Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Grilled salmon with a wasabi dressing, baked potato wedges, balsamic & fresh oregano marinated beetroots on a bed of watercress

on 10/10/2009
My husband made this lovely meal for me a few days ago. It is a Jamie Oliver recipe from his book: Happy Days with the naked chef!
My husband & I love beetroot combined with grilled salmon.
Lucky me!!
Print me!
Recipe: For 2 persons
Ingredients:
2 salmon fillets, no skin ( we used wild salmon ), each about 230 gr
2 medium beets, skin intact
** For marinating the beets:
1 handful of fresh oregano leaves, no stalks, washed & cleaned
EVOO, a bit ( Extra Virgin Olive Oil )
grinned black pepper
Maldon sea salt
2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar
** For the wasabi dressing:
juice of 1 lemon
some Maldon sea salt
grinned black pepper
2 tablespoons of wasabi paste from a tube
** For the rest:
cooked cold potatoes, cut into wedges
1 bunch of fresh watercress, well washed & spun dry, the rougher stalks removed
Method:
1. First, cook the beets in hot boiling water. Depending on the sizes of the beets, this will take about 20 to 35 minutes. Drain well & with cooking gloves on & peel the beets & cut into thicker slices & place them in a deep bowl. Now, marinate the beet slices with the balsamic vinegar, the oregano leaves, a bit of the Evoo & some sea salt & some grinds of black pepper for about 15 minutes or until all the rest of your dinner is ready. Keep warm.
2. Take a hot grill pan & season the fish fillets on both sides with sea salt & some fresh grinned black pepper. Smear the fish in with some EVOO on both sides & grill until just al dente, pink in the middle but not raw!
3. In the meantime, bake the potatoes in some EVOO in a non stick pan on all sides until nicely browned.
4. In the same time, make the wasabi dressing. Take a little cup & mix all the ingredients for the dressing together. Taste! It has to taste fab!
5. Now, plate up!! Lay a bed of fresh watercress in the middle of the plate, place on one side 3 pieces of the marinated beetroot. Besides that, the baked potatoes. Lay on the other side the grilled fish. Drizzle a bit of the wasabi dressing over the top of the fish,..but not too much!!
Enjoy this lovely dinner!!!
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
Grilled Salmon With A Wasabi Dressing, Baked Potaoes, Balsamic & Fresh Oregano Marina on Foodista
59 responses to “Grilled salmon with a wasabi dressing, baked potato wedges, balsamic & fresh oregano marinated beetroots on a bed of watercress

  1. I'm sending this right over to MY husband!

  2. Wow, what a delightful looking dish! Great combo, yummy!Cheers,Rosa

  3. Barbara says:

    Love salmon! Now if I only had a husband……

  4. Anna says:

    Great combination, not only looks beautiful but is healthy too. I Love beetroot.

  5. What a sweet hubby – and a wonderful cook. This looks absolutely delicious!!

  6. Y says:

    Ah, very lucky you indeed! Sounds like a very decent plate of food!

  7. Velva says:

    Very interesting combination of flavors! Salmon,beets,wasabi and watercress. Wow, what a symphony of flavors.

  8. Koko says:

    Sophie, lucky is right!!! What a beautiful meal your husband made for you. This is definitely something I could see myself eating for dinner. I love salmon and I love beets!!Looks mouth-watering!!

  9. Clémence says:

    hmmmmmmmmmm! cette sauce de wasabi…

  10. Junglefrog says:

    Oo, I have that book too and it's well used but I haven't tried this recipe yet! Gotta look it up. It looks lovely.

  11. zerrin says:

    I love beets but don't know many dishes of it. This one looks so comforting, so it will definitely be on my must try list. Thanks.

  12. Christine says:

    Oh, I love Jamie Oliver's recipes too.This grilled salmon with wasabi dressing is soooooo tempting!

  13. my mouth was watering as I was reading the title!

  14. Claudia says:

    Sold. Going to the store now. I must have this! All of it. But the salmon in particular!

  15. Love your wasabi dressing. I like watercress a lot but it's not available in Basel.

  16. Kerstin says:

    Love your wasabi dressing, and beets and salmon sound perfect together!

  17. Pam says:

    What a fantastic meal!

  18. gaga says:

    Wow, the color in that beet is gorgeous! I've never worked with it at home becuase it just seems like it'd make such a mess. This looks like a perfect meal.

  19. Erica says:

    What a nice husband you have Sophie:)That looks great.

  20. Judy says:

    I would love to make this. I love beets and I love salmon.

  21. Olive says:

    your hubby is so sweet Sophie and I think he CAN COOK, that meal looks hearty and delicious..I keep egging my husband to try his hands at cooking too, no luck though ;0

  22. Emily says:

    What an incredible meal! So many different flavors going on.

