Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Asian inspired burger, served with an Asian coleslaw & sweet chili sauce

on 17/06/2009

A lovely asian flavoured home-made burger!

This beauty of a burger recipe is from Bill Granger. It is from his book: Holiday! I adapted it to my needs. This is an Asian inspired burger that has lemongrass, breadcrumbs, garlic, lime zest, fish sauce , grated onion & chopped fresh coriander in it. It is served with an Asian inspired coleslaw. Chili sauce is served with it. This is the most yummy burger I have ever eaten,…
Printable recipe here!
Recipe: For 2 persons, each 2 burgers
Ingredients:
* For the burgers:
pork & veal mince: about 300 gr
1/2 onion, peeled & grated
1/2 lemongrass stalk, white part only, finely chopped
1 tablespoon of fresh & cleaned coriander( cilantro ) leaves, finely cut up
1/2 tablespoon of Thai fish sauce
1 piece of garlic, peeled & finely squeezed out
1 teaspoon of fresh lime zest
1 teaspoon of brown or white castor sugar
43 gr breadcrumbs
* To serve:
4 burger buns
sweet chili sauce
Asian cole slaw
* For the Asian cole slaw:
1 tablespoon of brown or white castor sugar
1 tablespoon of rice vinegar
4 large purple carrots or normal ones, peeled & 2 of them finely grated,
2 of them, peeled & finely cut up in little pieces
2 large handfuls of shredded white cabbage
1 handful of fresh Morrocan mint leaves, cleaned & finely shredded
1 handful of fresh coriander leaves, cleaned & finely chopped
Method:
1. First, make the burgers. You take a large bowl & place the mince, grated onion, the cut up lemongrass, the cut up coriander leaves, the fish sauce, the garlic, the lime zest & the sugar together. Mix well together with your hands.
2. Shape into 4 patties & flatten them out a bit. Place onto a plate. Put cling film over the top & place in the fridge for at least 30 minutes.
3. Take a little bowl & place the 2 carrots that you grated, in it. Add the rice vinegar & add the sugar. Mix well. Leave to marinate for about 20 minutes.
4. Now, you can make your Asian cole slaw. Take a large enough bowl & place the 2 handfuls of white cabbage in it. Add the 2 carrots that are cut up into little pieces. Mix. Add the shredded mint leaves & add the cut up coriander leaves. Mix well. Set aside.
5. After 20 minutes marinating, remove the liquid from the grated carrots. Add the marinated grated carrots to the Asian coleslaw. Now, taste: it tastes amazing & lovely!
6. Now, after 30 minutes, take the plate with the burgers out of the fridge. Remove the cling film. Heat a large non stick pan on high heat & pour some baking margarine & sunflower oil in it. Heat up on high.
When the pan is really hot, add the 4 burgers & bake on both sides for about 4 minutes until cooked trough & golden. Adjust the heat if necessary.
7. Plate up: take your burger bun & place a burger on it. Top with some sweet chili sauce & place the top of the bun on it. Place the Asian cole slaw on the side & place a bit of the chili sauce on the side, to dip in.
Enjoy!
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like:
1. Sophie’s burger with sweet potato fries
2. Spiced up gluten-free chicken burgers
3. Sophie’s spiced bean burgers
4. Vegetarian haloumi burger
5. Gluten-free chicken burgers
6. Eggless pork & veal sage burgers with a balsamic, red onions & capers relish
Asian Inspired Burger, Served With An Asian Coleslaw & Sweet Chili Sauce on Foodista

66 responses to “Asian inspired burger, served with an Asian coleslaw & sweet chili sauce

  1. Dirk says:

    MMMMMM…sophie, this burger looks so delicious! yum yum yum & I love the cole slaw!

  2. Manon says:

    Yum Yum Yum Yum yum Yum yum yum yum yum yum,…

  3. Such wonderful flavours!!

  4. heidileon says:

    How smart,asian inspired burger. That Bill Granger is such a star. I love his cool relaexd approach to food.thanks for sharing it, asian burger….yummy

  5. Emily says:

    Oooh I love burgers. Looks incredible!

  6. Love the Asian inspiration. Nice work!

  7. figtree says:

    What a great twist on a burger…looks sooooo YUMMY. Figtreeapps

  8. Anh says:

    I love Bill's recipe.. This sounds like a winner also ("actually I believe anything tastes good with fish sauce)

  9. Erica says:

    Sophie,Great flavors! Looks absolutely delicious.

  10. zoe says:

    The burger looks so saucy and juicy.

  11. I love ALL of these flavors, and I've been looking for a good Asian slaw recipe too! Thank you, it really sounds great!

  12. Oh, yummy! Just the kind of scrumptious food I love!Cheers,Rosa

  13. I love the Asian twist on this delicious burger! Yum!

  14. That looks so good Sophie! Much more gorgeous and fresh than what you'd find at a cafe! :D

  15. This looks great. I'm not usually a burger fan, but I really like this combination of flavors.

  16. Koko says:

    Mmm….this looks like a really yummy and unique burger! Aren't asian flavours great!?The coleslaw looks so yummy and colourful. I'd love to try this dish in a vegetarian version!!

  17. stephchows says:

    mmmmmm I love your asian twist on this!

  18. I've never seen an Asian inspired burger…and I've been to many, many burger places. Love this, along with the slaw and chili sauce.

