Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Caramelised onions & Brussels sprouts soup

on 11/11/2009

A tasty & alternative soup using Brussels Sprouts!

This is one lovely soup. It is from Sophie Grigson!!! She is a very well-known English cook. I am a real fan of her recipes & writing. I have 2 books of her.

This is a caramelized onion & Brussels sprouts soup. It takes a lot of time to make but it is so worth it.

Print me!
Recipe: For 6 persons, each 1 bowl
Ingredients:
450 gr white onions, peeled & finely chopped ( weighted when peeled )
450 gr Brussels sprouts, cleaned, washed , bottom cut off, cut into 2 horizontally ( weighted when cleaned )
1 tablespoon of raw, cane sugar
1100 ml of gluten-free vegetable stock
5 long sprigs of fresh thyme, no sprigs, only the leaves, washed, pad dry on kitchen paper
sea salt
finely grinned black pepper
30 gr gluten-free soy baking margarine
Method:
1. Take a large cooking pot or the pot from the steam cooker. Add the baking margarine & let it melt on medium heat. Add the chopped onions & let them fry on the gentle heat, with the lid on, for about 20 to 30 minutes until the onions are very soft & tender.
2. Sprinkle the sugar over the onions & cook, without the lid for an extra 10 -15 minutes until the onions look nearly as jam. Stir from time to time.
3. Add the thyme leaves & the Brussels sprouts. Stir well.
4. Add the stock & season with a bit of sea salt & 6 or more grinds of black pepper. Now, put the lid of the steamcooker on top & cook for 5 minutes on medium heat until the sprouts are tender & until the lid sizzles a lot. Turn the heat off & set the steam free. If you don’t have that, cook the soup for about 10 -15 minutes until the sprouts are just al dente, tender but they don’t fall apart!
5. I purée, liquidize the soup for 3/4, so that there are still pieces of onion & Brussels sprouts floating in the soup. Taste the soup. Add sea salt & pepper if necessary! The soup has to taste fab!
6. Serve in soup bowls & enjoy!!

A divine soup

If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like:
1. Brussels sprouts with garlic, onion & soy cream
2. Belgian Brussels sprouts stoemp with sausages
Caramelised Onions & Brussels Sprouts Soup on Foodista
87 responses to “Caramelised onions & Brussels sprouts soup

  1. Wow, I never would have thought of this combination, thanks for sharing, it looks delicious and also for introducing us to another wonderful Sophie!

  2. Barbara says:

    I'm really fond of brussel sprouts, Sophie, but never heard of them in a soup! You always have such interesting recipes! I like the thyme in it- will try it during the first cold snap we have down here!

  3. Sounds delicious! I love brussels sprouts and this is a great use of them.

  4. Sophie, this is perfect for my family as Brussels sprouts are one of the few vegetables my husband and daughter will eat. I roast them at least once a week. Can't wait to try your soup.

  5. I'm not a huge fan of brussel sprouts but if you say that it's good I'd give it a go! ;)

  6. How neat, I've never seen a recipe for Brussels sprouts soup, I bet it is fantastic!

  7. Hannah says:

    Anything with caramelized onions sounds good to me! What a delicious-looking recipe. :)

  8. We both love brussels sprouts, so this could be worth the time and effort.

  9. Pam says:

    I am not a fan of brussel sprouts but this soup makes me want to give them a second chance.

  10. I love the flavor of caramelized onions, and I actually love brussels sprouts so this soup is going straight to the top of my must-try list!

  11. Joanne says:

    I've never heard of Brussels sprouts in a soup. How intriguing!

  12. Oh what an interesting combo! But caramelised onions are always a welcome! :) Yummmm!!!

  13. Grace says:

    brussels sprouts have never appealed to me, but what do you know–the simple addition of AMAZING caramelized onions is all it takes to make me crave them. :)

  14. Daily Spud says:

    What an interesting combination – I, too, have never thought of using sprouts in a soup. Will have to try!

  15. I love caramelised onions! I guess they should be excellent in a soup!

  16. Carolyn Jung says:

    I can't say that I've ever used Brussels sprouts in soup. How intriguing!

  17. Koko says:

    Sophie, I have never even heard of brussel sprout soup! And I LOVE Brussel Sprouts, and even better….caramelised onions!!!!! This sounds like heaven…..

