Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Pea, mint & haloumi patties

on 09/08/2009


tasty & refreshing spring flavours & added haloumi!

These are pea, mint & haloumi patties. I have made them for my husband’s birthday!

Yummie,…
Recipe: For about 8 patties
Ingredients:
** For the batter:
250 gr of frozen or fresh peas ( they are in season )
100 gr self-raising flour
30 gr cornstarch
125 ml of semi skimmed milk
2 eggs, well beaten
1 block of haloumi, drained & pad dry with kitchen paper, cut into 1 cm cubes
1 heaped tablespoon of fresh mint, washed & stalks removed, finely chopped
a fruity EVOO ( Extra Virgin Olive Oil )
grinned black pepper
**To serve:
sweet chili sauce
slices of lemon, to drip onto the patties: that adds flavour!
to fry in: a fruity EVOO ( Extra Virgin Olive Oil )
Method:
1. An hour or 2 before making these patties, you can make the batter in a large bowl & put cling film over the top & keep it in the fridge.
2. Boil the peas in boiling water until they are al dente. Por running cold water over them to keep them from stopping boiling. So they will keep the green fresh colour. Drain well. Put 1/2 of the peas in a food processor. Puree them.
3. Sift the self-raising flour & the cornstarch into a large bowl. Whisk in the milk, eggs & the mashed peas. Fold in the cubes of haloumi, the peas, the mint & some grinned black pepper. Mix slowly everything together with a metal spoon, because you won’t want the air to go out of the batter. Taste! It has to taste fab! Place cling film over the top of the bowl & put into the fridge until you are ready to fry them. The batter will have thicken by now!
4. Take a large non stick pan & pour 1 layer of the fruity EVOO in the pan. Heat up on medium high. When hot, add a large tablespoon of the mixture on side of the pan & another one at the other side of the pan & fry for about 1 to 2 minutes per side until the pattie is golden & cooked trough. Drain on layers of kitchen paper & add EVOO to the pan & do the same with the rest of the batter. Drain well on kitchen paper.
5. When you are ready to serve, take your plates, lay 2 patties on your plate, add a slice of lemon & place a little serving pot with sweet chili sauce on your plate . Put a bit of the lemon juice over the patties & dip into the sweet chili sauce!!
Enjoy!!!
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free! RSS Feed RSS – Posts
Sophie's Pea, Mint & Haloumi Patties on Foodista
78 responses to “Pea, mint & haloumi patties

  1. Marieke says:

    Hey Sophie!! You are on a haloumi high!!You are the haloumi queen! These patties look so yummie to me!! Delicious!

  2. Clémence says:

    j'adore l'halloumi mais on en trouve pas facilement en france… Miam ta recette !

  3. The cutlets look very yummy….Angie's Recipes

  4. Sara says:

    These sound wonderful. What a great birthday party treat.

  5. These look incredible. Fantastic meal idea!

  6. Lovely patties. I love the way you call EVOO for extra virgin olive oil : )

  7. foodcreate says:

    Amazing ! Looks so tasty will try to make them .Thanks for sharing your recipe:)Have a wonderful Day ~

  8. Valérie says:

    More haloumi! :-)These are very original patties, expecially with the peas in the batter. And you can never go wrong with fried cheese!

  9. Sylvia says:

    Certainly your husband love it. Looks delicious

  10. I recently had a very bad experience with frying haloumi. Everything splattered everywhere. Mental note: pat dry the cheese before adding to the hot oil. Thanks, Sophie. I’m going to give the cheese another try

  11. Wow, what an incredible combo peas, mint and haloumi – does it get any better?

  12. zerrin says:

    I love anything with mint. Your husband is so lucky.

  13. What an interesting idea! These would make a great starter at a party.

  14. lesley says:

    Hello Sophie,My son introduced me to Haloumi last year & I love it!! Great combo! Hope he had a happy birthday :0)

  15. Grace says:

    pea patties–that has a nice ring to it, and I'm quite sure i'd enjoy them very much. it's a nice vegetarian option, too!

  16. Gloria says:

    This look absolutely yummy Sophie!I love it! Gloria

  17. these look great what is haloumi? lol Rebecca

  18. Pam says:

    Doesn't this look amazing. I love the flavors in this dish.

  19. Nicisme says:

    Happy birthday to your hubby – lucky him!

  20. An original recipe using halloumi! Really appetizing, yummy!Cheers,Rosa

  21. These look divine. I still haven't found haloumi around here, but I'm on the lookout all the time because of your inspirational (read, yummy) recipes using it.

  22. I love the idea of combining peas, mint, and haloumi in these delicious looking patties! Yum!

  23. nora@ffr says:

    vat a perfect idea!! m sure gonna give a shot soon!!cheers!

  24. Anything with haloumi sounds delicious to me! The chili sauce for dipping sounds great too.

  25. What a great b-day present!

  26. Anna says:

    Hi Sophie, first happy birthday to your hubby, and what a great combination pea, mint and haloumi. Looks yummy.

  27. Juliana says:

    This patties sound and look delicious, with mint…yummie!

  28. Bunny says:

    Sophie I've never seen anything like this before, the only peas my husband and the kids will eat are fresh peas. I bet they'd love this!!

  29. Cynthia says:

    I'd enjoy these patties any time of the day!

  30. Ninette says:

    I have a ton of mint in my garden. What a great way to use it!

  31. Liz says:

    Mmm! I love peas&mint, but I have never tried or seen haloumi cheese… I have to find it after seeing this recipe!

