Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Corn & fennel soup with a touch of lemon & served with Parmesan thyme crisps

on 23/07/2009

This is a georgous, easy & lovely summer soup! It oozes deliciousness!!
It is a mix from corn, fennel, sjalots, garlic & vegetable stock. It is mixed in a blender. To serve, pour a bit of fresh lemon juice over the top of each bowl of soup. That makes the soup divine! It is served with fresh home made parmesan thyme crisps: they ad a sublime taste to the soup.
This is lovely as a snack, a main dish or as a soup. It really fills you up!
Printable recipe here!
Recipe: For 5 bowls of soup
Ingredients:
** For the soup:
300 gr of corn , well rinsed & well drained
10 fat shallots, peeled & finely sliced
2 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & finely diced
2 medium fennel bulbs, cleaned, hard bottom cut out, the green parts & tips removed, cut into pieces
800 ml of hot gluten free vegetable stock
3 tablespoons of a fruity EVOO
juice of 1 lemon
** For the Parmesan thyme crisps:
150 gr of a block of fresh parmesan cheese, grated
6 to 8 sprigs of fresh thyme, sprigs removed
Method:
1. Take an oven rack out of the oven & line with a silpat or baking sheet. Preheat the oven to 200°C ( 392 F) for 10 minutes.
2. Take a large cooking pot & turn the heat on high. Add the 3 tablespoons of EVOO to the pot. When hot, add the sliced shallots & the garlic. Fry until a bit brown. Stir a lot.
3. After 3 minutes or so, add the corn & the diced fennel pieces. Fry for about 3 to 5 minutes. Stir a lot.
4. Now, add the hot vegetable stock & stir, turn the heat on medium. Place a lid on the pot & boil until all of the vegetables are cooked trough. This will take about 15 to 20 minutes. Stir from time to time. When the soup is ready, pour in a blender & blend until smooth or until it is to your liking. This is a thick soup!
5. In the time that your soup is cooking, take your grated Parmesan & fresh thyme & mix evenly. With your hand, place half handfulls of the cheese thyme mix evenly on the Silpat. With the back of a spoon , flatten the cookies, side by side. You can get about 6 cookies on 1 sheet. Place into the preheated oven & bake for about 5 to 10 minutes until the cheesy cookies are golden brown & cooked. Carefully, take them out of the oven. If they stick to each other, just carefully pull them away. Remove them with a spatula & leave them on a wire rack to cool down a bit. Do the same with the rest of the parmesan & thyme.
6. When ready to serve, laddle the soup in the soup bowls. Pour a drizzle of fresh lemon juice over the top of each bowl of soup. Lay a Parmesan thyme cookie on the side & enjoy!
 
Corn & Fennel Soup With A Touch Of Lemon & Served With Parmesan Thyme Crisps on Foodista
84 responses to “Corn & fennel soup with a touch of lemon & served with Parmesan thyme crisps

  1. Dirk says:

    MMMMMM,…what a nice & yummie looking soup! Excellent with the home made Parmesan thyme crisps!!!

  2. Marieke says:

    Yum Yum Yum yum yum yum yum,…

  3. That sounds fabulous! I love that wonderful combination of flavors!Cheers,Rosa

  4. You eat so well. A sweet corn soup is one of our faves. Usually we like to put tarragon in it, but fennel also has that same anise flavor, so it sounds like a perfect match.

  5. Yummo! I LOVE that soup–what a great combo! And those crisps are great. I make those Parmesan crisps on Passover with the soup course to make it a little different, and people love it.

  6. Great looking soup and easy too. With corn season upon us, this is a wonderful recipe to make right now. Like your Parmesan crisps too – I call them fricos and everyone loves them. Turn around and they're gone.Sam

  7. I would love to be dinning on that soup paired with your last post a roasted plum salad. Sounds delicious. I just love making those delicate and sophisticated parmesean crisp.

  8. cindy* says:

    this sounds delicious sophie! i love a parmesan crisp too!

  9. Sofía says:

    Thanks you, Sophie! I think that now I'm better. About that soup… here is winter, so one corn and fennel soup is a really good recipe! Regards

  10. I love corn soup – it reminds me of my family on the East Coast. We would have fresh corn during the summer – always eaten within hours of being picked. Love the addition of fennel which is a combination I have not had. And how could you go wrong with a parmesan crisp garnish.

