Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Beetroot wedges with a balsamic & orange marmalade sauce

on 05/01/2010

Divine & alternative beetroot!

Yummy food!

I am sending this dish over @ my friend’s Brittany’s blog over @ Real Sustenance for Seasonal Sunday’s! Just click onto the link & you will found out more about it!! You can take part too!

Recipe: For 2 persons with a lot of hunger
Ingredients:
600 gr of small-sized beetroot, with skin, tops & bottoms intact
1 large white onion, peeled & finely cut up
60 ml of a good balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon of EVOO, a fruity one
4 sprigs of fresh thyme, rinsed, only the leaves
3 tablespoons of orange marmalade ( I use Mac Kay’s Dundee orange marmalade )
grinned fresh black pepper
Maldon sea salt
Method:
1. A few hours before dinner, precook the beets. Boil for about 20 to 30 minutes until the beetroot are tender on the inside. Prick with a test pin or knife to see if they are well cooked. Drain well & let cool completely.
2. Just before dinner, put plastic hand gloves on before you are going to peel the cooked beetroot. Be careful because everything will turn purple & will stain!! Wipe the stains right away! After peeling, cut into wedges. Set aside.
3. Now, make the sauce. In a cooking pot, heat the EVOO. When hot, add the diced onion. Fry for about 2 to 3 minutes & stir frequently. Add the rinsed thyme leaves & fry further for 2 minutes. Add the balsamic vinegar & the orange marmalade & stir well. Cook for about 2 to 3 minutes & add the cooked beetroot wedges. Stir & cook with the lid on for about 2 to 4 minutes until the beetroot wedges are heated trough. Taste. Add some seasoning according to taste.
4. The sauce will be slightly reduced. I served it alongside cooked potatoes & a pork chop.

Enjoy!!
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
Beetroot Wedges With A Balsamic & Orange Marmalade Sauce on Foodista

87 responses to “Beetroot wedges with a balsamic & orange marmalade sauce

  1. I love beets! This recipe looks great!

  2. Anna says:

    Wow…. lovely colors, great combination balsamic and orange. Must yummy. Happy New Year Sophie.

  3. Cheryl says:

    Ohh I love beets, but never have had the guts to make them from scratch, these look lovely!

  4. The balsamic and orange marmalade sauce sounds fantastic with the beets! Happy New Year!

  5. zurin says:

    Ive never seen beetroot look so good and beautiful!

  6. theUngourmet says:

    Wonderful recipe! I love the vibrant color of beets!

  7. Michelle says:

    Sophie these look divine!!! Things are back to normal and I am so thankful! xoxoMichelle and the kitties :)

  8. Delicious recipe Sophie! I'm always trying to think of good ways to prepare beetroot! :D

  9. Daily Spud says:

    I've been cooking beetroot too this week! Still have some left, so I think I know what I will be making next :)

  10. Trissa says:

    I used to hate beetroot as a child until I tasted fresh ones cooked properly. It makes a big difference – your recipe looks so refreshing.

  11. My husband loves beets but somehow I never get around to making them for him. You've inspired me. Thanks Sophie.Sam

  12. Happy New Year Sophie…Betts always look so good, just wish I liked them!

  13. Junglefrog says:

    Strangely enough; while I love beets I have never actually made them…! This looks delicious

  14. Beetroot is something I never cook with. There's no particular reason, I dont dislike it, but I wonder something… after eating it, does it give you vampire teeth? I've always wondered lol.Wonderful looking dish, a great way to add colour and excitement to a plate.

  15. Nicisme says:

    My husband would love this as he is a beetroot lover.Happy New Year Sophie and all the best for 2010!

  16. Pam says:

    My beet loving husband would really love this dish.

  17. j'aime bien les betteraves c'est une bonne recette à noterbonne soirée

  18. Koko says:

    Oooh, beets with orange marmalade! That sounds soooo good. I happen to love beets too!

  19. looks great adore the color

  20. KiraAJ says:

    MMMM beetroot! This recipe looks delish Sophie!

