Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Sophie’s quinoa, banana & pecan smoothie

on 03/02/2010

A yummy banana, kefir & quinoa breakfast smoothy!

I love making drinkable breakfasts, don’t you? Sometimes, we can be a bit lazy.

This is what I made.
Recipe: For 2 persons, each 1 large glass
Ingredients:
500 ml of unsweetened kefir
1 ripe large banana, peeled & cut into chunks
2 tablespoons of finely chopped pecans
a few drizzles of agave syrup or brown rice syrup
1 tablespoon of vanilla extract ( I use home-made )
Method:
1. Put every ingredient, except the agave syrup or brown rice syrup in a bowl & mix everything together or put into a blender. Mix finely.
2. If necessary, add a few drizzles of agave / brown rice syrup into the bowl & mix well.
3. Pour into 2 breakfast glasses & serve.
Enjoy

A delightful combination!

If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like:
99 responses to “Sophie’s quinoa, banana & pecan smoothie

  1. Ive never heard of Quinoa in a smoothie, but it probably gives it a nice thickness. Good idea!*kisses* HH

  2. What a unique smoothie! I would of never thought of adding quinoa. I love the banana and pecan!

  3. KiraAJ says:

    OK that sounds delish! So tasty! Im dropping by after my next work-out for one of these babies! ;) hehe Hope your well Sophie!

  4. Rowena... says:

    Bananas are a great source of potassium too!

  5. Fimère says:

    tout ce qui est banane j'adore ça doit être délicieuxbonne journée

  6. KennyT says:

    so healthy and yummy!

  7. SophieThis comes in the nick of times since my son is now on a extra-healthy diet and is losing a lot of weight I am going to tell him about it so that he would try something else besides egg whites for breakfast!

  8. Un dessert qui doit être tout simplement délicieux.

  9. Erica says:

    What an interesting drink, sophie! Healthy and delicious.

  10. wow what a great breakfast smoothie

  11. ABowlOfMush says:

    Such a fantastic idea putting quinoa in the smoothie! I will be sure to try this recipe!This is my first time on your blog, I am most definitely bookmarking you :)

  12. Sophie, this would be one terrific smoothie to start the day. I need to head over to my health food store and get some Quinoa flakes and give this a try. Many thanks…

  13. Sophie, I have some Quinoa in my cabinet just waiting for the right recipe. I think I've found it.Lucky you – you have homemade vanilla extract.Sam

  14. I must make this!!! It looks fabulous and healthy and I'm in need of some tasty healthy breakfast ideas! Simply wonderful!

  15. Can you believe this, when I saw your blog post in my mailbox, I was just having a smoothie I made tonight, I made with banana, frozen strawberries, wheatgerm, honey, low fat milk and natural yogurt. Next time I would try yours, I have never tried quinoa.

  16. Muneeba says:

    Those glasses are adorable, and once more I am awed by your creativity Sophie :) Btw, thks for stopping by my blog and sending your best wishes for my new baby boy!

  17. Cheryl says:

    That really sounds and looks yummy, I have been thinking about adding a breakfast shake to my weekly lineup!

  18. Selba says:

    I think I will love to drink this smoothie :)

  19. Koko says:

    Sophie, what a FABULOUS idea. I never ever thought to grind quinoa into a smoothie- helloooo tomorrow's breakfast!!!!

  20. Kristen says:

    I love quinoa flakes but never thought to add them to a smoothie, silly cuz I've done it with oats. The quinoa really amps up the nutrition!

  21. theUngourmet says:

    This is just about the most nutritious smoothie ever! I would never have thought to use quinoa this way. Awesome idea!!

  22. zurin says:

    i love smoothies!! i just bought some bananas to make some tonite….Ill have to try ur version soon. thats is a great foto Sophie!!!

  23. Joanne says:

    I generally like my breakfasts to be solid (I feel more full that way) but I could definitely see myself having this for dessert. Love dessert smoothies!

  24. Valérie says:

    This is so healthy! Definitely a good option for when we're in a hurry!

  25. Deeba PAB says:

    Excellent stuff Sophie… a power breakfast!! YUM!!

  26. I never thought to put quinoa in a smoothie. Brilliant again, Sophie!

  27. Elra says:

    Actually I never tried to make drinkable breakfast other fresh juices. This is just fantastic idea Sophie!

