Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Sophie’s cranberry & ginger tea & my 1st blog anniversary!

on 15/11/2009

A delightful & festive cranberry tea!

I love making this delicious cranberry & fresh ginger tea. It is truly festive,…
Recipe: For about 3 larger mugs
Ingredients:
700 ml of cranberry juice/ I use Ocean spray
6 to 8 cm fresh ginger root, peel removed with a vegetable peeler, cut up into pieces
1 to 3 tablespoons of white fine sugar / I used 2 tablespoons
the juice of 1 orange
1 lemon, thinly sliced into rounds & cut into 2 , so that you have wedges
1 tea bag of Earl Grey tea ( Twinings ): 5 minutes soaked in 1/2 cup of hot boiling water: 4 tablespoons
Method:
1. Take a cooking pot & pour the cranberry juice in it. Bring to the boil.
2. When boiling, add the ginger root pieces & let them boil for about 10 minutes in the juice.
3. Adjust the heat, add the sugar & 4 tablespoons of the Earl Grey tea. Mix well & let it simmer for 5 minutes until the sugar is dissolved.
4. Pour the tea through a fine sieve & pour into serving cups. Add 1 tablespoon of the orange juice to each cup, mix with a spoon & top with a lemon wedge.
Enjoy!!! This is just lovely!!!
Now, tomorrow is my 1st Blog anniversary!! Has it really been 1 year already???
ooh Yes! This has been a learning experience! What first started with my view on cookery books & recipes, has turned out with creating mostly my own recipes. I have enjoyed it from the beginning, all thanks to you, my lovely readers!
I think the Blogger’s world is something special! I have made such good friends with all of you from various parts of the world!
So, a huge thank you to all of you!!
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
Sophie's Cranberry & Ginger Tea on Foodista
72 responses to “Sophie’s cranberry & ginger tea & my 1st blog anniversary!

  1. Happy 1st Anniversary to you and thanks for giving us the gift of this lovely sounding drink. Cranberries and ginger sound perfect for this time of year!

  2. Claudia says:

    Happy, happy first anniversary to you. And what fine recipes you do create. Te tea is a Sunday afternoon comforting winner.

  3. Koko says:

    Wow, Sophie, what a fantastic tea! I would never think to use cranberry juice with Earl Grey- it sounds perfect for a chilly, rainy day!!Congratulations on your BLOG ANNIVERSARY! I have so enjoyed following your blog and becoming friends with you. I wish you even more success with your blog in the year to come!

  4. Congrats to you! A full year is a big feat. Hope you have many more years ahead.

  5. Rowena... says:

    Congratulations on your 1st year Sophie!

  6. Hi Sophie, congrats to your one year blog anniversary. The cranberry and ginger sounds great and you deserve one to enjoy a relaxing day tomorrow. It has been to know you through blogging and met you in person. Take care : )

  7. This looks gorgeous! Happy anniversary and keep up with the great work!Cheers,Rosa

  8. Junglefrog says:

    This looks delicious Sophie and Happy Blog-o-versary!! Doesn't time fly??

  9. Ellie says:

    Happy 1st Anniversary and lovely tea! Time to cdelebrate!

  10. Daily Spud says:

    Tea with flavours of cranberry, ginger and Earl Grey sounds like an absolute must-try! And of course Happy 1st Blog Anniversary to you – it's been great getting to know you and I have no doubt that you have many more years of happy blogging in you :)

  11. Pam says:

    Happy blogiversary – the tea sounds wonderful.

  12. Congratulations on your first year! Earl grey is one of my favorite teas!

  13. Hannah says:

    Congratulations, and happy blogoversary! Hope it's a happy commemoration, with many more to come. :)

  14. Katrine says:

    Happy anniversary Sophie! Keep up the good work ;)

  15. Congratulations Sophie! Congrats congrats congrats!I wish you all the best in life and in blogging.

  16. donna says:

    What a lovely sounding drink. I love these flavors, and presentation is gorgeous!! Happy 1st blogiversary!!

  17. Joanne says:

    Happy blogiversary! What an achievement. I love the blogger world.this tea looks fantastic! Cranberries are just so delicious in any form.

  18. Congratulations! One year! I hope there are many more!

  19. zurin says:

    Wow Sophie that tea looks really festive and sounds delicious with all the juices combined. I want to try this. tq for sharing this wonderful recipe! :)

  20. Erica says:

    Happy Anniversary!!!That looks delicious!

  21. Barbara says:

    Nice tea, Sophie!And Happy First Blogoversary. (Mine went by and I didn't even know it!)Anyway- I love visiting your blog. Keep the good recipes coming!

  22. Congrats on your first blog annniversary Sophie! I wish you celebrate many more and keep creating delicious recipes to share with us :-D

  23. Happy 1st year blog anniversary!!! The tea sounds so nice & warming!

  24. Happy Anniversary to you Sophie! I always look forward to your great lovely recipes and and fun blog. Keep it coming! Cheers!!

  25. Grace says:

    this is pretty much the perfect tea for this time of year. it sounds delicious, and congrats on hitting one year!

  26. Jef Boven says:

    Congrats for the courageous and inventive girl that produces such a lovely, even world-famous blog!Lou & Jef

  27. Happy anniversary! Here's to many more fabulous posts!

  28. Christine says:

    Congrats! Happy Anniversary !Love ginger tea, so comforting!

  29. Congratulations on your blogoversary! I have very much enjoyed your creative posts. The tea sounds lovely. I love cranberry!

