Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Sophie’s energetic & healthy breakfast bread

on 30/06/2009

A truly appetizing bread! Home-made too!

A delightful interior!

I love-making this as breakfast. This is a sort of bread but there is no yeast in it. It is made in a bread tin & has dried figs & raisins. I added cinnamon, an egg & lavender honey to it. There are also rolled oats in it that are soaked in milk.

This is so yummy on its own or delicious with jam, ricotta or honey on it. Toasted it is also nice.

When i eat 1 slice, it really fills me up! I don’t have to eat anything else for about 3 hours.
Recipe: For about 16 slices
Ingredients:
240 gr of self-raising flour
1 teaspoon of baking powder
1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon
50 gr of rolled oats
300 ml of semi-skimmed milk
60 gr of dried figs, the top ( the stem ) cut out, chopped into pieces
115 gr of raisins
1 organic egg, beaten
75 gr of raw sugar ( unrefined cane sugar )
3 tablespoons of lavender honey ( I used this honey because I like its taste )
3 tablespoons of sliced almonds + 2 tablespoons of sliced almonds extra
Method:
1. Take a bowl & place the rolled oats in it. Add the 300 ml of the semi skimmed milk. Stir. Let the oats soak into the milk for 30 minutes.
2. Preheat the oven to 180°C for a normal oven. I use a fan oven so it is 162°C for me, for about 10 minutes.
3. Take your Kenwood or Kitchen Aid & take the fitting bowl. Put your K paddle in your Kenwood. Mix the flour with the baking powder. Now, sift the flour & the baking powder in your fitting bowl.
4. Add the soaked oats & the milk into the flour mix, with your speed on 2 or 3 until well mixed.
5. Add the dried fruits & mix well on speed 2, 3 or 4.
6. Add the sugar, cinnamon, honey, beaten egg & 3 tablespoons of the sliced almonds. Mix well on speed 2, 3 or 4 until it all is beautifully combined.
7. When it is all well joined, take your silicon bread tin & pour the mixture evenly in it. If you don’t have a silicon bread tin, use a normal bread tin & grease with butter & line with baking paper. This is a 1 kg bread tin.
8. Take the 2 tablespoons of sliced almonds & scatter them evenly over the top of the bread.
9. Place on to a silpat , on a baking tray & place into the lower part of the oven. Bake the bread for about 45 minutes until risen, golden brown on top & cooked trough.
10. Test with a sewing pin, if the bread is ready. If so, carefully take it out of the oven & after 10 minutes or so, take it out of the silicon tin. Place it on a wire rack to cool down completely.
11. When completely cooled off, slice into slices & enjoy with a bit of jam, honey or fresh ricotta! It also is yummy toasted! Store in an airtight container.
I am sending this at the Bake Your Own Bread round-up @the food blog bakers bench
BYOB
If you liked this post, don’t miss any post by subscribing to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is for free! RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like similar recipes on my blog:

Sophie's Energetic & Healthy Breakfast Bread on Foodista

71 responses to “Sophie’s energetic & healthy breakfast bread

  1. Dirk says:

    MMMMMM….Sophie!This fruity & nutty bread looks fantastic! healthy indeed!I really want a slice now,….please?Lovely!!

  2. Margaret says:

    Beautiful breakfast bread. I too love lavender honey.

  3. Ah brilliant idea Sophie! It sounds like a delicious cereal made into a loaf form! :)

  4. Clémence says:

    moi aussi j'adore ce genre de cake !

  5. Debbie says:

    The bread looks wonderful and I like the fact that it is so filling!! Sounds great.

  6. I like this loads Sophie…truly hearty & delicious. No butter/oil? WOW…Great way to begin a morning!

  7. Anything with dried or fresh figs works for me, and I especially love in bread, lightly toasted with bit of butter. This looks absolutely wonderful. Thank you!

  8. Anna says:

    Lavender honey, dried fruits, sounds and looks delicious.

