Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Drunken grapes

on 06/06/2009

An easy yet stylish dessert!

This is an easy but so lovely dessert. This is great for a dinner party. This is a dessert for adults!

Why? Because seedless grapes are marinated in a combo of vodka, cream & brown sugar.

They are marinated in the fridge for at least 4 hours. Then blanched sliced almonds are roasted & put on top,……mmmmmmm…

Printable Recipe here!

Recipe: For 2 persons

Ingredients:

250 gr green seedless grapes, cleaned & cut up in 2

2 tablespoons of cream

1.5 tablespoons of dark brown sugar

2 tablespoons of gluten-free vodka

200 gr of blanched sliced almonds

Method:

1. Take a medium large bowl & place the cut up seedless grapes in it.

2. Add the vodka, dark brown sugar & the cream. Mix well with a spoon so that the grapes are covered with the mixture. Place cling film over the top & place into the fridge for at leat 2 to 4.5 hours. I marinated the grapes for 4.5 hours.

3. 10 minutes before serving, take the bowl out of the fridge, otherwise the dessert will be too cold to eat.

4. Take a little non stick pan & place the slivered almonds in it, in 1 layer. Dry roast them until they are brown & golden, about 3 to 5 minutes on medium heat. Shake the pan often because you don’t want to burn the almonds. Turn the heat off & set aside.

5. Take your 2 fancy dessert glasses & divide the grapes mix into the 2 glasses. Spoon the marinade evenly over the 2 glasses. Scatter the roasted slivered almonds over the tops & dig in!

MMM,...If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts

I am submitting this recipe to the event Fun & food: sugar High Fridays: Fruits & nut

sugar-high-friday

Drunken Grapes on Foodista
You might like:
1. Minted, ginger syrup & lime fruit dessert
62 responses to “Drunken grapes

  1. Manon says:

    Mjam,..Sophie! What a lovely, interesting & easy dessert! Thanks!

  2. Dirk says:

    Wow,…this dessert looks excellent, Sophie!

  3. That is so unusual Sophie! I don't think I've ever seen a grape dessert like this. Thanks for introducing it to us! And I like the Adults Only rating too! :)

  4. Y says:

    Oh my, I've never thought to do that to grapes before! I think I might have to try this. Where did you come up with such a brilliant idea!?

  5. Oh my goodness! You are so totally awesome! Why do you not live next door to me? I just know we'd be best friends!Blessings!Lacy

  6. This is a fantastic idea! I don't know if I'd have thought of combining the cream and vodka.

  7. My mother used to make something very similar, but she used sour cream. I was too young to taste then…but not now!

  8. foodcreate says:

    Wonderful dessert perfect for my summer party my guest are going to love it!Thanks for sharing your recipe:)Thanks for you lovely comment on my site!

  9. A refreshing and delicious dessert! I love the idea!Cheers and have a great weekend,Rosa

  10. cindy* says:

    yum sophie! i've never seen grapes like this, but it looks so tasty and refreshing…and how could i say no to drunken fruit?!

  11. I have a bunch of grapes in the fridge and a bottle of vodka; once I get the cream, then we're on! (Do you think I could use coconut instead of dairy cream?)

  12. Clémence says:

    hips ! avec la vodka !

  13. Peter M says:

    Sophie, this a beautiful dessert and what a bonus – I can get tipsy eating it too!

  14. Ricardo says:

    soon we will have all the fruits drunken from pears to grapes…then we have to get around to people lol….joking aside is a lovely recipe that I would like to sink my teeth into ..I may still do it…sounds great..thanks for sharing kisses :) xx

  15. Sara says:

    This is definitely the best way I've seen to eat grapes! Looks delicious.

  16. Anna says:

    Grapes and Vodka, that's my kind of dessert great idea.

  17. Bunny says:

    Lovely is right Sophie, very elegant dessert!

  18. Sara says:

    This is really great. I love grapes, but usually eat them plain. This is a wonderful treat!

  19. So simple yet so elegant! Lovely presentation.

  20. oooooh vodka. This dessert looks sinfully good.

  21. Daily Spud says:

    Of course I normally associate grapes with wine but I think that I could certainly go with the vodka in this case!

  22. What a creative way for grapes…I always eat them plain and they have so much more potential. Vodka anything for dessert…my favorite.

  23. Very sophisticated and elegant. A fit ending to a dinner party. Love the almonds on top.We froze grapes once but they ended up being too cold for me, but refrigerating them sounds like the perfect solution.Sam

  24. dada says:

    Lovely, elegant and great every time! Grape with vodka should be a very interesting taste.

  25. Margaret says:

    We both think this dessert looks wonderful!

  26. Jef Boven says:

    We love the Russian flavour over and in the French grapes! Truly a European dessert!Racing Jef and cooking mum

  27. burpandslurp says:

    fresh grapes in alcohol! wow, this is one super way to end a meal!

