Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Spiced sweet potato & coconut soup

on 26/08/2009

A georgous spiced sweet potato soup! Yum!

I am back from my holidays!! Thanks for your lovely comments!

I love a spiced sweet potato soup. I adore sweet potatoes, what about you?

Printable recipe here!

Recipe: For about 6 smaller bowls of soup
Ingredients:
2 medium white onions, peeled & finely chopped
4 cloves of garlic, peeled & finely chopped
730 g of peeled, washed & roughly chopped up sweet orange potatoes
750 ml of gluten-free vegetable stock
250 ml of gluten-free coconut milk
1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon of finely grinned black pepper
1/2 teaspoon of finely grated nutmeg
1 teaspoon of smoked paprika, the Picanté version ( I use Pimentón de la Vera )
soy baking margarine
** To serve:
fresh crusty baguette or gluten-free baguette, in pieces
6 sprigs of fresh chives, washed, pad dry on kitchen paper
butter or minarine to put on the baguette pieces

Method:
1. Take a large cooking pot & melt some baking margarine in it. Heat up on medium high. When sizzling hot, add the chopped up onions & garlic. Stir often. Fry until soft.
2. Add the chunks of sweet potatoes. Stir. Add the spices, stir everything around & let the spices fry for about 1 minute. So, that the aromas come free. Now, add the stock & stir. Now put the lid on & cook until the sweet potatoes are cooked trough. I use the steaming pot with fitting lid for this. It is much easier & much quicker.
3. When the potatoes are cooked trough, check the seasoning. Taste. It has to taste fab!
4. Puree the soup. Taste again. Now, add the 250 ml of the coconut milk. Stir until evenly divided. Taste again! Now the soup tastes fab & it needs the coconut milk otherwise it is to spicy & hot!
5. Laddle the soup into the soup bowls & cut the chives with a scissor into equal little pieces on the surface of the soup. Serve with some crusty baguette & some butter or minarine.
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like:
1. Spiced chorizo & bean soup
2. Spiced carrot & ginger lentil soup
3. Rosemary scented celeriac & 2 bean soup
4. Roasted thyme, chorizo & pumpkin soup served with a home-made pumpkin, feta & red onions bread!
5. Spiced pointed cabbage & vegetable soup with chickpeas
6. Spicy lentil & tomato soup

Spiced Sweet Potato & Coconut Soup on Foodista


55 responses to “Spiced sweet potato & coconut soup

  1. Marieke says:

    Welcome back!! This soup is looking very tasty, Sophie!

  2. I hope you had a great holiday!!This soup looks awesome! I've never had sweet potato soup before, but i love regular potato soup!

  3. Welcome back! I love sweet potatoes too!

  4. cindy* says:

    love sweet potatoes…sean hates them :( glad you had a lovely holiday!

  5. Pam says:

    I am glad you had a fun holiday. Your soup looks amazing. I love sweet potatoes and coconut so I am sure I would really love this soup.

  6. Welcome back Sophie! We missed you :) That soup looks wonderful :D

  7. Double yay to the sweet potato. Sounds sweet and hearty.

  8. Koko says:

    Mmm sweet potatoes are one of my favourite foods in the world!!When the weather starts to cool down, I will be sure to try this!

  9. With all the wonderful spices, I bet the soup is just delicious!

  10. nora@ffr says:

    love the combo of coconut and sweet potato! yummm!! ye soup sound delish!! hope you had a great time during ye holidays sophie!! cheers~!

  11. Elra says:

    Welcome back Sophie! What a great soup, love the nutmeg in there.

  12. Muneeba says:

    Completely adore sweet potatoes myself, although have never paired them with coconut milk .. can't wait to give this exotic combo a shot as the weather cools down here! Thks Sophie .. and lovely to have u back from holidays .. when can we see pics??

  13. Welcome back! What a delicious looking soup, love sweet potatoes and the spices you added!

  14. Glad to have you back! I love sweet potato and coconut together, such a great yummy combination!

  15. Melissa says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog. What a wonderful blog you have. I love sweet potato and coconut.

  16. Nice flavor combo! This soup surely tastes wonderful!Cheers,Rosa

  17. I hope you had a fantastic time and thanks so much for quickly posting a wonderful sounding recipe. Coconut to me goes well with about everything.

  18. Yes, love sweet potatoes…and love them in soup. I often roast them with other root vegetables and puree into a soup. Next time, I'm going to try adding your spices. Thanks!

  19. Juliana says:

    Welcome back…gald to hear from you and even happier to know that you a a great time. This sweet potato soup sounds and looks delicious…cinnamon and nutmeg…yummie!

  20. Olga says:

    Welcome back!This soup looks great: I'd just take out the cinnamon and nutmeg. I think you can also do the same with carrots.

  21. Jef Boven says:

    Dear Sophie, we're glad you returned to you lovely hobby: cooking and writing posts on your blog. We should try your spicy, lovely soup, too!Mum and dad

  22. Hi Sophie, how was your holiday. I have not thought of sweet potato can be made into a soup. It is a very healthy veg. I would love to try it too one day.

