Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

My husband’s seasonal Belgian plate

on 18/05/2009

Every grandmother makes a full plate like this in Belgium!

A few days ago, my husband made this dinner for me! I had to relax & enjoy his latest creation!
So, I did. This is what he made. This sort of dishes are eaten a lot in Belgium. We ate the white asparagus like that when we were visiting my grand parents. Normally, it would all be eaten cold, also the asparagus. They are cooked , drained, cooled off & wrapped in some lovely ham & eaten with a cold mixed salad with home-made mayonnaise. But my husband made it with baked potatoes. It was a lovely gesture & I really appreciated it!
 
Printable recipe here
 
Recipe: For 2 persons, each 1 plate
Ingredients:
A bunch of 500 gr white asparagus, cleaned, the peel removed & the bottom rough ends cut off
2 fresh eggs, cooked until hard, cooled off, pealed & cut with an egg cutter in thin slices
4 slices of good cooked gluten-free ham
4 little gem lettuce, cleaned, washed & spun dry
a few sprigs of chives from the garden, cleaned & finely cut up
3 Kumato tomatoes or other tomatoes to your taste, cleaned & finely cut up
* For the mayonnaise:
1 or 2 egg yolks, on room temperature
white pepper
Maldon sea salt
fresh juice from 1 lemon or 1 to 2 tablespoons of white vinegar
sunflower oil
a bit of mustard ( normal mustard )
350 gr of new potatoes, peeled, washed, cooked until tender, well-drained, cooled off
You can preboil the potatoes a few hours before dinner.
 
 Method:
1. First make the mayonnaise. Take a medium-sized bowl & add the 1 egg yolk. With a whisk, whisk the egg yolk loose with a bit of the lemon juice & the mustard.
2. Add bit by bit, with a small spout, the sunflower oil. continue the whisk! The mayonnaise mustn’t curdle! If the mayonnaise becomes too thick, you could add a bit of the lemon juice or a bit of the vinegar. Taste . Add a bit of sea salt & some grinded white pepper if necessary. It has to taste fab!
3. An hour before dinner, you can prepare the white asparagus. Peel them with a vegetable peeler, cut off the 2 cm at the end. Cook them for about 10 to 15 minutes depending on the size of the asparagus. Drain them well & let them completely cool off. Set aside into the fridge.
4. So, now you only have to bake the potatoes. Bake them in some baking margarine on a high heat until browned on all sides. Take your plates & arrange the salad leaves beautiful on 2 plates. On top of that, add the sliced eggs. Besides that or on top of that, add the cut up tomatoes. On the front of that, place 2 asparagus tightly wrapped in ham & the baked potatoes in front of the enwrapped asparagus. After that, there are again 2 asparagus, wrapped in ham, for each one, for seconds.
Enjoy!
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
 
 
68 responses to “My husband’s seasonal Belgian plate

  1. Dirk says:

    Yummie plate, Sophie! Horay to the husband!

  2. Manon says:

    MMMMMMMMM…..This looks as a nice & easy but yummie salad! Bravo to the husband!!

  3. clemence says:

    sympa cette assiette : bravo à ton mari !

  4. That plate looks really appetizing! A delicious spring meal!Cheers,Rosa

  5. Grace says:

    is it strange that i like white asparagus and not the typical green? it’s true. :)

  6. A yummy meal with wonderful spring ingredients! Your husband did a wonderful job here!

  7. Jamie says:

    I love when you post what your husband makes. It is always so clean and fresh and simple but always looks so delicious. Don’t you love a man that cooks?

  8. That looks so healthy and lovely! I love everything on that plate Sophie! :D

  9. doggybloggy says:

    your husband did a fine job – this dish looks so comforting

  10. Beautiful picture. Good job husband!

  11. This looks wonderful Sophie. I wish my husband would make a meal for me like this. I find it very interesting that it is normally served cold.

  12. Jef Boven says:

    Dear Sophie, what a beuatiful springlike picture. Everything looks so fresh and healthy.Peter is a master chief!Jdef

  13. Pam says:

    I’ve never had white asparagus before – I’ll be on the lookout. The whole meal looks tasty.

  14. I love asparagus and my in laws always cooked them in water and we eat it with home made mayonnaise. :)

  15. Sara says:

    I love a good plate like that. Nick is from Pennsylvania and his family makes a plate with cut up cheese, pickles, salami, pepperoni, ring bologna, and pretzels. It is a great snack.

  16. Koko says:

    That’s so nice of your husband to make that for you! It looks like a delicious dinner! White asparagus….yum! And homemade mayo, too! It looks so fresh!

  17. This looks great! Good work, husband!

  18. Olga says:

    This looks like such a chill and easy to put together meal!by the way, any time you want me to fly to Brussels and cook a meal for you and your husband, all I need is just a round trip ticket :)

  19. It is nice to have someone else do the cooking for you. He made a great meal!

  20. Maris says:

    What a good husband! Sometimes it’s nice to be cooked for, even when you are a food blogger!

