Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Roasted almond panna cotta with stewed rhubarb & vanilla seeds syrup

on 13/07/2009

A tasty & festive rhubarb & almond panna cotta!

This is a lovely Panna cotta. Normally, you serve it in larger pots, but I didn’t. I served it in 115 ml wide glass pots. I don’t serve a lot of it because it has cream. I prefer it that way!

 
Printable Recipe here!
 
Recipe: For 4 persons, each 1x 115 ml wide glass ramekins
Ingredients:
* For the stewed rhubarb:
500 gr fresh rhubarb, weighted without being cleaned
raw cane sugar: 160 gr
1 vanilla pod, split into 2 & seeds removed
* For the almond Panna cotta:
blanched toasted almonds, I buy them like that: 80 gr
semi skimmed milk: 125 ml
cream: 25o ml
raw cane sugar: 3 tablespoons
gelatine powder: 1 + 1/2 teaspoon
 
Method:
1. To make the almond cream, take a food processor & place the roasted almonds in it. Chop very finely in the food processor.
2. Take a medium cooking pot & pour the cream & milk in it. Add the finely chopped almonds. Stir well. Add the sugar. Heat up on medium heat until it simmers. Don’t let it boil!!!
Stir often. Remove from the heat & let the almonds infuse for about 10 minutes.
3. After that, pour the mixture trough a fine sieve so that the almonds won’t fall into the cream mix. Push the last of the cream mix with the back of a spoon trough the sieve.
4. Take a large bowl & add 2 tablespoons of warm water. Sprinkle the gelatine powder over the top & stir well so that all the gelatine is well dissolved in the water.
5. Reheat the almond mixture until hot; but not boiling! Then, pour over the gelatine mix in the bowl. Stir well & pour into 4 x 115 ml wide glass ramekins. Fill them only for 3/4!! Place into the fridge for about 4 to 6 hours.
6. Clean the rhubarb & cut away the ends. Cut into chunks & place into a cooking pot. Add the sugar, the split open vanilla pod, the seeds & 150 ml of water. Stir well. Heat up on medium heat until it simmers. Turn the heat down & cook the rhubarb until it is cooked trough but still holds its shape. Remove with a slotted spoon. Reduce the liquid by half.
7. When ready to serve for dessert, take the Panna cotta’s 10 minutes before serving out of the fridge. Place the cooked rhubarb pieces on top of each almond Panna cotta & reheat the sauce. Pour 1 to 2 tablespoons of the syrup over the rhubarb pieces. Enjoy!!

Yum!

MMMMMMMMMMMMMMM,….
 
You might like:
1. Spiced rhubarb & pear coconut crumble
2. Rhubarb & strawberry crumble
3. Rhubarb & almond muffins with cinnamon & nutmeg
4. Rhubarb & ginger orange crumble served with hot Devon custard
5. A vegan coconut panna cotta with raspberry coulis, filed under My Christmas menu
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
 
Roasted Almond Panna Cotta With Stewed Rhubarb & Vanilla Seeds Syrup on Foodista

79 responses to “Roasted almond panna cotta with stewed rhubarb & vanilla seeds syrup

  1. Dirk says:

    MMMMMM,…Sophie! Your panna cotta looks a real beauty!Lovely as always!

  2. Marieke says:

    Yum Yum yum,..your panna cotta looks superb!

  3. I love the look of this dish… you know I'm a sucker for almonds, and the rhubarb would match perfectly with them!

  4. It's sunny, bright and warm here…this would be perfect for the dessert after dinner! In case I have again missed any of your yummy recipes, I will add your blog to my blog list. Thanks again for leaving those wonderful comments on my blog. Angie's Recipes

  5. Mmmm is right. What a lovely dessert, and I love that almond cream….BTW, that chocolate rice pudding looks amazing (and I'm not even a rice-pudding fan), and I know my daughter will love it.