  23. Daily Spud says:

    Welcome back! I do love sweet potatoes (almost as much as I love regular potatoes :) ) and anything with coconut milk gets my vote!

  24. Erica says:

    Welcome back!!!! That soup looks and sounds wonderful.I am always cooking with coconut milk :)

  25. Lon is not a big fan of coconut so I don't use it much, but I definitely want to. Your soup sounds great!

  26. Margaret says:

    A great recipe made with two wonderful ingredients, coconut milk and smoked paprika. The soup looks wonderful.

  27. Donna says:

    Welcome back.. you were missed. This soup sounds fantastic. Love sweet potatoes with coconut. How delicious!

  28. lesley says:

    Welcome back, we love sweet potato, & Baz loves anything with coconut milk, will give this a try, thank you Sophie :0)

  29. I love sweet potatoes with coconut milk! This sounds fantastic.

  30. Grace says:

    i like the coconut that's involved here, but i LOVE the cinnamon. this is a masterful soup, no doubt about it!

  31. Hey, love the addition of the coconut milk and the spices. Lots of flavour in here. Delicious.

  32. teresa says:

    oh wow, this looks so creamy adn delish!

  33. Sylvia says:

    Oh My God , Sophie. Sound very, very delicious.Is unique, I love coconut milk instead , regular milk or cream into the soups

  34. Nice to see you back, Sophie :-)Sweet potato and coconut soup sounds very yummy…esp. with coconut milk. Angie's Recipes

  35. Selba says:

    Welcome back, Sophie! Can't wait to hear the story and also pictures from your holiday.What a yummy soup!

  36. Anna says:

    Nice to see you back, this soup looks delicious, I love sweet potato especially roasted with some cinnamon.

  37. Glad you had a great vacay!! Nice to see you back :)I also adore sweet potatoes, in any way, shape or form, but I've never tried with coconut and all of those lovely spices. That soup looks fabulous and so creamy. Another future 'must try' for me..plus, it's good for you, BONUS!

  38. Jo says:

    Looks delicious and I love sweet potatoes. Bet it tasted great with a crusty loaf.

  39. heidileon says:

    Sophie, you are already back? I hope you had some great vacations.I love sweet potatoes, fried as chips or as a puree, but definitely you hit the spot because my favorite is in a soup.Also loved that your soup calls for cinnamon and pimenton, I think this spices add so much character to your soup. I think soups are the ultimate comfort food, just the kind of food you crave for, after a holiday or vacation isn't it?

  40. Nirvana says:

    This looks lovely! :) Welcome back!

  41. Judy says:

    Welcome back and thanks for another great recipe! Love coconut milk and love sweet potatoes. And I can eat soup any time.

  42. Kerstin says:

    Welcome back!I love all the spices in your sweet potato soup, it looks delicious!

  43. Beth R+V says:

    Oh, how I love creamy soups like this. And I'm trying to incorporate my asian flavors in my cooking, so this is perfect. now I want belgian waffles! Can you believe I don't have a waffle iron??

  44. Jamie says:

    Welcome back, Sophie! Hope you had a great time! This soup looks so delicious! I absolutely love sweet potatoes and the flavors in the soup sound incredible. I can almost taste it! What a thing to come home to!

  45. Lori says:

    I love the sweet potato and coconut combination! One of my favorites. Looks great!

  46. I've never made anything like that before,It looks amazing!Glad you had a nice vacation!!

  47. Ricardo says:

    Very curious flavours on that soup, I am not sure if I'd like it, but looks delicious so I would definitely try it…(was not a criticism just personal taste remark), who knows I may like it…thanks for sharing kisses xxx

  48. Sweet potato and coconut…how delicioulsy different, will have to try this as soon as our sweet potatoes are in season!ronelle

  49. Velva says:

    Hi Sophie-Thank you for leaving a post on my food blog about our cooking club. You asked for the recipes. If there are any of the dishes that you see that you would like the recipe, I will gladly obtain them for you and send them to you. Just let me know.

  50. I’m still learning from you, but I’m making my way to the top as well. I definitely enjoy reading all that is written on your blog.Keep the posts coming. I liked it!

  51. Alexandra says:

    Thanks for the post I actually learned something from it. Very good content on this site Always looking forward to new post.

  52. [...] Swiss chard & chickpeas soup 3. Spicy lentil & tomato soup 4. Spicy chorizo & bean soup 5. Spiced sweet potato & coconut soup 6. Spiced summer pumpkin, butternut squash & red bell peppers soup 7. Spiced roasted thyme, [...]

  53. Your post is extremely interesting. Can you post again soon?

  54. Slub says:

    Thank you! It is very good information

  55. I love reading your blog. I’ve you bookmarked your website in order to check out the latest stuff.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 945 other followers