  30. Cynthia says:

    Happy Blogiversary! :) I like your tea combo.

  31. Happy 1st Blogiversary Sophie! Have another great year!

  32. Happy Anniversary. I just love tea!

  33. Carolyn Jung says:

    Congrats on your milestone! I raise a cup of tea to your one-year anniversary. ;)

  34. Debbie says:

    Happy blog anniversary to you!!!! You have a wonderful blog that I enjoy very much!

  35. Linda says:

    Happy anniversary, Sophie–you have a lovely blog. The cranberry tea looks delish!

  36. Olga says:

    Happy anniversary! To many more years of delicious food ;)

  37. Clémence says:

    Happy Blogiversary (apparemment c'est comme ça que l'on dit mais je suis nulle en anglais !)

  38. Lesley says:

    Happy 1st Anniversary Sophie!I'm soo pleased to be friends with you, you have a great blog & I can't wait to make this cranberry & ginger tea tonight, I have all the ingredients yay! x

  39. Thanks for the well-wishes! I'm really nervous!

  40. KennyT says:

    Happy belated anniversary!

  41. Mrs. B. says:

    That tea sounds heavenly. I'm having a cranberry week too…just made a cranberry upside-down cake. Isn't this fruit the best?Happy anniversary!

  42. Congratulation. What a nice bog!

  43. Congratulations on your 1 year blogsoversary Sophie and may there be many, many more! :D

  44. Congratulations, dear Sophie! You're one of the nicest, funniest, sweetest food bloggers around! I love your festive tea as much as I love your blog! Happy birthday, Sophie's Foodie Files! Many happy returns :)Ju

  45. Congratulations on your first anniversary! You are such a kind soul spreading cheer all along the world with your recipes. This is a fabulous tea elixir, so festive for the holidays and perfect for the cold weather.

  46. El says:

    Congratulations on your anniversary. The tea looks marvelous!

  47. Elra says:

    Happy 1st anniversary Sophie! And what a delicious tea to celebrate it.

  48. Kerstin says:

    Happy Blogiversary!! This tea looks like the perfect way to celebrate :)

  49. Kristen says:

    Happy, Happy, Happy Anniversary! You have done a great job and you can tell from all the commenters :) Cheers to you and that delicious Tea!

  50. Congrats on your first Blogiversary, Sophie!! It's amazing how time flies, isn't it? That said, although I'm not much of a tea person, yours looks great, and makes me want to 'tea' again, since i haven't since I was a child, sick in bed :)

  51. isa says:

    Congratulations on your first blog anniversary! You have a very creative and lovely blog!

  52. Michelle says:

    Sophie, so nice to be back and visiting!! This tea is right up my alley and my girlfriend would love this too. We're going to tea Satrday and I will have to tell her about this. Thank you EVER SO MUCH for coming by with your well wishes for all of us. We're all healing now..Mocha is healing slowly but she has her appetite back and is drinking on her own now! I think that's a good sign.Your thoughtfulness was so touching…thank you, thank you!Lots of love and hugs!Michelle, Mocha, Quincy and Emma :)

  53. Diana H says:

    Sophie, you're a great friend, who I can count on to stick around even if I get so overloaded with activities I don't come around as often as I would like. Thank you!

  54. nora@ffr says:

    wow!! excellent!!!

  55. Lynda says:

    This sounds like delicious, refreshing tea. I love the addition of ginger to all the fruity goodness of this Earl Grey! I'm bookmarking this- my husband and I love tea and this sounds wonderful.

  56. Dawn says:

    sophie- I loved reading the little bit of history on this. I have Belgium on my list of places to see before I die. That and see where my relatives came from: Denmark. Wonderful read!

  57. Muneeba says:

    Congrats on the anniversary Sophie … you've made the foodie blogosphere a better place!! :)

  58. Happy anniversary!!! I can't wait for another year of fun recipes!

  59. Sapuche says:

    Congratulations on your one-year blog anniversary! It’s great to hear that you’ve learned so much and made so many friends by blogging. Here’s wishing you another year of happy blogging, and many more after that!

  60. Y says:

    Happy blog anniversary, Sophie! xx

  61. Mary Coleman says:

    Happy blogoversary to you too!!!! And thanks for being a loyal reader. I love this cranberry tea. Just the perfect thing for a cold rainy Sunday in Tennessee.Mary Coleman

  62. mangocheeks says:

    I really like this cranberry drink. I really want to make it now as the weather is changing here for the worst and I have the sniffles.And I know its late, but happy belated blogoversary to you.

  63. Natasha says:

    Congratulations on your great year of blogging! I drink tons of tea and this recipe looks perfect for cold Minnesota days. Thanks for sharing!

  64. Bert Huyser says:

    We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your site provided us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done a formidable job and our entire community will be grateful to you.

  65. Alexis says:

    This was novel. I wish I could read every post, but i have to go back to work now… But I’ll return.

  66. I like this blog very much so much good information.

  67. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author.I will remember to bookmark your blog and may come back later in life. I want to encourage that you continue your great posts, have a nice afternoon!

  68. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I love the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, great site!

  69. Howdy! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us useful information to work on. You have done a marvellous job!

  70. Have you ever thought about writing an e-book or guest authoring on other sites? I have a blog based upon on the same information you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my subscribers would enjoy your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

  71. Wow! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on a entirely different topic but it has pretty much the same layout and design. Great choice of colors!

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 928 other followers

