Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Chicken with a cranberry, port & orange sauce, served with sugared braised Belgian endives

on 28/12/2009

A delightful chicken & fresh cranberry sauce dinner!

This is an easy home-made cranberry sauce. It is delicious, served with chicken fillets & baked potato wedges. I served braised brown sugared Belgian endive with it. This side dish is widely eaten in Belgian families.
Recipe: For 2 persons, with a bit of seconds
Ingredients:
** For the cranberry sauce:
1 packet Ocean Spray cranberries, well rinsed, cleaned & stalks removed
1 orange, skin not treatened, the juice & the zest, finely grated
1 large cinnamon stick
5 tablespoons of red lovely gluten-free port
75 gr white or brown sugar
** For the Braised Belgian endive:
About 2 large Belgian endive ( witlof ) per person, so 4 Belgian endive in total
2 to 6 tablespoons of light or dark brown sugar, according to your taste
**Baked potato wedges, to serve, ( kept warm )
** 2 chicken fillets, no skin, cleaned & cut up into smaller pieces, baked in a pan & seasoned with black pepper & sea salt. ( kept warm )
soy baking margarine
Method:
1. Clean the endive. Cut off the rough ends & wash them thoroughly. Boil them for about 10 to 15 minutes until you can prick a fork through them. Drain well. Let them get completely cold & keep aside. You can do this a few hours before dinner & keep them in the fridge.
2. Now, make your sauce. Take a medium large cooking pot & add the cranberries, the orange zest, the juice, the cinnamon stick & the port. Mix well & bring to the boil on medium high heat. Cook for about 5 to 10 minutes until the cranberries pop & begin to burst. Let the sauce thicken a bit, but not that every berry has popped! Taste! When the sauce has thickened enough, take off the heat & add the sugar. I added all the sugar but the sauce will still be a bit sour & not too sweet. Place on the fire to let the sugar melt & stir well. Turn the heat off. Remove the cinnamon stick. Keep warm.
3. In the meantime, take a large cooking pot & add baking margarine. Let it melt on a medium heat. When melted & sizzled, add the cooked well-drained endive & place them into the cooking pot. Top with 2 to 6 tablespoons of brown sugar & scatter it over the top of the Belgian endive & place a fitting lid on. Braise for about 5 to 10 minutes per side & then turn them over. Your endive will lay in a kind of sugar syrup,…. mmmmmm,….
4. Serve with chicken, top with the sauce, serve with the baked potato wedges & the braised Belgian endive.
Enjoy!!
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free! RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like:
Chicken With A Cranberry, Port & Orange Sauce, Served With Sugared Braised Belgian En on Foodista
77 responses to “Chicken with a cranberry, port & orange sauce, served with sugared braised Belgian endives

  1. Koko says:

    Sophie, this is an absolutely stunning meal. It looks soooo good!I got your Christmas card today ( I was in Mexico for a few days) and it is beautiful! Thank you so much for you kind words, and I hope you have had a great holiday season, with plenty of good food and fun in the new year. It sure has been a great year, getting to know you!

  2. Sophie!! :DYour blog is beautiful! mmmmm too :)Feliz 2010!Happy 2010!Kisses…beijos…Vinni/ Brasil

  3. You always manage to hit just the right notes. This chicken feast looks like a perfect way to continue the holiday celebration in a tasty style

  4. Erica says:

    Beautiful dish, Sophie! Happy new year!!!

  5. ooh, te endive looks great! I love them raw, but have never had them cooked. Will have to give it a try soon!

  6. Cathy says:

    Your dinner is beautiful, Sophie. Chicken and cranberry sauce is a favorite of mine. I've seen endive in the market but have never prepared it. I must try it soon.

  7. Ellie says:

    Lovely dinner! Beautiful Cranberry sauce!

  8. Joanne says:

    I love everythign about this recipes, from the delicious cranberry sauce to the Belgian endives. Caramelized veggies are the way to go!

  9. HOpe you had a wonderful Christmas. Great looking dish, I love carmalized veggies. The cranberry sauce adds a beautiful colour to the plate. Awesome job :)*kisses* HH

  10. Linda says:

    Sophie, it's always good to hear from you! Your food looks festive and delicious. I've just been saving some of your holiday recipes to try for New Year's Eve.Have a wonderful 2010!

  11. I love endive, and this looks like a great recipe–thank you!!! Have a happy, happy, healthy new year!

  12. un plat très appétissant qui me donne envie de repasser à tablebonne soirée

  13. Claudia says:

    How pretty – grand for New Year's weekend. I love the flavors in the cranberry sauce. I also adore endive and never think to cook it. Beautiful meal! Happy 2010, Sophie!

