Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Sophie’s festive onion, apple & apple cider soup

on 03/12/2009

A festive alternative soup!


I so much love this easy yet so tasty festive soup. It is sort of onion soup but apples, apple cider, bay leaves, thyme & vegetable stock are added. Just before serving, a handful of grated Gruyère is added in the middle & chopped chives are scattered around the cheese!

A tasty cider Brut!

Recipe: For 6 persons, 1 bowl of soup
Ingredients:
800 gr of white , peeled & sliced onions ( weighted when peeled & sliced )
2 medium leeks, well washed, cleaned & finely sliced
2 eating apples, I used Granny Smith, peeled, cored out, cut into little chunks from 0.5 cm x 0.5 cm
2 medium potatoes, peeled & finely cut up
150 ml of cider brut, I used Duché de Longueville, cider brut! I love this Normandy cider.
1100 ml of gluten-free vegetable stock
3 dried bay leaves
4 long sprigs of fresh thyme, washed & pad dry on kitchen paper
gluten-free baking margarine : about 75 gr.
** To serve:
200 gr grated Gruyère cheese
about 10 long fresh chives sprigs, washed, cleaned & pad dry on kitchen paper
Method:
1. Take a large & wide cooking pot & heat up on a medium high heat. Add baking margarine or more.
When the butter has melted & sizzles, add the sliced onions, leeks & apples. Fry for about 15 minutes , with the lid on, stirring frequently until they all have softened.
2. Add the potatoes & the cider. Stir often. Bring to the boil & cook for 2 to 5 minutes until the volume from the cider has reduced a bit.
3. Add the vegetable stock, bay leaves & thyme sprigs. Reduce the heat to simmer point & place the lid on the pot. Simmer the soup for another 25 to 30 minutes or until all the vegetables are cooked through.
4. Remove the 3 bay leaves & lift out the 4 thyme sprigs.
5. Liquidize the soup until you have it to your liking. I puréed mine all the way.
6. Just before serving: ladle your soup into festive soup bowls. Take about a handful of the grated Gruyère cheese & lay it in the middle of the soup. With the help of scissors, snip the chives into little pieces & scatter around the grated cheese.
Enjoy!!
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
Sophie's Festive Onion, Apple & Apple Cider Soup on Foodista

113 responses to “Sophie’s festive onion, apple & apple cider soup

  1. Olive says:

    this is nice..nothing like a warm soup on cold nights..perfect for this season..Thanks for sharing, Sophie :)

  2. zurin says:

    Onions and cheese are such good friends. and the cider must have made it better :))

  3. Trissa says:

    Sophie – that looks gorgeous – what a great idea. I adore onion soup but never had it like this!

  4. Debbie says:

    Sophie – What a great soup! I've never heard of an apple cider soup but would love to try it. I think my husband would just love this!

  5. Rowena... says:

    Great! I received a large bottle of cider on Thanksgiving and was wondering if there could be other ways to use it up (aside from drinking it). Love the idea of cheese at the end…

  6. This sounds fantastic with the cider! And, the gruyere on top looks delicious.

  7. Jacqueline says:

    Mmmmm, that sounds really divine. I have to try this :)

  8. Valérie says:

    Once again, you manage to find surprising flavour combinations! The cider and apples must add such a nice note of tangy sweetness to this soup!

  9. Judy says:

    Sophie, you have the most creative, unique recipes. This looks like a great soup!

  10. Gloria says:

    Sophie this look absolutely tasty and yummy! xgloria

  11. A wonderful combination with apple cider, what an amazing soup!

  12. Claudia says:

    Oh! I am loving this soup – right now – with Granny Smith. I always worry that the cider adds too much sweetness? Maybe it'as my cider?? Cheese on top is grand!

  13. Sophie, this looks like a great soup with a very interesting combination of flavors! Thanks for sharing!

  14. I wouldn't have thought of putting these flavours together, I'd love to try it :)

  15. Sophie, this sounds absolutely delicious. Great combinations of flavors. Thanks…

  16. KiraAJ says:

    mmmmm this looks like it would warm u up on a cold winters night! yumo!

  17. Daily Spud says:

    Truly you are the mistress of soups, Sophie – lovely!

  18. Oooh onion and apple! What an intriguing sounding combo! Sophie, you always come up with something interesting and new :)

  19. Oh my – Sophie, you've outdone yourself, this looks amazing. Thanks as always for sharing – you make me look good!

  20. Cheryl says:

    Now that looks like a simply delicious soup,love it!

  21. this sounds sooooo good! I love cider, and faired with gruyere and leeks? excellent!

  22. Kerstin says:

    What a tasty soup! I love the cider in it!

  23. Jamie says:

    Oh, delicious! What a treat! And love that I'm finally seeing a great recipe using our kind of cider instead of American apple cider. This really is a stunning, festive version of onion soup!