  23. Donna says:

    What a gorgeous meal your hubby made for you. He knows how lucky he is to have YOU!!

  24. Sophie, could I borrow your husband for a while? Only to show my husband that cooking a delicious meal shouldn't be a 2 yeraly event? :D

  25. Selba says:

    Wow! What a wonderful husband you got! The food looks so delicious!

  26. Oh my, this looks delicious! I have never had beetroot with salmon and I can't think why, because it sounds and looks so yummy1Ronelle

  27. Robin Sue says:

    The beets really do it for me in this meal. Nothing like a fresh beet! So colorful too. Yes Lucky you!!

  28. Salmon with wasabi sauce sounds truly good. And lucky you having such a considerate and loving husband!Angie's Recipes

  29. Grace says:

    beets add such beauty and flavor to any dish. excellent meal, sophie! i'm loving the wasabi dressing.

  30. Elra says:

    Love the combination all in one plate, that beet got me drool Sophe.

  31. Olga says:

    the color of the beets is gorgeous. and of course i love the combination of potatoes and salmon.

  32. What a beautiful dish, there are so many pretty colours here!

  33. Yes, lucky you Sophie! I love salmon and beets as well. Looks delicious, what a colorful meal!!

  34. This looks simply scrumptious – lucky you to be the recipient of such a wonderful meal!.

  35. I always forget how much I love wasabi as a dressing ingredient! Thanks for the reminder!

  36. oh wow this is great never had this combo before what a lovely hubby you have

  37. I love beets too and salmon! This sounds like a great meal, and the wasabi dressing sounds delicious.

  38. Cynthia says:

    I love the colours on the plate Sophie!

  39. What a lovely meal your husband made! The combination of salmon & beetroot sounds fabulous, I can't wait to try it!

  40. Gattina says:

    Oh Sophie, sometime I want to see inside your head :D :D always filling with creative idea and artisitic sense to present a yummy dish! … Wasabi dressing… oregano & balsamic marinating…You are GREAT!

  41. I love grilled salmon! This looks so good for you!

  42. Juliana says:

    Nice salmon dish, specially with wasabi dressing, will give a try…I am sure that my husband will love this dish :-)

  43. Jef Boven says:

    What a nice meal Peter has prepared. Be lucky with such an inventive, creative and good-willing husband! Congrats with the delicate salmon. Lou en Jef

  44. nora@ffr says:

    oh my! vat a great combo!! ye husband is sooo sweet! :) wish my husband could do something like that:)hehe cheers!

  45. What a great meal! Love how you cooked the beet and the wasabi dressing!

  46. Muneeba says:

    Very creative Sophie .. and such an elegant meal! Worthy of a fantastic restaurant :)

  47. All I can say is WOW! This looks delicious, and what a sweet husband you have!

  48. Wasabi! Such a good spice for fish.

  49. Jamie says:

    Oooh that wasabi dressing with the salmon sounds and looks fabulous! And what a husband! Great meal!

  50. Linda says:

    Sophie, this looks fantastic! You are both lucky to be such amazing chefs. ;)

  51. Sophie says:

    My husband says thank you for the kind words!!

  52. Paige says:

    Good post! I have a random question for you. How do you get your blog indexed by bing? I have a related web blog.

  53. [...] this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Grilled salmon with a wasabi dressing, baked potato wedges, balsamic & fresh oregano marinate… 2. Smoked salmon & ricotta wraps 3. Marinated salmon in a spicy crust with sweet potato mash, [...]

  54. [...] risotto with ricotta & parmesan 3. Ras El hanout roasted carrots, red onions & beets 4. Grilled salmon with a wasabi dressing, baked potato wedges, balsamic & fresh oregano marinate… 5. Beetroot appetizers, listed under Sophie’s Christmas menu Share this tasty [...]

  55. What a great website. I am happy I found it.It’s nice to read something interesting I cannot find subscription list

  56. Psycholog says:

    Your post is extremely interesting. Can you post again soon?

  57. [...] to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!   RSS – Posts   You might like: 1. beetroot soup 2. Grilled salmon with a wasabi dressing, baked potato wedges, balsamic & fresh oregano marinate… 3. Beetroot risotto with ricotta & parmesan 4. Beetroot wedges with a balsamic & orange [...]

  58. [...] to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Beetroot soup 2. Grilled salmon with a wasabi dressing, baked potato wedges, balsamic & fresh oregano marinate… 3. Ras El Hanout roasted carrots, red onions & beets 4. Nigella’s chocolate rice pudding [...]

  59. Wow, amazing blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is fantastic, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Grilled salmon with a wasabi dressing, baked potato wedges, balsamic & fresh oregano marinated beetroots on a bed of watercress | Sophies Foodie Files .

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,091 other followers

