Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Sophie’s cranberry, pecan & oats spelt cookies

on 15/10/2009

Christmassy spelt, cranberries & pecan oats cookies! Good for you too! :)

crunchy good-for-you cookies!

I so love-making these cookies. You can’t use cookie cutters because the dough is too wet. But it is a lovely cookie with a bit harder outside & a denser inside with yummy cranberries, pecans & oats. I used half wholemeal spelt flour & half white organic flour. They also contain maple syrup. It is an adapted recipe from Recipezaar.
So, these are also a bit good for you,…
Recipe: For 23 larger cookies
Ingredients:
60 gr of wholemeal spelt flour
60 gr of white organic flour
80 gr of dried, with apple sweetened cranberries ( I buy mine in my food health shop )
80 gr of peeled pecan halves
90 gr of raw, unrefined sugar
120 ml of maple syrup
1 organic egg, beaten
120 gr of lightly salted butter, soften
1 teaspoon of baking powder
100 gr of whole oats, medium size or gluten-free oats, medium-sized
Method:
1. Preheat the oven for 15 minutes on 180°C. ( 35o F )
2. Tip: With an oiled knife, cut up the cranberries & the pecans into little pieces. You can also break up the pecan halves. Because of the oil, the cranberries & pecans won’t stick to your knife.
3. In your Kenwood or Kitchen Aid, cream together the butter, egg, sugar & maple syrup.
4. In another bowl, add flour, baking powder & oats. Combine well.
5. Stir in the mix of flour, baking powder & oats.
6. Now, add the chopped up cranberries & pecans. Mix well.
7. This is a wet dough. Take your dough out & place it on a well floured Silpat or well floured baking sheet & dust your both hands well with flour. You are going to make smaller balls from the dough & flatten them a bit. Place them on a Silpat on a wire oven rack. Place in the oven, on a lower shelf. Bake for about 15 minutes. Watch them carefully!!! Don’t let them get too brown!! Let them sit on the Silpat for about 5 minutes. The cookies will still be a bit soft. Transfer to a wire rack to cool down completely. Repeat with the rest of the dough. After cooling down completely, store in a cookies box.
If you liked this post, don’t miss any post by subscribing to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is for free  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like other recipes like this one:
Sophie's cranberry, pecan & oats spelt cookies on Foodista
62 responses to “Sophie’s cranberry, pecan & oats spelt cookies

  1. Rowena... says:

    Sophie, this looks very healthy, at least much healther that these italian pastries that I'm eating for breakfast! Another thing…I finally got around to making your stoemp dish, together with the pork in wine, mustard, cream recipe. It was FABULOUS (we ate the meal with Chimay beer). I will definitely make it again as my husband and I ♥ mustard flavors. Thanks!

  2. Sophie, I love anything with cranberries. The pecans and oats would only make things better. This is my kind of cookie.Sam

  3. Nirvana says:

    I want to make these! I am totally graving cranberries now! :)

  4. These look like the perfect cookies for a rainy day like today.

  5. Barbara says:

    I get so excited when I see a recipe for a healthy cookie that has ingredients I actually like! Nice use for the cranberries in my freezer too- now that I will soon be able to get fresh.

  6. I haven't liked any of the recipes on recipezaar, but you probably made it a lot better.

  7. Wow, cranberry + oats cookies!Sophie, you rock.

  8. These look too healthy to be called cookies! I bet they're delicious with the cranberries.

  9. Yum! Cranberries and maple syrup sound like a magic combination! :D

  10. Pam says:

    They look healthy and delicious.

  11. Junglefrog says:

    They look delicious Sophie. I love those cookies where I can at least claim that they are partially healthy for me..:)

  12. oh great cookies good with a cup of tea lol

  13. Claudia says:

    Sophie – these are grand and definitely bookmarking it. It's healthy enough for me! Love oatmeal in baking and the cranberries… mmm and very pretty.

  14. Healthy and delicious cookies! I'd love to have one with my tea!Cheers,Rosa

  15. Those cookies look scrumptious with cranberry & pecans, yum!

  16. I am a full for cranberries, pecans and all sorts of yumminess like this!

  17. Cheryl says:

    Sophie, I love the background and the cookies sound yummy, my husband loves healthy cookies!

  18. Michelle says:

    Hi Sophie!Always good to come back to your blog to see all the yummy things you're making. This cookie sound fabulous…actually kind of sounds healthy. :) Oh and BEETS!! Down below…I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE beets! I usually just boil beet roots, peel them and eat them. :) Hope all has been just wonderful with you!xoxoMichelle :)

  19. Hi Sophie,I'm glad to see someone use whole wheat spelt flour in their cookie recipe. It must have been hearty!Best,Christine

  20. Cranberries, pecans, oats, and maple syrup sound fantastic! I'd like a cookie snack right now.

  21. Erica says:

    They sound healthy and delicious….just perfect!

  22. Velva says:

    Sophie- these cranberry spelt cookies look really good. Not to sweet, not to dry-just perfect.You posted a comment on my food blog about macaroni and cheese. You described a Belgian pasta dish using chopped ham and bechmel sauce. This is a version of macaroni (pasta) and cheese dish.