  21. Barbara says:

    I love beets, Sophie! And pickle them in the summer, making a salad with them. Nothing is better than just plain beets with a little butter too. And I've made beets with orange sauce for holidays.Think I will try your recipe next because I like the combination of balsamic vinegar and orange marmalade.Super recipe!

  22. Love the sweet and sour combo! Looks great!

  23. Joanne says:

    I'm still coming around to beets, as I wrote in my last post. This will be a great recipe to get me on the bandwagon!

  24. Ellie says:

    What a lovely sauce to go with the beets!

  25. Dawn says:

    sophie you're so good about eating your veggies. beets are so good for you, I'm not that found of them but should be because of the high iron content

  26. Jo says:

    Hi Sophie, happy new year and what a great recipe to kick start the year. I want some!

  27. Thanks for showcasing a new way to do beets! Never tried that flavor combination before.

  28. grace says:

    what a very kind thing to do to beets–i'm sure they've never been happier! the sauce is amazing, sophie–nice job!

  29. Velva says:

    I love beets! They way that you prepared them gives me lots of new ideas. The addition of marmalade really sends it over the top. Nice!

  30. Oh yum, this recipe just looks so tasty and not something I've had much around here. Must try.

  31. Carolyn Jung says:

    Count me in as a beet fan, too. But never thought to use orange marmalade on them. I can see how that would work, though. Citrus goes so well with the sweetness of the beets. An inspired choice!

  32. Debbie says:

    Looks delicious Sophie. I've never had this before. Oh your pancakes look terrific too!..Yum!

  33. I love beets too, great flavours in this dish!

  34. Cathy says:

    Balsamic vinegar and orange marmalade on beets is genius. I would LOVE this flavor combination.

  35. I am a big fan of beets! I grow them in my garden every year and will have to file this recipe away for harvest time.

  36. Valérie says:

    Mmm, what a great side-dish! YUM!

  37. Claudia says:

    I've been looking for a way to use this amazing orange marmalade I have – into a sauce – and here you are! Perfect timing and gorgeous recipe! thanks.

  38. Donna says:

    Oh this sounds delightful and I love the gorgeous color. Great pairing of marmalade and balsamic!!

  39. Olive ♥ says:

    Hi Sophie :)I love the color of this dish.. I have never tried beetroot before although I see some in the grocery store..maybe it's time I give it a try..thanks for sharing as always..Happy 2010 to you and your love ones!

  40. Gulmohar says:

    I like beetroots..Interesting way to cook them..Thanks for sharing :-)

  41. Anne says:

    I've never had beetroot like this, sounds heavenly and looks delicious, will have to buy some marmelade in now!

  42. Gloria says:

    I love this Sophie look really awesome, and tatsy! gloria

  43. Kevin says:

    his would be a great way to enjoy some beets! I don't have them nearly often enough.

  44. Pierre says:

    bonjour sophie Beetroot are very inspiring for me !! i love to coock them and Soon I will post one of the recipes I did recently !! Paris is very cold but surely less than Brussels !!Cheers Pierre

  45. KennyT says:

    Beet room + Oranges = harmony!! Love this dish!

  46. Hi Sophie,I am Koko's mom, Evan. Just wanted to tell you that I made your beets with balsamic and orange marmalade for dinner tonight and we all loved them. Lovely new side dish for us, thank you for your recipe. I really enjoy your blog!

  47. Sophie says:

    @ all of you, my foodie friends: Thanks for stopping by & leaving such lovely comments, especially you, Evan, Koko's mum! I was really touched by your sweet comments!

  48. Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is excellent, as well as the content!

    • Sophie33 says:

      Hey there,
      I have been blogging since mid november 2008. I love blooging but it is a lot of work, but enjoyable though!
      Thanks for the compliments, now I am blushing! :)

  49. Charlotte says:

    Pretty good post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon.

  50. Lean Windly says:

    I really appreciate this post. I’ve been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thanks again!