  14. Un plat fort appétissant! Vraiment succulent!Bises et meilleurs voeux pour 2010!Rosa

  15. Christine says:

    I've never cooked endive before but after seeing this post, I would like to try. Do you think this would be good without the sugar? Do you have any other braising methods for endive? Beautiful dinner you created, Sophie.

  16. Clémence says:

    quel délice cette sauce !

  17. What a lovely festive meal! Wish you a rewarding and exciting 2010 ahead of you!

  18. Donna-FFW says:

    That sauce sounds absolutely delicious! You alwyas choose the most fantastic meals!

  19. Tiina says:

    What a lovely sauce!Greetings,Tiina

  20. Kristen says:

    I love cranberries, especially with a savory dish. This looks delicious :)

  21. That looks delicious Sophie! I've never made my own cranberry sauce before so this is great! I hope you had a fun Christmas :D

  22. Velva says:

    Sophie, love the braised endive. Very nice. The cranberry sauce looks perfect. Cranberries are always a great side dish with with chicken or other fowl. Happy New Year!

  23. Barbara says:

    I'm crazy about this combination, Sophy! Love the port wine cranberries.Have never braised endive..I do like baby bok choy braised like this though.Nice to have you back and I hope you had a lovely holiday season.I wish you a very happy new year!(I looked back on my blog recently and discovered you were my very first comment! That means to much to me; thank you !)

  24. Carolyn Jung says:

    Brown butter and endives! I never have had that combo before. But this might be one way for me to get my hubby to eat endives since he always complains they are too bitter.

  25. nora@ffr says:

    ive never heard of this method!! i should give a try!! my husband got a very good Belgium friend!! but he never mention abt this!hehe!! m loving the cranberry sause! :)

  26. Trissa says:

    What a great idea to make your own cranberry sauce! I normally use the bottled variety and that is already good enough for me – making it myself would really bring cranberries to a new level!

  27. Katy ~ says:

    This is my first time here and all I can say is WOW! Everything catches my eye and sounds and looks so good! Right now, with single digit temps here, all your soups have huge appeal. Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving such a nice comment. It's welcomed and appreciated when an excellent cook such as yourself leaves a word of encouragement and support.Wishing you the best of 2010.

  28. How mouth watering. I love cranberries. Nice dish. Have a great New Year.

  29. looks awesome Sophie love your cooking Happy New Year love Rebecca

  30. Happy New Year! I love the splash of color for holiday foods!

  31. Natasha says:

    Those Braised Endives just say "Eat Me!" What a lovely meal!

  32. Valérie says:

    Sophie, this sounds delicious! Happy New Year in advance!

  33. Grace says:

    such lovely colors, flavors, and textures! i can't help it–that cranberry sauce appeals to me more than anything. :)really wonderful meal, sophie!

  34. theUngourmet says:

    I've never had endive this way. This looks like a wonderful and flavorful meal! Happy New Year!

  35. What a beautiful, HAPPY dish, Sophie! :) Wishing you and your loved ones a wonderful 2010, filled with laughter and joy!!! HugsJu

  36. Selba says:

    Happy New Year 2010 to you and your family, Sophie! :)

  37. zurin says:

    beautiful n delicious looking dish Sophie!wishing you a very happy new year ..may it bring more joy to u n ur loved ones!xxxzurin

  38. Looks totally delish! I wouldn't mind a plate for breakie… with the real butter of course!

  39. Olga says:

    I would have never thouhgt of cooking endives, what an interesting idea.The cranberry sauce looks great!Happy New Year!

  40. wow what a meal! and I really have to try cooking endives. Happy new year!

  41. Gloria says:

    Dear Sophie I love this recipe, Have a wonderful and happy New Year, cheers! gloria

  42. Alexa says:

    We use to eat cooked endives all the time when I was growing up in France. Your meal looks beautiful as always. Warmest Wishes for a Happy New Year!

  43. Port and cranberries….a lovely combination Sophie. Happy new year and I hope 2010 brings you much happiness and good health.Sam

  44. Huum ton plat à l'air d'être un vrai régal, j'aurai adOrée le gôuter!! =)Surtout avec cette sauce au cranberry… Hum je mangerai bien a nouveau!:DSuper ton blog!!

  45. El says:

    Everything looks delicious. I love cranberries…especially with potatoes. May you have a wonderful. healthy, happy 2010!

  46. I've never had Belgian Endives….part of my New Year's resolutions!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  47. I am continuously searching online for articles that can facilitate me. Thanks!

  48. Layla says:

    Just wanted to give you a shout from the valley of the sun, great information. Much appreciated.

