Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

My 2 favourite harty scones: ricotta, olive & chorizo scones/ parmesan & rosemary scones served with a salad & a mustard lemon dressing

on 26/06/2009

Tasty scones: home-made!

Lovely filled savoury scones & side salad!

Yesterday, I made my 2 favourite savoury scones. They are light & like little breads because there is no cream in them, only semi skimmed milk.

Ricotta, green olives & chorizo scones & the other ones were Parmesan & rosemary scones. They are so delicious, sliced open, smeared with a bit of butter & laid with a thin piece of Prosciutto on it. Place the top on the Prosciutto & serve with a lovely green salad with sliced cucumbers. Dress the salad with a yummy mustard – lemon dressing. This is so lovely to eat it with your other half & to drink a glass of Champagne/ Cava with it. Excellent!
Printable recipe here!
Recipe: For 2 sort of scones, each about 13 scones
Ingredients:
1. For the ricotta, green olives & chorizo scones:
250 gr of all-purpose flour ( I use Bio flour )
1 sachet of baking powder ( that is 20 gr )
150 ml of milk ( I used semi – skimmed milk )
50 gr of salted butter, cut into pieces
50 gr of chorizo, finely chopped up
50 gr of green pitted olives, finely chopped up
50 gr of ricotta ( I used fresh sheep’s ricotta )
1 large egg, well beaten
2. For the Parmesan & rosemary scones:
250 gr of all-purpose flour ( I use Bio flour )
1 sachet of baking powder ( that is 20 gr )
150 ml of milk ( I used semi – skimmed milk )
50 gr of salted butter, cut into pieces
50 gr of freshly grated Parmesan
3 medium sprigs of fresh rosemary, leaves picked, washed, dried with kitchen paper & finely cut up
3. For the salad:
3 heads of little gem lettuce, cleaned, washed & spun dry
1/2 cucumber, washed & cleaned, cut up into little rounds
4. For the mustard – lemon dressing:
1 heaped tablespoon of Dijon mustard
2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice
5 tablespoons of a fruity olive oil
Maldon sea salt
grinned black pepper

Method:
** For the ricotta, green olives & chorizo scones:
1. Preheat the oven on 200°C. I use a fan oven, so I need 150°C.
2. Place your Kitchen aid or your Kenwood, on the counter of your kitchen. Take the fitting bowl. Sieve your flour into your Kenwood bowl. Add the baking powder. Mix it carefully in with a spoon. You wouldn’t want the air to go out of the flour.
3. Place your dough hook in your Kenwood. Now, add the cut up butter. Turn the Kenwood on 2 or 3. Mix it. Now, add the milk. Turn the Kenwood on 3 or 4 & mix it well together until it formes a stretchy dough. It comes quickly together.
4. Add the ricotta, cut up green olives & the cut up chorizo & blend it in the dough with the dough hook. Turn it on 2 or 3. When it is well mixed, the dough is ready.
5. Take it out & place it onto a floured chopping board. Roll with a floured rolling-pin or with your hands to a thickness of about 1 cm. Take a round cutter about 7 cm & place into the dough.
Lift the rounds on a silpat or non stick baking paper on a baking tray. I placed 9 rounds on my silpat, well placed apart.
6. Now, take your beaten egg & smear the scones all over it with the glaze. Bake for about 13 to 15 minutes in the preheated oven until golden, risen & cooked trough. Lift out of the oven & place on a wire rack to cool off completely. When completely cooled off, you can store them in an airtight container.
Keep the rest of the beaten egg, for the rest of the scones. Now, form new rounds with the remaining dough & smear in with the beaten egg. Bake the same way. I could form about 4 to 5 scones. Lift out of the oven on a wire rack to cool off.
Keep the rest of the beaten egg for the rosemary & parmesan scones.
** For the Parmesan & rosemary scones:
1. Preheat the oven on 200°C. I use a fan oven, so I need 150°C.
2. Place your Kitchen aid or your Kenwood, on the counter of your kitchen. Take the fitting bowl. Sieve your flour into your Kenwood bowl. Add the baking powder. Mix it carefully in with a spoon. You wouldn’t want the air to go out of the flour.
3. Place your dough hook in your Kenwood. Now, add the cut up butter. Turn the Kenwood on 2 or 3. Mix it. Now, add the milk. Turn the Kenwood on 3 or 4 & mix it well together until it formes a stretchy dough. It comes quickly together.
4. Add the grated fresh Parmesan, add the cut up rosemary & blend it into the dough with the dough hook. Turn it on 2 or 3. When it is well mixed, the dough is ready.
5. Take it out & place it onto a floured chopping board. Roll with a floured rolling-pin or with your hands to a thickness of about 1 cm. Take a round cutter about 7 cm & place into the dough.
Lift the rounds on a silpat or non stick baking paper on a baking tray. I placed 9 rounds on my silpat, well placed apart.
6. Now, take your beaten egg & smear the scones all over it, also the sides with the glaze. Bake for about 13 to 15 minutes in the preheated oven until golden, risen & cooked trough. Lift out of the oven & place on a wire rack to cool off completely. When completely cooled off, you can store them in an airtight container.
7. Keep the rest of the beaten egg, for the rest of the scones. Now, form new rounds with the remaining dough & smear all over in with the beaten egg. Bake the same way. I could form about 4 to 5 scones. Lift out of the oven on a wire rack to cool off.
** For the salad:
Place a few of the little gem lettuce leaves on one side of your plate & top them with slices of cucumber.
** For the mustard – lemon dressing:
Take a jam pot with fitting lid & place all the ingredients except the sea salt & black pepper in it. Screw the lid back on. Shake the jam pot up & down until it is completely mixed. Taste.
Now, according to your taste, add a few pinches or more of Maldon sea salt & 5 to 7 grinds of black pepper to the jam pot. Screw the lid back on & shake! Taste again. It has to taste fab!
Now, pour the shaked dressing over the top of the salad & take one of the scones, cut into 2, smear with a bit of butter, the same one you have used to make the scones, lay a thin piece of prosciutto or salami on it.
Top with the top & enjoy with a good glass of Champagne Brut or an excellent Cava Brut like Cava Miguel Torres, Pinot Noir Brut, Method Traditionnelle!!
You might like:
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free! RSS Feed RSS – Posts
My 2 Favourite Harty Scones: Ricotta, Olive & Chorizo Scones/parmesan & Rosemary Scones Served With A Salad & A Mustard Lemon Dressing on Foodista
101 responses to “My 2 favourite harty scones: ricotta, olive & chorizo scones/ parmesan & rosemary scones served with a salad & a mustard lemon dressing

