Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Eggless wholemeal spelt, banana & coconut breakfast muffins

on 31/08/2009

Double coconut, spelt & banana muffins!

You know by now that I like to bake with wholemeal spelt. Spelt has 30% more protein than whole meal flour. So, it is good for you! These breakfast muffins contain wholemeal spelt flour, baking powder, 3 very ripe bananas, coconut milk, shredded unsweetened coconut, canola oil, cane sugar, cinnamon & vanilla extract. These are yummy moist muffins.

When I eat one, I am not hungry for 3 + 1/2 hours!
 
Printable recipe here!
 
Recipe: For 13 + 1/2 large muffins
Ingredients:
180 gr wholemeal spelt flour
3 large very ripe bananas, peeled & finely mashed with a fork
2 teaspoons of ground cinnamon
2 teaspoons of baking powder
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract ( I use home-made vanilla extract )
80 ml of canola oil
240 ml of coconut milk
150 gr of shredded unsweetened coconut
100 gr of raw, cane sugar
 
Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 190°C ( 374 F) for about 10 minutes.
2. Take a large bowl & add the spelt flour, cinnamon, baking powder. Mix well.
3. In another bowl add the mashed up bananas, the coconut milk, the canola oil, the vanilla & the sugar. Mix well with a wooden spoon.
4. Add to the bowl with the dry ingredients. Mix until just joined.
5. Fold in the shredded unsweetened coconut. I use flower pattern silicon baking mats, so I don’t have to grease my filling holes. Fill for 3/4 & place onto a baking sheet in the center of the oven & bake for about 20 minutes until golden & cooked trough. Test with a sewing pin. Take out of the oven & place the silicon mats on a wire rack to cool down a bit. Leave the muffins inside the silicon mats for about 5 minutes, then take them out & turn them over so that the top of your muffin looks as a flower pattern. Place them on a wire rack to cool down completely. The flower muffins will shine a bit on top. That is typical for silicon baking.
6. When cool, store in a cookie box.
 
Enjoy with a good cup of fresh coffee!
If you liked this post, don’t miss any post by subscribing to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free! RSS Feed RSS – Posts
 
 You might like:
1. Sophie’s wholemeal spelt & blueberry breakfast muffins
2. Sophie’s energetic & healthy breakfast bread
3. Sophie’s speedy mixed berry cake
4. Ginger spiced pumpkin muffins
5. Wholemeal spelt chocolate ricotta muffins with dark chocolate chips
 
I am sending this to Bake Your Own Bread , aka BYOB, roundup September:

[BYOB-badge.jpg]

Eggless Wholemeal Spelt, Banana & Coconut Breakfast Muffins on Foodista

67 responses to “Eggless wholemeal spelt, banana & coconut breakfast muffins

  1. Marieke says:

    Yum, Sophie!! this muffin looks so delicious!Now, I want at least 2 of them! thanks!

  2. Healthy and delicious!Have a great week!cheers,Rosa

  3. You are the healthy muffin queen Sophie! It looks lovely and I like the fact that it's healthy too :)

  4. Christine says:

    Yum, this muffin has got all the ingredients I like.I don't find any wholemeal spelt flour at my nearby supermarkets. Where did you get it?

  5. Erica says:

    I love the coconut-banana combo!!!! sounds great.

  6. Your muffins always look so unique! Yum. Love the colours of the napkins too :)

  7. Valérie says:

    You know, I didn't know what spelt was until very recently. But now that I do, I should bake with it more often. Your muffins sound excellent!

  8. I haven't had a chance to use spelt yet… these muffins look interesting, and the fact that they're egg-free means you can offer them to a wider variety of people.

  9. I love spelt…..they are easier to digest and my stomach doesn't complain that much. The eggless breakfast banana bread sounds very healthy and delicious. Angie's Recipes

  10. Lo says:

    I love bread made with spelt — so I'll bet it's awesome in muffins. These look amazing — the banana and coconut makes them sound delicious and tropical. Healthy muffins are the best!

  11. I can see that you've been very healthy which is so great! I need to put Lon on a diet.

  12. Olga says:

    what a gorgeous design of the napkin and tablecloth!

  13. These sound so good with banana and coconut and I love that there are no eggs in the recipe!

  14. What sort of special pan did you bake that in? It looks really cool.

  15. Claudia says:

    Sophie! These are just scrumptious – with all those goodie ingredients – good tasting and good for you. You are inspiring me to go back to muffin backing. The daughter starts college classes next week and these are justr the thing for the bus ride in!

  16. Super healthy and looks delicious Sophie! I love the banana coconut pairing, one of my favorites in muffins and bread!!

  17. I've never heard of wholemeal spelt. Is it like bran?

  18. Elra says:

    Delicious and healthy muffin for breakfast. This will make anyone day goes smoothly for sure. Especially if you have this on Monday morning (if you know what I mean).

  19. Esme says:

    please stop by for some lemonade and an award

  20. Talita says:

    Flourless, eggless recipes are so useful for those days we don't have the ingredient.

  21. These might be too healthy for me!

  22. Anna says:

    It looks pretty and sounds very health, and anything with coconut gets my vote.

  23. What a great breakfast recipe! In fact, I love all of your recipes. You live in such a beautiful city. I remember walking into the main square and feeling like I stepped into a mythical world. I hope to visit again soon.

  24. pinkstripes says:

    These sound great and healthy. I'll have to try them.

  25. dada says:

    They look delicious and the recipe is very interesting!

  26. Juliana says:

    I never tried spelt flour…sounds good and with coconut milk…yummie! What a breakfast treat!

  27. The bananas and coconut in these sound great! Delicious muffins.

  28. Cheryl says:

    Wow Sophie my husband would love these muffins, he is all about yummy and good for you!

