Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Mixed pasta with courgettes, garlic,ricotta & mint

on 16/09/2009

A divine & tasty pasta ricotta dish

Lovely courgettes ( zucchini )

I bought lovely little courgettes ( zucchini ) at the multi cultural market in Brussels.

I also bought fresh sheep’s ricotta. I wanted to make a nice & easy meal from it.

I had left over pasta & kamut pasta. So I made this!

Print me!

 

Recipe: For 2 persons, with seconds

Ingredients:

200 gr durum wheat fusilli

150 gr of Kamut penne

525 gr of washed & cleaned little courgettes ( zucchini ), cut into small rounds or into 2

2 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & finely cut up

EVOO ( Extra Virgin Olive Oil ), a fruity one

2 tablespoons of pine nuts

a few pinches of dried & crushed chilis

200 gr of fresh ricotta (I use sheep’s ricotta ), is low-fat ricotta

10 leaves of fresh mint, washed & pad dry, cut up finely

grinds of black pepper

To serve: freshly grated Parmesan cheese, grated

 

Method:

1. Cook the pasta together in a large cooking pot, filled with plenty of water until al dente. Drain well but keep a bit of the boiling water for the sauce later.

2. Take a little non stick pan & heat up on medium high. Add the pine nuts. Shake the pan from time to time. Heat up. You will roast the pine nuts. When they fill the kitchen with their aroma’s & they are a bit brown in colour, they will be ready. This will take about 3 to 6 minutes in total.

3. Take a large non stick pan with fitting lid & heat up on medium high. Add a few tablespoons of the fruity EVOO. Heat up. When the oil sizzles, add the chopped up garlic & the chopped courgettes. Stir frequently & fry for about 4 to 5 minutes. Now, add a few pinches of crushed & dried chili’s according to your taste. I prefer a bit but not too much. Stir from time to time. Fry for another 4 to 6 minutes or untill ready & cooked trough.

4. You have the pot of pasta, with a bit of the cooking water in it, in front of you. Stir well. Off the heat, add the chopped mint & add the ricotta. Stir with a spoon. Now, add the fried garlic & chili courgettes. Stir carefully with a spoon. Check the seasoning. Add a few grinds of black pepper & taste again. It has to taste fab!

5. Take your 2 serving plates & plate up!

6. Grate some fresh Parmesan shavings over the top & enjoy!!

MMMMMMMMM,…

If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts

You might like:

1. Sophie’s farfalle with spinach, roasted pine nuts & sheep’s ricotta

 

I am sending this to Presto Pasta night’s, this time hosted by Sara @ imafoodblog



Mixed pasta with courgettes, garlic, ricotta & mint on Foodista
96 responses to “Mixed pasta with courgettes, garlic,ricotta & mint

  1. This looks yummy! I think I'd like to try it, but without the mint! (I'm weird and dislike mint in most things!)Thanks for reading and commenting on my blog, I'm glad someone besides my friends read it! :)

  2. Liz says:

    Mmm! this pasta looks yummy, I love everything is in. I have never used ricotta in pasta like this. It is a good idea, I take note… Have a good day, Liz

  3. Junglefrog says:

    I love most pasta recipes and this would not be an exception. It looks delicious! Like nutsvilleinnorway I have this thing with mint in my food. My friend tells me to get over it and that I should try it more, so maybe this is one recipe I could try it with!

  4. Cheryl says:

    I love the addition of the mint, this looks both beautiful and healthy!

  5. Love the idea of using the mint in the pasta….very unique. Angie's Recipes

  6. Clémence says:

    que des ingrédients que j'aime. Il faudra que je teste avec la menthe…

  7. Have not thought to put mint in pasta, I have a few left by chance in the fridge. Maybe i can try too!

  8. The mint is the perfect touch. :)

  9. Great flavours and mint sounds like a nice addition!

  10. This looks so light and fresh!

  11. nora@ffr says:

    Great recipe & pictures…looks beautiful & so tempting :)

  12. zerrin says:

    A very healthy dish. I love all these flavors together, especially the mint. It gives a refreshing flavor to dishes. Thanks for this recipe.

  13. Ninette says:

    Lovely zucchini! Love the combination of flavors too.

  14. Elra says:

    What a delicious pasta Sophie!

  15. The pasta sounds incredible! I love the combination of zucchini & ricotta and the addition of mint is excellent!

  16. gaga says:

    I'm always looking for mint ideas and really like this one. Thanks for sharing it!

  17. Anna says:

    That looks yummy, gooey and healthy. Very nice idea.

  18. yummy, oh love the addition of the mint, good food at Sophies house

  19. The kind of oasta slad I crave for! A wonderful combination of ingredients!Cheers,Rosa

  20. Judy says:

    This looks good. I don't use zucchini or mint nearly enough.

  21. I just learned that courgettes are zucchini. I haven't tried kamut pasta. Lots of learning for me in this post!

  22. Thanks for sticking with me Sophie! It's good to be back!

  23. Pam says:

    I bet the ricotta made this dish extra creamy and delicious.

