Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Spiced Summer pumpkin, butternut squash & red bell peppers soup

on 28/09/2009

A tasty soup!

I had some summer pumpkin left in the fridge & I wanted to make a soup out of it. I also had some left butternut squash. I added red bell peppers ( paprika’s), an onion & a few pinches of dried red chilli flakes.
Print me!
Recipe: For 8 bowls of soup
Ingredients:
2 + 1/2 red bell peppers, washed, cleaned, pad dry on kitchen paper, cut into chunks
1 large white onion, peeled & finely diced
340 gr of summer pumpkin, peeled, seeds & threads cut out with a spoon, cut into chunks
410 gr of butternut squash, peeled, seeds & threads removed, cut into chunks
1/4 teaspoon of dried red chilli pepper flakes
1 liter gluten-free vegetable stock
soy baking margarine
Method:
1. Take a large cooking pot or steam cooker & heat up on high. Add some baking margarine & let it melt. When melted & sizzling hot, add the chopped onion & red bell peppers pieces. Stir often. Let them fry for about 3 to 5 minutes.
2.Now , add the chopped up pumpkin & butternut squash chunks. Stir well. Then, add the vegetable stock. Stir well.
3. Finally, add the dried red chilli pepper flakes. Stir. I put the lid on my steam cooker & let it sit for about 15 minutes on high heat. Then, I turn the heat off & carefully place the steam cooker on another side of the stove top. With the help of a wooden spoon, I put the valve open & let the steam slip away. When there is no steam left & it has stopped sizzling , you can open the steam lid. Now, taste your soup. It has to taste fab. Liquidize your soup.
But if you don’t have a steam cooking pot, just boil the soup until the vegetables are cooked trough, after 15 to 25 minutes, I think. Taste & liquidize as well.
4. Laddle your soup into soup bowls & serve with some fresh leaves of basil on the top.
Enjoy!!
You taste the lovely flavours of the butternut & summer pumpkin & in the end of your mouth you feel the warmth of the dried red chilli pepper flakes,…this is not too spicy just good!
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
Spiced Summer Pumpkin, Butternut Squash & Red Bell Peppers Soup on Foodista
62 responses to “Spiced Summer pumpkin, butternut squash & red bell peppers soup

  1. Kat says:

    Looks wonderful. I love pumpkin soups and yours sounds delicious.

  2. Anita says:

    Pumpkin soup is so easy to prepare and store. I love your additions to it, they would make it even tastier!

  3. The soup sounds absolutely delicious, love the addition of red peppers – beautiful color!

  4. Grace says:

    this is the perfect soup for fall, incorporating both pumpkin and butternut. it's such a lovely color too!

  5. Erica says:

    Sophie! I want that soup for lunch today. Great flavors.

  6. Barbara says:

    That's a fine looking soup- I love the color! Nice to have both pumpkiin and butternut squash in it.

  7. Junglefrog says:

    I love pumpkin soup but I have never made it myself. I actually saw the first pumpkin in the store yesterday so I might have to go and try this!

  8. I'm really in love with the color of this soup!

  9. It's still very hot int Northern California but I'm storing this one up for the later in the Fall. Sounds absolutely lovely, it'd perfect for Thanksgiving!

  10. I enjoy having pumpkin soup & this is even better, with a hint of spicy-ness. Just too bad that in Asia, pumpkin soups like this is not that widely available in restaurants. I'll have to make it at home. So, thanks so much for this recipe! :)

  11. Claudia says:

    This is one gorgeous autumn soup. The sweet and the spice,the smoothness – it just sings autumn is here. And so very pretty.

  12. Pam says:

    What a terrific combination of flavors. This soup looks delicious.

  13. Talita says:

    You always combine so well the ingrediensts! Sounds tasty!

  14. We love pumpkin soup. I know I would like your version with the red bell peppers.Sam

  15. That looks perfect for fall!Rotel is diced red and green peppers. It's kinda spicy. If you mix it with Velvetta (thick cheese) it's really good queso or a party dip.

  16. Maris says:

    Mmm I haven't made any homemade soup lately but can't wait to try some!

  17. Velva says:

    Very nice soup recipe! The red pepper adds a really nice flavor touch and it looks delicious.

  18. I love creamy pumpkin soup, and yours with sweet bell peppers must have tasted great! Angie's Recipes

  19. Koko says:

    Sophie this look fabulous. I have eaten soup EVERY day at least once for the past week! I am addicted to soup right now!! Mmmmm pumpkin and squash sounds so good though. I just bought a squash, too!