  28. Donna-FFW says:

    OHHH!! I absolutely love the sound of these grapes. It must be so so delicious! Love how you pictured them also!

  29. Paz says:

    I like the sound of your dessert! Delicious!Paz

  30. Pam says:

    How fun! This looks like a tasty treat.

  31. Junglefrog says:

    What an interesting dessert! I am not too fond of the alcohol/fruit combination but I know loads of people that are, so I might still try this. I've been a little busy lately so haven't visited a lot, but hopefully things will quiet down a bit over here!

  32. Jamie says:

    Wow (as so many have said) is right! It is a wonderful and elegant-looking dessert. I'll bet it is delicious!(I am going to add you to my favorites blog roll :-)

  33. Oh my! I love grapes so much, I bet this is fantastic.

  34. Grace says:

    tasty! i haven't tried grapes like this–in fact, i rarely have them in a dessert at all–but it sounds like a delicious and enticing treat!!

  35. This sounds like a simple, refreshing dessert! Great for hot, muggy nights like we're having too.

  36. Elra says:

    Just to read the title already made me drool. Sounds so scrumptious.

  37. Ben says:

    This is my kind of dessert! I should have it for my bday party :)

  38. Marta says:

    Perfect quick and easy grown-up dessert! Love it! the almonds look pretty and almost pinkish. I think they must add the perfect amount of crunch to those boozie grapes ;)

  39. nora@ffr says:

    yumm!! sound perfect for dessert :) m sure my husband gonna love this dessert sopphie!! hes a huge fan of grapes :) thank u for sharing this excellent dessert..cheers!!

  40. Talita says:

    Yeah, I agree! Simple and and sweetie dessert! I love grapes!

  41. Koko says:

    Oh.My.Gosh. I have never even heard of a dessert like this using GRAPES! I love grapes. This sounds sooo amazing, Sophie!!

  42. This looks like it's a little sinful and a little good. That makes it more interesting.

  43. Juliana says:

    Lovely…I will definitely try this one…what a great idea…love the simplicity of it and the the elegance as well.

  44. What an elegant and lovely dessert! I love this, it's such a great idea. I love grapes but I never use them in much other than fruit salads. The almods look gorgeous. Another great one!

  45. Ok Sophie, you need to have a dinner party and invite all of us and serve this for dessert. We will never go home, I promise. This is incredible.

  46. What a fabulous and unique dessert! I love the combination of grapes with almonds and the splash of vodka is fabulous!

  47. Nicisme says:

    So easy, and grapes go really well with almonds!

  48. This sounds like an elegant (and fun!) dessert!Thanks for sharing!

  49. Jan says:

    That looks absolutely divine, Sophie. What a fabulously simple and elegant dessert.

  50. zerrin says:

    Never heard of such a combination. Sounds perfect for summer evenings! I love the combo of grape and vodka.

  51. How'd you get the pink tint?

  52. Kat says:

    Oh YUM… vodka, brown sugar and cream, does it end up tasting like White Russians or Baileys or something like that?

  53. Sophie says:

    @ everyone: thanks: this is an easy yet wonderful dessert! I only use 2 tablespoons of vodka & cream: that isn't a lot, hey! @ Y: i came up with the idea because I had grapes in the fridge & I thaught that vodka with a bit of sugar & a bit of cream would add a differebt flavour to it!@Jessica @ Foodmayhem: Because you marinate the cut in 2 grapes in a mix of vodka, cream & 1.5 tablespoons of dark brown sugar. After 2 or 3 hours of marinating , it looks as this!!@ Kat: I don't know if it tastes like Bayleys because I never tasted it!

  54. Karine says:

    I have never thought of marinating grapes. Your drunken grapes look gorgeous!

  55. Mansi says:

    wow, this is sooo easy! and yet so creative!! love the addition of "drunken" :)btw, I'm hosting SHF-Fruit & Nut event over at my blog this month, and this dessert would be a great entry if you'd like to send them in!

  56. Man that is the only way to eat grapes, I shall definately use this reciipe often over the summer. The great thing is hte kids cant eat it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  57. Esme says:

    Sophie-good morning-please come over for a morning croissant and a special surprise-I have an award for you.lol. Esme.

  58. Anonymous says:

    My mum used to do the same but with Bacardi :) x

  59. Mia says:

    I have really enjoyied reading your well written article. It looks like you spend a lot of effort and time on your blog. I have bookmarked it and I am looking forward to reading new articles. Keep up the good work!

  60. […] Files: It is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Minted ginger & lime fruit salad 2. Drunken grapes Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]

  61. […] healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist! « Drunken grapes Purple carrot stoemp with onion & smoked bacon » Jun […]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,145 other followers