  24. Gloria says:

    Love ricotta Sophie and this dish look georgeous, I love it, thanks by share, gloria

  25. Olga says:

    The multicultural market sounds like a lot of fun!

  26. Michelle says:

    Great looking dish!! Healthy too. I don't cook much with wheat pasta but I really should start. :)Lots of hugs!!

  27. Juliana says:

    Yummie, this durum pasta looks delicious, love the addition og pine nuts :-)

  28. Ricotta and courgettes is a great combination. Sounds delicious!

  29. Karine says:

    Ce plat de pates semble delicieux! J'adore le ricotta et la menthe! MmM

  30. lisamichele says:

    YUM, Sophie, that looks absolutely delicious! I wish I still had some zucchini left so I could make it tomorrow! I don't usually buy zucchini unless it's absolutely necessary for a recipe, but I always take the ones that people pawn off on me after a summer of zucchini growing.

  31. Diana H says:

    I love all of these foods, together it's a great combination. We'd have to disguise the zucchini for my husband though.

  32. Donna-FFW says:

    What a great use for zucchini. It sounds wonderful with the ricotta. Delicious combination.

  33. it looks light and delish!

  34. farida says:

    Sophie, thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. You have a nice blog. Keep it up! I love zucchini and anything with it. Nice recipe!

  35. Kerstin says:

    This is my kind of dinner Sophie – pasta with two of my favorite ingredients, ricotta and zucchini – yum!

  36. Erica says:

    Wow! My vegetarian husband would love this! Looks delicious.

  37. Anja says:

    Thanks Sophie for visiting my blog. I love your pasta as well. Have a nice weekend.

  38. Ricardo says:

    A dish after my heart and of course stomach, all very loved ingredients of my liking made into this beautiful delicious dish, well done and thanks for the share :) kisses Rico

  39. Sophie! You are such a creative cook! :)

  40. Janice says:

    Thanks for your kind comments on my blog. I have many happy memories of Brussels from my teens when the company my Dad worked for did a lot of business there. I also worked as an au pair for a Belgian family one summer. Great blog, lots of 'real' food.

  41. Want to eat now, looks so yummy!You make cooking look effortless, lovely.

  42. I wish we could find courgetttes like these in my area! These look just like the ones in Lebanon! and they are almost sweet!

  43. Gattina says:

    FRESH ricotta!!! I can only keep drooling over here…

  44. This looks really lovely and healthy! I always see courgettes on sale at a reasonable price so this is a great recipe in which to use them! :)

  45. Sara says:

    This is like the perfect pasta. I love zuchinni in pasta and some fresh ricotta. Yum! Thanks for sending it in for my Presto Pasta Nights roundup!

  46. Joanne says:

    I love any pasta with ricotta. Delightful!

  47. Looks delicious.

  48. Love this – do not use mint nearly enough but this should get me going.

  49. Sophie says:

    @ everyone of you: I am so pleased that you all like this yummie dish: I agree!

  50. Looks really delicious. You should also try with soba pasta, it should work great with your preparation

  51. Great website! I am loving it!! Will come back again. I am taking your feeds also

  52. Paige says:

    I wish more people would write blogs like this that are really fun to read. With all the fluff floating around on the net, it is rare to read a blog like this instead.

  53. Andrea says:

    You’re blogging has really come on when I look back over previous posts. Actually I arrived here from a forum on an unrelated topic. Worth surfing sometimes. Thanks.

  54. You have mentioned very interesting points ! ps decent site. “Every man over forty is a scoundrel.” by George Bernard Shaw.

  55. I like this post, enjoyed this one regards for posting .

  56. Busy Gdansk says:

    Can I simply say what a relief to seek out someone who truly knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You positively know how one can carry an issue to mild and make it important. Extra individuals must read this and understand this facet of the story. I cant believe youre no more well-liked since you undoubtedly have the gift.

  57. Wohh exactly what I was looking for, thanks for posting.

  58. Thnkx so much for this! I haven’t been this moved by a blog post for a long period of time! You’ve got it, whatever that means in blogging. Anyway, Youre definitely somebody that has something to say that people should hear. Keep up the good work. Keep on inspiring the people!

  59. I really like your writing style, superb information, thanks for posting :D. “He wrapped himself in quotations- as a beggar would enfold himself in the purple of Emperors.” by Rudyard Kipling.

  60. Thank you for your site post. Thomas and I are saving to get a new ebook on this topic and your blog post has made us all to save the money. Your thinking really clarified all our concerns. In fact, in excess of what we had thought of ahead of the time we came across your wonderful blog. We no longer nurture doubts including a troubled mind because you have attended to our own needs in this post. Thanks

  61. Excellent web site. A lot of helpful info here. I’m sending it to some friends ans additionally sharing in delicious. And certainly, thank you in your sweat!

  62. Some truly fantastic information, Sword lily I observed this. “Always be ready to speak your mind and a base man will avoid you.” by William Blake.

