Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Baked Halloumi salad with a caper, garlic, lime & mustard dressing with fresh coriander leaves

on 10/07/2009

This is a lovely & easy salad with fried Halloumi slices & an apart dressing. The dressing is a bit tangy & goes so well with the fried Halloumi. I usually, serve it with torn pieces of Turkish bread topped with sesame seeds. So, you can mop up the juices.
Lovely !
Printable recipe here!
Recipe: For 2 persons, as lunch
Ingredients:
* For the Halloumi:
1 Halloumi cheese, unwrapped, cheese pad dry on kitchen paper
seasoned flour: made by adding Maldon sea salt & finely grinned black pepper into 2 to 4 tablespoons of flour, well mixed together
a fruity extra virgin olive oil
*For the dressing:
1 lime: zest & juice
1 tablespoon of white wine vinegar
1 heaped tablespoon of finely chopped fresh coriander (cilantro ) leaves
1 heaped tablespoon of drained capers ( small-sized ones )
2 tablespoons of a fruity extra virgin olive oil
1 large clove of garlic, peeled & finely chopped
1 heaped teaspoon of Dijon mustard
Grinded fresh black pepper
Maldon sea salt
* To serve :
1 large turkish bread with sesame seeds, torn & cut horizontally in 2
2 little Gem lettuce, washed, spun dry, cleaned & leaves torn
Method:
1. Take a chopping board & slice the Halloumi cheese in about 8 slices, including the end.
2. Make the dressing. Take a jam pot & place all the ingredients for the dressing in it. Put the lid well on. Shake the jam pot up & down until all is well combined. Taste. It has to taste fab!
3. When you are ready to have lunch, take a large non stick pan & heat up on medium heat. In the meantime, dip each Halloumi slice into the seasoned flour on both sides & shake off the excess. When the pan is hot, add the Halloumi slices & fry until golden on both sides. This takes about 1 to 2 minutes per side.
4. Take your plates & place little gem lettuce leaves all over the plate nicely. Add the golden Halloumi slices in a round & drizzle the dressing over the top & place a bit into the middle.
Serve with torn pieces or slices of Turkish bread. Enjoy!
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like:
1. Grilled Halloumi salad with herby chickpeas
2. Sophie’s vegetarian haloumi burger with all of it’s trimmings!
3. Pea, mint & haloumi patties

Baked Halloumi Salad With A Caper, Garlic, Lime & Mustard Dressing With Fresh Coriand on Foodista
82 responses to “Baked Halloumi salad with a caper, garlic, lime & mustard dressing with fresh coriander leaves

  1. Manon says:

    What a yummie halloumi salad, Sophie! I love your yummie salads! They are so versatile!

  2. Patrick says:

    MMMMM,…this cheesy salad looks wonderful: I so love the flavours! Yummie!

  3. Valérie says:

    I can't decide whether this is a salad or comfort food! With all those strong flavours in the dressing, it must be so tasty! Thanks for sharing, Sophie!

  4. Nicisme says:

    I love this salad, I make a similar one from Delia. Very nice Sophie!(PS. no worries re the Twitter thing, lol!!)

  5. Clémence says:

    je suis fan ! quelle délicieuse assiette avec tous ces bons produits que je n'aurais pas pensé associés : merci !

  6. I have not tried using Halloumi in my cooking yet, gotta try soon. Also exploring more ways of using capers. I saw the caper plants in Tuscany, pity i did not have my camera with me at that moment. I want to try your recipe : )

  7. oh man, this looks so good! I wonder if i could find that cheese around here?

  8. Halloumi is in the top 10 list of our fave cheeses. Bet you didn't know that! :)

  9. Junglefrog says:

    Ah… now that is what I need! I have never made anything with haloumi before but recently bought some so it's been sitting in my fridge waiting to be used. I might be making this over the weekend!

  10. SO lovely, Sophie! Halloumi is on my cheese list now!

  11. Judy says:

    I've never heard of Halloumi cheese, don't even know if it's available in the US, but I would love to try it. Your salad looks wonderful and it's the perfect weather for it.

  12. I love when salads look like this. All the unhealthy cheese that I love. :P I've never heard of Hallloumi before, gotto run to Whole Foods and get some for tonight. Fried cheese, mmmmm

  13. alexandra says:

    oh my gosh this looks amazing! Sophie, you've done it again! I want to make this soon with a yummy flatbread recipe I have. It would be perfect for mopping up all of this goodness. Yum!

