Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Curried red lentils, Swiss chard & chickpea soup

on 02/08/2009

 

A comforting good-for-you soup!

 

Excellent fresh rainbow Swiss Chard

 

A few weeks ago, I found

baby Swiss chard in my bio shop. I knew that I had to make this gorgeous & oh so healthy soup. It is so filling & good for you!
 
Printable recipe here!
 
Recipe: For 6 bowls of soup
Ingredients:
EVOO ( Extra Virgin Olive Oil )
2 large white onions, peeled & finely diced
1,260 ml of gluten-free vegetable stock
5 teaspoons of curry powder
1/4 teaspoon of Pimentón de la Vera, the picanté version
400 gr can of well rinsed & drained chickpeas
1 large bunch or 2 smaller bunches of Swiss chard, cleaned, the tough stalks removed, well rinsed & drained ( about 1,800 kg)
450 gr of red lentils
To serve: crusty bread or gluten-free bread & some yogurt
 
Method:
1. Take a large cooking pot & add 2 to 3 tablespoons of EVOO. Heat up on medium high. When hot, add the diced onions. Fry until golden & cooked trough.
2. Add the Pimentón de la Vera & the curry powder. Stir well. Add the vegetable stock & the Swiss chard. Stir well & heat up the heat on high. Bring to the boil.
3. Now, add the red lentils & the chickpeas. Stir. Reduce to the heat to medium. Cover with a fitting lid & slowly boil for about 10 minutes until the lentils are cooked trough & the chickpeas are hot. Stir from time to time.
4. I mix the soup for 1/2. Then you still have a thicker soup & you see what is in it. Laddle into soup bowls & serve with some yogurt drizzled over the top & some crusty bread on the side to dip in the soup.
Enjoy!
 If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts

Curried red lentils, Swiss chard & chickpea soup on Foodista
Dear foodie friends,
Thank you for giving me feedback for my feed RSS. I checked it all out & maybe you will have to click again on the Rss or click again on receiving the feed RSS. It is all now in working order.
Because I changed & moved my Feed Rss a few months ago. You all, who aren’t getting the right latest feeds, must click again on my RSS feed! So that you won’t miss the last posts!!
Thanks!
52 responses to “Curried red lentils, Swiss chard & chickpea soup

  1. Marieke says:

    I love all of your yummie ingredients! So lovely & delicious indeed! It is like a complete & filling meal! Thanks, Sophie!

  2. Anonymous says:

    What a yummie soup!! So colourful & delicious!

  3. So cool! I cook a lot of similar dish for my father-in-law but Swiss chard is definitely NOT a common ingredient in Indian cuisine. I usually use plain ol spinach or Indian herbs. I have to try your recipe now. Thanks!

  4. I've never cooked with Swiss Chard before-I must look out for it! :) May I ask what is a good substitute for Pimentno de la Vera? We don't have that here :)

  5. That soup looks so healthy and delicious! a great combo!Cheers,Rosa

  6. ~RED~ says:

    Thanks for your comment on my Alaskan Sheet Cake, if you try it, it is so much better with vanilla bean if you can aquire some. You certainly won't regret it!I love soups, swiss chard, i love it!!!

  7. I love swiss chard! This soup looks great and super healthy!

  8. Judy says:

    Sophie, Have not heard of Pimenton de la vera. Sounds like it might be some kind of pimiento spread. Please clue me in. Your soup sounds delicious and I would love to try it.

  9. Red lentils with curry is delicious! I love all these ingredients. You soup sounds fantastic.

  10. Elra says:

    Simply healthy and delicious!

  11. Pam says:

    I am a huge soup lover – I wish it wasn't so hot outside because this would be wonderful for dinner.

  12. Koko says:

    Looks sooo good, I'll be making it this week without a doubt- thanks for the recipe Sophie!!!!!

  13. Valérie says:

    What I love about your blog is that you always use many healthy ingredients, and often ingredients I rarely use myself (like Swiss chard). It's inspiring!

  14. Kerstin says:

    What a lovely and healthy soup – it looks super flavorful!

  15. You have made me craving for some baby Swiss chard! Gotta check them out tomorrow..I think I would make them as a salad or stir-fried with minced garlic…..I need to eat more and more vegetables. In China there are so many different kinds of vegetables and salads…but not in Germany, and in winter is even worse…..Angie's Recipes

  16. p.s. Sophie, can you check your feed? it looks like it didn't update…the newest item was 8 months ago……maybe you need to ping the feed. if I didn't see your reply on one of my posts, I would probably not know that you have the new entry….Angie's Recipes

  17. Jef Boven says:

    Dear Sophie, the sight of your swiss chard makes us green green with envy!I'l like to taste that wonderful soup with ingredients that are unknown to us. World kitchen, world quality!Mum and Dad

  18. once again you amaze me with your incredible combination of flavors and ingredients,

  19. I love soup! This would be perfect specially right now thats its a rainy morning.

  20. paz says:

    wonderful soup. i love the ingredients.paz

  21. Claudia says:

    Sophie – what a grand list of ingredients. Our swiss chard starts coming in earnest in a few weeks and it will be cooler in the eves to make this soup. Just scrumptious. I do adore a good soup!