  18. Claudia says:

    Sophie – you make me rethink everything. I happen to love brussel sprouts – but never thought to use them for soup. With the carmelized onions, this is indeed wonderful. Thanks for the introduction!

  19. Kristen says:

    yummy idea. I love those little sprouts I bet in a soup they would be great too. Thanks!

  20. Beautiful soup Sophie. Wish my husband liked brussel sprouts. They look so attractive in the store right now on their long stems.Sam

  21. Interesting, I've never had sprouts in soup! Sounds delicious with the caramelised onions.

  22. Elra says:

    Love brussel sprout, but never made it into soup. How unusual and must tasted awesome.

  23. I don't think I've ever had brussel sprouts.

  24. KennyT says:

    Oh I know her I know her!!! Are Brussels Sprouts really originally from Brussels?

  25. Cheryl says:

    Wow, that looks soo good, I adore Brussel Sprouts but my husband hates them :(

  26. I have not heard of Brussel sprouts soup. As you say, takes a long time but all worthy it. Must be very satifying and it sounds perfect for Autumn and Winter days.

  27. Donna-FFW says:

    What a fantastic use for Brussels sprouts. Delicious Sophie!

  28. Michelle says:

    Oh Sophie I think I would love this!! It is perfect for teh weather we are having…even though it's been tough dealing with the rain. :) I wish I could feel up to cookikng lately but I haven't. I've had two sick cats on my hand (but they are better) and too much going on lately. *sigh* Life needs to slow down a bit. :)Lots of love and hugs…xoxo

  29. Trissa says:

    Hi there! I've never heard of brussel sprouts in a soup but if its in Sophie Grigson's cookbook – must be good.

  30. redkathy says:

    Brussel sprouts are my hubby's favorite! Your soup looks wonderful and I'll bet he would so enjoy it!

  31. This is an interesting soup using brussel sprouts! It looks good and healthy too!

  32. Great recipe! I really love sophie grigson. Have a wonderful weekend *kisses* HH

  33. Ricardo says:

    Actually this soup is calling for my name …the only thing I fear is gas lol…as Brussels have that effect on me, but I do love them …can't win can I?Well I think this is a well thought recipe and is the right time of year to have this type of foods as getting cold and days shorter here …loved it.. kisses xxxx

  34. Mae says:

    I've never thought of a brussels sprout soup. Caramelized onions sound like a perfect pairing!

  35. Sounds absolutely delicious! I think caramelizing the onions is the key here!

  36. I love Brussel sprouts but I've never tried them in soup. Sounds really yummy!

  37. Mrs. B. says:

    I'm not a big fan of Brussels sprouts but using it in a soup is a wonderful idea plus with caramelized onions…sounds really lovely!

  38. Ellie says:

    brussel sprout soup… never had that before but it does sound nice with caramelised onions. YUM!

  39. Gloria says:

    I love brussel sprouts and caramelised onions, so this is delicious!!! gloria

  40. Junglefrog says:

    I keep telling myself To give Brussels sprouts another go, but mmm, not sure! This does look good though!Sophie, I gave you an award over at my blog, so come and pick it up!

  41. gaga says:

    Hmm, I still haven't had any brussel sprouts that I like, but I do like soups! Maybe I could substitute something else?

  42. Lele says:

    Oooh that sounds delicious! Caramelizing onions does take a ridiculously long time, but they are like MAGIC! And brussels are also so good when they get all browned and sugary. I can't wait to try this recipe!

  43. Kerstin says:

    What a flavorful soup, all the ingredients sound perfect together – yum!

  44. Diana H says:

    Great choice, brussel sprouts and onions together are a wonderful combination. It's soup season!

  45. Jamie says:

    How intriguing! I have just started liking and wondering about brussel sprouts and this soup looks quite yummy!

  46. Happy Anniversary, Sophie!

  47. Judy says:

    Well that's one way to get us to eat our brussels sprouts! I can always depend on you to come up with something new!

  48. Esme says:

    Sophie have a lovely Christmas.

  49. I have been reading out a few of your posts and i must say pretty nice stuff. I will make sure to bookmark your blog.

  50. Camila says:

    Hey friend can i publish some paragraph of your article on my little blog of university.I have to publish a good articles out there and i really think your post Fits best into it.I will be grateful to give you an source link as well.I have two blogs one my own and the other which is my college blog.I will publish some part in the university blog.Hope you do not mind.