  14. zerrin says:

    Looks and sounds gorgeous. I love to feel that tangy taste in salads. And Turkish bread is a great idea to serve with it.

  15. halloumi is so wonderful and great minds think alike, I just did a post on goat cheese – love, love love the stuffI have to say, I love the sound of your recipe.

  16. Delicious! I love haloumi, and this looks like a fantastic salad.

  17. I absolutely adore halloumi! I could eat a packet of it so easily if it's grilled. This looks delicious Sophie :D

  18. Koko says:

    This looks like a beautiful salad. Don't capers add the nicest bit of extra flavour! Mmmmmmm!

  19. Marta says:

    I love halloumi! this platte looks exquisite, full of bold flavours, perfect to share before a nice light summer dinner

  20. Bunny says:

    Sophie this looks so elegant, you are a master at presentation!

  21. Cynthia says:

    Sophie, I am yet to try this cheese. The salad sounds divine!

  22. You are making me hungry! A pity Halloumi is difficult to find here and quite expensive!Cheers,Rosa

  23. I've always like Halloumi and just recently started using it home – thanks for the recipe – looks tasty!

  24. Ricardo says:

    looks super delicious, really does ,, nice food now for the summer :) delicious :) xxx

  25. Anna says:

    Hi Sophie, your salad looks beautiful I love Halloumi cheese.

  26. Boy, does this looks good! Plus, it's easy and just perfect for summer lunches or dinners. And, that dressing would be good on just about anything….

  27. Elra says:

    Scrumptious!Halloumi cheese sounds so perfect for this salad.

  28. Paz says:

    Sounds delicious! Looks delicious! I've never had this before. I would love to try it.Paz

  29. Jef Boven says:

    Hello Sophie, this looks so fresh, almost spring-like. I hope the taste is strong, though. But the haloumi will guarantee that, I suppose. Racing Dad.

  30. Pam says:

    I love every single ingredient used. Looks and sounds tasty.

  31. I absolutely love Halloumi when it's warm and soft but it cools quickly and then becomes rubbery. Have you had that problem?

  32. Kerstin says:

    Looks good – I love all the layers of flavor! You've reminded me I have some capers that I need to use!

  33. Normally, I would eat halloumi all by its delicious self but your salad dressing sounds like it would perk up the flavor even more!

  34. burpandslurp says:

    oh I LOVE LOVE LOVE halloumi! This salad is something I'll eat by the truckload with all these amazing flavor combinations!

  35. Vera says:

    This one is certainly lovely! I bet it's super delicious!

  36. Michelle says:

    Hi Sophie!Thanks for stopping by my blog so I can discover yours! All of your dishes look amazing. Oh my, you are contributing to my horrible habit of FOOD but that's a great thing!! I will be stopping by regularly. :)Michelle

  37. I am dying to try Halloumi, I've heard so much about it. This salad is a fantastic combination of flavors!

  38. Olga says:

    sigh: I've never had Halloumi: it sounds fantastic!

  39. What a wonderful haloumi salad with such lovely flavours, a favourite cheese of mine, WHEN I can find it here in France!

  40. Such wonderful flavours! Halloumi is one of my favourites!

  41. Daily Spud says:

    I adore halloumi and it just works so well with a citrusy dressing – fab! I wish it was easier to get Turkish bread, though – my local eastern shop doesn't stock it anymore, I might just have to learn how to make it instead…

  42. And I just saw Halloumi for the first time in the store yesterday! Now I know what to do with it. Thanks!

  43. I wanted to construct a brief note in order to say thanks to you for all the amazing secrets you are posting on this site. My considerable internet search has at the end of the day been paid with sensible knowledge to go over with my friends and family. I would assert that most of us visitors actually are extremely lucky to live in a good site with very many awesome professionals with beneficial tactics. I feel very much blessed to have come across your entire website and look forward to many more brilliant times reading here. Thanks once again for a lot of things.

  44. Brooklyn says:

    With all the doggone snow we have gotten recently I am stuck indoors, fortunately there is the internet, thanks for giving me something to do. :)

  45. I really like your writing style, fantastic information, regards for posting :D. “Silence is more musical than any song.” by Christina G. Rossetti.