  1. Dirk says:

    MMMM…Sophie! Those savoury scones look so lovely & fabulous! What a grand presentation! I bet they tasted as lovely as you describe them!I would totally like to dig into those filled scones & the nice salad with excellent dressing! Yum Yum Yum!!

  2. Stefanie says:

    Wow,…I am amazed, Sophie! What lovely scones for a nice & elegant brunch to give on Sunday for my family! I love your salad & dressing too! It must taste fab with the excellent Cava Brut! Where did you buy it?

  3. They look lovely -and I'm a big fan of anything with chorizo and proscuitto in it! :D

  4. This looks absolutely wonderful. Coincidentally enough, I just sat down to do my menu for a little party we're having this weekend, and I need some savory finger foods. I'm definitely going to make these!

  5. They look and sound wonderful! Anything with chorizo for me =)

  6. Jamie says:

    Aren't these savory scones perfect! These will be so great all summer long when we serve simple salads and cold soups. I can see them really kicking up a meal! Yum!

  7. Talita says:

    Yummy, yummy, Sophie! I love scones! A parmesan and rosemary scone sounds delish!!

  8. I've actually never had savory scones – they sound fantastic! I love both versions! Yum!

  9. Olga says:

    chorizo in scones? what a brilliant idea! I love savory scones.

  10. They must taste wonderful! I love that idea!Cheers and have a great weekend,Rosa

  11. Celebration scones! MMM

  12. Elra says:

    Sounds so wonderful Sophie. I never made savory scones before. I might just this a try.

  13. Some of my very favorite ingredients here. Prosciutto, Parmesan, rosemary. I've never had a savory scone but yours look incredible. Sam

  14. I love your savoury scones, the ingredients you used are all my faves.

  15. Clémence says:

    ces cakes sont terriblement tentant !

  16. I love these savory scones. Wouldn't they be lovely with a salad course!

  17. You got me on that one Sophie ;-)That's an amazing brunch recipe…I know what I'll be eating on Sunday morning! Thanks for sharing

  18. Those look amazing! And so original. I love savory foods. I think you just inspired me to bake…

  19. Sophie, you are full of surprises. I've never made savory scones before. This is simply genius. Your loved ones are so lucky to be spoiled by you :)

  20. Karine says:

    I have never made scones. You make me want to try to make some! Yours look ssssoooo yummy! :)

  21. Donna-FFW says:

    Both versions of your savory scones sound fantastic Sophie. They must be so delicious!

  22. Scones and a nice salad…that sounds wonderful..

  23. Sounds fantastic! I love savory scones, both versions you've made sound incredible. Great light meal with a salad too. Great idea!

