Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Purple carrot stoemp with onion & smoked bacon

on 13/06/2009

Special purple carrots!

You know by now that I like stoemp.
Stoemp is a typical Belgian & Dutch dish.
This is a mix from boiled potatoes, then mashed & mixed with root vegetables like carrots or parsnips, braised leeks, all sort of cooked cabbages, with cooked Brussels sprouts, with spinach, endives, etc.
Usually, we mix it with pieces of bacon or with sausages. We nearly always add a fried onion with it. You can also add cream, butter, milk, herbs & spices.
Stoemp is a typical word of the patois of Brussels. You can eat stoemp is a lot of Brussels ‘ Brasseries.
Stoemp is a basic dish. It is comfort food. We eat it especially in wintertime.
I just found these lovely purple carrots in my food health shop. I thought that they looked funny & apart! When you peel them the purple colour goes off & you get messy hands! It is better that you use kitchen gloves!!
These purple carrots are a bit sweeter than the normal ones. They contain about 40% more beta carotene. You have to cook them 5 minutes less than the normal ones. They taste sweeter then the normal ones. You find an interesting link: here!
Printable recipe here!
Recipe: For 3 persons
Ingredients:
500 gr of peeled purple carrots, cut into rings, washed
750 gr of peeled normal potatoes, cut into 4, washed
1 large white onion, peeled & cut into long wedges
200 gr of smoked bacon, in pieces
Grinds of black pepper
Maldon sea salt
liquid baking margarine
Method:
1. Boil the potatoes until tender. Drain well. Keep warm.
2. In the meantime, boil the carrots & add 4 dried leaves of laurel to the cooking water. This will take about 10 to 15 minutes. Boil until al dente. Drain. take out the 4 laurel leaves. Keep warm.
3. When the potatoes are done, take a non stick pan, place it on the same heat & pour in some baking margarine. When hot, add the long strips of onion & fry until golden. add some grinds of black pepper. When done, add to the potatoes & stir well. Mash. Add a bit of Maldon sea salt, not too much because you are going to add the smoked bacon later. Add a bit of black pepper to your taste. Keep warm. I also added a bit of baking margarine to the mash.
4. Now, take a large non stick pan & pour baking margarine in it. Heat up on high. When the margarine is really hot, add the smoked bacon pieces. Fry until ready & golden. Turn the heat off. Now, take a large plate & place 2 kitchen papers on it. Take the pan & pour the bacon with the fat on it. Then, take 2 new kitchen papers & drain the fat on top of the bacon. Now, you will be left with dry bacon pieces. It is easy that way & simple to do! Add the bacon to the stoemp. Stir well.
5. Now, add the drained purple carrot pieces to the mash. Mash again. Stir untill well combined. Taste again! It has to taste fab!
6. Take your 3 plates & plate up! Enjoy!
You might like:
1. Green cabbage stoemp with sausages
2. Belgian Brussels sprouts stoemp with sausages
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
Purple Carrot Stoemp With Onion & Smoked Bacon on Foodista
52 responses to “Purple carrot stoemp with onion & smoked bacon

  1. Eddy says:

    MMMM…Sophie! Dat ziet er lekker uit! Ik heb nog nooit paarse wortelen gegeten, maar ik zal zeker eens gaan kijken op onze Bio markt! Dank je wel!!

  2. Dirk says:

    Mjam Mjam, Sophie! This stoemp looks so delicious!Now, I am on a search for these special looking carrots,..

  3. Oh, wow, purple carrots! I've never seen those yet! This looks delicious! Love the purple veggies :)

  4. It looks like confetti. I bet you could get kids to eat veggies with it.

  5. Those purple carrots look incredible! I would have bought them had I seen them :) Thanks for introducing us to stoemp Sophie!

  6. Clémence says:

    wah ! ces carottes, j'adore !

  7. Junglefrog says:

    O haha… I was wondering what on earth is stoemp… But I'm guessing that is stamppot right? Never knew it was called that way… Weird name too actually, but what can you do? I love the purple carrots! Have never seen them before.

  8. I never knew 'stoemp' was the English word for stamppot ^^ I do love stamppot by the way and yours sounds delicious :) Love the purple carrots!

  9. Elra says:

    PURPLE CARROTS! I am so in love with this color. I plant them, but they are other creature that stole my young purple carrots, left me with nothing … (sigh)Anyway, your purple carrots recipe (Stoemp) sounds delicious and love the bacon in there. Yummy!

  10. Anna says:

    Uau! never heard of stoemp before, but it looks very good and health too. It's almost like a vegetarian "Meat Loaf".

  11. Marta says:

    I love purple carrots as well! Well, all interestingly-coloured root veg calls me attention, really.I had never heard of stoemp, but it sounds/looks like a great, hearty, satisfying and comforting dish! I'll bookmark it for when the weather starts to turn on us again :)

  12. I think I will like stoemp. It sounds like a perfect comfort food for a cold day – which is usually summer in San Francisco =) The colors that the dish pulled from the purple carrots are wonderful.

  13. A delicious and comforting dish!Cheers,Rosa

  14. Claudia says:

    This is a totally new dish for me – although sounds similar to what Americans like when the make a pot roats and mash the juices of the meat and carrots and potatoes together. I am bookmarking this because this is indeed lovely comfort food and looks delicious.