  11. Daily Spud says:

    Corn & fennel is not a combination I've had – but I do love both individually, so would be interested to try them together. As for the parmesan crisps, I'd be well up for those!

  12. Linda says:

    Sophie, I love the addition of thyme to your parmesan crisps–I still have not tried those, and your rendition looks wonderful.

  13. Anh says:

    This soup is what we need in the land of downunder right now!

  14. It's really soup weather here in Sydney and this looks wonderful Sophie! I love parmesan crisps too :)

  15. Kerstin says:

    This looks AMAZING Sophie and I love the parm crisps – yum!

  16. Karine says:

    This soup seems to be full of refreshing flavors!

  17. cinnamon says:

    Wow, Sophie, this soup looks sooooo delicious!!! I will absolutely try it!

  18. Junglefrog says:

    I love those little parmesan crisps! Sounds like the perfect thing to go with that soup, which looks incredibly filling by the way.. :)

  19. Donna-FFW says:

    Corn with fennel sounds wonderful and I love the parmesan crisps. Sounds like the most perfect pairing. Love the color on the soup also!!

  20. That is the prettiest soup! The parmesan crisp only makes it yummier..

  21. Valérie says:

    I really, really need to give fennel a try…Love the parmesan crisps! My partner uses the same method to make parmesan bowls, for salads. But I like the idea of adding aromatic herbs to the cheese!

  22. Talita says:

    After all these adjectives I'm curious to try this soup! The parmesan chisps sounds amazing! A perfect combination! Thanks for congrats!

  23. Olga says:

    Those crisps look adorable and fancy :)

  24. Pam says:

    The soup sounds wonderful! Love the parmesan crisps too.

  25. Kat says:

    Oh YUM! I LOVE these kinds of soups and I love corn and I'd never have thought of pairing fennel with it. I will definitely try this. And parmesan crisps are DELICIOUS!

  26. This recipe looks great. Have you tried freezing it? I love soup that I can freeze for lunches at a later date.

  27. The soup sounds so delicious and flavourful! and to pair it with Parmesan thyme crisps…yum yum!

  28. Okay… those crisps are coming home with me. I'm fogging up my computer screen!!!!! Gorgeous!

  29. Judy says:

    The soup looks wonderfule, but the parmesan crisps just take it over the top. Very nice.

  30. Elra says:

    Tempting!Unique combo and sounds delish…

  31. What a wonderful creative combination of flavor. I have not had corn and fennel together, but now I am excited to try.

  32. I have never tried corn and fennel together…the stew looks very nutritious and delicious. Angie's Recipes

  33. Claudia says:

    The crisps with thyme are amazing. Woudl go well ith soups and salads! Love the idea of the corn with the fennel – all os which are in season! This is indeed a summer recipe of deliciousness! I thought I was the only one who used that word "deliciousness") My characters say it a lot in my current play.

  34. I love , love fresh summer soups. I make parmesan crisps too, but never put herbs in before – what a really great idea!

  35. Jude says:

    Corn and fennel sounds like a great combination I've never had yet. Nice touch with the parmesan crisps!

  36. Filip says:

    hmmmm! ziet er zeer lekker uit, ik heb zin in soep!!

  37. Yummy! the idea of cheese cookie is really nice. I know a little Bear who would adore them!

  38. I somehow missed this post, and it looks so delicious! Glad I finally found it.

  39. nora@ffr says:

    great combo!! so nicely done and creative!!

  40. ~RED~ says:

    Oh i love soups! This is perfect.

  41. Very nice post and right to the point. I am not sure if this is truly the best place to ask but do you guys have any ideea where to employ some professional writers? Thank you :)

  42. Sophie says:

    Howdy blogger, thank you for providing this article.. I found it first-class.

  43. Wohh just what I was looking for, thankyou for posting . “Arguments are like fire-arms which a man may keep at home but should not carry about with him.” by Samuel Butler.

  44. I like this post, enjoyed this one thank you for posting.

  45. Thanks for helping out, great information. “Job dissatisfaction is the number one factor in whether you survive your first heart attack.” by Anthony Robbins.

  46. I’ve been surfing on-line more than three hours these days, yet I by no means discovered any interesting article like yours. It’s lovely value sufficient for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you probably did, the web will probably be much more helpful than ever before.