  9. Interesting shape! I'd love a slice of this in the morning.

  10. Delicious breakfast bread, love the lavender honey here! Would love a slice with my coffee right now!

  11. April says:

    Yum! Sounds great Sophie! And for the breads I've made for the BBA Challenge, we have all agreed not to post the recipes. But all the recipes are in a wonderful book called the Bread Baker's Apprentice by Peter Reinhart! It's a great book!

  12. A power booster! That bread looks and sounds really good!Cheers,Rosa

  13. Olga says:

    It almost looks dessert-like! Love figs and the nuts on the outside.Have you made the eggs in a hole yet? :)

  14. stephchows says:

    OOOO I love that there is no oil or butter in this!! It looks so good!

  15. Junglefrog says:

    O that is a truly good bread! How long can you keep it after baking? Do you have to eat it the same day or can it keep for a couple of days?

  16. That's a healthy, delicious bread! Sounds great for breakfast.

  17. Sara says:

    This looks like the perfect breakfast, I love figs!

  18. Sophie, you are a gem!Love healthy food.Beautiful blog.

  19. lisamichele says:

    Sophie, that bread is something I'd love to try, especially considering I have many a health nut a friend who loves seeds, grains, dried fruit, nuts etc…in their breads, including myself! Yours looks gorgeous and sounds delicious!!Now, this BYOB, where can I join up? There are so many bread baking thingamahjigs out there, and I'm posting a unique challah I made in a few days or so. Would love to submit! :)

  20. Juliana says:

    Yes, perfect for breakfast…love the dry fruits and nuts in it. Yummie!

  21. Koko says:

    Oh my gosh. Sophie, this looks SOO good, and best of all- NO YEAST! I could actually eat this bread!! FANTASTIC! I need to look into this bake your own bread round-up!

  22. Karine says:

    Such a healthy breakfast! You must feel with a lot of energy to start the day after a bread like that!

  23. lisamichele says:

    Thank you so much for all the info, Sophie! I'm going to try and finish the challah blog tonight, but for some reason, I'm having trouble getting motivated – writer's block!

  24. Kristen says:

    I love unyeasted bread recipes! This one looks fabulous and I bet it would be great with a cup of tea.

  25. Nuts and fruit! It sounds divine Sophie! It's a great recipe, and healthy too! Love it!

  26. Ricardo says:

    Absolutely delicious that bread/cake, my energy levels are going up even just from looking at it, so full of everything, dried fruits(nuts) and many other beauties, well done and thank you for sharing look delicious, kisses :) xxx

  27. Sylvia says:

    Oh! Sophie,it looks delicious. Estoy intentando cosas nuevas para el desayuno y el pan es perfecto, me encanto

  28. Donna-FFW says:

    Lavender honey sounds delicious. I have never had it before. This bread looks amazing!

  29. Claudia says:

    I have been looking for lavender honey for one year! (No results) What a gorgeous bread – really a work of art. Brava!

  30. Laura says:

    It looks really delicious with all the ingredients.

  31. This looks really good. I like the milk-soaked oats… and the lavender honey!

  32. Valérie says:

    Hello there! Thank you for your kind comments over on my blog! Since you asked, I am also originally from Brussels, but even though my father is Flemish (from Ostend) I only speak French. It's a little strange… (Well, I can understand Dutch a litte)I love this type of hearty bread, full of flavour! Your blog looks wonderful and versatile. I look forward to reading more!

  33. That looks amazing, if I suddenly produced something like that my hubby would be in awe!

  34. Bunny says:

    Wow Sophie this is packed full of great stuff, this would make a terrific breakfast!

  35. This bread is like one great delicious pacakage!!

  36. Kerstin says:

    Yum, it's packed with such goodness, I love the dried figs in there!

  37. Elra says:

    Oh, I would definitely love to have a slice of this for breakfast.

  38. nora@ffr says:

    vat a perfect bread for breakfast!! yumm yumm!!

  39. I love nut bread in the morning. All the good nutrients you need to start a good day :P

  40. Nicisme says:

    That looks really healthy and good for you, no wonder you look so fantastic in your photo!PS. Have you succumbed to Twitter yet, would love to chat!