  24. Joanne says:

    I love sprinkling gruyere and chives on things. They are both just so awesome.I love the flavors in this soup. Apples and onions are a great pairing.

  25. What a wonderful combination of ingredients Sophie. The cider sounds especially inviting. And you topped it with Gruyere…my favorite.Sam

  26. Palidor says:

    I've never eaten apple soup. It looks delicious! Love the cheese on top.

  27. mmm, I'm trying to imagine this soup. I would love some right now.

  28. I love onion soup, and I love the apple-onion combo (in eggs, on pork)…so this is right up my alley!

  29. you make me want to try it! We love onion soup here and this is such an interesting take on the classic one!

  30. Koko says:

    Sophie, this looks and sounds absolutely amazing! I want to make this sooo bad, but I'm overwhelmed with school right now. I hope I can make this over the weekend! YUM!!!!

  31. This soup sounds wonderful with the apple cider, it's new to me, am curious to try to see how it tastes.

  32. Natasha says:

    What an ingenious way to use apples! Definitely a festive dish and a must-try. Thanks again:o)

  33. Haddock says:

    I am drooling….

  34. You came up up with the best combination of the onions, apples and cider.Very savory soup!

  35. This is a gorgeous soup! A very creative combination of ingredients too! So delicious!

  36. Sophie, please excuse me not visiting often, but I really can't get updated regularly from your blog. I've tried deleting, adding, deleting and adding again your blog to my follower list, but it stays the same.The soup looks very good! Festive, nutritious and flavourful!

  37. This sounds absolutely delicious Sophie! Just lovely flavors!

  38. Mrs. B. says:

    oooh, apple in a soup! How interesting. It looks and sounds delish!

  39. Michelle says:

    Oh Sophie this looks perfect for this time of year! It's very cold here….32 F is the high! What is the weather like there?I miss visiting..once my move is done and the holidays are over I will be more active in visiting you!! xoxoLots of hugs!!Michelle and the kitties :)

  40. Pam says:

    I love, love, love onion soup!

  41. Paz says:

    A very festive soup, indeed.Paz

  42. A gorgeouss soup! Comforting!Cheers,Rosa

  43. Mmmmm… Nice one! Can't wait to try it and see how it tastes like :-)

  44. It IS festive, alright! Very warming and hearty and homey!! Lovely, Sophie!!

  45. This is such a comforting soup! I like the apples!

  46. Barbara says:

    Wonderful soup,Sophie! The apples and cider are a great addition- and the flavor of thyme would be yummy. Add the gruyere and I'm sold!

  47. Muneeba says:

    Ideal weather these days for a soup like that! I like the way you garnished it.

  48. Ozoz says:

    Interesting combination but I'm sure it works. Cider has a way of going with some things, leaving a hint and thread of apple spice!

  49. I love soup! And this one sounds great.

  50. theUngourmet says:

    This looks so wonderful. I've never eaten anything like it but I can tell it would instantly be a favorite. Yum!

  51. Ricardo says:

    Did you put a pink filter on your camera? Looks cool….I absolutely love soups even though I don't get around to do them that much, this one sounds very delicious and heart warming (maybe the pink glow symbolises that lol) Luv your cooking really do..thanks for sharing cheers babe!! xxxxx

  52. Grace says:

    terrific soup, sophie! i think the apple cider is a fabulous, unexpected component that'd add quite a bit to the flavor. it's definitely festive and definitely delicious!

  53. pierre says:

    hello sophie I love to ccok with cider and I have visited "la cidrerie de Longuevill" a long time ago ! cheers from Paris Pierre

  54. Diana H says:

    Apples and onions are one of my favorite combinations. Sounds like a really delicious soup.

  55. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

  56. Isabelle says:

    With all the doggone snow we have gotten recently I am stuck indoors, fortunately there is the internet, thanks for giving me something to do. :)

  57. Just wanna input on few general things, The website design and style is perfect, the content is very wonderful : D.

  58. Good web site! I truly love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m wondering how I might be notified when a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your RSS feed which must do the trick! Have a great day! “Reputation is what other people know about you. Honor is what you know about yourself.” by Lois McMaster Bujold.

  59. Appreciate it for all your efforts that you have put in this. Very interesting information. “Gods are fragile things they may be killed by a whiff of science or a dose of common sense.” by Chapman Cohen.

  60. Definitely, what a magnificent site and instructive article similar as Sophie’s festive onion, apple & apple cider soup Sophies Foodie Files I definitely will bookmark your site.All the Best!

  61. I like this post, enjoyed this one thank you for posting. “No trumpets sound when the important decisions of our life are made. Destiny is made known silently.” by Agnes de Mille.

  62. You have observed very interesting points! ps decent site.

  63. arai says:

    I dugg some of you post as I cerebrated they were extremely helpful invaluable

  64. Some really nice and utilitarian info on this web site, besides I think the style has superb features.

  65. Nia Corrieri says:

    Very interesting subject, thanks for putting up.