  47. Some truly excellent info , Glad I noticed this. “Men in no way approach so nearly to the gods as in doing good to men.” by Marcus Tullius Cicero.

  48. Keep up the wonderful work , I read few content on this internet site and I think that your web site is rattling interesting and holds sets of good info .

  49. But wanna input that you have a very decent site, I like the pattern it actually stands out.

  50. Awsome blog! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am taking your feeds also.

  51. I am not real great with English but I come up this rattling leisurely to translate.

  52. You are my breathing in, I have few web logs and sometimes run out from brand :). “No opera plot can be sensible, for people do not sing when they are feeling sensible.” by W. H. Auden.

  53. I regard something really interesting about your web site so I saved to favorites .

  54. Very interesting details you have remarked, regards for putting up.

  55. I went over this website and I conceive you have a lot of superb information, saved to fav (:.

  56. Dead written subject matter, thanks for information .

  57. this post says:

    Very interesting topic , appreciate it for posting . “The great leaders have always stage-managed their effects.” by Charles De Gaulle.

  58. I like this post, enjoyed this one thank you for posting. “We are punished by our sins, not for them.” by Elbert Hubbard.

  59. Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was searching for! “To be without some of the things you want is an indispensable part of happiness.” by Bertrand Russell.

  60. empresa says:

    Hello, I really liked this information, I hope you continue updating, Greetings

  61. serwis nikon says:

    An interesting discussion is worth comment. Good.

  62. Me parece estupendo este weblog! Aqui esta el mio, sobre recetas de postres.

  63. Von says:

    I enjoy reading your weblog. I’ve you bookmarked your website to be able to take a look at the latest stuff.

  64. Oh my goodness! a tremendous article dude. Thank you Nonetheless I’m experiencing issue with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting similar rss drawback? Anyone who is aware of kindly respond. Thnkx

  65. Somebody essentially lend a hand to make significantly articles I’d state. That is the very first time I frequented your website page and thus far? I surprised with the research you made to make this particular submit incredible. Fantastic process!

  66. Yadira Lente says:

    I’d need to examine with you here. Which isn’t something I usually do! I enjoy reading a put up that can make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

  67. This web site is really a stroll-by for all of the information you wanted about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse right here, and also you’ll definitely uncover it.

  68. […] roasted potatoes & braised fennel with Pastis 2. Fennel & tomato soup with haloumi croutons 3. Fennel & corn soup with a touch of lemon served with parmesan thyme crisps 4. Jerusalem artichokes & fennel […]

  69. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  70. […] 6. Corn & fennel soup with a touch of lemon served with Parmesan thyme crisps […]

  71. […] Files: It is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Jerusalem artichokes & fennel soup 2. Corn & fennel soup with a touch of lemon & served with Parmesan thyme crisps Fennel & Tomato Soup With Basil & Haloumi Croutons Advertisement […]

  72. Gerry Nawn says:

    I love the efforts you have put in this, appreciate it for all the great blog posts.

  73. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  74. […] on the side! Enjoy! You might like: 1. Jerusalem artichokes with garlic, bay leaf & bacon 2. Corn & fennel soup with a touch of lemon served with Parmesan thyme crisps 3. Delia’s Jerusalem artichokes & carrot soup If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to […]

  75. monster solo hd says:

    Thanks to get a intriguing posting. I adore the funny remarks.

  76. Reva Huguley says:

    I wanted to give thanks to you for this great read!! I certainly loved each and every bit of it. I have you bookmarked your website to see the new stuff you post.

  77. Aw, this was a very nice post. In concept I would like to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and actual effort to make a very good article… however what can I say… I procrastinate alot and not at all appear to get something done.

  78. Luigi Fulk says:

    Howdy superb website! Does running a blog like this take a large amount of work? I’ve virtually no expertise in programming however I had been hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyhow, should you have any recommendations or tips for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off topic however I just had to ask. Many thanks!

  79. trt tinnitus says:

    My brother suggested I may like this web site. He was entirely right. This put up actually made my day. You can not consider simply how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  80. I constantly emailed this weblog post page to all my friends, for the reason that if like to read it then my links will too.

  81. Sherie says:

    I always was interested in this topic and still am, appreciate it for putting up.

  82. very nice put up, i certainly love this web site, keep on it

  83. love this says:

    Hey there, just became alerted to your blog through Google, and found that it’s very informative. I will be grateful if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,129 other followers

