Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Sophie’s maple scones with pecans & cranberries, served with Maple’s Butter

on 22/10/2009
Delightful home-made scones with cranberries & pecans!
I love these scones. They aren’t too sweet & they have pecans, dried cranberries & maple syrup in them. They also have a maple glaze.
Normally, you serve them with butter, jam & maybe clotted cream, but I sliced them & ate them with maple butter. This is a Canadian product!
Recently, I got this as a present from my foodies friend Koko @ Koko’s kitchen. She lives near Vancouver, Canada. We exchanged foodies & non foodies gifts to each other through the post.
That was a great experience!!
Maple butter is something special. Its taste is sweet , so I am glad that the scones aren’t!
I also didn’t use butter, I used baking margarine, so these scones are more light!
Excellent Canadian maple’s butter!

A real treat!

Print me!
Recipe: For 21 scones
Ingredients:
440 gr of white organic flour
88 gr of pecans, broken in little pieces
50 gr of dried cranberries, apple sweetened!
4 teaspoons of baking powder
160 gr of Alpro baking margarine (= lactose free )
250 ml milk / I used semi – skimmed milk )
125 ml of maple syrup
** To serve: maple butter
Method:
1. Take an oven rack out of the oven. Preheat the oven to 200°C . ( 392 F ) for about 15 minutes.
2. Take a medium bowl, add the flour & baking powder. Mix well.
3. Take a larger bowl & sieve the flour & baking powder mix. Add the pecans & the cranberries.
Fold them into the flour mix. Now, add the baking margarine & with the help of your hands mix it all together until it forms breadcrumbs. Now, you have a crumbly dough.
4. Add the milk & 6 tablespoons of the maple syrup. Mix well with a spoon. Now, the dough sticks & is wet.
5. Place the dough with floured hands on a well floured Silpat. Knead the dough for 5 to 6 times until it forms a real elastic dough. Add more flour to prevent sticking.
Divide the dough in 2. With your hands, flatten the dough. I don’t use a rolling-pin. It’s not necessary. My dough is about 1 cm to 1 + 1/2 cm thick. I use my round 5 cm diameter cutter to cut out equal sized scones.
6. Place them on another Silpat or a baking sheet, a bit apart from each other & prick the top of the scones a few times lightly with a fork.
7. With the rest of your maple syrup, glaze the top & sides of the scones . Bake into the oven for about 12 to 15 minutes, on the lower shelf until they are golden & browned. Repeat with the other scones.
8. When ready, test with a sewing pin. Take them out of the oven & let them cool on a wire rack.
9. When completely cool, store in a cookie box.
Enjoy sliced open with some butter, your favourite jam & maybe some clotted cream.
I enjoy them now, with Canadian maple butter.
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like:
1. My 2 favourite hearty scones : ricotta, olive & chorizo scones/ parmesan & rosemary scones served with a salad with a mustard lemon dressing
2. Egg-free & gluten-free scones with chocolate & pecans


Sophie's Maple Scones With Pecans & Cranberries, Served With Maple's Butter on Foodista
99 responses to “Sophie’s maple scones with pecans & cranberries, served with Maple’s Butter

  1. Your scones look just delicious! I've never had maple butter, but I'll be on the look out for it now.

  2. Debbie says:

    I've just eaten dinner and now since I have seen your delicious scone, I'm hungry again. Just a beautiful scone….

  3. Cynthia says:

    Ummmm, I know I'd like this.

  4. Canada has the best maple products around. So lucky. We should try making maple butter. It has to be pretty easy!

  5. Daily Spud says:

    I've never come across maple butter but would certainly love to try it, especially on those scones :)

  6. Koko says:

    Oh Sophie! What a yummy use for the maple butter! I'm so glad you liked it- and to pair with these SUPER looking maple scones- delicious!!!!!

  7. tese sound like the perfect breakfast! I love scones.

  8. These sound terrific! The maple scones sound perfect served with maple butter, yum!

  9. ARUNA says:

    that's a gorgeous creation!!!!

  10. Clémence says:

    c'est l'heure du petit déj, ce serait parfait !

  11. zurin says:

    that scone looks so delicious, crusty on top and tender inside…just the perfect scone..mmmm :))

  12. Joanne says:

    These scones look almost like a muffin top. SO delicious! I love all of the use of maple. That is one of my favorite flavors.