  19. Wow, I love the sound of this burger, and I love the paring with the slaw.

  20. Pam says:

    What a fantastic meal! I love all the flavors you used. Mmmm good.

  21. YUM Sophie, simply YUM! Bill Granger does some fantastic stuff, & this is one of the best I've seen. Love the Asian inspiration. Must have kicked in some beautiful flavours! WOW!

  22. What a flavor explosion! The lemongrass and fish sauce in the burger sound so interesting. Really, really good! What a well rounded meal. :)

  23. The slaw looks really pretty.

  24. nora@ffr says:

    Totally drool worthy.. great combo. yumm!!

  25. Danielle says:

    I love the look of that slaw!

  26. Clémence says:

    des saveurs asiatiques comme j'aime !

  27. Sara says:

    I don't believe I've ever made an asian inspired burger before, I love the idea. This looks delicious!

  28. The flavors in this sounds great! I'd love to try this in a ground chicken burger!

  29. This is the perfect summertime meal! GREAT combination of flavors. I love this meal!

  30. The burgers sound fabulous – what a great mix of flavors!

  31. Diana H says:

    I have almost all of the ingredients to do this, though I would have to not tell my husband about the fish sauce – I wouldn't leave it out though because it sounds so interesting.

  32. Ricardo says:

    That is what I call a nice gourmet burger well presented fresh minimalist yet sophisticated and full flavoured well done ….gratz :) kisses Rico|Recipes

  33. Jenn says:

    This looks great and another way to use the huge lemongrass in my backyard. Thanks!

  34. Elra says:

    I like every single elements of this burger. I guess all thing Asian is always my favorite. Your burger sounds really delicious Sophie!

  35. How interesting! I love different spins on the traditional burger.

  36. Grace says:

    admittedly, I don't eat a lot of asian food, but that doesn't stop this entire meal from appealing to me VERY much. that slaw stands out most of all–yum!

  37. Muneeba says:

    You can't lose with burgers, especially ones with an Asian flair! Oh now see what you've done?? Now I'm craving a burger for dinner … even though I know I only have chicken in the fridge :p

  38. Christine says:

    Sophie,That looks fabulous. I love Asian style burgers, lots of flavours and nutrients. I've never thought of using lemongrass in burgers. That's creative.

  39. Anna says:

    Uau! Sophie I never thought about lemongrass but it must be delicious.Must try that.

  40. This looks like it's bursting with so much flavor!I love burgers!

  41. Gattina says:

    oh you hit my sweet spot :) lime and lemongrass are my favorite flavor! This burger is so unique, yet super delicious!

  42. Olga says:

    interesting combo! i would never have thought of adding lemon grass.i typically make mine w/chicken, ginger, soy sauce and cilantro.

  43. Just in time for burger season too! (In Canada, that is!) This has a lot of ingredients and sounds so delicious.What a great summer meal!!

  44. Looks wonderful! We don't eat pork (for religious reasons) or veal (for ethical reasons) but I always love the scent of dishes containing that particular combination. Thank you for your lovely comments. You'll love the Cardamom bread! My friends always ask me to make pizzas and cardamom bread. Always. They are the soul food of my house!Blessings,Lacy

  45. Kerstin says:

    Your burgers look so good! I love the idea of an Asian burger, yum!

  46. Judy says:

    Sophie, this sounds amazing. Love the flavors. I might just have to make these burgers!

  47. Kevin says:

    Those burgers sound really tasty!

  48. cindy* says:

    yummy sophie! my fiance, sean, is a burger lover. he would love this for sure!

  49. ~Dana says:

    Oh, delicious!!! Your creations look AMAZING!

  50. Lore says:

    I never thought a burger could sound refreshing but this one sure does. Delish!

  51. Jan says:

    That burger sounds delish, as does the slaw. Great flavors.

  52. April says:

    Sophie this sounds amazing! I love Asian-style burgers and this is on my list to try this summer, thanks!!

  53. Judy says:

    These are really different and interesting.

  54. sophiesfoodiefiles.wordpress.com is cool, bookmarked!

    Unlocking mobile phones

  55. sophiesfoodiefiles.wordpress.com is super, bookmarked!
    njoy electronic cigarette

  56. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed! Very useful info particularly the last part :) I care for such info much. I was seeking this certain information for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  57. Madeline says:

    You’re blogging has really come on when I look back over previous posts. Actually I arrived here from a forum on an unrelated topic. Worth surfing sometimes. Thanks.

  58. Thank you! It is very good information

  59. Your post is extremely interesting. Can you post again soon?

  60. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  61. I love reading your blog. I’ve you bookmarked your website in order to check out the latest stuff.

  62. Remonty says:

    I love reading your blog. I’ve you bookmarked your website in order to check out the latest stuff.

  63. […] spiced bean burgers 2. Sophie’s vegetarian Haloumi burgers with all of its trimmings! 3. Asian inspired burger with Asian cole slaw & sweet chili sauce 4. Sophie’s burger with sweet potato fries 5. Sophie’s spiced gluten-free chicken […]

  64. Hopee every thing works out as you have planned. Best of luck for the new year. Thanks

  65. […] 6. Asian inspired burger with asian coleslaw & sweet chili sauce […]

  66. […] 3. Asian inspired burger, sweet chili sauce & Asian coleslaw! […]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,144 other followers