  49. Hey, you used to write magnificent, but the last several posts have been kinda boring… I miss your great writings. Past few posts are just a little bit out of track! come on!

  50. you’re actually a just right webmaster. The web site loading velocity is incredible. It kind of feels that you are doing any distinctive trick. Moreover, The contents are masterwork. you’ve performed a excellent job in this subject!

  51. A lot of thanks for all your valuable effort on this blog. My aunt enjoys doing internet research and it is easy to understand why. Many of us hear all regarding the compelling form you give insightful tricks through this website and in addition boost contribution from the others on that matter plus our favorite child has been studying a lot. Take advantage of the remaining portion of the new year. You’re conducting a splendid job.

  52. Warsztat says:

    Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely useful info particularly the last part :) I care for such info much. I was looking for this certain info for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  53. I really like your writing style, excellent information, appreciate it for posting :D. “I will show you fear in a handful of dust.” by T. S. Eliot.

  54. Keep up the excellent piece of work, I read few content on this web site and I think that your web site is really interesting and holds bands of superb information.

  55. I like this post, enjoyed this one thank you for putting up.

  56. Ulrike Ojeda says:

    I really appreciate this post. I have been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thank you again!

  57. Some genuinely great info , Gladiola I discovered this. “Underpromise overdeliver.” by Tom Peters.

  58. Hello my loved one! I wish to say that this article is awesome, nice written and include approximately all important infos. I’d like to peer extra posts like this.

  59. My blog says:

    I like your writing style genuinely enjoying this web site. “I only regret that I have one life to lose for my country.” by Nathan Hale.

  60. I needed to put you this tiny remark to finally give thanks yet again over the fantastic techniques you have contributed in this article. This has been certainly seriously generous of you to allow publicly what a lot of people could possibly have offered for sale for an e book to help with making some profit on their own, notably now that you could possibly have done it if you desired. Those points likewise acted to be the great way to fully grasp other individuals have a similar keenness similar to my personal own to find out somewhat more in terms of this condition. I’m certain there are a lot more fun times ahead for many who discover your website.

  61. Hey very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds additionally…I’m happy to seek out a lot of useful info here within the submit, we want develop more techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing.

  62. An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topic!.

  63. Thank you for this post. I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon.

  64. Hey, you used to write magnificent, but the last several posts have been kinda boring… I miss your tremendous writings. Past few posts are just a bit out of track! come on!

  65. OC says:

    I went over this site and I believe you have a lot of fantastic information, saved to my bookmarks (:.

  66. Just wanna input on few general things, The website style is perfect, the articles is rattling superb : D.

  67. Summer Storm says:

    Simply wanna input on few general things, The website design and style is perfect, the subject material is real wonderful : D.

  68. [...] & pecans, served with maple’s butter 2. Cranberry muffins with pecans & orange 3. Cranberry port orange sauce, home-made! 4. Dark chocolate squares with cranberries & pecans 5. Spiced cranberry & orange relish 6. [...]

  69. Wesele says:

    Good work:) Thank You for this news

  70. I love reading your blog. I’ve you bookmarked your website in order to check out the latest stuff.

  71. I loved as much as you’ll receive performed right here. The cartoon is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an shakiness over that you would like be delivering the following. ill indubitably come more before again since exactly the similar just about very ceaselessly inside of case you defend this increase.

  72. Needed to post you the little word so as to give thanks yet again for all the amazing basics you’ve documented in this article. This has been quite wonderfully open-handed of people like you giving extensively just what a lot of people could possibly have sold for an e-book to generate some profit for themselves, precisely since you might well have done it if you wanted. The solutions likewise served as the easy way to comprehend someone else have a similar passion much like mine to see great deal more with reference to this condition. I believe there are millions of more pleasant moments up front for individuals that scan through your website.

  73. Erma says:

    Very interesting info !Perfect just what I was searching for! “Time is money.” by Benjamin Franklin.

  74. um Funktion says:

    This can be a ideal blog for everyone who wants to discover more on this kind of topic. You know a lot its almost really hard to argue with you (not that I actually would likely want…HaHa). You certainly put a new spin on a topic thats been discussed for many years. Excellent stuff, just amazing!

  75. [...] 1. Chicken with a cranberry, port & orange sauce, served with sugared braised endive (witlof ) with… Yum! And with home-made cranberry, port & orange sauce!  ( The sauce is Dairy-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian & Gluten-Free too! ) Yum! And with home-made cranberry, port & orange sauce! [...]

  76. [...] I made these stunning desserts. I made an old recipe of mine of a tasty home-made cranberry boozy sauce & added silken tofu with it. I used in this recipe powdered coconut sugar instead of normal [...]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,096 other followers