  13. Gabriella says:

    Het ziet er lekker uit!

  14. I love scones! and pecans and cranberries and maple syrup. Terrific combo!

  15. I love scones! And that maple butter looks divine! Sophie, I linked you in my latest post – Rich Chocolate Cake, using Belgian chocolate! Yum!

  16. Erica says:

    The maple butter sounds fantastic! Your scones look delicious, Sophie!

  17. I treated myself to a scone yesterday, with a cup of coffee. So good! But…no maples' butter. Have to treat myself again! Sounds fantastic!

  18. Cheryl says:

    Sophie, those scones sound amazing and I have never heard of Maple Butter before, I would love to try it, I will look around and see if I can find it!

  19. Esme says:

    Anything made with maple syrup is tasty-I like the addition of cranberries.

  20. Talita says:

    This dough looks so delicious!!! I'd love to have a scone!

  21. Pam says:

    I am sure these scones were amazing, especially lathered with maple butter.

  22. Maple butter sounds so delicious! Your scones look sensational. I love maple!

  23. What an awesome tea time treat, and I love that u used maple butter!

  24. Claudia says:

    Loving the maple – just loving it. I bet tese scones are moist and delicious. Pecans… mmm … cranberries…. mmmm

  25. Sophie… one of my favorite things for breakfast, afternoon snack or to treat myself is a good scone. Yours look incredible! I'll have to give them a try. Thanks…

  26. Donna-FFW says:

    Your scones sound so loaded with such delicious flavor, and with that butter I bet its beyond terrific!

  27. Valérie says:

    Yum, that scone is the perfect companion for a nice hot cup of tea!Because I live in Canada, I tend to take maple syrup and maple products for granted, and I just forget to include them in my cooking. Which is very bad of me, because I do love the taste…Let me know if you ever need extra maple products (I'll trade you for Belgian chocolate or tartinade de speculoos)!

  28. Your scones are lovely! My mother in law brought me back some maple butter last yearfrom a trip she took. I loved it so much! Wish I had more!

  29. gaga says:

    Yum, maple butter sounds awesome! The scone looks great too!

  30. Carolyn Jung says:

    What a treat for brunch! And the maple butter? The stuff of dreams. I wish I could slather it on as a moisturizer, too. Hah.

  31. Anja says:

    Sophie, the combination of the flowers looks really yummy. this is really one of the perfect combinations. well done…

  32. I wouuld love to have those scones as a breakfast, maybe even a brunch, with a large pot of black coffee!

  33. nora@ffr says:

    wow! just perfect for breakfast :)

  34. Gloria says:

    Sophie Im in love of your maple scones! look delicious, and I love your dishes with roses!! beautiful!! I love beauty china! gloria

  35. Margaret says:

    This is an unusual recipe with wonderful ingredients. Mmm must try these in the New Year.

  36. Barbara says:

    I'm crazy about scones too. Interesting to have maple in them…and even better, on them!

  37. Kerstin says:

    Mmmm, I wish I would have had one of your scones for breakfast today, they look delicious!

  38. Ellie says:

    Maple butter! Wonder if I can get them in Sydney!

  39. Brilliant! I love the idea of maple butter and lucky you for receiving such a lovely gift :)

  40. What a yummy combination ! Maple butter is so so good. My MIL brought 2 bottles home from her trip to visit SIL in Canada. Wish they sell maple butter in France.

  41. Oh…oh…oh…Love the scones. When I buy maple butter, I make a pecan crunch with it by toasting pecans,chopping them and adding the butter and some syrup….I'm going to try my hand at making my own maple butter now!

  42. Scones – my husband's favorite. He would love these.Sam

  43. I love scones, and these are certainly one of the yummiest I've seen in a while. Gorgeous flavours!

  44. your scones look absolutely delightful to eat!

  45. Yum, I love the sounds of these scones, and having been lucky enough to have maple butter, thing that is the perfect compliment. What a great and brilliant idea. I hope you do not get bored seeing me say that but I am always in awe of the wonderful creations you come up with

  46. Johanna says:

    yum – love maple syrup – never tried it in scones but I bet it tastes good and that maple butter would be great on scones!