  21. My compliments to your husband – this is a beautiful plate! It is a perfect dish for a lovely summer al fresco dinner. Everything looks o wonderfully fresh and delicious!

  22. aww that’s so sweet! He did a great job!

  23. Pearl says:

    that looks so great! and how sweet of your husband to make you dinner!

  24. How sweet! It looks wonderful!

  25. Sophie says:

    I love how hearty and fresh this looks — it would make for a yummy picnic lunch :).

  26. this sounds delicious!!it also reminds my – this is totally random – when I was in Belgium I would occasionally get this pizza-type thing. It was very thin and has some meat under some cheese. Is there a special name for that? Or do you just make weird pizza? lol

  27. That looks like a fresh and fantastic spring meal! The eggs on the salad look delicious.

  28. Erica says:

    What a great husband!Looks delicious.

  29. Elra says:

    I like the fact that you make your own mayonaise Sophie. This dish that you prepare for your husband look so special indeed!

  30. Bunny says:

    Bravo Mr. Sophie for making your wife a beautiful dinner!

  31. Sara says:

    This looks great, it’s so nice that your husband cooked for you!

  32. Kerstin says:

    Your hubby is so sweet to cook for you so often :) Looks very yummy!!

  33. Margaret says:

    Your husband has excelled here – great looking plate of food.

  34. So nice of your husband to make this lovely dinner!! What a fun blog you have!

  35. Lo says:

    What a lovely warm weather dish. Your husband is amazing!I’ll bet the homemade mayo takes this over the top — SO much better than purchased mayo!!

  36. I would love a dinner like that…even if I had to make it myself! My husband would have plopped a piece of meat on that plate somewhere.

  37. Gattina says:

    a labor of love :) :)I haven’t tried making mayonaise… the one your husband made and drizzled it on eggs (so delicious!!!)… I must give it a try!

  38. Sophie- I just love how those tomatoes look!! And I also love that you make your own mayonnaise- homemade is soooo much better than store-bought :)

  39. ~Dana says:

    Delightful! Looks like something from a French cottage restaurant!

  40. My husband can’t even fry and egg! I would love to come home to this one evening!

  41. Reeni♥ says:

    What a beautiful plate of food! Bravo to your husband!

  42. Claudia says:

    Your husband is a keeper and that is one scrumptious platter. Would he make that if I flew over?

  43. 3rd Wave Inc says:

    Great Father’s Day gift ideas, weather radios, perfect for summer!

  44. Carolyn says:

    Oh, I love cold veggies with ham. I’d even eat the potatoes cold. I like them that way with a little sour cream or yogurt. What a nice husband you have!

  45. Jan says:

    How nice of your husband to give you some time out of the kitchen and present you with such a beautiful meal. I couldn’t borrow him could I? :-)

  46. Jackie says:

    awwww. your husband is so sweet. I think cooking is a great way to show how much you care about your loved ones.

  47. Sylvia says:

    My grandma used to make this ind of salad, with lots of olive oil. Que buen marido tienes Sophie, es bueno poder relajarse un poco de la cocina

  48. This is beautifully put together! Your husband is an artist! It looks absolutely delicious!

  49. Y says:

    Looks like a lovely dish! Hmph, why can’t my boyfriend make me something like this occasionally! ;P

  50. Ricardo says:

    If a Belgium plate looks like that I would certainly like to visit Belgium ..is delicious and well balanced :) xx Rico-Recipes

  51. cindy* says:

    how sweet! sean made me dinner once…and i ended up getting sick. what a handy guy you have!

  52. Asparagus wrapped in ham – now that sounds like a delicious item to put out as a party appetizer!

  53. Carolyn Jung says:

    What a hubby! He’s a keeper. ;)

  54. Peter: Sophie's husband says:

    @ every one of you: thanks for those compliments, foodie friends of Sophie! I enjoyed making this!

  55. Maggie says:

    What a beautiful plate! I’d love to try growing my own white asparagus.

  56. zoe says:

    I love vegetarian dishes like this! I feel satisfied AND healthy too!

  57. Chef Chuck says:

    This wonderful Belgium plate is healthy as they come! Yummm…

  58. Sophie, while the salad looks great, I'm really interested in how your husband makes those gorgeous roasted potatoes. If possilbe, could you post the recipe? Thanks, Tom

  59. I am not sure where you’re getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for fantastic information I was looking for this information for my mission.

  60. Mariah says:

    Thanks for the post I actually learned something from it. Very good content on this site Always looking forward to new post.

  61. Someone essentially lend a hand to make severely articles I would state. That is the very first time I frequented your website page and thus far? I surprised with the research you made to make this actual publish extraordinary. Wonderful process!

  62. I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an impatience over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly again since exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this increase.

  63. Jak Schudnac says:

    Very good Web site – thanks!

  64. bookmarking says:

    wdsEao Looking forward to reading more. Great article.Much thanks again. Will read on…

  65. Thanks again for the post.Much thanks again. Want more.

  66. I cannot thank you enough for the article.Really looking forward to read more. Really Great.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 951 other followers

