Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Penne with yellow cherry tomatoes, rocket, smoked bacon & home made red pesto

on 21/05/2009

Penne with yellow cherry tomatoes, rocket, smoked bacon & home-made red pesto, ready to dig in!

Recently, I made home-made red pesto, I had some left in the fridge so I wanted to make a pasta dish out of it. I had rocket leaves & thought that yellow cherry tomatoes would go great with that.

It is all about flavour & trying to get the best flavours & colours together. I served my pasta dish with some freshly grated Parmesan cheese.
Printable recipe here!
Recipe: For 2 persons, with seconds
Ingredients:
350 gr penne
15 yellow cherry tomatoes, cleaned & cut in half
2 to 3 tablespoons of home-made red pesto
1 handful of fresh rocket leaves, or more according to your taste
200 gr of smoked bacon, cut into little pieces
Maldon sea salt
grinned black pepper
Parmesan cheese, grated to serve
a fruity olive oil
Method:
1. Cook the pasta al dente in a large cooking pot. Drain, keep warm.
2. In the meantime, take a large non stick pan & pour some baking margarine in it. Let it heat up on high heat. Now, add the smoked bacon pieces. Fry until golden on both sides. Take a large plate & place 2 kitchen papers on it. Place the bacon pieces on it. Then, take 2 other kitchen papers & place onto the bacon. This is to drain the fat. Add the smoked bacon pieces to the pasta pot. Mix with a spoon. Keep warm.
3. In the same pan, take away the fat with kitchen paper. Add some baking margarine & heat up on high. Now, add the halved cherry tomatoes & season with some Maldon sea salt & some grinned black pepper. Fry until the tomatoes started to loosen. Turn the heat off & carefully add the cherry tomatoes halves to the pasta mix. Add the 2 to 3 tablespoons of the red pesto & mix carefully. Add 1 teaspoon of a fruity olive oil because the red pesto is solid & you need it a bit to loosen. Mix again. Add the 1 handful of rocket leaves. Mix. Taste. Add some grinned black pepper if necessary. It has to taste fab!
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like:
1. Bagna with warm veal, sage , buffalo mozzarella, rocket & home-made red pesto
2. Fusilli with red pesto, chicken & vegetables
3. Pasta with smoked bacon, rocket leaves, red bell pepper & rocket leaves pesto
Penne with yellow cherry tomatoes, rocket, smoked bacon & home made red pesto on Foodista
55 responses to “Penne with yellow cherry tomatoes, rocket, smoked bacon & home made red pesto

  1. Manon says:

    MMMM…Sophie! this penne dish looks great & delish!

  2. That looks delicious Sophie-I always think that green and red looks so good with pasta and peppery rocket goes so well with bacon :)

  3. Dirk says:

    Yummie, Sophie! I love that a lot! Mjam mjam!

  4. Emily says:

    Your pasta looks delish.I love that arugula is called rocket. I prefer rocket over arugula.

  5. Anna says:

    That looks yummy, I love to use fresh arugula in my pastas it gives a bit of a crunch. And anything with bacon gets my vote.

  6. Ricardo says:

    if you knew how much I love penne, with a dish like that I can’t stop salivating so I must leave quick.Nicely presented and great combo of flavours, loved it :) xxx Rico

  7. doggybloggy says:

    it doesnt take a rocket scientist to know this is a good dish…

  8. Yummy pasta! Love the bacon and the red pesto!

  9. You know me, I love pasta. this looks incredible!

  10. Jef Boven says:

    Hello Sophie! What a mouthwatering dish.I like the picturee, too!Racing Jef and dancing Lou

  11. I love the word rocket, especially for a vegetable. It makes me giggle.

  12. This looks great – I’ve been really getting into arugula (rocket) lately.

  13. Hi Sophie,This dish looks wonderful and savory – just the way I like them. I love adding rocket, er aruglua to my dishes. The finishing touch of the Maldon sea salt is inspired!

  14. Pam says:

    Now that’s my kind of pasta dish – I love the red pesto.

  15. Olga says:

    Once again, I had to look up one of your ingredients: rocket leaves :)Thanks for keeping my brain cells working!

  16. Your pasta sounds fantastic! Peppery rocket is great with pasta, and the yellow tomatoes are so pretty.

  17. Marta says:

    How sweet! I love this pasta! Your red pesto looks dynamite and the nutty bite of the rocket must complement the sweetness of the tomatoes so well! Thanks for sharing this!