  51. I like the valuable info you supply for your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and take a look at again right here regularly. I’m somewhat certain I will be informed lots of new stuff proper here! Good luck for the next!

  52. Sweet site, super layout, real clean and use genial.

  53. I view something genuinely special in this web site.

  54. I have been looking for this information for a long time. Almost 10 hours of online finding, fortunately I saw it in your blog. I wonder why Bing do not show this type of good web sites in the first few pages. Most of the time the top search engine results are craps. Maybe it is time to change to other search engine.

  55. I really enjoy examining on this internet site, it contains great blog posts.

  56. Absolutely written written content, Really enjoyed looking through.

  57. Merely wanna comment on few general things, The website style and design is perfect, the articles is rattling good. “The sun sets without thy assistance.” by The Talmud.

  58. Hi there very nice web site!! Guy .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds also・ am glad to search out so many helpful information right here within the publish, we need develop more strategies on this regard, thanks for sharing.

  59. I’ve recently started a site, the info you provide on this website has helped me greatly. Thanks for all of your time & work. “The more sand that has escaped from the hourglass of our life, the clearer we should see through it.” by Jean Paul.

  60. Rob Sohl says:

    I gotta bookmark this website it seems very beneficial very helpful

  61. I like this blog very much, Its a really nice billet to read and incur info. “Success is 80 attitude and 20 aptitude.” by Funmi Wale-Adegbite.

  62. I have recently started a blog, the info you offer on this website has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all of your time & work.

  63. You have brought up a very great details , appreciate it for the post.

  64. An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topic.

  65. Merely wanna admit that this is invaluable , Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  66. Hello! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My weblog looks weird when viewing from my iphone 4. I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to correct this problem. If you have any recommendations, please share. Cheers!

  67. Edwina says:

    I like this web site so much, bookmarked. “To hold a pen is to be at war.” by Francois Marie Arouet Voltaire.

  68. OC says:

    I visited a lot of website but I conceive this one holds something special in it. “I believe in the institution of marriage and I intend to keep trying until I get it right.” by Richard Pryor.

  69. F*ckin’ awesome things here. I am very happy to look your post. Thank you a lot and i’m taking a look ahead to touch you. Will you please drop me a mail?

  70. I truly appreciate this post. I have been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thanks again!

  71. Ali Ivester says:

    I would like to express my passion for your kindness giving support to folks who really want help with this particular study. Your real dedication to passing the solution all-around had been surprisingly important and has frequently encouraged some individuals just like me to reach their pursuits. This warm and friendly publication implies much to me and much more to my office workers. With thanks; from everyone of us.

  72. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  73. Keep up the excellent work, I read few posts on this web site and I think that your web site is rattling interesting and has got bands of great information.

  74. Tiffany Rose says:

    I gotta favorite this web site it seems invaluable very helpful

  75. I really like your writing style, wonderful info , regards for posting : D.

  76. [...] like: 1. Green cabbage stoemp with sausages 2. Purple carrot stoemp with onion & smoked bacon 3. Caramelized onions & Brussels sprouts soup 4. Brussels sprouts with garlic, onion & soy cream 5. Smoked cheezy kale stoemp served with a [...]

  77. Normally I don’t read article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do it! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, very nice article.

  78. [...] heat off & serve at once along side your boiled potatoes & your chicken! You might like: 1. Caremelised onions & Brussels sprouts soup 2. Brussels sprouts stoemp with sausages Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); [...]

  79. Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the net the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people consider worries that they just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  80. It’s actually a cool and useful piece of info. I’m glad that you shared this useful info with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  81. Maegan Motta says:

    I’m typically to running a blog and i actually recognize your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your web site and preserve checking for brand spanking new information.

  82. This really answered my problem, thank you!

  83. Brenda Teach says:

    I’ve just lately began a site, the information you present on this site has helpful to me tremendously. Thank you for all your time & work.

  84. Many thanks for an unbelievable submit, will examine one’s others posts. thanks for your ideas for this, I felt a bit struck by this text. Merit again! You earn a great point. Got some wonderful report here. I do think that when more people thought of it like this, they’d have got a better time obtain the suspend ofing the issue.

  85. [...] no sprout recipes at work, so I resorted to a Google search which brought up a BBC Food recipe for Sprout and Caramelised Onion Soup from Sophie [...]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 931 other followers