  24. Junglefrog says:

    O my goodness Sophie! Those look absolutely delicious! I've never had savoury scones before but these almost sound to good to be true! What a lovely flavour combination!

  25. Anna says:

    I absolute love scones, and if they have chorizo in it, even better. Yours looks yummy.

  26. Marta says:

    Great scone recipes! Both very adaptable and versatile. Love them both, but I lean toward the ricotta one, I'm just a ricotta-loving gal :)

  27. Koko says:

    Delicious! Parmesan and rosemary scones sound absolutely lovely! It's a nice change to the sweet, butter/jam slathered scones!!

  28. Sylvia says:

    This looks wonderful Sophie,with parma ham, well…divine.

  29. omg that looks amazing with the butter and prosciutto! Now I'm rethinking my menu for the week….

  30. Y says:

    Yum. I love cheesy, savoury scones, AND anything involving chorizo :)

  31. Juliana says:

    Never made scone…the ones that you feature look terrific…don't know which one I'd like to try first…yummie.

  32. Holy cow – that just looks so delicious, I love the savory combinations you've developed!

  33. Sara says:

    I love how you made a little sandwich with your scones. I usually don't like sweet scones, but I have never had a savory one before. Looks great!

  34. Kerstin says:

    Oh wow, they both look amazing Sophie!! What great flavor combos!

  35. nora@ffr says:

    m definitely gonna give a try.. great combo and superb idea :) sound fabulouscheers!!

  36. zerrin says:

    All those ingredients sound perfect together! I love such dishes in these hot days. Their pictures are enough to make me so hungry right now.

  37. Selba says:

    Those scones sound so yummy, Sophie!

  38. MeetaK says:

    sophie this looks just incredible. i love the flavors you have used here! yumm!

  39. Grace says:

    sweet scones aren't my cup of tea, so to speak. however, that said, i think these savory scones would really satisfy me–the ingredients you've combined sound wonderful!

  40. Sophie says:

    Such an innovative meal. I love scones, I'll take em sweet or savory…I'd love to try the latter with chorizo; these look too good to pass up!

  41. nick says:

    I MUCH prefer savory scones to the sweet type.These look fantastic!

  42. Judy says:

    I've never had a savory scone, but I'm sure they are delicious. Love the idea of using ricotta in them.

  43. Chorizo scones win!

  44. Those are my kind of scones!

  45. Claudia says:

    Oh Sophie – I adore savory scones and every ingredient in them. I have never hjd anything like the chorizo scones – that really intrigues me. I am in a savory mood – you cauight me just in time!

  46. Your scones look great! I'd love some of these with champagne or cava too. I haven't made a savory scone in a long time, and your parmesan and rosemary version is very tempting.

  47. Ricardo says:

    OMG you killed me and sent me straight into heaven, those flavours mixed are just my idea of heaven as I said, it looks fantastic too. well done :) kisses :) xxx

  48. nora@ffr says:

    love the mustard lemon dressing. salad tooo :)love the idea just beyond impressivecheers!!

  49. Muneeba says:

    scones are wonderful, aren't they?? love your combination of flavors!

  50. Linda says:

    I'm going to have to try savory scones–yours look magnificent. I love the look of your dinner!

  51. Scone #1 is the one for me! I love chorizo and paired with olives and ricotta, it sounds just about perfect. I also like the photo where it's got a slice of prosciutto (?) – so delicious! These savory scones are marvelous!

  52. cinnamon says:

    You are an amazing chef!!! These are so good, especially the one with that delicious slice of ham. My husband will be very thankful to you^-^

  53. Foodessa says:

    I'm far from being an expert on baking scones. Therefore, I'll trust that your recipes should work. At the very least…I really like the selected ingredients ;o)Thanks for the inspiration.Flavourful wishes, Claudia

  54. [...] 2. 2 savoury scones: ricotta, olive & chorizo scones + Parmesan & rosemary scones [...]

  55. [...] 2. 2 savoury scones: ricotta, olive & chorizo scones + Parmesan & rosemary scones [...]

  56. [...] 2. Sophie’s savoury scones: ricotta, olives & chorizo scones + Parmesan & rosemary sco… [...]

  57. Similar in results as your very last post. Do you require a lot of drafts to make a article?

  58. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my weblog so i came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to improve my website!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  59. Gabrielle says:

    I wish more people would write blogs like this that are really fun to read. With all the fluff floating around on the net, it is rare to read a blog like this instead.

  60. Would love to perpetually get updated great site ! .

  61. It is really a nice and helpful piece of information. I am happy that you shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  62. Asun Vargas says:

    Outstanding post, I conceive website owners should learn a lot from this website its really user pleasant. So much superb information on here :D.