  6. A wonderful dessert! Refreshing and flavorful!Cheers,Rosa

  7. sara says:

    That looks like perfection. I love the idea of infusing the cream with roasted almonds – too delicious :)

  8. sara says:

    That looks like perfection. I love the idea of infusing the cream with roasted almonds – too delicious :)

  9. Pam says:

    What a decadent and delicious dessert. Looks great.

  10. Juliana says:

    I love pannacota…always order it when have the opportunity…with almonds and rhubarb…looks just like heaven…yummie!

  11. foodcreate says:

    Sophie! I love this blog looks soooooo :Delicious !Thanks for sharing your recipes!!!!Have a SunnyDay !!!!

  12. you've listed all my favorite dessert ingredients and this looks stupendous. thanks as always for these wonderfully inspiring dishes

  13. stephchows says:

    MMMMMMMMMMMMM is right! Wicked MMMMM!!! I love that it is in small containers too! yum!

  14. This looks so yummy indeed :)

  15. I don't know what a panna cotta is but I really want one.

  16. Delicious! Roasted almond panna cotta sounds incredible.

  17. Sophie, you outdid yourself. You're definitely the rhubarb queen. I still have dared cooking this ingredient. Looks delicious!

  18. Kerstin says:

    What an incredible panna cotta – it looks fantastic Sophie!!

  19. Selba says:

    Yummmm… sounds so yummy!

  20. Ahh I've been hearing about this almond cream and it sounds very delicious and good for you too! Wonderful dessert Sophie! :D

  21. Donna-FFW says:

    That syrup must take this dessert over the edge. Sounds so very delicious!!

  22. I'm not that into panna cotta but roasted almonds and stewed rhubarb are deifnitely my style!

  23. Cynthia says:

    With the fruit, this must be the right amount of sweet and tart.

  24. Margaret says:

    I've got rhubarb growing in the garden and I needed a recipe for this weekend……looks wonderful.

  25. lesley says:

    Rhubarb & almonds are such a lovely combo, & we adore Panna cotta, thanks for sharing this Sophie ;0)

  26. ~Dana says:

    Oh my, my mouth is watering! Yummy, yummy!

  27. Grace says:

    oooh–creamy, luscious panna cotta topped with such a phenomenal blend would be HEAVEN on the tongue. great creation!!

  28. Sara says:

    Looks great, I've always wanted to make panna cotta!

  29. momgateway says:

    I've never tried rhubarb I've seen in the farmers market. Your recipe will be in my must try file. Thank!.

  30. Judy says:

    Oh, yumm. This looks so very good. I need to try it.

  31. Kristin says:

    Mmm, this looks yummy! I've never made anything like this before but will have to give it a whirl now…

  32. Claudia says:

    I adore panna cotta – I love your version with the rhubarb! The tart with the sweet. Perfect!

  33. Muneeba says:

    Sophie, these flavors are phenomenal … the panna cotta sounds luscious, and countering it with the tartness of the rhubarb is definitely the way to go.

  34. Christine says:

    Yummy, yummy….It'd be a hit in my family.

  35. Talita says:

    I've never tried panna cotta and I always wanna try it. This sounds amazing!

  36. Lo says:

    This looks delicious. We don't do panna cotta often, but I should remember to try to do it in the spring when rhubarb is in season.

  37. Valérie says:

    I love panna cotta! I've never made it, though… A friend of mine has made it a few times, but he uses yogurt, rather than cream. Either way, almond-flavoured panna cotta sounds like a winner to me!

  38. Cheryl says:

    Sophie, that looks amazing, I have never made Panna Cotta!

  39. I really like how you used real almonds instead of almond extract (I despise almond extract). Panna cotta is one of my most desserts, and rhubarb on top – delicious!

  40. Reeni♥ says:

    What a sweet and delicious treat! I like the single servings!

  41. Jamie says:

    Gorgeous recipe. My husband is a Panna Cotta fanatic and he'll love this!

  42. Ricardo says:

    And I was just offered a load of rhubarb well I am sure to try this one. looks delicious and interesting. :) kisses xxx

  43. Judy says:

    Gorgeous dessert. I would love to try it.