  28. easy recipes says:

    While browsing I came across your great blogsite!! I've added your site into my blog. Could you please consider add my link in your blog.My site is about 'Easy Recipes'http://easy-picnic-recipe.blogspot.com/Thanks in Advance!!

  29. I love the idea of adding quinoa and pecans in the smoothie, yummy breakfast!

  30. Barbara says:

    Quinoa in a smoothie? How unusual. Bet it makes it thicker and more filling. Love your flavors, Sophie.I like a liquid breakfast too….have one 3 days a week. Soy milk and something called Ultra Meal my nutritionist gave me, along with some frozen strawberries. yummy.

  31. mangocheeks says:

    Like your other readers, I have to admit I have never seen quinoa in a drink before. I've never seen quinoa flakes either, so thank you so much for shairng this delicious and healthy looking breakfast.

  32. Alexa says:

    Drinkable Quinoa–Clever! Great for a snack too… thanks for giving me a new way to use the quinoa flakes in my pantry. Enjoy your weekend Sophie!

  33. ARUNA says:

    Banana smoothie……that's gonna b yummmm!

  34. interesting use of quinoa! Lovely flavours.

  35. Great idea Sophie and I like the idea of this being a healthy and fast transportable breakfast! :D

  36. Delicious and healthy! Very original!Cheers,Rosa

  37. Debbie says:

    Soounds like a mouth watering smoothie!!! I love making smoothies in the summer. They are so refreshing!

  38. Carolyn Jung says:

    Quinoa in a smoothie? Who would have thunk it? ;)

  39. gaga says:

    What a great idea to make an already great smoothie a bit healthier and tastier!

  40. Healthy and so delicious! How refreshing– love the quinoa in this smoothie!

  41. Sapuche says:

    Hi Sophie! Once I'm home again I really want to make this for breakfast! Looks simple but delicious. And quinoa — wow! Thanks for sharing!

  42. Gattina says:

    your breakfast is so special and healthy!!! I think I can finish that two glass in one go!

  43. Trissa says:

    Hi Sophie, I love the idea of a drinkable breakfast too! I never have the time to sit down for a meal in the morning when I am off to work so early but having something like this ready would be perfect.

  44. virginie says:

    rhoooo j'aime aussi beaucoup ce genre de petit déj !!!j'utilise du kéfir maison et c'est vrai que c'est vraiment très très bon !!!veux tu que je t'envoie des graines ????virginiebalijon@gmail.com

  45. Trish says:

    This sure looks healthy!

  46. Claudia says:

    Brilliant. have never seen quinoa flakes. I bet this is incredibly delicious.

  47. Hannah says:

    Simply nourishing and delicious! This is exactly the sort of smoothie/snack I've been favoring lately… Thanks for the new combination, love the addition of quinoa flakes!

  48. I've never seen quinoa flakes, but what a brilliant idea to add them to a smoothie. We have "drinkable breakfasts" every day here, Its a great way to get our vitamins in. Thanks f or all the wonderful creative ideas.

  49. I bought the ingredients to make this today!Can't wait to try it!

  50. Sook says:

    Yes! That is really what I need for breakfast. :)

  51. You're a genius, Sophie! Drinkable breakfast is a great idea. :)

  52. pierre says:

    salut sophie I am follwoing you on htis smoothie !! not too cold in brussels ?!! Pierre

  53. Cherine says:

    This is delicious & healthy!!

  54. Kerstin says:

    I would have never thought to put quinoa in a smoothie – great idea to up the protein content!

  55. Cynthia says:

    What an interesting combo. And I'm sure that it's packed with fiber.

  56. Great combo…..brown rice would also go great!

  57. Claire says:

    It looks délicious and it's a very interesting mixture. :)Have a good day, Claire

  58. Daily Spud says:

    Wow – quinoa in a smoothie, definitely a new one for me. I haven't used quinoa flakes before, so I'll definitely be on the lookout for them now!

  59. Margaret says:

    A very unusual breakfast recipe, I too will have to look out for quinoa flakes. I like breakfast in a glass, it looks lovely.

  60. Juliana says:

    Never heard of quinoa flakes…sure have to try this…the smoothie looks very tasty and healthy as well :-)

  61. El says:

    How fantastic is this shake. I didn't know quinoa flakes existed. Now I have a new mission…to find them and make this smoothie. Thanks!

  62. Drinkable breakfast are the best! Solid food tends to fill me up very quickly in the mornings. Quinoa shake sounds like a fantastic option!

