frank A. Clark.

  89. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  90. Thanks for sharing excellent informations. Your site is so cool. I’m impressed by the details that you have on this website. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for more articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found just the information I already searched everywhere and simply couldn’t come across. What an ideal web-site.

  91. It is very good information

  92. I truly appreciate this post. I’ve been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thx again! “One never goes so far as when one doesn’t know where one is going.” by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe.

  93. I love reading your blog. I’ve you bookmarked your website in order to check out the latest stuff.

  94. […] 2. Spiced pointed cabbage soup & vegetables soup with chickpeas […]

  95. Hey there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I will definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I am confident they will be benefited from this site.

  96. But a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw outstanding design .

  97. […] this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Spiced pointed cabbage & vegetable soup with chickpeas Curried Pointed Cabbage Stir Fry With Apples & Raisins Advertisement […]

  98. I just couldn’t leave your website prior to suggesting that I actually enjoyed the usual info an individual provide to your visitors? Is going to be back often in order to check out new posts.

  99. Wesele says:

    Thank you for pretty impressive post. I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon.

  100. I was studying some of your posts on this website and I conceive this web site is rattling informative ! Continue posting .

  101. I just could not depart your site prior to suggesting that I really loved the standard information an individual provide for your visitors? Is gonna be back regularly to check up on new posts.

  102. Great write-up, I am regular visitor of one’s blog, maintain up the excellent operate, and It is going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time.

  103. […] thyme, chorizo & pumpkin soup served with a home-made pumpkin, feta & red onions bread! 5. Spiced pointed cabbage & vegetable soup with chickpeas 6. Spicy lentil & tomato soup Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); […]

  104. Merely a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw great pattern . “People forget how fast you did a job – but they remember how well you did it.” by Howard Newton.

  105. Its like you read my mind! You appear to understand a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you simply can do with a few percent to force the message house a little bit, however other than that, that is excellent blog. A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

  106. Thankyou for this tremendous post, I am glad I observed this site on yahoo.

  107. I really enjoy looking at on this site, it has got fantastic content .

  108. I genuinely enjoy looking through on this website , it contains good content . “Dream no small dreams. They have no power to stir the souls of men.” by Victor Hugo.

  109. Rattling good information can be found on blog .

  110. Some genuinely choice content on this site, saved to bookmarks .

  111. Really nice pattern and superb content , nothing at all else we need : D.

  112. Great write-up, I’m normal visitor of one’s web site, maintain up the excellent operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time.

  113. Thankyou for this terrific post, I am glad I detected this site on yahoo.

  114. Absolutely composed articles , thankyou for entropy.

  115. Tegan says:

    I went over this internet site and I believe you have a lot of great info, saved to favorites (:.

  116. […] 1. Spiced pointed cabbage & veggies soup with chickpeas […]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,130 other followers