  44. Orval Reigh says:

    I needed to put you that very little word so as to thank you so much again with your remarkable techniques you’ve shown here. It is really open-handed with you to deliver unhampered what many of us would’ve offered as an e book in order to make some money for their own end, principally seeing that you could possibly have done it in case you decided. Those strategies additionally worked as a good way to be certain that other people online have the identical dream the same as my own to understand many more pertaining to this condition. Certainly there are thousands of more fun sessions up front for many who read your website.

  45. Kaylee says:

    Major thanks for the article post. Will read on…

  46. Respect to author , some fantastic entropy. “When you cease to dream you cease to live.” by Malcolm Stevenson Forbes.

  47. I like what you guys are up also. Such clever work and reporting! Carry on the superb works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it’ll improve the value of my website :).

  48. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your website provided us with valuable information to paintings on. You have done an impressive process and our entire community will likely be thankful to you.

  49. As soon as I found this website I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

  50. Merely wanna remark on few general things, The website style and design is perfect, the articles is really excellent : D.

  51. Keep up the superb piece of work, I read few posts on this internet site and I think that your website is real interesting and has sets of wonderful info .

  52. You can definitely see your expertise in the work you write. The sector hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. All the time go after your heart. “In order to preserve your self-respect, it is sometimes necessary to lie and cheat.” by Robert Byrne.

  53. article says:

    Wohh just what I was searching for, thanks for putting up.

  54. Thankyou for helping out, excellent information.

  55. Rattling great info can be found on web blog . “That is true wisdom, to know how to alter one’s mind when occasion demands it.” by Terence.

  56. I’ve recently started a site, the information you offer on this website has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all of your time & work.

  57. Keneth Davis says:

    I always was interested in this topic and stock still am, regards for putting up.

  58. I reckon something really special in this website.

  59. My web site says:

    You have brought up a very fantastic points , regards for the post.

  60. I conceive you have remarked some very interesting details , regards for the post.

  61. It is very good news

  62. I really like your writing style, superb information, thanks for posting :D. “Faith is a continuation of reason.” by William Adams.

  63. serwis sony says:

    An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics.

  64. Warren Sheff says:

    I really appreciate this post. I’ve been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thanks again!

  65. Magnificent website. Lots of helpful information here. I’m sending it to some pals ans additionally sharing in delicious. And naturally, thanks on your sweat!

  66. I’ll right away grasp your rss feed as I can not find your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please permit me understand so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  67. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  68. Hi! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Terrific blog and brilliant design and style.

  69. Hey, you used to write great, but the last few posts have been kinda boring… I miss your great writings. Past several posts are just a little bit out of track! come on!

  70. […] 4. Roasted almond panna cotta with stewed rhubarb & vanilla seeds syrup […]

  71. http://dream-analysis.org says:

    My partner and i still cannot quite assume that I could always be one of those reading the important guidelines found on your website. My family and I are sincerely thankful for your generosity and for presenting me the opportunity to pursue my personal chosen profession path. Thank you for the important information I managed to get from your web-site.

  72. Yolando says:

    I was looking at some of your blog posts on this website and I believe this website is rattling instructive! Continue posting .

  73. Appreciating the time and energy you put into your site and in depth information you provide. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed material. Great read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  74. Hows it going, nice site but sometimes I encounter a issue whereby the top nav toolbar cannot be seen. It’s mainly on the home web-page Cheers

  75. […] 1. Roasted almond Panna cotta with a stewed rhubarb & vanilla seeds syrup A tasty seasonal rhubarb Panna cotta […]

  76. […] 6. Roasted almond panna cotta with stewed rhubarb & vanilla seeds syrup Share this tasty post:Print me & PdfEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  77. […] crumble, served with hot Devon custard 5. Rhubarb & almond muffins with cinnamon & nutmeg 6. Roasted almond panna cotta with stewed rhubarb & vanilla seeds syrup Share this tasty post:Print me & PdfEmailLike this:Like7 bloggers like this […]

  78. […] 2. Roasted almond panna cotta with stewed rhubarb vanilla seeds syrup, using gelatine […]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,128 other followers

