Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Puff pastry pizza with chorizo, sweet peppers, onion, garlic & Manchego cheese

on 19/06/2009

A tasty alternative pizza!

A few evenings ago, I wanted to make an easy pizza but I didn’t want to make a pizza dough. Sometimes, we can be lazy, right?
So, I bought ready-made puff pastry with margarine in it instead of butter. I like it that way!
Because I learn Spanish, I wanted it to be a Spanish influenced one. So, I made this!
This is an adopted recipe from Jo Pratt’s latest book, Entertaining.
Printable recipe here!
Recipe: for 1 large pizza ( or for 2 persons, each 2 large-sized portions )
Ingredients:
1 sheet of ready rolled puff pastry with margarine
1 large red sweet bell pepper, cleaned, seeds, top & white parts removed, cut into long thin strips
1 large yellow sweet bell pepper, cleaned, seeds, top & white parts removed, cut into long thin strips
1 large white onion, peeled, cut into little pieces
1 fat clove of garlic, peeled & finely cut up
100 gr of thin slices of chorizo ( I use the picanté version, because I like that )
125 gr of Manchego cheese
2 strips of fresh rosemary, cleaned, green needles cut off of the stalks & finely cut up ( remove the stalks )
sunflower oil
black pepper
some Maldon sea salt
Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 220°C.
2. Take a large non stick pan & pour 2 à 3 tablespoons of sunflower oil in the pan. heat up on high. When the pan is really hot, add the cut up onion, add the garlic pieces, the rosemary needles & the cut up sweet peppers. Turn the heat a bit down & fry for about 15 to 25 minutes until cooked trough & soft. Stir often. When ready, set aside. Turn the heat off.
3. Take your silpat, or a non stick baking sheet & place it on a baking tray. Roll the prerolled sheet of pastry out on it. Now, with your hands, make a border at the end of your pastry, all the way round. Make a thicker border, that the pastry stands up a bit.
4. Place a bit of the sunflower oil on the middle & on the edges of the pastry. Now, lay your fried filling from the pan, all over the pizza, well spread, evenly.
5. Divide the Manchego cheese into 2 equal sized portions. Grate the 1st portion evenly divided
all over the pizza.
6. Now, lay your 100 gr slices of chorizo evenly all over the pizza. It all just fits. Looking good!
7. Now, for the last part, grate the 2nd batch of the Manchego cheese all over the top of the pizza, evenly divided. Now it is ready to go in the preheated oven.
8. Bake for about 15 minutes until the cheese is melted, the pastry looks a bit golden & the pizza looks just Georgius & smells amazing!
9. Take out of the oven. With the help of a chopping board, glide the really thin pizza of the baking sheet. Now you can cut your pizza. Be careful because the pizza is really thin!
It is yummy on its own or with a simple salad & dressing. MMM….
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts

A yummy dig in slice!

Puff Pastry Pizza With Chorizo, Sweet Peppers, Onion, Garlic & Manchego Cheese on Foodista
61 responses to “Puff pastry pizza with chorizo, sweet peppers, onion, garlic & Manchego cheese

  1. Dirk says:

    MMMM…Sophie: this thin pizza looks so delicious! Easy yet so tasty looking!Yum!

  2. The Spanish angle for a pizza sounds like a great idea! I love manchego.

  3. Puff pastry is a great idea. So flakey and buttery with sharp manchego and salty chorizo. This is nice.

  4. doggybloggy says:

    this is a great idea! I bet the flavors were fantastic!

  5. That sounds like the exact toppings I would have asked for. I'd like to place an order from Sophie's restaurant.

  6. Awesome idea! I would have made this tonight with chorizo (had that with just salad) if I saw your post earlier! I will definitely be making a puff pastry pizza very soon!

  7. Kerstin says:

    I love your twist on pizza! Using Spanish flavors and puff pastry dough is so creative, and it sounds absolute amazing!

  8. nora@ffr says:

    love the toppings sophie :)m sure this pizza recipe is really going to keep me busy in the kitchen with all its glamor. This is another must for the weekend! My kids would just hug me for this. thanx for sharing sophie..cheers!!

  9. This is a great idea Sophie! I like the combination of the Spanish flavors along with the nice buttery pastry. I'm sure this was a treat. I love your creativity!

  10. Ricardo says:

    Look very delicious and well planed, I would definitely like to try a pizza in puff like this one, thanks 4 the share. :) xx Rico|Recipes

  11. Clémence says:

    miam ! voilà une bonne pizza maison !

  12. Delicious! I adore chorizo and this sounds wonderful. I've made pizza with puff pastry and it's so lovely and buttery :)

  13. Pam says:

    Chorizo on the pizza sounds delicious – it has the best flavor! Looks great.

  14. Marta says:

    Puff pastry pizza! what a great idea!!!! I'd never have thought of this. How quick and easy for a weeknight meal!

  15. Margaret says:

    I've just invested in this book because I was so pleased with In the Mood For Food.Great looking pizza.

  16. Sara says:

    Yum, everything is delicious on puff pastry.

  17. nice! I've never had pizza on puff pastry! I also don't know that Ive ever seen puff pastry with margarine.