  22. Wonderful combination of healthy ingredients in this delicious soup! Excellent!

  23. Sophie says:

    @ Lorraine & Judy: Today the finest paprika powder in Spain is made close to the original monastery garden in the fertile alluvial soils around the Tietar River in La Vera where the climate is mild and the rain is plentiful. Here the farmers cultivate different varieties of the paprika genus Capiscum annum, each with varying degrees of pungency.The harvest begins in the fall where entire families go out into the fields to harvest the little peppers and place them in drying houses where they are smoke-dried with oakwood which must be about five times as great as the amount of the paprika to be obtained. No other wood may be used if the genuine pimentón de la vera is to have its typical taste. The farmer has to go into the smoking house every day for two weeks to turn over the layer of peppers by hand.Finally the peppers are milled by electrically powered stone wheels which must turn very slowly since friction heat affects the color and flavor. It comes in three varieties: sweet and mild (dulce); bittersweet medium hot (agridulce) and hot (picante) and normally keeps for two years.The precious powder is indispensable, for many types of Spanish sausage such as chorizo and lomo pork loin. It adds the absolutely perfect taste of authenticity to paellas. It crosses into regular American cuisine as a seasoning for barbecue pork, rich beef and lamb stews, kebabs etc. Pimentón de la Vera is unique – it is only a distant cousin to the Hungarian paprika that is used for Eastern European dishes. Although it is not generally available, even in many gourmet shops, there is no substitute for use in authentic Spanish cooking. You can find it in Spanish food shops.

  24. Junglefrog says:

    I love good soup recipes! I've given you an award on my blog Sophie, so go and pick yours up!

  25. lesley says:

    Oooh..I love this! I haven't had chick peas for months..copied & pasted to my favourite recipe book..thanks for sharing :0)

  26. Sara says:

    looks great. Now I will have an idea for all that beauitful chard at the market this weekend!

  27. Cheryl says:

    My husband would go bonkers over that soup. When it cools down a bit I must make it!

  28. This soup looks really good and healthy!

  29. Grace says:

    it could be as hot as the surface of the sun and i'd still devour this like there's no tomorrow! lovely combination of ingredients, sophie–you can't go wrong with legumes and greens. :)

  30. pinkstripes says:

    sounds healthy and delicious! YUM.

  31. I really love this soup, it has such great healthy ingredients. Excellent recipe!

  32. delicious-looking soup you have there! anythg with curry powder is sure to be in my "love to eat" list.

  33. Swiss Chard is pretty and I always want to buy it when I see it but Lon doesn't like it. =(

  34. Liz says:

    Hi! This is my first time in your blog and I like very much this recipe, it sounds relly healthy and perfect for a meal, very complete. Now, I'm going to take a look to your other recipes, bye!

  35. I don't cook with Swiss chard or lentils…and I must! Your soup looks so good, so healthy, and just perfect for a lovely dinner. Thank you!

  36. Jacqueline says:

    That looks really good Sophie! Thanks for sharing :)

  37. I was always wondering what I could do with Swiss Chard whenever someone bought or gave some to me from their gardens. However, I never really searched or looked around for recipes. I would just steam it with bacon or ham. Now I know what I'm going to do next time I receive some! Curried lentils and chickpeas are a heavenly, healthy combo, and your soup looks gorgeous!

  38. nora@ffr says:

    vat a great recipe. never tried it. but gonna try it soon :)

  39. Kristen says:

    This summer I have had so many greens, chard, mustard, beet, etc. This sounds great. I love soups like this for breakfast, I know, weird. Nice combination!

  40. Erica says:

    I love lentils!!! Great flavors.

  41. Michelle says:

    Sophie! This looks absolutely delicious. I love anything with curry and chickpea's in it. Sometimes when I fix Swiss chard it comes out a bit bitter but this looks like it would cook that down. :)xoxoMichelle

  42. Miette says:

    Mmmh… what a colourful and delicious combo!! Yummy!!Cheers,Miette.

  43. Rowena... says:

    Sophie, have you thought about joining Foodbuzz? My favorite soup in your repertoire is still that raw courgette one that you posted recently, and the zukes can't mature soon enough in my garden. I make it at least twice a week, and never get tired of the flavor!

  44. Bonne journée!Bises,Rosa

  45. Ann says:

    Wow.. this looks super healthy and yum

  46. Daily Spud says:

    I love the combination of chard and lentils and (lucky me) I have some chard growing in my garden, so a dish like this is never far away :)

  47. Diana H says:

    Wonderful nutritious soup!!

  48. Hey very nice blog!! Man .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds also…I’m happy to find a lot of useful information here in the post, we need develop more techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  49. [...]   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Curried pointed cabbage stir fry with apples & raisins 2. Curried lentils, Swiss chard & chickpeas soup 3. Spicy lentil & tomato soup 4. Spicy chorizo & bean soup 5. Spiced sweet potato & [...]

  50. Hopee every thing works out as you have planned. Best of luck for the new year. Thanks

  51. [...] 5. Curried red lentils, Rainbow Swiss chard & chickpeas soup Share this tasty post:Print me & PdfEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. [...]

  52. […] 1. Curried red lentils, Swiss chard & chickpea soup! […]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 923 other followers