  63. Somebody essentially lend a hand to make critically posts I might state. That is the first time I frequented your website page and thus far? I amazed with the research you made to make this actual submit amazing. Excellent process!

  64. Rattling wonderful information can be found on web blog.

  65. Really great information can be found on weblog.

  66. I just couldn’t go away your site before suggesting that I really loved the standard information a person provide for your visitors? Is going to be again steadily to investigate cross-check new posts.

  67. Darby Cookis says:

    Thanks, bookmarked!

  68. Valentina says:

    Thanks for the information… appreciated… been reading for awhile, and only had to inform you I still delight in your writing.

  69. Info says:

    Some truly choice posts on this internet site , saved to my bookmarks .

  70. click here says:

    Really wonderful info can be found on web site. “The fundamental defect of fathers is that they want their children to be a credit to them.” by Bertrand Russell.

  71. An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topic.

  72. I love reading your blog. I’ve you bookmarked your website in order to check out the latest stuff.

  73. Randell Dopf says:

    thank you for all your efforts that you have put in this. Very interesting information. “The more I live, the more I think that humor is the saving sense.” by Jacob August Riis.

  74. I love reading your blog. I’ve you bookmarked your website in order to check out the latest stuff.

  75. Useful information shared..Iam very happy to read this article..thanks for giving us nice info.Fantastic walk-through. I appreciate this post.

  76. Teena Blick says:

    Merely wanna say that this is extremely helpful, Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  77. Elsa Anon says:

    Spot on with this write-up, I truly assume this web site wants far more consideration. I’ll probably be once more to learn much more, thanks for that info.

  78. You have brought up a very great points , thankyou for the post.

  79. This is the fitting blog for anyone who wants to find out about this topic. You notice so much its nearly hard to argue with you (not that I truly would want…HaHa). You definitely put a brand new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Nice stuff, simply great!

  80. You have brought up a very wonderful points , thankyou for the post.

  81. There are some fascinating closing dates in this article however I don’t know if I see all of them center to heart. There is some validity but I will take hold opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want extra! Added to FeedBurner as effectively

  82. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  83. I’m still learning from you, but I’m improving myself. I definitely liked reading everything that is posted on your website.Keep the aarticles coming. I loved it!

  84. Cherokee says:

    Very interesting points you have mentioned , regards for posting . “Opportunities are seldom labeled.” by John H. Shield.

  85. [...] this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. My 2 favourite hearty scones : ricotta, olive & chorizo scones/ parmesan & rosemary scone… 2. Egg-free & gluten-free scones with chocolate & pecans Share this tasty [...]

  86. Healthy says:

    This website is known as a stroll-through for all the info you wished about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse here, and you’ll undoubtedly uncover it.

  87. WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..more wait .. …

  88. WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..extra wait .. …

  89. Your home is valueble for me. Thanks!…

  90. pdf unlocker says:

    I used to be more than happy to seek out this net-site.I wished to thanks in your time for this glorious read!! I definitely having fun with each little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you blog post.

  91. Best Doctor says:

    After study a number of of the blog posts in your web site now, and I really like your method of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website listing and will be checking back soon. Pls take a look at my web site as nicely and let me know what you think.

  92. Legal help says:

    This really answered my drawback, thank you!

  93. Spot on with this write-up, I truly think this website needs far more consideration. I’ll most likely be once more to learn way more, thanks for that info.

  94. There are some attention-grabbing cut-off dates in this article but I don’t know if I see all of them middle to heart. There’s some validity but I’ll take maintain opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we wish extra! Added to FeedBurner as well

  95. Gayle Wooden says:

    Hi, i’m Gayle Wooden and I must say that ” My 2 favourite harty scones: ricotta, olive & chorizo scones/ parmesan & rosemary scones served with a salad & a mustard lemon dressing Sophies Foodie Files ” is actually an extremely good entry.

  96. social says:

    Major thankies for the blog post.Really thank you! Cool.

  97. service says:

    3jN5Qs I really liked your article.Much thanks again. Fantastic.

  98. I delight in, result in I discovered just what I used to be looking for. You’ve ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

  99. I enjoy you because of all your hard work on this site. Betty enjoys conducting internet research and it’s obvious why. We know all of the lively form you create invaluable guides on your website and therefore boost participation from some other people on the point then our daughter is without question discovering a whole lot. Have fun with the rest of the new year. You are always carrying out a brilliant job.

  100. […] 7. Ricotta, olive & chorizo scones & parmesan & rosemary scones with a side salad & … […]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 943 other followers