  18. Aren't you ever so creative! That pizza certainly looks delicious!

  19. Puff pastry for pizza dough is a really creative and interesting work-around. I don't know about Belgium, but here ready-made pizza dough is pretty readily available. So are pre-cooked frozen pizza crusts. I don't recommend those…I like the toppings, too – very interesting!

  20. Grace says:

    i can't believe i've never seen a pizza made with puff pastry before–it's an obvious choice! i love your use of it, and i love all your colorful toppings. :)

  21. mikky says:

    so creative of you… looks perfect!!! :)

  22. Kevin says:

    That pizza looks good. I like the sound of using the puff pastry.

  23. That's a great idea to use puff pastry as the crust!

  24. Paz says:

    Oh, Sophie, I love your pizza! You've made me very hungry now. ;-)Paz

  25. Emily says:

    YUM! That's my kind of pizza! I love all of those Spanish flavors togther.

  26. A beautiful pizza! I love manchego cheese….Cheers,Rosa

  27. Some of the best recipes come from improvising… your pizza looks awesome.

  28. dada says:

    Yummy…delicious and perfect at this time. May I have a slice now?

  29. nick says:

    This looks SO GOOD.Sometimes I make puff pastry pizzas too. I like to cut little rounds out of it, stuff sauce/cheese/whatever into the middle and then seal the top with another round making what amounts to puff pastry pizza raviolis – they are ridiculous (though in reality 1 piece of puff pastry is probably good enough).

  30. Sophie this looks and sounds incredible. I love the chorizo and manchego! This is one pizza I have to try!

  31. Olga says:

    This looks absolutely fantastic!!!! Great idea to make a Spanish pizza ;)

  32. Nice solution! I bet it was delicious!

  33. Sara says:

    What a great idea to use puff pastry! It's probably even better tasting than regular pizza dough.

  34. Marjie says:

    I have never made a pizza with puff pastry. I'll bet it was wonderful!

  35. I love the puff pastry change!

  36. Junglefrog says:

    This looks delicious Sophie. Quite a good idea to do this with puff pastry… :) I didn't know you were learning spanish!

  37. Elra says:

    Your pizza must tasted really rich and delicious. I love the puff pastry idea.

  38. What a great looking pizza. I love Manchego and I bet it's great with the chorizo and puff pastry. A winner!!!

  39. gaga says:

    How decadent, I've never considered making pizza out of puff pastry!

  40. Donna-FFW says:

    Brilliant to use puff pastry as a crust! Looks delicious, I love the toppings.

  41. Talita says:

    Hola, Sophie! Más qué rica pizza! Looks so yummy. I have no doubt that I could love if I eat it.

  42. Koko says:

    Ohhh Sophie, this looks so tremendously delicious! I love the idea of a puff pastry crust- it would be so buttery and yummy! Excellent choice on the Spanish toppings, too. I looove learning languages! I was trying to learn Italian but I haven't practiced in awhile!

  43. Jamie says:

    I tried to buy ready-made pizza dough from the grocery store once and no body (even pizza freak son) would eat it. Puff pastry sounds so much better! This pizza looks outrageously good!

  44. Lore says:

    Chorizo pizza with a puff pastry base? YUMMMMMO!!! Looks and sounds (and tastes I'm sure :) ) brilliant. Way to go Sophie!

  45. Juliana says:

    Puff pastry for pizza? Love the idea…and the ingredients that you have in it looks delicious…it is morning here and I already crave for it…yummie!

  46. Jan says:

    What a great idea to use puff pastry for pizza, and to give it a Spanish twist. Looks and sounds super.

  47. Daily Spud says:

    All you had to do was include manchego in the title for me to be sold on the pizza!

  48. Reeni♥ says:

    This sounds wonderful, Sophie! Especially with the chorizo and Manchego – yum!!!!

  49. Beautiful pizza. The puff pastry makes it so elegant. Gorgeous photos too.Sam

  50. Tonight was pizza night – I wish I'd seen this earlier! 8-) No matter – I will try your tip of using puff pastry dough for a quick crust. And of course, I won't forget chorizo . . .

  51. Jordan says:

    Mmhmm yummy yummy! I love pizza!

  52. Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  53. Amelia says:

    hi-ya, I like all your posts, keep them coming.

  54. Tanner Sand says:

    I’m really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays..

  55. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  56. Chris Litka says:

    I am just commenting to let you know what a amazing encounter my wife’s girl found reading through your web site. She figured out a good number of details, most notably what it is like to have an ideal teaching character to have many people just know just exactly chosen advanced matters. You really surpassed our expected results. Thank you for delivering those warm and friendly, dependable, revealing and in addition unique guidance on the topic to Sandra.

  57. Very good information – thanks!

  58. Psycholog says:

    Your post is extremely interesting. Can you post again soon?

  59. Biznes plan says:

    Admiring the persistence you put into your site and detailed information you offer. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information. Great read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  60. Ann McMillan says:

    whoah this blog is magnificent i love reading your posts. Keep up the good work! You know, lots of people are searching around for this info, you could help them greatly.

  61. poznań says:

    Hey there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Superb blog and excellent design and style.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 928 other followers