  46. Real great visual appeal on this website, I’d value it 10.

  47. Nice read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing some research on that. And he actually bought me lunch since I found it for him smile Therefore let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch! “The guy with the biggest stomach will be the first to take off his shirt at a baseball game.” by Glenn Dickey.

  48. Wonderful web site. Lots of helpful information here. I am sending it to a few pals ans also sharing in delicious. And of course, thank you in your sweat!

  49. Very interesting topic , thanks for posting . “Men who never get carried away should be.” by Malcolm Forbes.

  50. Dead written content material, thanks for information.

  51. Keep up the great work , I read few articles on this internet site and I believe that your weblog is real interesting and contains lots of excellent info .

  52. I like this web blog very much, Its a real nice spot to read and receive information. “Anger is a signal, and one worth listening to.” by Harriet Lerner.

  53. As a Newbie, I am permanently exploring online for articles that can benefit me. Thank you

  54. Very interesting subject, regards for putting up.

  55. Outstanding post, I believe people should learn a lot from this blog its really user pleasant. So much great info on here :D.

  56. krani says:

    I like this web site so much, bookmarked. “To hold a pen is to be at war.” by Francois Marie Arouet Voltaire.

  57. mowing says:

    Absolutely written articles , appreciate it for selective information .

  58. Magnificent website. Plenty of useful information here. I’m sending it to several buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious. And naturally, thank you on your effort!

  59. I like this post, enjoyed this one appreciate it for putting up. “The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.” by Albert Einstein.

  60. Some really choice content on this web site , bookmarked .

  61. I like your writing style genuinely loving this site. “Nature is God’s greatest evangelist.” by Johathan Edwards.

  62. I think this web site has some rattling superb information for everyone :D. “Morality, like art, means a drawing a line someplace.” by Oscar Wilde.

  63. Some really nice and useful info on this internet site, as well I conceive the style and design has got fantastic features.

  64. Only a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw great design. “Competition is a painful thing, but it produces great results.” by Jerry Flint.

  65. I really like your writing style, good info, appreciate it for putting up :D. “You can complain because roses have thorns, or you can rejoice because thorns have roses.” by Ziggy.

  66. great post says:

    Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was looking for!

  67. I have been browsing on-line greater than 3 hours these days, but I by no means discovered any fascinating article like yours. It’s pretty value sufficient for me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made excellent content material as you probably did, the web can be a lot more useful than ever before. “Revolution is not a onetime event.” by Audre Lorde.

  68. he says says:

    I like this post, enjoyed this one thanks for posting. “The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.” by Albert Einstein.

  69. What a great website. I am happy I found it.It’s nice to read something interesting I cannot find subscription list

  70. Sweet blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News. Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Cheers

  71. Great ・I should certainly pronounce, impressed with your web site. I had no trouble navigating through all tabs and related info ended up being truly simple to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it at all. Reasonably unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or anything, site theme . a tones way for your customer to communicate. Excellent task.

  72. Thanks for sharing superb informations. Your site is so cool. I am impressed by the details that you have on this site. It reveals how nicely you perceive this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for more articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found just the info I already searched everywhere and just couldn’t come across. What a great website.

  73. Dotty Gorny says:

    You are my inspiration , I possess few web logs and sometimes run out from to brand.

  74. Lacie Guerin says:

    Absolutely written subject matter, regards for selective information. “Life is God’s novel. Let him write it.” by Isaac Bashevis Singer.

  75. [...] You might like: 1. Pea, mint & haloumi patties 2. Grilled haloumi salad with herby chickpeas 3. Baked haloumi salad with a caper, garlic, lime & mustard dressing with fresh coriander leaves 4. Sophie’s spiced bean burgers Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); [...]

  76. [...] this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Baked Halloumi salad with caper, garlic, lime & mustard dressing with fresh coriander leaves 2. Pea, mint & haloumi patties 3. Sophie’s vegetarian haloumi burger with all of [...]

  77. serwis canon says:

    I alwayss wanted to write in my sie something like that but I guess you’r faster…

  78. bets by dre studio says:

    Incredibly illuminating thanks, I do believe your subscribers would most likely want a whole great deal far more subject material this kind of as this retain up the outstanding difficult work.

  79. Joan says:

    That is very attention-grabbing, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and stay up for looking for more of your great post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

  80. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

  81. Rusty Magitt says:

    Very good written article. It will be valuable to anybody who employess it, including yours truly :). Keep doing what you are doing – for sure i will check out more posts.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,098 other followers