  41. Dr. Lauren says:

    Wow, that looks positively yummy and nutty. Of course, it's a bit more appetizing than my edible props, but I'll suffer through it.

  42. How wonderful the dried figs and lavender honey sound! The whole bread looks delicious – a healthy meal on its own. A cup of tea with a bit more of that lavendar honey would go perfectly with a slice (or two) of your bread!

  43. Talita says:

    I'm trying to eat better, lose some weight… This bread sounds perfect! The dough looks soft.

  44. maris says:

    I love bread – and am such a carb-aholic. The best part about this is that it's pretty healthy so there's no guilt attached!

  45. Cynthia says:

    I like spiced, sweet breads like yours.

  46. Grace says:

    that's one heck of a dense and delightful bread, sophie, whether for breakfast or a nice snack. great components and great final product!

  47. I can imagine how good this would be toasted. It looks beautiful– and nutritious! I like the photo!

  48. Marta says:

    Anything with figs in it wins me over immediately! Delicious bread here, sure to give you the required energy boost to start your day!

  49. zerrin says:

    This bread sounds absolutely filling and healthy. A great recipe, I'm not sure if just 1 slice is enough for me.

  50. ~Dana says:

    Figs are so healthy! Especially in preventing certain kinds of cancer. Thanks for the recipe!

  51. ~Dana says:

    I have to add that I think breakfast is a real treat at your house!

  52. this is an amazing bread…tjockfull of energy!!A great recipe.Ronell

  53. What a great bread! It looks tasty and healthy!

  54. Chrystal & says:

    Good breakfast on the go. You can take a couple of slices and have a good start to the day.

  55. I like those fast bread for both breakfast and afternoon tea! Great idea to use flower-scented honey! Angie's Recipes

  56. Maggie says:

    I love this! It looks like a less sweet version of a Christmas fruit cake and sounds like it would make a wonderful breakfast.

  57. Looks like my kind of bread! Love bread with lots of nuts and dried fruits!

  58. Judy says:

    Very nice bread, great ingredients. I can see how it could fill you up.

  59. Divina Pe says:

    I love this bread too. It's very interesting. Lots of textures too. Yum

  60. That is my kind of breakfast I love oats and so very healthy wiht loads and loasds of dried fruit packed with antioxidants and sinfully delicious. I have bookmarked thais page to return again and again. i am so glad you found my blog or I would not have found this

  61. Document, illustration, visual.

  62. help. things work fine. However i just wanted to change the height of the images into smaller one. How do i change the height of the image into 100px? i tried changing the slide.css but its only for the frame. so its not changing the image size,. pls help thank you

  63. I love reading your blog. I’ve you bookmarked your website in order to check out the latest stuff.

  64. What a great website. I am happy I found it.It’s nice to read something interesting I cannot find subscription list

  65. Thank you! It is very good information

  66. [...] breakfast muffins, contains gluten 5. Sophie’s speedy mixed berry cake, contains gluten 6. Sophie’s energetic & healthy breakfast bread, contains gluten 7. Cranberry muffins with pecans & orange, contains gluten 8. Rhubarb & almond muffins [...]

  67. [...] Posts    You might like: 1. Sophie’s wholemeal spelt & blueberry breakfast muffins 2. Sophie’s energetic & healthy breakfast bread 3. Sophie’s speedy mixed berry cake 4. Ginger spiced pumpkin muffins 5. Wholemeal spelt [...]

  68. [...] 5. Egg-Free wholemal spelt, banana & coconut muffins 6. Sophie’s speedy mixed berry cake 7. Sophie’s energetic & healthy breakfast bread 8. Cranberry, pecans & orange muffins 9. Rhubarb & almond muffins with cinnamon & [...]

  69. lemhaf mp3 says:

    I like what you guys are up too. Such smart work and reporting! Carry on the superb works guys I have incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I feel it’ll improve the value of my web web site

  70. service says:

    4bbk6W Very good blog article.Thanks Again. Keep writing.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 923 other followers