  51. Really fantastic information can be found on web site.

  52. Good – I should definitely pronounce, impressed with your web site. I had no trouble navigating through all tabs and related info ended up being truly easy to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it at all. Quite unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or something, site theme . a tones way for your customer to communicate. Nice task..

  53. Wohh precisely what I was looking for, thank you for posting.

  54. I like this post, enjoyed this one thank you for posting. “Good communication is as stimulating as black coffee and just as hard to sleep after.” by Anne Morrow Lindbergh.

  55. […] 1. Beetroot wedges with a balsamic & orange marmalade sauce […]

  56. I dugg some of you post as I cerebrated they were very beneficial invaluable

  57. I really like your writing style, great information, thankyou for posting : D.

  58. Enjoyed examining this, very good stuff, thanks . “It is in justice that the ordering of society is centered.” by Aristotle.

  59. Meda Hendler says:

    Thanks, bookmarked!

  60. My brother suggested I might like this blog. He was entirely right. This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  61. You could certainly see your enthusiasm in the work you write. The sector hopes for more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to say how they believe. At all times go after your heart. “Billy Almon has all of his inlaw and outlaws here this afternoon.” by Jerry Coleman.

  62. I was looking at some of your articles on this site and I think this website is really instructive! Retain posting .

  63. empresario says:

    Hello, I really liked this information, I hope you continue updating, Greetings

  64. Enjoyed reading this, very good stuff, regards . “All of our dreams can come true — if we have the courage to pursue them.” by Walt Disney.

  65. Olen says:

    Outstanding post, you’ve pointed out some great details , I likewise conceive this s a quite great site.

  66. Stan Clark says:

    Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Extremely useful info specifically the last part :) I care for such information much. I was seeking this particular info for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  67. very good post, i actually love this web site, keep on it

  68. Hi there! — This post couldn’t be written any better! — Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate! — He always kept talking about this. Wewill forward this article to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing! —

  69. This website online is really a stroll-by way of for all the info you wanted about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse here, and you’ll definitely uncover it.

  70. Terrific work! This is the type of information that should be shared around the web. Shame on the search engines for not positioning this post higher! Come on over and visit my website . Thanks =)

  71. I like what you guys are up too. Such smart work and reporting! Keep up the superb works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it’ll improve the value of my website :).

  72. […] oregano marinated beetroots on a bed of watercress 3. Beetroot risotto with ricotta & parmesan 4. Beetroot wedges with a balsamic & orange marmalade sauce 5. beetroot appetizers, served in a Belgian endive leaf […]

  73. Blair Manney says:

    I found your blog in the Digg wholesale bulk t-shirts directory. You did a very nice job, thanks.

  74. This web site can be a stroll-via for all the data you wished about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse right here, and you’ll undoubtedly discover it.

  75. Hye Cobar says:

    Love your blog!

  76. monster solo hd says:

    wow, brilliant post, I was asking yourself the same issue. and located your web page by google, discovered a lot, now i have got some strategy. I??ve bookmark your web page and also add rss. preserve us updated.

  77. Awesome blog with lots of extremely use pieces of information! This is a very excellent feeling to finally acquire such a helpful resource. I have been searching the site for over an hour or so now and have actually found out a lot. Just wanted to let you know :)

  78. […] Nigella’s chocolate rice pudding 5. Cardamom risotto brûlée 6. Oven baked vegetable risotto 7. Beetroot wedges with a balsamic & orange marmalade sauce 8. Chanterelles, oyster mushrooms & dried porcini risotto Share this tasty post:Print me […]

  79. Someone necessarily help to make seriously articles I might state. That is the very first time I frequented your web page and thus far? I surprised with the research you made to create this particular put up extraordinary. Fantastic task!

  80. conta tilden says:

    I got what you mean, regards for putting up. Woh I am thankful to find this website through google.

  81. Phyliss says:

    Very interesting points you have noted, regards for posting.

  82. I like looking at your writing, Beetroot wedges with a balsamic & orange marmalade sauce Sophies Foodie Files was included in my bookmarks in chrome.

  83. […] 1. Beetroot wedges in a balsamic & orange marmalade sauce […]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,128 other followers