  20. First off, I deserve a trophy? Look at your creations, Sophie! You're amazing! You turn healthy ingredients into sinfully rich tasting and beautiful dishes that one would never think was actually good for you! Now that's a gift!!! I love this soup so much, and you just gave me an idea for a Halloween food article I need to write! naturally, full credit to you :)

  21. That colour is so gorgeous, such a deep scarlet! It looks so appetising! :D

  22. lesley says:

    Sophie,The blend of pumpkin, squash & peppers sounds great, I'll be making this for sure!

  23. Debbie says:

    The soup sounds delicious and I love the addition of peppers!

  24. oh what a lovely autumn soup, great color will tweet lol

  25. What a gorgeous color, and perfect for October!

  26. Olga says:

    Gorgeous color.How funny: I just made a squash soup over the weekend with peppers and red onion and a pear :)

  27. Kristen says:

    what a lovely bowl of sunshine!

  28. Liz says:

    Miam! I want to make so many pumpkin or butternut squash soup this winter! I have a list with many associations, but I never thought to add red pepper,that is a wonderful idea!

  29. Juliana says:

    I never had pumpkin soup and I have pumpkin at home, so I'll give a try since the weather is kind of nice to have soup…yummie!

  30. Yummy looking…i love roasted veg soups: Mushrooms, Pumpkin, Chestnut, Tomatoes… and I'm your neighbour (in the Netherlands too!)

  31. A spicy squash soup sounds fantastic. Love the color!

  32. dada says:

    I really like your spiced soup!!! Cheers

  33. Cynthia says:

    Hey, that's a nice combo, the pumpkin and bell pepper.

  34. I bet this tastes amazing! Great color.

  35. How can I resist pumpkin and butternut squash!Love that soup.

  36. Hi Sophie, I am still in Hong Kong, greetings! Your soup makes me feel very Autumny : ) Sounds really great!

  37. Yummy! Spicy pumpkin soup :) Great idea!

  38. The combination sounds heavenly! Perfect for a rainy evening..

  39. Queen B. says:

    ooooooo yum ! I love fall because that's when I start making soups ! This looks amazing :)

  40. Anja says:

    I love the deep red color, your soup looks mouthwatering. thanks for visiting my blog Sophie. Have a nice day.

  41. This looks delicious combined with butternut squash! I have both in my fridge! So cozy and comforting.

  42. TeaLady says:

    This soup looks delicious and very comforting. Thanks for visiting my blog.

  43. zerrin says:

    Never had pumpkin soup before. We just make dessert of it. I need such new soups as winter is coming and I want to try new soup recipes for the cold days this year.

  44. Daily Spud says:

    It really is getting to soup time of year, isn't it? Love pumpkin soup, I'd happily take a bowl of this off you :)

  45. Naturally sweet and spicy. Nice!

  46. Carolyn Jung says:

    This really wakes me up to the fact that it's fall. No more summer tomato soups. Now is the time for creamy pumpkin ones like this.

  47. Oh, I love this, the combination of flavors I can only imagine how good it will be. Perfect for this time of year.

  48. zurin says:

    Sophie, I just made a dull looking mushroom soup and now I see this! the colour is simply amazing. Loving it. It is on my to make list now. Loving the bell peppers and pumpkin combo :))

  49. Olive says:

    hello, Sophie!your soup is perfect for cold rainy days, I love the addition of chilli pepper flakes :)

  50. Muneeba says:

    Pumpkin pumpkin everywhere .. love 'em! It's pretty chilly here today .. what I wouldn't give for a bowl of that gorgeous soup right now?! Beautiful job, Sophie :)

  51. Sophie says:

    @ everyone: thanks a lot!!! Enjoy the soup!!

  52. Kerstin says:

    What a lovely Fall soup, it sounds so good Sophie!

  53. Diana H says:

    Pumpkin squash and peppers, that sounds divine. I love that idea.

  54. cinnamon says:

    Really delicious!!!

  55. Claire says:

    Howdy blogger, thank you for providing this article.. I found it first-class.

  56. Thank you! It is very good information

  57. [...] lentil & tomato soup 4. Spicy chorizo & bean soup 5. Spiced sweet potato & coconut soup 6. Spiced summer pumpkin, butternut squash & red bell peppers soup 7. Spiced roasted thyme, chorizo & pumpkin soup served with a home-made pumpkin & feta [...]

  58. Thank you for pretty impressive post. I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon.

  59. [...] thyme, chorizo & pumpkin soup, served with a home-made pumpkin, feta & red onions bread 2. Spiced summer pumpkin, butternut squash & red bell peppers soup Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); [...]

  60. [...] 3. Spiced Summer pumpkin, red bell pepper & butternut pumpkin soup! A delightful & tasty soup! [...]

  61. […] 4. Spiced Summer pumpkin, butternut pumpkin & red bell peppers soup […]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,096 other followers