  63. Claudia says:

    I had this for lunch yesterday – it was silky goodness…

  64. acpcgouter says:

    I had no idea you could find quinoa like that! It looks like oats that you use for porridge! This looks delicious Sophie.

  65. What a great idea! I will have to keep an eye out for quinoa flakes.

  66. This looks healthy and delicious!

  67. grace says:

    this is the first time i've seen quinoa used in a smoothie–great idea, sophie! the banana and pecans are awesome components too. :)

  68. Kevin says:

    I like the sound of using quinoa in a smoothie!

  69. This smoothie is so different and innovative, not to mention healthy!Ronelle

  70. Kat says:

    looks lovely, I always look at quinoa flakes when I go to my favorite organic food store, but never buy them, but you've inspired me, I should finally try them :)

  71. Sophie says:

    @ everyone of you, dear foodies: Give it a try, I am sure you will love it!! It is healthy & apart too!

  72. […] might like: 1. Strawberry & quinoa smoothie with  flax seeds & vanilla: contains dairy! 2. Quinoa, banana & pecan smoothie, contains dairy! 3. A Strawberry smoothy, contains dairy: sheep’s yoghurt! 4. Sophie’s […]

  73. I always was concerned in this topic and still am, thanks for posting.

  74. hello!,I really like your writing so so much! proportion we keep in touch extra approximately your article on AOL? I need an expert on this house to resolve my problem. May be that is you! Taking a look ahead to see you.

  75. Good post. I learn one thing tougher on different blogs everyday. It’s going to all the time be stimulating to learn content material from different writers and apply a bit of one thing from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content material on my weblog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a hyperlink on your net blog. Thanks for sharing.

  76. I got what you mean , thanks for putting up.Woh I am glad to find this website through google. “If one does not know to which port one is sailing, no wind is favorable.” by Seneca.

  77. Very nice design and fantastic subject material, hardly anything else we require :D.

  78. Maudie Hok says:

    Very interesting topic, appreciate it for posting.

  79. I regard something truly special in this website.

  80. click here says:

    Keep up the superb work, I read few blog posts on this internet site and I believe that your blog is really interesting and holds lots of excellent info.

  81. Keep up the excellent piece of work, I read few content on this internet site and I think that your weblog is rattling interesting and has bands of great info .

  82. Somebody essentially help to make critically articles I would state. This is the very first time I frequented your web page and so far? I surprised with the research you made to make this particular submit amazing. Wonderful activity!

  83. Great – I should definitely pronounce, impressed with your web site. I had no trouble navigating through all tabs as well as related information ended up being truly easy to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it in the least. Quite unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or something, website theme . a tones way for your customer to communicate. Excellent task.

  84. Its good as your other content : D, thanks for putting up. “I catnap now and then, but I think while I nap, so it’s not a waste of time.” by Martha Stewart.

  85. Thank you! It is very good information

  86. Good work:) Thank You for this news

  87. Very interesting points you have observed, thanks for putting up.

  88. […] ) 2. Strawberry & quinoa smoothy with flax seeds & vanilla ( Gluten-Free, Vegetarian ) 3. Quinoa, banana & pecan smoothy ( Gluten-Free, Vegetarian ) 4. A strawberry smoothy ( Gluten-Free, Vegetarian ) 5. Breakfast smoothy ( Vegetarian ) 6. Wake up […]

  89. […] this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Sophie’s quinoa, banana & pecan smoothie 2. Quinoa flakes with banana, roasted pecans, milk & agave syrup 3. A strawberry smoothie & […]

  90. You have noted very interesting points! ps nice site.

  91. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and aid others like you aided me.

  92. […] enjoy! You might like: 1. Sophie’s breakfast smoothie 2. Sophie’s wake up smoothie 3. Sophie’s quinoa, banana & pecan smoothie 4. Strawberry & quinoa smoothie with linseed & vanilla 5. A tasty banana shake! 6. Some […]

  93. […] 3. Sophie’s quinoa, banana & pecan smoothy […]

  94. […] hand-made Kefir white organic bread 4. Strawberry & quinoa smoothie with linseed & vanilla 5. Sophie’s quinoa, banana & pecan smoothie 6. A tasty & healthy banana shake 7. Energizing & good for you smoothies & juices […]

  95. […] this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Quinoa, banana & pecan smoothy 2. Strawberry & quinoa smoothy with flax-seed & vanilla 3. Sophie’s cold quinoa salad […]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,129 other followers