  23. zurin says:

    Those cookies look so healthy and delicious. I'm always on the look out for healty snacks and these do look good! thanx. :)))

  24. Carolyn Jung says:

    What a good-for-you cookie. That means I can have seconds without any guilt, right? ;)

  25. Clémence says:

    j'adore les cranberries qu'on trouve difficilement en France : miammmmmmmm !

  26. I've always thought there could never be "healthy cookies" but you've just proved me wrong!

  27. Kristen says:

    I love healthy cookies! I just made some out of left-over quinoa cereal and bunches of nuts and fruit. Also I am sending you an award see –> http://eaturl.info/icpecheers!

  28. Grace says:

    what a nice, hearty cookie–it almost resembles a scone! i love that there are both healthy and decadent aspects to it–nice work!

  29. Sounds and looks very enticing. The list of ingredients is good too! I have never baked with spelt flour, wonder what that tastes like!

  30. I love oats cookies & the chewy texture!

  31. Oh yum, someone said these look like the perfect cookies for a rainy day – they do! Guess what, its a rainy day in SF, so I know what I am going to be making. Thanks for the inspiration.

  32. Koko says:

    Sophie, these sound like a truly delicious, healthy cookie! I love that you used spelt flour and pecans- I love pecans! Fantastic!

  33. Ellie says:

    So much goodness in this cookie!

  34. Jamie says:

    I love cranberries in cookies plus these look thick and moist, too! Great cookies to nibble on all winter!

  35. I like to use spelt to bake too. These cookies are wonderful for the X'mas too.Angie's Recipes

  36. Olive says:

    hello Sophie :)I love cookies, these are so healthy and rich in fiber, I'll include this in my collection of must try (it's getting longer everyday)

  37. Debbie says:

    Sophie they look delicious and I just love the combination!

  38. Those are wonderful looking cookies!

  39. Yummy, yummy, yummy delicious. My favourite things in a cookie – anything that has pecans is a winner! I've never tried spelt though

  40. Hi Sophie, I am back from HK for a few days. After 3 weeks being away, it has become wintery here is Basel. Need some time to adjust as it was over 30 Degree C in HK. Your cookies are very scrumptious! I was just thinking today that it's time to make cookies as C'mas is approaching already.

  41. ~~louise~~ says:

    Just popped in from Luna Cafe and boy oh boy, I'm just loving it here!!! It's Cranberry Month here in the states and these cookies are a wonderful tribute to their sweet goodness. Thank you so much for sharing..

  42. I've used spelt in my baking too. It's quite good. These cookies look delicious. The nuts and cranberries are perfect for autumn!

  43. Kerstin says:

    These sound like a nutritious cookie that I would enjoy for breakfast! Delicious!

  44. Gattina says:

    these cookies have 'autumn' written allover, gorgeous!

  45. Sophie..is there anything you make that doesn't look and sound amazing? I don't think so! I have lots of spelt flour left over from the DC dosa challenge, so once again,..I'm bookmraking these gorgeous and delicous looking cookies!

  46. Gloria says:

    Dear Sophie these look absolutely tasty!! I love them! xoxox gloria

  47. Nancy says:

    These cookies look wonderful! I recently bought whole spelt flour for the first time, and this will be a great recipe to try it in.

  48. Sophie says:

    @ everyone of you, my dear foodie friends: Thanks for stopping by & I am glad that you all loved these cookies!They were far to fast all eaten up!! MMMMMMMMMMM,…

  49. Ashley says:

    This post is very usefull thx!

  50. Szyldy says:

    Thanks for pretty impressive post. I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon.

  51. [...] 2. Sophie’s maple scones with pecans & cranberries, served with Maple’s Butter 3. Sophie’s cranberry, pecan & oats spelt cookies Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); [...]

  52. Wesele says:

    I love reading your blog. I’ve you bookmarked your website in order to check out the latest stuff.

  53. [...] & almond butter soft cookies with dark chocolate chips 3. Lovely lemon shortbread cookies 4. Cranberry, pecan & oat spelt cookies If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!   RSS – Posts [...]

  54. [...] almond butter soft cookies with dark chocolate chips 2. Sophie’s festive speculaas cookies 3. Christmas spelt, cranberry & pecan oats cookies 4. Savoury cheese cookies Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); [...]

  55. service says:

    FRnSBQ wow, awesome blog. Awesome.

  56. [...] & almond butter cookies with dark chocolate chips! 2. Sophie’s festive speculaas cookies! 3. Sophie’s cranberry, pecans & oat spelt cookies! 4. Lovely lemony shortbread cookies! Having fun in the kitchen! Share this tasty post:Print me [...]

  57. […]  If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Cranberry muffins with pecans & orange 2. Maple Cranberry & pecan scones served with maple’s butter 3. Cranberry, pecan & oat spelt cookies […]

  58. […] 2. Sophie’s cranberry, pecan oats wholemeal spelt cookies! […]

  59. These look delish Sophie! My dad’s birthday is coming up and I just might make a vegan version of these as a gift for him. Celeste :)

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,091 other followers