  47. Linda says:

    Sophie, you always have the most interesting posts. Your scones are lovely, and now I must look for maple butter and baking margarine. ;)

  48. Amy says:

    Hi Sophie, I feel like we're in the same baking mode. I just made pumpkin scones with honey-ginger glaze (with dried cranberries and crystallized ginger as well). I can't wait to give these a try – I love maple syrup in baked goods!

  49. Olga says:

    Those look great!!! All you need is a cup of tea or a mimosa ;)

  50. They look delicious esp with the butter!

  51. Muneeba says:

    I could spread that maple butter on anything … man, that stuff looks deadly good! And how I wish you could send me a package of those scones .. perfect for any time of the day, me thinks!

  52. Jamie says:

    Making these, Sophie. Period. Wow!

  53. Nicisme says:

    That maple butter looks awesome! And the scones are brilliant too, I am imagining them all warm with that butter dripping over.

  54. Sophie says:

    @ all of you: thanks so much for the nice compliments!!These will keep for about 5 days in a cookie box!!they will not last that long,….

  55. Mrs Ergül says:

    I love a good scone anytime! Maple butter sounds real interesting!Thanks for coming by my blog!

  56. nora@ffr says:

    yummmmmmm yummmmmmmmm!!!!! maple butter i love it!! :)

  57. Mari says:

    this looks so homey and delicious! Enjoyed your page.

  58. [...] ** Note 2: Maybe, the next time, I will add 1 teaspoon baking powder extra. You might like: 1. Sophie’s maple scones with pecans & cranberries, served with maple’s butter: has … 2. 2 Hearty savoury scones: ricotta, olive & chorizo scones + Parmesan & rosemary scones: [...]

  59. [...] might like: 1. Sophie’s maple scones with cranberries & pecans, served with maple’s butter: contains gluten! 2. Sophie’s savoury scones: ricotta, olive & chorizo scones + rosemary [...]

  60. [...] 1. Sophie’s maple scones with cranberries & pecans, served with maple’s butter: has gluten! [...]

  61. [...] 1. Sophie’s maple scones with cranberries & pecans, served with maple’s butter: has gluten! 2. Sophie’s savoury scones: ricotta, olive & chorizo scones + rosemary Parmesan scones: has gluten! 200px; border: 5px solid #C44F50; -moz-border-radius: 2px; -webkit-border-radius: 2px; background-color: #C36C6D; text-align: left; overflow: hidden; color: white; font-family: arial,helvetica,clean,sans-serif; font-size: 13px; text-decoration: none; padding: 4px; text-indent: 0;” title=”Sophie’s Wholegrain Gluten Free and Egg Free Dark Chocolate Chips Scones With Pecans on Foodista”>Sophie’s Wholegrain Gluten Free and Egg Free Dark Chocolate Chips Scones With Pecans [...]

  62. [...] 1. Sophie’s maple scones with cranberries & pecans, served with maple’s butter: has gluten! 2. Sophie’s savoury scones: ricotta, olive & chorizo scones + rosemary Parmesan scones: has gluten! 200px; border: 5px solid #C44F50; -moz-border-radius: 2px; -webkit-border-radius: 2px; background-color: #C36C6D; text-align: left; overflow: hidden; color: white; font-family: arial,helvetica,clean,sans-serif; font-size: 13px; text-decoration: none; padding: 4px; text-indent: 0;” title=”Sophie’s Wholegrain Gluten Free and Egg Free Dark Chocolate Chips Scones With Pecans on Foodista”>Sophie’s Wholegrain Gluten Free and Egg Free Dark Chocolate Chips Scones With Pecans [...]

  63. [...] 1. Sophie’s maple scones with pecans & cranberries, served with maple’s butter [...]

  64. [...] 1. Sophie’s maple scones with pecans & cranberries, served with maple’s butter [...]

  65. [...] 1. Sophie’s maple scones with cranberries & pecans: has gluten! [...]

  66. Rattling fantastic info can be found on weblog.

  67. I love the efforts you have put in this, regards for all the great content.

  68. Wohh just what I was searching for, thank you for posting.

  69. I think this internet site has some real good information for everyone :D. “Calamity is the test of integrity.” by Samuel Richardson.