  15. Looks really good! Perfect with some grilled meat. To be honest, I've never seen those carrots before.

  16. Maris says:

    Oh wow I didn't even know that purple carrots existed!

  17. Koko says:

    What a neat dish, Sophie!! I have never heard of it- I looove trying foods from different areas of the world! And the purple carrots are a beautiful touch. I just adore seeing those in the summer farmer's market.

  18. Kerstin says:

    What beautiful purple carrots! Stoemp reminds me of meatloaf too, definitely great comfort food.

  19. Grace says:

    i've never heard of or tried stoemp, but if it's ANYTHING like meatloaf, i'd be all over it. i've never seen purple carrots, either, but they're beautiful!

  20. ~Dana says:

    I've never had Stoemp before… I am receiving an education just reading your blog.

  21. ~RED~ says:

    Well well, i learned something new today!

  22. burpandslurp says:

    I'm so ignorant. I've never heard of stoemp. But how could I have not? It looks SO good. And oh, anything with smoked bacon! yUM!

  23. Cynthia says:

    I've never tasted that variety of carrots before – big yum with the smoked bacon :)As to your question about the rub – yes, it can also be used on pork.

  24. Selba says:

    Purple carrots? That's so new to me… I don't think we have purple carrots here in Indonesia.

  25. Beautiful carrots! I've never had stoemp, but it sounds great!

  26. Jamie says:

    Those carrots are stunning! Comfort food, wherever we find it, is vital to our everyday lives! This dish does indeed look comforting and yummy!

  27. I've never seen purple carrots – how interesting. It's always fun to learn about new things, especially comfort food of other countries.Sam

  28. Olga says:

    Those are some gorgeous carrots!The dish sounds like such a comfort meal.

  29. Abby says:

    I've always wanted to cook with purple carrots, but I've never seen them around here!

  30. You always have the neatest recipes!

  31. Filip says:

    Hey Sophiestoemp = coolWe serve this in 3 star top restaurants. For me it is more than just everyday cooking. It has as any laws for perfection as a risotto :)Die wortels zijn het beste ongeschild!Seg Sophie, nog iets, jullie zijn steeds graag uitgenodigd op de test van mij zomermenu op zondag 28 juni. Ik tracht 40 man bijeen te krijgen. Verwacht u aan een smaakspektakel gaande van de smaak van nat woud tot zwarte gomasio en schimmel :) Alle info en voorwaarden op mijn websitegroeten!Filip

  32. Talita says:

    What a different carrot! I never saw something like that! I love potatoes and carrots together, with bacon sounds delish!!

  33. I love purple carrots! They are amazing! What an interesting an delicious looking dish. I would love to try it! Thanks for sharing this Sophie!

  34. Jef Boven says:

    Hoi Sophie!What a typical Belgian stoemp! I'd like heaps of them (if I wasn't losing weight). Racing Jef and dancing Mathilda.

  35. Emily says:

    I've never had purple carrots.. I'm intrigued!

  36. Daily Spud says:

    Yay – a new potato dish for me. Hadn't heard of stoemp before, but I guess I have now!

  37. Muneeba says:

    Aren't purple carrots incredibly gorgeous?? I only recently saw a few in an organic food store, and I just wanted to keep staring at them! By the way … love that word "stoemp" :)

  38. GORGEOUS carrots! I love the taste of the "not" orange carrots. When I lived in Switzerland they were so easy to find, but not as easy and quite expensive here in London. This looks great – I don't think I've ever had carrots and potatoes like this. yum.

  39. Look at those carrots!!! I've never seen anything like them…and I live in the land of fabulous farmers' markets in LA! Wow. And I've never heard of stoemp. Sounds fantastic! Thanks for all!

  40. Juliana says:

    Purple carrots! Never seen them…and stoemp? All new to me…love learning all this recipe. Thank you!

  41. heidileon says:

    Sophie,wonderful post. Lots of new info I never knew or heard of it, like stoemp dish, it sound so wintery and comforty food to me too!, plus all the handy tips you shared with us about purple carrots.Can't wait to try them both.

  42. Ricardo says:

    Wonderful unusual and tasty are the words that come to mind, not forgetting with visual colourful and well photographed, what else can I add. cheers kisses :) xx Rico|Recipes

  43. nora@ffr says:

    never seen these carrots before.. but look cute and this dish sound amazing..cheers!!

  44. Jennifer says:

    A purple carrot!!!! I have never seen!!!

  45. Sophie says:

    This is quite the dish! Sounds hearty, I love the vibrant colors too. I'll have to give stoemp a try — especially with those cool looking carrots!

  46. Judy says:

    Stoemp is a new one on me, it sounds delicious. I love reading about ethnic dishes.

  47. I have never cooked Purple carrots although they are easily available in CH. Should try your recipe in the winter, I like Stoemp : )

  48. […] 2. Purple carrot stoemp with onion & smoked bacon […]

  49. Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is wonderful, as well as the content!

  50. Hailey says:

    Howdy blogger, thank you for providing this article.. I found it first-class.

  51. I consider something genuinely interesting about your site so I saved to bookmarks .

  52. […] It is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Belgian Brussels sprout stoemp with sausages 2. Purple carrot stoemp with onion & smoked bacon 3. Smoked cheezy kale stoemp served with bought tofu burgers Advertisement […]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,145 other followers