  63. kitchens says:

    With regard to those of us getting a a a lot more moderate spending spending budget, there’s an excellent choice of very affordable goods. You could also get your present cupboards refaced, this implies changing the seen locations as an example kitchen furniture cabinet doors and handles, even so retaining precisely the same units.

  64. Merely a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw great layout.

  65. Whats up! I just want to give a huge thumbs up for the great data you’ve here on this post. I will probably be coming back to your weblog for more soon.

  66. Thanks so much for this! I have not been this moved by a blog for quite some time! You’ve got it, whatever that means in blogging. Well, Youre certainly somebody that has something to say that people should hear. Keep up the great job. Keep on inspiring the people!

  67. I got what you mean , thanks for putting up.Woh I am thankful to find this website through google. “Wisdom doesn’t necessarily come with age. Sometimes age just shows up by itself.” by Woodrow Wilson.

  68. But wanna remark that you have a very nice site, I the design it actually stands out.

  69. Xavier Attia says:

    I like this blog very much, Its a really nice office to read and obtain information. “I have never liked working. To me a job is an invasion of privacy.” by Danny McGoorty.

  70. click says:

    Generally I don’t read article on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to take a look at and do it! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thank you, very nice article.

  71. Keep up the great work, I read few blog posts on this internet site and I think that your web site is really interesting and has circles of wonderful information.

  72. I like this site it’s a master piece! Glad I observed this on google.

  73. Tama Costain says:

    I like the efforts you have put in this, appreciate it for all the great articles.

  74. Pablo Simers says:

    Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was looking for!

  75. I love reading your blog. I’ve you bookmarked your website in order to check out the latest stuff.

  76. I like this website very much, Its a very nice billet to read and obtain info . “I look upon every day to be lost, in which I do not make a new acquaintance.” by Samuel Johnson.

  77. Andera Knori says:

    Some genuinely choice content on this web site , saved to fav.

  78. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  79. I’m also writing to make you be aware of of the wonderful experience my wife’s girl found reading through yuor web blog. She picked up a good number of details, which include what it is like to have an ideal helping mood to let many more without hassle know just exactly a number of complicated subject areas. You undoubtedly did more than people’s expected results. Many thanks for presenting the precious, dependable, revealing and as well as easy guidance on your topic to Tanya.

  80. Thank you, I have recently been looking for information about this topic for ages and yours is the greatest I’ve discovered so far. But, what about the bottom line? Are you sure about the source?

  81. Remonty says:

    Your post is extremely interesting. Can you post again soon?

  82. […] green mixed salad & fresh baguettes or whatever you want to eat it with! You might like: 1. Mixed pasta with courgettes, garlic, ricotta & mint 2. Sophie’s farfalle with spinach, roasted pine nuts & sheep’s ricotta Spinach […]

  83. I happen to be writing to make you understand of the impressive experience my wife’s child enjoyed using your webblog. She came to find a good number of pieces, which include what it is like to possess a very effective giving character to let other people with no trouble learn a number of complicated subject areas. You truly did more than her expected results. I appreciate you for offering the practical, dependable, informative and unique guidance on the topic to Janet.

  84. I’m impressed, I have to say. Actually not often do I encounter a weblog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. Your concept is excellent; the issue is one thing that not enough people are talking intelligently about. I’m very joyful that I stumbled throughout this in my search for something regarding this.

  85. bets by dre studio says:

    Hi, i should say amazing website you have, i stumbled across it in Google. Does you get much site visitors?

  86. […] 1. Mixed pasta with courgettes, garlic, ricotta & mint […]

  87. Noreen says:

    Very interesting subject , thankyou for posting . “Welcome to President Bush, Mrs. Bush, and my fellow astronauts.” by Dan Quayle.

  88. […] 2. Mixed pasta with courgettes, garlic, ricotta & mint […]

  89. I’m still learning from you, while I’m improving myself. I absolutely love reading everything that is posted on your site.Keep the posts coming. I liked it!

  90. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely useful info specifically the last part :) I care for such info much. I was seeking this particular info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  91. You made several fine points there. I did a search on the subject matter and found most people will consent with your blog.

  92. hey there and thank you for your information – I have definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise some technical points using this website, as I experienced to reload the website lots of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and can damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for a lot more of your respective fascinating content. Ensure that you update this again very soon..

  93. Right now it seems like WordPress is the top blogging
    platform out there right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you
    are using on your blog?

    • Sophie33 says:

      yes, but before i was on blogger.com & I liked that platform way better ! It was much easier to use. But My Rss didn’t work anymore so I had to move out to something else so I chose wordpress.com because it was also free. Blogger platform had many more cool colourful blogthemes & wordpress is much less attractive, I think!

  94. […] 1. Mixed pasta with courgettes, mint, garlic & ricotta! […]

  95. […] 6. Mixed pasta with ricotta, zucchini, mint & garlic ( VEG ) […]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,128 other followers