  66. Appreciate it for all your efforts that you have put in this. Very interesting information. “Knowledge of what is possible is the beginning of happiness.” by George Santayana.

  67. I like this weblog it’s a master piece! Glad I found this on google.

  68. Jordan Doub says:

    I was reading some of your content on this site and I believe this website is rattling informative! Keep putting up.

  69. I see something genuinely interesting about your blog so I bookmarked .

  70. Awesome post! I will keep an on eye on your blog.

  71. Awesome post! I will keep an on eye on your blog.

  72. Lori Holets says:

    Enjoyed looking at this, very good stuff, appreciate it. “A man does not die of love or his liver or even of old age he dies of being a man.” by Percival Arland Ussher.

  73. I view something really special in this site.

  74. Some genuinely nice and utilitarian information on this website, besides I think the design contains excellent features.

  75. shopin says:

    Great post. Thank you.

  76. Rachel Horne says:

    Have you ever thought about writing an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs? I have a blog based upon on the same ideas you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my subscribers would appreciate your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

  77. Fransisca says:

    Dead composed subject material, Really enjoyed reading.

  78. Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is great, let alone the content!

  79. travel says:

    Great post!

  80. newsy says:

    It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or tips. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article. I wish to read even more things about it!

  81. Your post is extremely interesting. Can you post again soon?

  82. I¡¦ve recently started a web site, the info you offer on this website has helped me greatly. Thanks for all of your time & work.

  83. Wow! Thank you! I continually needed to write on my blog something like that. Can I take a fragment of your post to my website?

  84. I love reading your blog. I’ve you bookmarked your website in order to check out the latest stuff.

  85. A formidable share, I simply given this onto a colleague who was doing slightly analysis on this. And he actually bought me breakfast because I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the deal with! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If doable, as you become experience, would you thoughts updating your weblog with extra details? It is highly helpful for me. Massive thumb up for this blog post!

  86. I was looking through some of your blog posts on this internet site and I conceive this internet site is rattling instructive! Keep on putting up.

  87. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  88. Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the internet the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while people consider worries that they plainly do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  89. You have remarked very interesting details! ps decent internet site.

  90. I’ve read a few good stuff here. Certainly value bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how a lot effort you put to make this kind of fantastic informative site.

  91. I am not sure where you’re getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for wonderful info I was looking for this information for my mission.

  92. Good blog! I truly love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I am wondering how I might be notified when a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your feed which must do the trick! Have a nice day! “Reputation is what other people know about you. Honor is what you know about yourself.” by Lois McMaster Bujold.

  93. I really appreciate this post. I’ve been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thank you again! “All that is gold does not glitter not all those that wander are lost.” by J. R. R. Tolkien.

  94. Whats up very nice website!! Guy .. Excellent .. Superb .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds also…I am glad to find numerous helpful information right here in the publish, we want work out extra techniques on this regard, thanks for sharing.

  95. I dugg some of you post as I thought they were handy invaluable

  96. Daryl Tiano says:

    It is really a nice and useful piece of information. I’m glad that you shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  97. Awesome post! I will keep an on eye on your blog.

  98. Hello i am so delighted I discovered your weblog, I actually discovered you by error, while I was searching Yahoo for a bit else, Anyways I am at this juncture now in addition to would just similar to to speak thanks for a great webpage posting as well as a all round absorbing web page (I as well love the theme/design), I do not have time to read it all at the right now but I have bookmarked it in addition to in addition added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read further..

  99. Fran Venkus says:

    Hi, i’m Fran Venkus and I must state that ” Sophie’s festive onion, apple & apple cider soup Sophies Foodie Files ” is without question a good quality info.

  100. i cant get how you’ll be able to reveal like this wonderful posts admin a lot thanks

  101. April says:

    I like this website it’s a master piece! Glad I discovered this on google.

  102. lv belt says:

    Thanks a lot for sharing this with all of us you actually realize what you are talking about! Bookmarked. Please also discuss with my web site =). We may have a link exchange agreement between us!

  103. Hello, how’s it going? Just shared this post with a colleague, we had a good laugh.

  104. Outstanding quest there. What happened after? Good luck!

  105. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! By the way, how could we communicate?

  106. I’ve been absent for some time, but now I remember why I used to love this website. Thank you, Iˇll try and check back more frequently. How frequently you update your site?

  107. lv belt says:

    Iˇve learn some just right stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how a lot attempt you place to make one of these wonderful informative web site.

  108. Useful information. Fortunate me I discovered your web site by accident, and I’m stunned why this coincidence didn’t happened in advance! I bookmarked it.

  109. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I do not know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already ;) Cheers!

  110. Wow! This could be one particular of the most useful blogs We have ever arrive across on this subject. Actually Excellent. I’m also an expert in this topic therefore I can understand your hard work.

  111. [...] 2. Sophie’s festive onion, apple & apple cider soup [...]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 947 other followers