  29. I love muffins. Are they not the greatest quick bread ever? I adore them and can't wait to try your recipe.As always, your talents are only exceeded by your generosity and grace.Blessings,Lacy

  30. ~Dana says:

    Sophie,That would be wonderful to meet for lunch or something! I think I'll be there Oct 26, but not sure yet. I'll contact you when I know for sure!Thanks,Dana

  31. yummy cool i learnt about spelt oh and the soup rocks as well

  32. Kerstin says:

    I love this flavor combo, banana and coconut are so good together, and they are good for you which is such a nice bonus :)

  33. Gail says:

    Thank you for the recipe Spohie – these look delicious and with the added bonus that they are healthy too!

  34. Diana H says:

    Spelt is on my list of things to try. Those grains are all so good, I just want to learn about all of them.

  35. Ricardo says:

    Not only sounds it looks delicious, would have loved to see a cross section cut of that magnificent muffin…I just love muffins…cheers for the share kisses xxx

  36. you can't go wrong with bananas and coconut! Healthy and delish..

  37. These sound like wonderful muffins. Very healthy too.Sam

  38. nora@ffr says:

    vat a great combo with banana and coconut. never tried b4!! sound delish!

  39. Kat says:

    these sound yummy. The coconut milk is such a great addition. I've been making more different kiunds of muffins myself lately and this is definitely an idea I'll save :)

  40. Nithya says:

    Muffin looks yumm.. wish I could have it right away. I am here for the first time and sure to be back often. you have a lovely blog. Keep it going.Do take a peep of my blogs too. Nithyawww.4thsensesamayal.blogspot.comwww.nitsarts.blogspot.com

  41. Lyss says:

    Found your post via BYOB. We love spelt here, and I'm thrilled to see an eggless recipe that looks so yummy. Thanks for posting it!

  42. Divina Pe says:

    This is something that I need to try Sophie. It's a wonderful muffin.

  43. I have been reading out many of your articles and i can state pretty clever stuff. I will make sure to bookmark your website.

  44. Emily says:

    With all the doggone snow we have gotten recently I am stuck indoors, fortunately there is the internet, thanks for giving me something to do. :)

  45. seo says:

    Simply want to say your article is as astounding. The clearness for your publish is just spectacular and that i can suppose you are an expert in this subject. Fine together with your permission allow me to take hold of your RSS feed to stay updated with drawing close post. Thank you one million and please keep up the gratifying work.

  46. You have noted very interesting details ! ps nice site.

  47. roman shades says:

    I was examining some of your articles on this internet site and I think this web site is rattling informative ! Keep putting up.

  48. Wes Reicks says:

    Very nice layout and great written content, practically nothing else we need :D.

  49. Glen Nighman says:

    I always was interested in this subject and stock still am, thanks for posting.

  50. Walter Rowey says:

    I think this web site has some rattling wonderful information for everyone :D. “Laughter is the sun that drives winter from the human face.” by Victor Hugo.

  51. great post says:

    I like this website very much so much fantastic info.

  52. Simply a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw great layout.

  53. I have recently started a web site, the info you provide on this website has helped me tremendously. Thanks for all of your time & work. “If you would know strength and patience, welcome the company of trees.” by Hal Borland.

  54. Alberto Tilt says:

    But a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw outstanding design and style .

  55. I like this blog very much, Its a rattling nice billet to read and incur information. “The stars incline, but do not impel.” by Robert Anson Heinlein.

  56. Very interesting subject, thank you for putting up.

  57. 50 Media says:

    Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn something like this before. So good to search out somebody with some authentic ideas on this subject. realy thanks for starting this up. this website is something that’s wanted on the net, someone with a bit originality. useful job for bringing something new to the web!

  58. I consider something really interesting about your blog so I saved to bookmarks .

  59. [...] 2. Wholemeal spelt chocolate ricotta muffins with dark chocolate chips, contains gluten  3. Eggles wholemeal spelt, banana & coconut breakfast muffins, contains gluten 4. Sophie’s wholemeal spelt & blueberry breakfast muffins, contains gluten 5. [...]

  60. [...] & egg-free speculaas spiced apple muffins 4. Moist gluten-free zucchini ( courgettes ) muffins 5. Wholemeal spelt breakfast coconut & banana muffins 6. Wholemeal spelt & blueberry breakfast muffins 7. Cranbbery & pecan muffins 8. Rhubarb [...]

  61. [...] mini muffins with dark chocolate chips 4. Gluten-Free & Egg-Free speculaas spiced apple muffins 5. Egg-Free wholemal spelt, banana & coconut muffins 6. Sophie’s speedy mixed berry cake 7. Sophie’s energetic & healthy breakfast bread [...]

  62. Wesele says:

    Very good Web site – thanks!

  63. [...] mini muffins with dark chocolate chips 4. Gluten-Free & Egg-Free speculaas spiced apple muffins 5. Wholemeal spelt banana & coconut muffins 6. Wholemeal spelt blueberry muffins 7. Cranberry & pecans orange muffins 8. Rhubarb & [...]

  64. [...] b/ Wholegrain eggless spelt, banana & coconut breakfast muffins [...]

  65. Corie says:

    I like this post, enjoyed this one thank you for putting up. “No trumpets sound when the important decisions of our life are made. Destiny is made known silently.” by Agnes de Mille.

  66. Thank you so much for providing individuals with an extraordinarily terrific possiblity to read critical reviews from this web site. It’s usually so lovely plus full of fun for me and my office friends to search your web site more than 3 times in a week to learn the new items you will have. And definitely, I’m so certainly fulfilled with the amazing ideas you serve. Some 3 tips in this post are undoubtedly the simplest we’ve had.

  67. [...] 4. Wholegrain spelt eggless banana & coconut breakfast muffins [...]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,128 other followers