  32. Koko says:

    Oooh, neat!! I have yet to find Haloumi…but all these recipes that yuse it look so good! Happy Birthday to your husband, as well!

  33. This is one recipe I must definetly try! I love haloumi cheese..thank you..

  34. figtree says:

    You always have the best ideas!! I cant wait to try these!!Figtreeapps

  35. Cheryl says:

    Those look delish, I have to expand my horizons and try something like this!

  36. Kerstin says:

    Happy bday to your hubby! What a yummy bday treat :)

  37. Jamie says:

    Oh, yum yum yum! But I still haven't been able to figure out where to buy halloumi! And this looks so delicious!

  38. Talita says:

    Happy B-day for your husband!These sound really tasteful!

  39. Dawn says:

    now this is a good combo. and I was also curious about the sauce wondering if it would work well here, but after reading the ingredients they definitely do.

  40. Shivam LA Blingicedoutjewelry Offer Great Prices on large selection of Bling Hip Hop Jewelry, Bling Buckles, Belts, Bracelets, Chain,Pendants, Watches & Earrings. Large Selection at wholesale prices.Wholesale watchesHip Hop JewelryBling BucklesHiphop Watches

  41. Hey there, You’ve done an excellent job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this web site.

  42. Thanks for helping out, wonderful info. “Considering how dangerous everything is, nothing is really very frightening.” by Gertrude Stein.

  43. I’ve recently started a blog, the information you offer on this website has helped me tremendously. Thanks for all of your time & work.

  44. Perfectly composed content, Really enjoyed examining.

  45. I went over this site and I conceive you have a lot of superb information, saved to my bookmarks (:.

  46. You are my inspiration , I own few web logs and often run out from to post .

  47. Thanks for helping out, superb info. “The four stages of man are infancy, childhood, adolescence, and obsolescence.” by Bruce Barton.

  48. I truly enjoy studying on this web site, it contains great articles. “Don’t put too fine a point to your wit for fear it should get blunted.” by Miguel de Cervantes.

  49. As soon as I observed this website I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

  50. Some genuinely good content on this website , thankyou for contribution.

  51. Wonderful site. A lot of helpful information here. I am sending it to a few pals ans additionally sharing in delicious. And obviously, thanks for your effort!

  52. You are my inhalation , I possess few web logs and sometimes run out from to brand.

  53. empresario says:

    Hello, I really liked this information, I hope you continue updating, Greetings

  54. Some truly nice and useful info on this internet site, likewise I conceive the design has got great features.

  55. Son Noy says:

    I’ve recently started a blog, the information you offer on this website has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work. “The only winner in the War of 1812 was Tchaikovsky” by Solomon Short.

  56. Good work:) Thanks for this article

  57. Hi there, I found your blog via Google while searching for a related topic, your website came up, it looks good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

  58. I have observed that online diploma is getting well-liked because attaining your college degree online has become a popular choice for many people. Many people have not necessarily had a possibility to attend an established college or university however seek the raised earning possibilities and a better job that a Bachelor Degree provides. Still others might have a college degree in one field but wish to pursue one thing they already have an interest in.

  59. This is a really good read for me. Must agree that you are one of the coolest blogger I ever saw. Thanks for posting this useful information. This was just what I was on looking for. I’ll come back to this blog for sure!

  60. I like this site it’s a master piece! Glad I found this on google.

  61. Very good and trustwothy portal! Plenty of interesting information. I was looking for this.Thank you for sharing! villas greece

  62. WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..more wait .. …

  63. Wilda Burlin says:

    Utterly indited written content , thanks for entropy.

  64. Theo Lewicki says:

    you’ve got an important weblog here! would you wish to make some invite posts on my blog?

  65. Thank you for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do some research about this. We got a grab a book from our area library but I think I learned more from this post. I am very glad to see such great info being shared freely out there.

  66. I have been absent for some time, but now I remember why I used to love this site. Thanks, I’ll try and check back more often. How frequently you update your site?

  67. Slub says:

    Very good info – thanks!

  68. Psycholog says:

    Your post is extremely interesting. Can you post again soon?

  69. [...]  Tasty panko encrusted fried haloumi burgers, home-made! You might like: 1. Pea, mint & haloumi patties 2. Grilled haloumi salad with herby chickpeas 3. Baked haloumi salad with a caper, garlic, lime [...]

  70. Good work:) Thank You for this article

  71. Some really wonderful info , Sword lily I found this. “Be true to your work, your word, and your friend.” by Henry David Thoreau.

  72. [...] with herby chickpeas 2. Sophie’s vegetarian haloumi burger with all of it’s trimmings! 3. Pea, mint & haloumi patties Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); [...]

  73. [...] 1. Baked Halloumi salad with caper, garlic, lime & mustard dressing with fresh coriander leaves 2. Pea, mint & haloumi patties 3. Sophie’s vegetarian haloumi burger with all of it’s trimmings 4. Fennel & tomato [...]

  74. You made some first rate factors there. I regarded on the web for the issue and found most people will associate with with your website.

  75. Hi there, i am Cristina Myree and I need to claim that ” Pea, mint & haloumi patties Sophies Foodie Files ” is simply a powerful write-up.

  76. Thank you a lot for providing individuals with a very wonderful opportunity to discover important secrets from this website. It can be so terrific and as well , full of a lot of fun for me and my office co-workers to visit your web site no less than three times per week to learn the newest things you have. And indeed, I am just always happy considering the cool information served by you. Certain 2 points in this posting are really the simplest we’ve ever had.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 943 other followers