  18. Great dinner! It must’ve smelled just as great as it looks.

  19. I never even knew red pesto existed! It looks great!

  20. zerrin says:

    This is how I love pasta. I love rocket leaves. Yum!

  21. Sara says:

    This sounds delicious. I love pasta and pesto, It looks great.

  22. Esi says:

    Red pesto sounds intriguing. Looks delicious!

  23. Sara says:

    I love the sound of red pesto! I have green pesto in the freezer right now. Your pasta looks great.

  24. Ive never heard of red pesto, but it looks great!

  25. Kerstin says:

    Red pesto AND bacon – yum! Looks fabulous!

  26. Hi Sophie, just by reading the title, I know this is a great pasta dish. I remembered you made your homemade red pesto. I still have not got round to make yet.

  27. clemence says:

    j’adore ce genre de plats de pâtes !!!

  28. Grace says:

    oh, sophie, this is just lovely! two things that should be present in some form in every pasta dish are tomatoes and pig, so this one’s a winner in my book. :)

  29. Sapuche says:

    This looks great, Sophie! So nice to have your own red pesto to use in this dish, too!

  30. Maris says:

    I love all of the different names for arugula! Hehe – rocket!

  31. Jamie says:

    Yum and delicious! I saw your red pesto and fell in love. This pasta dish looks so fabulous!(and every time I pull up your blog I read “Sophiesfoodflies” which sounds too cute, like fire flies….)

  32. Sophie says:

    @ every one: thanks for visiting!@ Jamie: I think that you have to learn to read,…It is Sophies Foodiefiles!!! Not Sophiesfoodflies!!! Next time, read it better!

  33. Selba says:

    Lovely pasta :)Hahaha… I can stop laughing reading Jamie’s comment and your reply, Sophie.How could Jamie think it’s flies instead of files? Food and flies.. that’s a perfect combination in a hot country, LOL

  34. Elra says:

    Smoked bacon and red pesto win over Sophie. Sounds irresistible!

  35. Who wouldn’t want seconds??? (I love that you post normal, un-Giada-like recipe portions.)

  36. Beautiful as always Sophie!

  37. dada says:

    Your penne look very very appetizing, fresh and I love the red pesto. I’d like some just now! Have a good sunday.

  38. Jan says:

    This pasta looks totally yumptious, Sophie, I love your red pesto sauce.

  39. gaga says:

    Mmm, that red pesto looks tasty! I can think of so many great ways to enjoy it.

  40. Bunny says:

    It looks lovely Sophie, what a wonderful dinner this would make!

  41. Sophie says:

    @ Selba, Elra, unconfidential cook, Joie de vivre, dada, Jan, gaga & Bunny: thanks for those lovely words!

  42. Sophie… What a great combination of flavors. Definitely going to try your red pesto pasta! Thanks…

  43. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! However, how could we communicate?

    • Sophie33 says:

      Hello Lorana!
      Thanks! On the top of my home page, you will find: Contact Sophie!
      Just click onto it & fill in what is required & what you want to ask or tell me & submit. Then I can read it privately & can get back to you!
      Okey? ;)

  44. Molly says:

    Just wanted to give you a shout from the valley of the sun, great information. Much appreciated.

  45. There’s noticeably a bundle to learn about this. I assume you made certain good factors in features also.

  46. [...] 2. Penne with yellow cherry tomatoes, rocket, smoked bacon & a home-made red pesto [...]

  47. [...] 3. Penne with yellow cherry tomatoes, smoked bacon, rocket leaves & home-made red pesto [...]

  48. [...] pepper & rocket leaves pesto 2. Gluten-Free spaghetti with smoked bacon, spinach & garlic 3. Penne with yellow cherry tomatoes, smoked bacon & home-made red pesto 4. Corn spaghetti with feta, yellow & red tomatoes, spinach & mint Share this tasty [...]

  49. [...] 2. Penne with red  & yellow cherry tomatoes, rocket , smoked bacon & home-made red pesto [...]

  50. [...] 4. Penne with yellow cherry tomatoes, rocket, smoked bacon & home-made red pesto Share this tasty post:Print me & PdfEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. [...]

  51. [...] 1.  Pasta with yellow cherry tomatoes, smoked bacon, rocket leaves & home-made red pesto [...]

  52. […] 3. Penne with yellow cherry tomatoes, rocket leaves, home-made red pesto & smoked bacon! […]

  53. […] 3. Penne with yellow cherry tomatoes, rocket leaves & home-made red pesto! […]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,099 other followers