  70. Keep up the superb work , I read few blog posts on this site and I think that your web blog is very interesting and has got circles of good info .

  71. Very interesting info!Perfect just what I was looking for!

  72. he said says:

    Keep up the good piece of work, I read few articles on this site and I believe that your web blog is rattling interesting and has bands of excellent information.

  73. I really like your writing style, excellent information, appreciate it for putting up : D.

  74. Liza says:

    I dugg some of you post as I thought they were handy very helpful

  75. Luana Isaak says:

    Utterly composed subject material, thank you for information. “Necessity is the mother of taking chances.” by Mark Twain.

  76. HYIP says:

    I got what you convey, thanks for putting up. Woh I am cheerful to feat this website through google. Thanks For Share Sophie’s maple scones with pecans & cranberries, served with Maple’s Butter Sophies Foodie Files.

  77. Nice read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile Thus let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch! “Whenever you have an efficient government you have a dictatorship.” by Harry S Truman.

  78. That is really attention-grabbing, You’re an excessively professional blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to looking for more of your fantastic post. Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks!

  79. HYIP says:

    Sophie’s maple scones with pecans & cranberries, served with Maple’s Butter Sophies Foodie Files I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty. You are incredible! Thanks! your article about Sophie’s maple scones with pecans & cranberries, served with Maple’s Butter Sophies Foodie Files Best Regards Lawrence Andy

  80. You can definitely see your expertise in the work you write. The arena hopes for more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to say how they believe. At all times follow your heart. “Until you walk a mile in another man’s moccasins you can’t imagine the smell.” by Robert Byrne.

  81. Some really fantastic content on this website , thankyou for contribution.

  82. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  83. As soon as I observed this internet site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

  84. Sheena Shaw says:

    Thank you for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research about this. We got a grab a book from our area library but I think I learned more from this post. I am very glad to see such wonderful info being shared freely out there.

  85. [...] Cava Brut like Cava Miguel Torres, Pinot Noir Brut, Method Traditionnelle!! You might like: 1. Sophie’s maple scones with pecans & cranberries, served with Maple’s Butter 2. Sophie’s healthy & tasty gluten-free & egg-free  scones with chocolate & [...]

  86. [...] Foodie Files: It is for free   RSS – Posts You might like other recipes like this one: 1. Maple scones with cranberries & pecans, served with maple’s butter 2. Cranberry muffins with pecans & orange 3. Cranberry port orange sauce, home-made! 4. Dark [...]

  87. [...] It is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Chocolate squares with cranberries & pecans 2. Sophie’s maple scones with pecans & cranberries, served with Maple’s Butter 3. Sophie’s cranberry, pecan & oats spelt cookies Advertisement [...]

  88. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read something like this before. So good to find somebody with some authentic thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for beginning this up. this web site is one thing that’s needed on the web, somebody with somewhat originality. helpful job for bringing one thing new to the internet!

  89. I got what you wish, thanks for swing up. Woh I am gladsome to conceive this website through google. Thanks For Share Sophie’s maple scones with pecans & cranberries, served with Maple’s Butter Sophies Foodie Files.

  90. android apps says:

    I got what you think, thanks for swing up. Woh I am gladsome to comprehend this website through google. Thanks For Share Sophie’s maple scones with pecans & cranberries, served with Maple’s Butter Sophies Foodie Files.

  91. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of Sophie’s maple scones with pecans & cranberries, served with Maple’s Butter Sophies Foodie Files . Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

  92. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of Sophie’s maple scones with pecans & cranberries, served with Maple’s Butter Sophies Foodie Files . Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

  93. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of Sophie’s maple scones with pecans & cranberries, served with Maple’s Butter Sophies Foodie Files . Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

  94. monster solo hd says:

    Thanks to get a exciting posting. I enjoy the funny remarks.

  95. Wonderful put up admin! i bookmarked your net weblog. i’ll appear forward in case you could have an e-mail listing adding.

  96. [...] 2. Maple Cranberry & pecan scones served with maple’s butter [...]

  97. […] Files: It is free!  RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Cranberry muffins with pecans & orange 2. Maple Cranberry & pecan scones served with maple’s butter 3. Cranberry, pecan & oat spelt […]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,128 other followers

